E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-09-2012, 06:53 PM   #1
ntpcrew13
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ntpcrew13's Avatar
 
Drives: Arctic e90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: chicago,il (mokena)

Posts: 1,598
iTrader: (29)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ntpcrew13
Coding question

What amperage should the battery charger be at if I'm completely coding the car. I just don't want the car to die before I'm finished coding.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
......support your local vendors. view my garage for a list of mods.

ntpcrew13 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 07:15 PM   #2
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

For coding it doesnt matter cause you can do it with just igniotion on andnit takes couple of minutes, if you want to update your ar sftware get yourself power supply
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 09:04 PM   #3
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

I have a 50 amp power supply with an amp meter. With ignition on and everything settled down it draws about 15-20 amps so I would expect 20 amp to be the minimum to maintain a constant voltage. It will draw 40-45 amps when first connected and ignition first turned on and settles down in about 5 minutes or so. It will probably take longer to settle with a power supply with less total amperage than mine. Make sure it's regulated or it'll probably smoke itself.

As ******* says, you don't really need one for coding; only for programming where a single session can take hours. You'll want a constant voltage that whole time.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-18-2012, 02:45 PM   #4
MikeinAlexandria
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 128i M Sport Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA

Posts: 567
iTrader: (0)

I have a 5amp Deltran Battery charger. If I charge the car overnight, and leave it plugged in while coding, I can spend all day going through modules and not have the battery go flat at all. Remember to turn off your DRLs, and if your doors are going to be open, the interior lights. The main reason for having an actual power supply is if you would be trying to flash module firmware. I am no where near trying that, and probably won't ever do it, just too risky.

You can, if you go quickly, code a car without any power at all, presuming the battery is in good shape and you are only spending less than an hour or so.
MikeinAlexandria is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST