E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > E90 320D Pre-facelift keyfob wont lock but will unlock



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-12-2014, 02:19 PM   #1
Miss Cat
Private First Class
 
Drives: 55 320D SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

E90 320D Pre-facelift keyfob wont lock but will unlock

Hey all!

Just wanted some input and opinions on the above.

My keyfob can unlock the car and boot but it wont lock the car so each time i lock the car I have to use the manual pull out key, which is a nuisance...

Ive booked it into BMW this friday but wanted to see if anyone had the same problem with the E90?? I wanna see what i can check myself before spending 50.00 for them to just diagnose it =(

On a sidenote....anyone know how much another key fob costs from the stealers?? when i bought the car it only came with one key =(

Many thanks all

Miss Cat xxx
Miss Cat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 02:37 PM   #2
KrisM79
Major
 
KrisM79's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Scotland

Posts: 1,001
iTrader: (0)

Sounds like a key fault to me.Does all doors still lock / unlock from button on dash?

New keys are Ordered uniquely to the car.From memory I'm sure they work straight away but old ones need removed ftom the cars system.

Price wise I'm sure their around 150
KrisM79 is online now   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 06:10 PM   #3
Miss Cat
Private First Class
 
Drives: 55 320D SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KrisM79 View Post
Sounds like a key fault to me.Does all doors still lock / unlock from button on dash?

New keys are Ordered uniquely to the car.From memory I'm sure they work straight away but old ones need removed ftom the cars system.

Price wise I'm sure their around 150
Yes the button on the dash still functions fine where i can lock and unlock the car....does this mean there shouldnt be a problem with the door actuator??

Just the silly lock button on the Key FOB isnt working

150? booooo...that on top of the diagnose for 50 is gonna cost me loads

ahhhhhhh

Miss Cat x
Miss Cat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 06:14 AM   #4
KrisM79
Major
 
KrisM79's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Scotland

Posts: 1,001
iTrader: (0)

To be honest I wouldn't bother with the diagnosis.These keys fail all the time ,pretty common issue
KrisM79 is online now   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 06:49 AM   #5
Digitalize
Photographer
 
Digitalize's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 320D M Sport TiAg
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Weymouth/Bath

Posts: 825
iTrader: (0)

I'd just order the key, I'm guessing you don't have the second key so it's worth getting one.
Digitalize is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 08:53 AM   #6
Sensible_
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 383
iTrader: (0)

Blank fob can be programmed to your car by some independents as well as dealers.

As you already have BMW dealing with it might as well stick with them.

Although, I'd keep hold of the faulty key and open it up. It's probably just a sticky button on the PCB which could be replaced. See attached image.
Attached Images
 
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 01:03 PM   #7
Miss Cat
Private First Class
 
Drives: 55 320D SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

I am actually prepping my car to sell so need to sort this FOB out.... =(

I am worried if i buy another key it wont solve the problem so ive wasted more money! =( sticky situation.........ahhhhh what to do =(

watch this space on the 'upgrade' though hehe =D
Miss Cat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 02:06 PM   #8
Miss Cat
Private First Class
 
Drives: 55 320D SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

Just tried replacing FUSE 56 and 57 but still no different =(

At one point the car wasnt locking at all!!! think my greasy fingers touched the FUSE making the connection bad....that possible?? ha
Miss Cat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 02:42 PM   #9
Brian mc21
Captain
 
Brian mc21's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 320d M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Belfast. Northern Ireland.

Posts: 843
iTrader: (4)

Probably faulty micro switch. Had this problem before. A friend of mine cut my remote open and replaced the switch then siliconed the fob back together. Sorted. I would try this before forking out any money.
__________________
E92 330D LCI
Garage List
NSR 250 MC21, CBR 600RR 3
RVF400
Brian mc21 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 04:36 PM   #10
Sensible_
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 383
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miss Cat
Just tried replacing FUSE 56 and 57 but still no different =(

At one point the car wasnt locking at all!!! think my greasy fingers touched the FUSE making the connection bad....that possible?? ha
Like Brian mc21 says, try changing the button on the fob. It's very unlikely to be a problem with the vehicle.
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 06:14 PM   #11
Miss Cat
Private First Class
 
Drives: 55 320D SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian mc21 View Post
Probably faulty micro switch. Had this problem before. A friend of mine cut my remote open and replaced the switch then siliconed the fob back together. Sorted. I would try this before forking out any money.
I only have one key so worried i damage it and wont have a space to hand

Anyone can link me to DIY for this jobbie? maybe i should give it a shot....

Miss Cat xxx
Miss Cat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2014, 02:07 AM   #12
Sensible_
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 383
iTrader: (0)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=811431

That will get you Access to the board. Once open, try and directly depress the unlock button on the board and see if it unlocks the car, if it does you just need a new external button / housing.

If you can actually see the switch is damaged / stuck it will need to be removed by desoldering it and then you can solder a new button. Don't be daunted by this, soldering irons are direct cheap. There are some good guides online.
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2014, 01:55 PM   #13
Miss Cat
Private First Class
 
Drives: 55 320D SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

Just followed your linky and opened the housing but all the switches look fine....pressed unlock and the unlock boot button..both work fine...but when i press the unlock button, it doesnt =(

I assume it maybe the button thats gone faulty? =(
Miss Cat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2014, 09:34 AM   #14
Sensible_
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 383
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miss Cat
Just followed your linky and opened the housing but all the switches look fine....pressed unlock and the unlock boot button..both work fine...but when i press the unlock button, it doesnt =(

I assume it maybe the button thats gone faulty? =(
Quite possibly, either that or the pcb is damaged but that's unlikely.

I wouldn't expect it to be the Hitag wireless chip inside as it's still sending a lock signal.

I'd try replacing the button. You can buy the buttons from eBay very cheaply then either solder it yourself or find someone who will do it for you. You don't have much to lose...
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2014, 03:30 PM   #15
Miss Cat
Private First Class
 
Drives: 55 320D SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Quite possibly, either that or the pcb is damaged but that's unlikely.

I wouldn't expect it to be the Hitag wireless chip inside as it's still sending a lock signal.

I'd try replacing the button. You can buy the buttons from eBay very cheaply then either solder it yourself or find someone who will do it for you. You don't have much to lose...
ummmm whats pcb stand for?
Miss Cat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2014, 03:59 PM   #16
Brian mc21
Captain
 
Brian mc21's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 320d M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Belfast. Northern Ireland.

Posts: 843
iTrader: (4)

Pcb =printed circuit board. The big green bit with all the bits and pieces on it as per the pic a few posts up.
__________________
E92 330D LCI
Garage List
NSR 250 MC21, CBR 600RR 3
RVF400
Brian mc21 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2014, 04:15 PM   #17
Miss Cat
Private First Class
 
Drives: 55 320D SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

hahahah thanks!

Im just worried it could be the actuator or the transmitter thingy =(
Miss Cat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2014, 12:17 AM   #18
Sensible_
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 383
iTrader: (0)

Just reading back through the thread. Did you replace the fuses with 20amp ones or old 15amp ones? 20amp fuses should be used.

Also, when replacing them try disconnecting the battery for a while.

------

My money is still on the button at the moment.
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST