E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Battery Replacement - reprogram?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-02-2012, 08:20 PM   #1
Brennan
'The Godfather'
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Drives: SAAB 9-3 Aero TTiD
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Crossgar, N.Ireland

Posts: 1,063
iTrader: (0)

Battery Replacement - reprogram?

Guys, im looking to replace the battery in my 06 diesel e90, i heard that you need to get the car reprogrammed to tell the car it has a new battery, or else if you dont it will not charge the battery properly which can lead to obvious problems. Also, only the dealer is able to do this.

Is this true about reprogramming?
Brennan is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 01:29 AM   #2
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Any good coder should be able to do that for you.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 02:19 AM   #3
a11y
Second Lieutenant
 
a11y's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Scotland

Posts: 279
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Load of bullsh*t IME (not makkan's post - just about the need to recode!).

I replaced the battery on my 57-plate e90 330i 2 weeks ago. Did it myself using a guide I found on here - just unplugged the old one and attached the new one. I ensured the replacement was the same spec (amp rating and capacity) to avoid any problems as I've heard that’s where they can develop.
__________________
BMW e90 330i M Sport
a11y is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 06:08 AM   #4
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by a11y View Post
Load of bullsh*t IME (not makkan's post - just about the need to recode!).

I replaced the battery on my 57-plate e90 330i 2 weeks ago. Did it myself using a guide I found on here - just unplugged the old one and attached the new one. I ensured the replacement was the same spec (amp rating and capacity) to avoid any problems as I've heard thatís where they can develop.
You can get away with it, without coding it.

Correct way is to register the battery.
It reset the values of power feed from alternator to battery and vice versa.
So the computer knows that it is a new battery and alternator is not over feeding your battery (which may lead to pre-mature failing of new battery).

I am sharing the ideas which have been discussed on states side.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 07:12 AM   #5
a11y
Second Lieutenant
 
a11y's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Scotland

Posts: 279
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
You can get away with it, without coding it.

Correct way is to register the battery.
It reset the values of power feed from alternator to battery and vice versa.
So the computer knows that it is a new battery and alternator is not over feeding your battery (which may lead to pre-mature failing of new battery).

I am sharing the ideas which have been discussed on states side.
I got fairly clued up from some of the posts from stateside members having to recode batteries, but that's a good summary of it
__________________
BMW e90 330i M Sport
a11y is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 12:32 PM   #6
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by a11y View Post
I got fairly clued up from some of the posts from stateside members having to recode batteries, but that's a good summary of it
I don't know what the reality is TBH. But surely if it happens on my car, I will change the battery and simply register new battery to keep the things smooth.

For OP, I would not worry much about it and do as a11y mentioned.
Swap it and give it a go.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 02:27 PM   #7
Brennan
'The Godfather'
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Drives: SAAB 9-3 Aero TTiD
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Crossgar, N.Ireland

Posts: 1,063
iTrader: (0)

so its fine not to do it then? i dont like to play into the hands of BMW if i can help it, they have too many billions already
Brennan is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 02:42 PM   #8
NJ 1161
Major
 
NJ 1161's Avatar
 
Drives: 335D M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 1,076
iTrader: (0)

I just fitted a new battery and everything works ( well except a separate code issue, but this was there before new battery).

I think your dilemma is, will not registering decrease your new battery life expectancy?

If I new someone local/ forum member etc who would do it cheap I would. If not I wouldn't bother and risk buying a new battery slightly sooner if the rumour is true!,
__________________
NJ 1161 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 03:32 PM   #9
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,981
iTrader: (7)

If you get one with a 3/5 year warranty keep the reciept handy...
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 01:01 AM   #10
chesney72
First Lieutenant
 
chesney72's Avatar
 
Drives: JB4 G5 335i Sport Touring
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland

Posts: 344
iTrader: (1)

I replaced mine without coding and its not lasted long! Def get it coded.
chesney72 is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 07:48 AM   #11
Greg330
Captain
 
Greg330's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Coast

Posts: 715
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by a11y View Post
Load of bullsh*t IME (not makkan's post - just about the need to recode!).

I replaced the battery on my 57-plate e90 330i 2 weeks ago. Did it myself using a guide I found on here - just unplugged the old one and attached the new one. I ensured the replacement was the same spec (amp rating and capacity) to avoid any problems as I've heard thatís where they can develop.
Do you have a link to the guide?!

I'd like to take the battery out and give it a good charge before winter. I live in a flat so not easy to do it whilst still in the car....

Also will that need recoding still?!
Greg330 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST