E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Aquamist flow sensor 806-428



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-19-2011, 11:31 PM   #23
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Finished the wiring part finally and tomorrow I will install the underpanels back on and drop the car off the rhino ramps. Hopefully I can test it out but like always it has to rain! Keep you guys posted on my progress.

The only bad thing I can say so far before even testing the Aquamist unit is the damn tiny wires that it uses..Its something 26 guage wires and used
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area


Last edited by cn555ic; 12-19-2011 at 11:37 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 06:37 AM   #24
Chefcg1
Major
Chefcg1's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,091
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mount Airy, NC

iTrader: (6)

looking forward to your results, I have been looking at that unit for a while now. Mind sharing how you got such a good deal?
__________________
2008 335i coupe AW 6AT, RB Turbos, PROcede 2.5 V5, Alpina Flash, Injen Intake, VK MW DP . Helix IC, Vishnu PnP Meth(M10 nozzel), M3 sides, OEM Aero Lip, VMR V710 Midnight Blue, LUX H8, HID Fogs, M3 front bits, D2 Copilovers, Whiteline Rear Bushing inserts, Custom M3 Steering Wheel, Cyba scoops, M2 Performance Exhaust
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 06:42 AM   #25
Chefcg1
Major
Chefcg1's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,091
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mount Airy, NC

iTrader: (6)

never mind , looks like you got it off the NASICO board...good find!
__________________
2008 335i coupe AW 6AT, RB Turbos, PROcede 2.5 V5, Alpina Flash, Injen Intake, VK MW DP . Helix IC, Vishnu PnP Meth(M10 nozzel), M3 sides, OEM Aero Lip, VMR V710 Midnight Blue, LUX H8, HID Fogs, M3 front bits, D2 Copilovers, Whiteline Rear Bushing inserts, Custom M3 Steering Wheel, Cyba scoops, M2 Performance Exhaust
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 03:19 PM   #26
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Tested the older unit out and it doesnt seem to work It shows flow of 78-79 but the Procede unit keeps throwing a overflow code and goes into a valet mode which makes the meth system not work...I guess I need the newer version one! SUcks bigtime
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 04:15 PM   #27
tscdennab
Banned
55
Rep
1,811
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW  [3.12]
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Tested the older unit out and it doesnt seem to work It shows flow of 78-79 but the Procede unit keeps throwing a overflow code and goes into a valet mode which makes the meth system not work...I guess I need the newer version one! SUcks bigtime
You can use 2 resistors ($1 total) and make a voltage divider. If this sensor outputs 0-5v and Procede needs 0-3.3v range (I remember reading something like this on the forum earlier this year), just make a voltage divider and you are good to go:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voltage_divider

In order to choose the resistors, you first need to measure the current between the sensor and the Procede using a multimeter. Then using the Ohm law ( I = U / R ==> R = U / I = 5v / measured current) you can find out the total resistance needed (R1 + R2) in order for the current to remain somewhat the same. And then using the voltage divider equation (3.3v = (R2 / (R1 + R2)) * 5v) you can find out R1 and R2. And that's it. You can also use a single potentiometer instead of 2 fixed resistors, so you can better adjust the sensor to the Procede.

Last edited by tscdennab; 12-20-2011 at 04:24 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 05:51 PM   #28
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
245
Rep
18,392
Posts


 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
PROcede is suppose to function on 0-5 volt though.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 06:14 PM   #29
tscdennab
Banned
55
Rep
1,811
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW  [3.12]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@topgearsolutions View Post
PROcede is suppose to function on 0-5 volt though.
No, it seems to be capped at 2.5v at least on the methanol flow input:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...5&postcount=38
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 07:27 PM   #30
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Older units do not wOrk. I have tried different size resistors and it's still shows overflow. I checked out Enrita thread and he had to calibrate the green wire, on mine there is no calibration at all and it's just one mapping of voltage c
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 07:29 PM   #31
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Older units do not wOrk. I have tried different size resistors and it's still shows overflow. I checked out Enrita thread and he had to calibrate the green wire, on mine there is no calibration at all and it's just one mapping of voltage compared to the newer one with 3 voltage mappings. Sucks that I have to buy the newer one which I just ordered. If the new one doesn't work, I Am going to flip the fu.Ck out
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 07:41 PM   #32
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
245
Rep
18,392
Posts


 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Quote:
Originally Posted by tscdennab View Post
No, it seems to be capped at 2.5v at least on the methanol flow input:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...5&postcount=38
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Older units do not wOrk. I have tried different size resistors and it's still shows overflow. I checked out Enrita thread and he had to calibrate the green wire, on mine there is no calibration at all and it's just one mapping of voltage c
Ah very interesting. Learn something new every day.

I thought you had a rev 2.5 though?
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 09:11 PM   #33
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@topgearsolutions View Post
Ah very interesting. Learn something new every day.

I thought you had a rev 2.5 though?
I do have the rev 2.5. What does that have to do with it? I am on the PPS kit still and I hope the voltage reading for meth flow hasnt changed since Shiv PROMISED that it would still be supported...If something changed bro, I am going to flip out..Not cool but I will wait and see because I just paid to expedite the new flow sensor to be delivered by Thursday...Want this Shieet working already.. I am so sick of flow sensors these days and this new one better be the one that last or else I am going to go nuts..

As per Enrita post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
ok got an update from Jeff Howerton:
The green wire changes the mapping of the .5 to 4.5v signal coming out of the flow sensor. If you ground the green wire, it will be on the most sensitive map. Leaving the green wire un-connected will enable the middle map. Connecting the green wire to 12v, will enable the highest flow map, which should be about 4.5V for 1500cc.

To get an exact mapping for the flowsensor in your system you would need to flow it into a container for a few flow rates and get exact mapping for the cc/volt output.

Which piggyback are you using? Shiv's or Terry's? I know Shiv had some of the inputs capped at 2.5V and that caused some issues reading normal 0-5v sensors.

So basically for the Procede I need to connect the green wire to the 12V power to get the highest flow setting (and read lower) :-) will try this tomorrow.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 09:13 PM   #34
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
I do have the rev 2.5. What does that have to do with it? I am on the PPS kit still and I hope the voltage reading for meth flow hasnt changed since Shiv PROMISED that it would still be supported...If something changed bro, I am going to flip out..Not cool but I will wait and see because I just paid to expedite the new flow sensor to be delivered by Thursday...Want this Shieet working already.. I am so sick of flow sensors these days and this new one better be the one that last or else I am going to go nuts..

As per Enrita post:
good luck!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 09:16 PM   #35
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Enrita quoted:

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
i have connected the green with red on the aquamist. It is still reading high.
54 on nozzle 1 and 72 with both nozzles.
I have set procede to 50 and no more overflow codes. Its winter anyway now so wont be using meth anymore till spring.

Howerton replied thats the best the unit can do:
With this model, this is the best we can do. It's unfortunate that Shiv has not changed a software setting to make this work better for the users, as he told us in the past he would.

We could put a small voltage divider on the signal wire to cut the voltage if need be.
Looks as though it still reads high but its enough not to trigger the overflow detection..I could give a rats ass if it read high at this point as long as it is functional and doesnt crap out like the rest of the junk that I had...This is another prime example of Shiv not coming through, and I hope he does come through because this is ridiculous if it doesnt work...I have spent over 600 bucks on these Freaking flow sensors...From crappy, to crap to hopefully less crap!

159 for the crappy shit ass Labonte unit, 192 for the crap heat useless Snow Performance, 60 bucks for older Aquamist flow sensor (my fault from not researching and impulse buy) and 195 for latest and greatest Aquamist unit
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 09:45 PM   #36
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
245
Rep
18,392
Posts


 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
I do have the rev 2.5. What does that have to do with it? I am on the PPS kit still and I hope the voltage reading for meth flow hasnt changed since Shiv PROMISED that it would still be supported...If something changed bro, I am going to flip out..Not cool but I will wait and see because I just paid to expedite the new flow sensor to be delivered by Thursday...Want this Shieet working already.. I am so sick of flow sensors these days and this new one better be the one that last or else I am going to go nuts..

As per Enrita post:
Sorry I got lost in the mix. I thought it was the PROcede that was capped. IT is the flow sensor that was capped on the old versions. I have noticed there are less problems with no flow sensors but I still recommend them for safety. I could have got you the new for a little less however there isnt much movement on them.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 09:46 PM   #37
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
245
Rep
18,392
Posts


 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
I do have the rev 2.5. What does that have to do with it? I am on the PPS kit still and I hope the voltage reading for meth flow hasnt changed since Shiv PROMISED that it would still be supported...If something changed bro, I am going to flip out..Not cool but I will wait and see because I just paid to expedite the new flow sensor to be delivered by Thursday...Want this Shieet working already.. I am so sick of flow sensors these days and this new one better be the one that last or else I am going to go nuts..

As per Enrita post:
Sorry I got lost in the mix. I thought it was the PROcede that was capped. It is the flow sensor that was capped on the old versions now that I understand? I have noticed there are less problems with no flow sensors but I still recommend them for safety.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 10:38 PM   #38
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@topgearsolutions View Post
Sorry I got lost in the mix. I thought it was the PROcede that was capped. It is the flow sensor that was capped on the old versions now that I understand? I have noticed there are less problems with no flow sensors but I still recommend them for safety.


At this point Jeff to be honest. I do like the notification with the hazards lighting up to indicate max meth flow, but after I get the new one and it's still having issues, I might as well goto Cobb or JB4 at this point. Procede support is getting to be like a distance island that you see while stranded on a life boat waiting to be rescued
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 10:56 PM   #39
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
I will put it out there. But Shiv can you help re-scale the aquamist flow sensor for us PPS meth kit users. Is there some user tunable adjustment that can be made on the Procede software? Please help if you can
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 11:10 PM   #40
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
94
Rep
7,331
Posts

 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

even with the newer version i was getting overflow on procede since with 2 nozzles i was seeing around 72 max flow. with 1 nozzle 50. 1 nozzle worked fine but with 2 overflow was triggered. so seems after 70 you cannot use the sensor with procede till Shiv allows to change the reading in the procede.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 11:16 PM   #41
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
even with the newer version i was getting overflow on procede since with 2 nozzles i was seeing around 72 max flow. with 1 nozzle 50. 1 nozzle worked fine but with 2 overflow was triggered. so seems after 70 you cannot use the sensor with procede till Shiv allows to change the reading in the procede.
What size nozzles were you using?
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 11:28 PM   #42
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
I will be using a M10 and M7. If you are using two M10 then I might have a chance at this working hopefully lower than 70 reading would be perfect. I only use M7 for nitrous spray.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-23-2011, 09:58 PM   #43
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
After ordering the new unit and speaking with Shiv about what to do with the wiring, it finally works! He suggested to use a voltage divider to the flow wire of the Procede to reduce the voltage...Essentially it drops the voltage in half by using a 2.2k resistor and 1k resistor. My flow is showing a steady 21 right now using a M10 nozzle. I have yet to use the other meth power nozzle that triggers with Nitrous, but Shiv said it should work and show flow somewhere around
30-35 and still not induce a overflow fault in the Procede...I was beating the crap out of the car and inducing the car to go off and on meth, and each time the sensor kept reading perfectly on que! Unlike the Snow unit when the car hit around 250 oil temps it would not function at all till car cooled down, but then again sometimes the engine wasnt that hot and it still crapped out, so I am not sure why its not working all the time...Again this could be where my location was before, I am not sure...Either way I was checking out the engine bay to see if I can relocate the SP unit and there is hardly anywhere I could think of to install this big flow sensor..I found one location all the way at the back of the engine bay near the firewall, but a custom bracket would have to be fabricated. Since I alreaAdy bought the Aquamist unit, I was determined to get it working...Now its fully functional and the size of it made it so easy to install almost anywhere in the engine bay. Compression fittings FTW!
Attached Images
 
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area


Last edited by cn555ic; 12-23-2011 at 11:14 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2011, 07:22 AM   #44
Chefcg1
Major
Chefcg1's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,091
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mount Airy, NC

iTrader: (6)

awesome, glad you got it working. You will have to do a full description of how you wired it all up with the voltage drop so others can be sparred the headache.
__________________
2008 335i coupe AW 6AT, RB Turbos, PROcede 2.5 V5, Alpina Flash, Injen Intake, VK MW DP . Helix IC, Vishnu PnP Meth(M10 nozzel), M3 sides, OEM Aero Lip, VMR V710 Midnight Blue, LUX H8, HID Fogs, M3 front bits, D2 Copilovers, Whiteline Rear Bushing inserts, Custom M3 Steering Wheel, Cyba scoops, M2 Performance Exhaust
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST