E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Code how long convenience lights stay on at night



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-28-2011, 11:20 AM   #1
azeemtn
Private First Class
 
Drives: '14 m5, Space Gray
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Jose

Posts: 195
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 m5  [0.00]
Code how long convenience lights stay on at night

Guys,
Is there some way to change how long the lights in the door handles stay on at night when you arm or disarm the car? Also, is there some way to code the lights to stay on, say 10 or 15 seconds after you arm the car at night so you can walk away with some light?

Thanks!
__________________
------------
Everything is just for fun, and may or may not constitue real characters in actual life...
------------
azeemtn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2011, 03:24 PM   #2
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

You can code NETTODAT to keep light on when you disarm car longer.
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2011, 02:39 PM   #3
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by justa3series View Post
You can code NETTODAT to keep light on when you disarm car longer.
I would like to be able to do the same. Have the angel eyes, fogs, and door handle lights stay on for about 15-20 seconds after i lock the car, that would be great.

Anyone can explain how to do this for me? I'm pretty good at coding, a sinple explanation would do
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2011, 08:25 PM   #4
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

When you turn off car, flash the brights and pathway lighting will stay on. If you have CIC you can set value yourself. If you want Welcome lights to stay on longer you will need to code FRM/NRFM via NETTODAT coding to manually set the value, since it's not supported by a normal FSW value. You can PM ME and I will help you.
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-22-2011, 01:55 PM   #5
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
PM sent, thanks!
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2011, 11:05 PM   #6
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
bump. anyone else know how to change the length via nettodat, i never got an answer
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2011, 02:26 PM   #7
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Why mess with PM? Why not just post the information? It's not like the information is unrelated to this post or anything like that.
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2011, 02:31 PM   #8
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
I haven't gotten a response from him on this issue anyway...
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-05-2011, 09:05 AM   #9
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

Sorry, I will update later.

spaz.
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-05-2011, 10:54 AM   #10
Hanzoligen
New Member
 
Drives: 123d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: GER

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

Yes, please update us :-)
would be nice how to configure what lights are activated when using coming home (flash high bulbs once) or are these the same as welcome light lighting (WL_AL, WL_NSW etc.) ?
Hanzoligen is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-05-2011, 01:14 PM   #11
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanzoligen View Post
Yes, please update us :-)
would be nice how to configure what lights are activated when using coming home (flash high bulbs once) or are these the same as welcome light lighting (WL_AL, WL_NSW etc.) ?
would like to know the same, i've also seen in another thread that you can activate these lights not only by flashing the high beams but through coding you can make it so when you press your trunk button once they come on as well. I would really like to do that.
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-06-2011, 07:44 PM   #12
Hanzoligen
New Member
 
Drives: 123d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: GER

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

The trunk button coming home light activation is
HEIMLEUCHTEN_FUNKSCHL
aktiv
You do need FRM3 to use this.

Any news on how to specify the welcome lights or change welcome light length?

I figured out myself: It's WL_DAUER. Requires Nettodat coding.

Last edited by Hanzoligen; 12-07-2011 at 09:20 AM.
Hanzoligen is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2011, 04:07 PM   #13
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanzoligen View Post
The trunk button coming home light activation is
HEIMLEUCHTEN_FUNKSCHL
aktiv
You do need FRM3 to use this.

Any news on how to specify the welcome lights or change welcome light length?

I figured out myself: It's WL_DAUER. Requires Nettodat coding.
I know the value, i've just never learned the process for nettodat coding, would love if you can help me out
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2011, 06:26 PM   #14
Hanzoligen
New Member
 
Drives: 123d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: GER

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

Sure, here we go:

This one's a simple one.
Just read the FRM/NFRM ECU and open the nettodat.trc
Search for 00340500 and change the ninth byte which should be 14 to any HEX from the table below.
Save as NETTODAT.MAN and do a codeSGbyNettoData (via F5) and type "NETTODAT.MAN"
done.

The value then disappears from the MAN file (FSW PSW thing) which is no problem. You will most likely lose the settings when recoding the ECU via MAN file



(Thx sparky66 for the hint on how to change WL_DAUER)
00 = 0 sec min. setting 0A = 10 sec
14 = 20 sec Default
1E = 30 sec
28 = 40 sec
32 = 50 sec
3C = 60 sec 1 min
46 = 70 sec
50 = 80 sec
5A = 90 sec 1.5 min
64 = 100 sec
6E = 110 sec
78 = 120 sec 2 min
82 = 130 sec
8C = 140 sec
96 = 150 sec 2.5min
A0 = 160 sec
AA = 170 sec
B4 = 180 sec 3 min
BE = 190 sec
C8 = 200 sec
D2 = 210 sec 3.5 min
DC = 220 sec
E6 = 230 sec
F0 = 240 sec 4 min
FA = 250 sec
FF = 255 sec max setting

It may be the case that you have a different FRM. If you run into problems just send me your nettodat.trc and the filenames which NCS shows after reading the ECU in the middle of the screen and I'm gonna doublecheck that for you
Hanzoligen is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2011, 06:29 PM   #15
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
thank you so much! i've been trying to get an answer on that forever and it was so simple! you're the man


since you seem to know a lot about this can i also ask another question about welcome lighting, is there any way to activate it without unlocking the car?

Say i'm parking in a parking lot and i wanna leave the welcome lights on for like 2 minutes after i lock it, is that possible?
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2011, 06:32 PM   #16
Hanzoligen
New Member
 
Drives: 123d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: GER

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

Be sure you edit the correct HEX value. Check if it's 14 = 20 sec before editing. That's very likely to be the correct value then.
Hanzoligen is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2011, 06:33 PM   #17
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
i'll go do it right now!

edit: worked perfectly, you're the man.

any word on my above question?

Last edited by ///M Leardo; 12-07-2011 at 06:52 PM.
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2011, 07:22 PM   #18
Hanzoligen
New Member
 
Drives: 123d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: GER

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

You can only enlighten the coming home lights via the FOB. You can't set which lights will be turned on... at least I don't know how.

See my above answer on that:
The trunk button coming home light activation is
HEIMLEUCHTEN_FUNKSCHL
aktiv
You do need FRM3 to use this.

You can set the length via iDrive

Last edited by Hanzoligen; 12-07-2011 at 07:28 PM.
Hanzoligen is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2011, 09:00 PM   #19
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posts: 584
iTrader: (1)

Hanzoligen - do you happen to know how to change how many blinks the 'soft' turn signal does? default is 3, I would prefer 5 blinks.

Also so the doors automatically lock when driving off? I don't have the ability to edit any of those custom functions on my e90, disabled for Canada I assume.
ZZZZ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2011, 09:11 PM   #20
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
I know about the follow me home feature, with flashing the high beams as you leave, I would love to use just the trunk button but i only have an FRM2 module.

If we could figure out how to disable the low beams with the follow me home lights then i would switch to an FRM3 immediately!
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2011, 04:20 AM   #21
Hanzoligen
New Member
 
Drives: 123d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: GER

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

ZZZZ: turn signal see here http://************/c6su7o5
auto lock maybe see this: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=573520
Please dont hijack the thread. Open a new one and do a search before.

335nightrider: I've never seen people configure the Coming Home lights but I bet there IS a way to do this. I don't think we will be able to use the trunk button for coming home without FRM3. There are still hardware limitations for everything unfortunately.
Hanzoligen is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2011, 10:11 PM   #22
///M Leardo
Youngin
 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 389
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Hanzoligen i would like to work to figure out if we can configure the coming home lights, if we can do that then i'll make the switch to the FRM3 so that I can have full functionality
///M Leardo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST