E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Light system! Error



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-22-2015, 03:24 PM   #1
CBMAC7
Live life to the fullest!
United_States
2
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 335 xDRIVE M SPORT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Montana

iTrader: (0)

Light system! Error

Hey guys if anyone is will to help or contact me that would be great. Willing to pay something at this point! I need help and believe my footwell module needs to be reset. The car was working perfectly fine. Disconnected battery and reconnected in about 2 hours. After that nothing but issues. Can't control front windows, brake lights, signal lights and could be more. All associated with the footwell I believe. Thanks in advance!
__________________
FBO - CPE DP'S, CUSTOM CXRACING FMIC, STETT CAI, KW'S, COBB V3, WEDGE PRO TUNE, ALPINA B3 FLASH
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2015, 09:17 PM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
274
Rep
18,303
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Light module is fried..Change out to a new one..There is no recovery
__________________
917-939-4980 Email address : ccnoner@aol.com

Appreciate 0
      07-23-2015, 01:43 AM   #3
CBMAC7
Live life to the fullest!
United_States
2
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 335 xDRIVE M SPORT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Montana

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic
Light module is fried..Change out to a new one..There is no recovery
Light module? Same as footwell module? Can I code that myself if I get a new one?
__________________
FBO - CPE DP'S, CUSTOM CXRACING FMIC, STETT CAI, KW'S, COBB V3, WEDGE PRO TUNE, ALPINA B3 FLASH
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2015, 08:04 PM   #4
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
274
Rep
18,303
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBMAC7 View Post
Light module? Same as footwell module? Can I code that myself if I get a new one?
Yes Footwell Module is the FRM3 module...Use Winkfp to code it and NCSexpert
__________________
917-939-4980 Email address : ccnoner@aol.com

Appreciate 0
      08-02-2015, 12:00 PM   #5
D0Z3R_NY335i
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Suffolk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CBMAC7 View Post
Hey guys if anyone is will to help or contact me that would be great. Willing to pay something at this point! I need help and believe my footwell module needs to be reset. The car was working perfectly fine. Disconnected battery and reconnected in about 2 hours. After that nothing but issues. Can't control front windows, brake lights, signal lights and could be more. All associated with the footwell I believe. Thanks in advance!
Buddy of mine experienced exact same problem with his 2011 335xi.

First off i would test the voltage using a multimeter on all of the connectors going to the FRM. It's located on the left wall of the footwell behind the hood release latch. The brown wires are ground and red are hot, if your getting power to the module then you know its fried. I have seen (because of the location of the module) that moisture, whether it be from snow or wet feet, has caused the wires in that area to be affected by corrosion and sometimes just the connector has to be replaced. But before you go out and spend 250-500 bucks on a new FRM, i would definitely check all of that first.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2015, 09:47 AM   #6
matteblue3er
Private First Class
6
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: Racecar
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

I wouldn't jump straight into replacing the module. Saying the module is fried without knowing any background of the situation or even seeing in person is ridiculous.

I would check fuses and power to the module first as mentioned.

If the FRM is getting proper power, I would then see if the module can be connected to and coded. If it can, try defaulting it.

If you cannot connect to the module at all, you can try force flashing with NFS. Then defaulting with NCS.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2015, 10:45 PM   #7
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
274
Rep
18,303
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by matteblue3er View Post
I wouldn't jump straight into replacing the module. Saying the module is fried without knowing any background of the situation or even seeing in person is ridiculous.

I would check fuses and power to the module first as mentioned.

If the FRM is getting proper power, I would then see if the module can be connected to and coded. If it can, try defaulting it.

If you cannot connect to the module at all, you can try force flashing with NFS. Then defaulting with NCS.
You cant force flash NFS to a module that has NO CONNECTION or communication and especially a FRM3 module...THe module is fried...These frm3 modules for some reason go out with sudden voltage change and the OP disconnected the battery and probably arched it when attaching the terminal back
__________________
917-939-4980 Email address : ccnoner@aol.com

Appreciate 0
      08-05-2015, 09:52 AM   #8
matteblue3er
Private First Class
6
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: Racecar
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
You cant force flash NFS to a module that has NO CONNECTION or communication and especially a FRM3 module...THe module is fried...These frm3 modules for some reason go out with sudden voltage change and the OP disconnected the battery and probably arched it when attaching the terminal back
Where in this thread did the OP mention there is no coms?

You are assuming......

I have recovered many modules that show com errors in NCS and INPA.

Last edited by matteblue3er; 08-05-2015 at 09:59 AM.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2015, 01:11 AM   #9
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
274
Rep
18,303
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by matteblue3er View Post
Where in this thread did the OP mention there is no coms?

You are assuming......

I have recovered many modules that show com errors in NCS and INPA.
Listen I am not here to do a pissing contest with you...If you recovered a FMR3 then just say you have but don't speculate...I know other modules can be recovered but NOT the FRM3 module
__________________
917-939-4980 Email address : ccnoner@aol.com

Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST