E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > No audio coming from my radio



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-08-2011, 01:08 AM   #1
bimmer03231984
Private
 
bimmer03231984's Avatar
 
Drives: bmw 325i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: utah

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
No audio coming from my radio

so my radio does not have any audio. Ive tried the fuses and and it doesn't seem to be any burnt fuses. i also checked the amp and thats not the problem. This situation happened to me a while back where one day i came into my car, it stopped working. i went into the dealership and they wanted to charge a ridiculous amount for 1 hour to "reprogram" it. can anyone from utah help me?

The radio works properly, everything works and the radian seams to be running by not audio is coming out from the speaks. also when i turn the volume knob, there is no volume indicators like it use to.
bimmer03231984 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2011, 01:52 AM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,233
iTrader: (0)

You need to identify which sytem you have

Logic 7 or Hi Fi.
What is the year and model of the car you are talking about?
I wonder why they would want to reprogram it?
The amplifier could be dead in either case.
How did you check the amp?
The volume would indicate a radio problem I think.
http://www.bmwradiorepair.com/?gclid...FccbQgodIEn0Cg

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-C...ioQ5fVideo#ht_

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1266451970
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2011, 04:40 PM   #3
e_a_u_c
Private First Class
 
e_a_u_c's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 08 e93
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sfl

Posts: 125
iTrader: (0)

same problem any idea my car is a 07 e93 335
e_a_u_c is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2011, 07:21 PM   #4
bimmer03231984
Private
 
bimmer03231984's Avatar
 
Drives: bmw 325i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: utah

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
I still haven't been able to do anything. I went to the software screen after you start you car, turn radio off, turn car off. Start car again and hold the m button for ten seconds, it shows me serial and software numbers and to turn rds off. Anything else I can do from the menu?
bimmer03231984 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2011, 08:27 PM   #5
e_a_u_c
Private First Class
 
e_a_u_c's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 08 e93
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sfl

Posts: 125
iTrader: (0)

did u check all the fuse already ??
e_a_u_c is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2011, 03:04 AM   #6
bimmer03231984
Private
 
bimmer03231984's Avatar
 
Drives: bmw 325i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: utah

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_a_u_c View Post
did u check all the fuse already ??
yeah i checked the fuse. everything seems fine but when i turn the volume knob, there aren't any of those volume bars that move like it use to. i think it might be the radio programming or i need a update the software from the dealership. expensive!
bimmer03231984 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2011, 07:26 PM   #7
e_a_u_c
Private First Class
 
e_a_u_c's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 08 e93
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sfl

Posts: 125
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer03231984 View Post
yeah i checked the fuse. everything seems fine but when i turn the volume knob, there aren't any of those volume bars that move like it use to. i think it might be the radio programming or i need a update the software from the dealership. expensive!
FUCKKKKKK!!! I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM
e_a_u_c is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2011, 10:42 PM   #8
Misterted
Maniac with a BMW
 
Misterted's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 135i Vert M-Sport 6mt
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jersey Shore

Posts: 159
iTrader: (0)

Is the obd telling you theres a problem?
This happened to me and it turned out to be that the"box" that runs the audio fried, it is located in the trunk, drivers side behind panel.
__________________
2012 135i Vert 6mt
Space Gray Metallic/Black/M-Sport
Harmon Kardon/Sirius/HD/iPod
Heated Power Seats
Misterted is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2011, 12:31 AM   #9
bimmer03231984
Private
 
bimmer03231984's Avatar
 
Drives: bmw 325i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: utah

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterted View Post
Is the obd telling you theres a problem?
This happened to me and it turned out to be that the"box" that runs the audio fried, it is located in the trunk, drivers side behind panel.
ill have to try it out
bimmer03231984 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2011, 08:03 AM   #10
e_a_u_c
Private First Class
 
e_a_u_c's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 08 e93
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sfl

Posts: 125
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterted View Post
Is the obd telling you theres a problem?
This happened to me and it turned out to be that the"box" that runs the audio fried, it is located in the trunk, drivers side behind panel.
can you please show were is that located?

also how did u check it ?
how much was the replacement?

thx
e_a_u_c is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2011, 12:01 AM   #11
Lamboblue
Bad Motherfucker
 
Drives: 2009 E92 AW
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Calgary

Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
This may be a stupid suggestion but try pushing the volume button in... I had the same issue when I picked up my car from service and realized that pushing the volume button mutes the system
Lamboblue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2012, 01:27 AM   #12
space328i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: new york

Posts: 303
iTrader: (0)

Hey did this happen after a car wash because I read on the forum that the floor get wet and that messed up a fiber optics cable there. Or maybe rain ?
space328i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2012, 01:30 AM   #13
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,233
iTrader: (0)

Fiber optics don't short out

Only light passes through them.
They are made of fiber . They are not electrical in any way.
The amp that uses electricity might short out.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2012, 01:46 AM   #14
space328i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: new york

Posts: 303
iTrader: (0)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=627947

I went to a car wash in my friends 335 e92 and we were listing to a cd and after we got in the car the radio wouldn't turn on. Neither will the navigation say anything he connected the aux and started to touch the tip of the aux cable to see if the static noise will start and nothing he shut the car on and off is there any way to reset the radio or turn it off and turn it on the car not under warrenty any advise anyone ? should he try unplugin the battery but he coded the car so he not sure if he should.
space328i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 02:15 PM   #15
msrothwell
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC

Posts: 231
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer03231984 View Post
so my radio does not have any audio. Ive tried the fuses and and it doesn't seem to be any burnt fuses. i also checked the amp and thats not the problem. This situation happened to me a while back where one day i came into my car, it stopped working. i went into the dealership and they wanted to charge a ridiculous amount for 1 hour to "reprogram" it. can anyone from utah help me?

The radio works properly, everything works and the radian seams to be running by not audio is coming out from the speaks. also when i turn the volume knob, there is no volume indicators like it use to.
Did you ever fix your problem? I'm having the same one. No sound, but the radio turns on and selects stations.
msrothwell is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 02:17 PM   #16
wobbles1
Second Lieutenant
 
wobbles1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 AW 1M #541
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hawaii

Posts: 238
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterted View Post
Is the obd telling you theres a problem?
This happened to me and it turned out to be that the"box" that runs the audio fried, it is located in the trunk, drivers side behind panel.
It called an amplifier if you have premium sound
wobbles1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2012, 10:57 AM   #17
hboss1217
Private First Class
 
Drives: BMW 335i Coupe 6 MT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 130
iTrader: (4)

im having the same issue no volume bars but then again the guy i bought it from told it was the amp.
hboss1217 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2012, 12:48 PM   #18
alex76
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: BMW 330 06
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston, Texas

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

I got the similar issue with E90 330i 2006. I parked the car outside in the lightning rain and booom, the next morning all the sounds gone. The radio and cd player still good. Brought it to dealer and they checked and quoted for 1.5K for amp replacement. I've been looking around with some local radio rapair shop and they said there is no way to fix the logic7 whenever it's dead. Only bought the used one from junkyard or pay painful amount at dealer to get the new one with 1 year warranty. This bmw got my nerve now and all i want is to get rid of it asap!!!!
alex76 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2012, 03:32 PM   #19
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,233
iTrader: (0)

There are some people that advertize amp repair.

There are some people that advertize amp repair
and radio repair.

Repair resources

http://www.bmwgm5.com/Logic7_6941681.htm
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-C...ioQ5fVideo#ht_
http://www.bmwradiorepair.com/?gclid...FccbQgodIEn0Cg



If you have the Hi Fi amp(premium system) you might as well replace it with
a Jl audio 600/6 and a technic harness . L7 is much harder.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2012, 10:55 PM   #20
hboss1217
Private First Class
 
Drives: BMW 335i Coupe 6 MT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 130
iTrader: (4)

Any results??? I just bought a logic amp that I thought would fix the issue and it didn't work!!!! Damn I'm pissed!!!! Please somebody give me or us a logical answer.... Thank you.... FML
hboss1217 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2012, 07:54 PM   #21
Excorcist
Private
 
Drives: 2008 335i sedan
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Reno

Posts: 56
iTrader: (1)

I have the same problem, anyone ever figure this one out? When i turn volume knob nothing happens, but i can play cd, and browse radio stations... NO SOUND THOUGH I just bought the car I'm assuming there some chimes etc.. when you turn it on and none of that happens either.
Excorcist is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2012, 10:19 AM   #22
msrothwell
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC

Posts: 231
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Excorcist View Post
I have the same problem, anyone ever figure this one out? When i turn volume knob nothing happens, but i can play cd, and browse radio stations... NO SOUND THOUGH I just bought the car I'm assuming there some chimes etc.. when you turn it on and none of that happens either.
I ended up bending over and going to the dealership. $1600 and a sore ass later, my radio works. I tried having an electronics guy fix the damage, and while he was able to make the amp operational again, the BMW techs were unable to program the amp, so I had to get a new one.

The logic 7 is definitly NOT the best part about this car.
msrothwell is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST