E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Hardwiring a V1



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-10-2011, 01:55 AM   #1
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
94
Rep
2,103
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (25)

Hardwiring a V1

Not gonna lie. This is probably super easy but I need help.

My V1 came with a direct wire as shown below. This has a 2A inline mini fuse. I got a fuse tap from Autozone. I crimped a connector to the fuse tap so it can easily join with the direct wire. Pics 1 & 2

Now, I opened my fuse box and there are several open slots. Can you take a look and answer these questions?

1) Do I plug into an open or used slot?
2) Which slot should I use? I often hear people say the cigarette lighter but I can't tell based on the included diagram.
3) If I tap into a used slot, do I move that fuse into the fuse tap and still leave the 2A inline fuse in the direct wire?

I hope that's clear enough.

Thanks in advance!

Wiring





Fuse Box and diagram







Appreciate 0
      12-11-2011, 02:08 PM   #2
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
94
Rep
2,103
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (25)

Bump for guidance.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2011, 04:23 PM   #3
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
1QuikWS6's Avatar
United_States
464
Rep
6,793
Posts

Drives: F32 435ix MSport ->M6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

iTrader: (95)

Garage List
2016 BMW 435ix  [0.00]
On my 09' 328ix E92, I used slot as shown in pics below, which on my car is Position #7 - appears to be Position #28 on your car. There already was a 5A fuse in that position (same as in your position #28). Installing to that position allowed for detector ON only when ignition is ON



__________________
F32 435ix//Mineral Gray Metallic//Black Dakota Leather//Brush Alum Trim w/Black Accent//M Sport Pkg//Prem Pkg//Tech Pkg//Driver Assist Pkg//Lighting Pkg//Cold Weather Pkg//Dynamic Handling Pkg//HK Surround Sound+BavSound Stg2//437M Wheels//MPerf Pedals-CF Rear Spoiler-CF Mirror Caps-LED Sills-CF Shift Knob/Shift Surround/M4 Alcantara Armrest//CF Side Grilles//MPE w/CF Tips+CGP VSC-1//Dinan CF Intake//AA FMIC//ER CP+TIC//FabSpeed DP//Active8 Tune
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2011, 04:14 AM   #4
dbjb
I sweat pheromones
dbjb's Avatar
94
Rep
2,103
Posts

Drives: e92 335i, retired SLK55
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (25)

Finally got around to trying fuse 28. After looking at the diagram, it appears that fuse controls the home link buttons which are only functional when the vehicle is running. That was the perfect spot.

Thanks for the guidance. Very much appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2011, 04:51 AM   #5
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
1QuikWS6's Avatar
United_States
464
Rep
6,793
Posts

Drives: F32 435ix MSport ->M6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

iTrader: (95)

Garage List
2016 BMW 435ix  [0.00]


Come to think of it, that was what mine controlled also.

Glad to help...
__________________
F32 435ix//Mineral Gray Metallic//Black Dakota Leather//Brush Alum Trim w/Black Accent//M Sport Pkg//Prem Pkg//Tech Pkg//Driver Assist Pkg//Lighting Pkg//Cold Weather Pkg//Dynamic Handling Pkg//HK Surround Sound+BavSound Stg2//437M Wheels//MPerf Pedals-CF Rear Spoiler-CF Mirror Caps-LED Sills-CF Shift Knob/Shift Surround/M4 Alcantara Armrest//CF Side Grilles//MPE w/CF Tips+CGP VSC-1//Dinan CF Intake//AA FMIC//ER CP+TIC//FabSpeed DP//Active8 Tune
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2011, 07:30 AM   #6
AppFan
Private
AppFan's Avatar
2
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charlotte NC

iTrader: (1)

Glad I saw this. My V1 has been sitting in a drawer for the past 4 years or so and I don't have the lighter plug but do have their hardwire plug. Guess I need to see if the software is up to date and hook it up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Apex View Post
.....it sounds like the PE with a baby seal feather pillow over it.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 11:13 AM   #7
whoosh
Higher than you
whoosh's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
294
Posts

Drives: M235i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the pics and info.
__________________

Current: '15 M235iX | '15 Macan S | '00 Honda S2000
Notable Previous: '12 E92 335is | '10 STi | '88 E30 325iX
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2011, 08:36 PM   #8
PoloBlk
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 335i M Package
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: MiSSiSSiPPi

iTrader: (0)

Hey, I currently have a E 9500ix and thinking about switching to a V1 could you post a few pics of how/where the wires are ran.? I'd like to do this but want a clean install. THANKS
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST