E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > FLA retrofit problem



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-27-2016, 10:35 AM   #1
jeezz
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

FLA retrofit problem

Hi guys,

some days ago i retrofitet a mirror with FLA to my 2011 E92. What i did was:

-wire it up
-added $5AC to vo (CAS and NFRM)
-coded FLA, NFRM, KOMBI, CAS and CIC with empty MAN

So i thought everything is working fine and gave it a test drive, so i pushed stalk one time and in KOMBI the little new symbol for FLA came up, but it never activated high beam no matter how fast i was driving or how dark it was...


So i tried checking FLA with INPA, but when i'm trying to go into the module it says:




Translated it's someting like:
"Searching for FLA_65, not found.
Found instead: FLA_R.
Action canceled"


So i read UIF and it shows:

Adr Name JobStatus SGBD ZB-Nr.
-----------------------------------------------
5F FLA OKAY FLA_R 9213316



When coding FLA with NCS Expert it always shows FLA_E65 stuff:




Can someone please tell me what is wrong here? Why Inpa and NCS want to use FLA_E65 and not FLA_R?

greetings
jeezz

Last edited by jeezz; 11-27-2016 at 02:17 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2016, 02:51 PM   #2
808AWD325xi
Ballin' out of control.
808AWD325xi's Avatar
No_Country
293
Rep
1,263
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Moline, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeezz View Post
Hi guys,

some days ago i retrofitet a mirror with FLA to my 2011 E92. What i did was:

-wire it up
-added $5AC to vo (CAS and NFRM)
-coded FLA, NFRM, KOMBI and CIC with empty MAN

So i thought everything is working fine and gave it a test drive, so i pushed stalk one time and in KOMBI the little new symbol for FLA came up, but it never activated high beam no matter how fast i was driving or how dark it was...


So i tried checking FLA with INPA, but when i'm trying to go into the module it says:




Translated it's someting like:
"Searching for FLA_65, not found.
Found instead: FLA_R.
Action canceled"


So i read UIF and it shows:

Adr Name JobStatus SGBD ZB-Nr.
-----------------------------------------------
5F FLA OKAY FLA_R 9213316



When coding FLA with NCS Expert it always shows FLA_E65 stuff:




Can someone please tell me what is wrong here?

greetings
jeezz
Greetings, jeezz.

The INPA script FLA_65.IPO (V5.004) is telling you that it performed a module variant check and your FLA module is not a supported variant.

FLA_65.IPO V6.xxx supports the FLA_R variant. INPA for F-Series contains the newer script that you need to access your FLA module. PM shawnsheridan, he can provide you with a download link.

When default coding modules with NCS-Expert, always use the expert mode profile and run the SG_CODIEREN job. Using a blank man file can lead to unpredictable results.

INPA and NCS-Expert make reference to FLA_E65 because it is the SGBD (Steuergeräte Beschreibungsdatei) that they use to communicate with the FLA module.

If I was able to help you, please click on the Appreciate button below. It's greyed out until you hover your mouse over it...
__________________
Alpina B3 Flash/BMS OCC/ER CP/ETS 5/HKS BOV/M3 Control Arms/OFT
Appreciate 2
      11-27-2016, 02:54 PM   #3
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
10
Rep
350
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

After retrofit FLA, we need to drive the car for about 50km on the dark, so the module can "learn"
Appreciate 1
      11-27-2016, 04:01 PM   #4
jeezz
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Hey thank you guys!

808AWD325xi you were right, with the F-series INPA i was able to connect to my FLA, still getting some strange "api" errors when i want to watch the live data, gonna have to check that out next days

Dtype also if it's a used FLA?

greetings
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2016, 05:20 PM   #5
opjose
Lieutenant
opjose's Avatar
45
Rep
443
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeezz View Post

Dtype also if it's a used FLA?

greetings
Actually that is not necessary.

You are better off "resetting" the FLA module to it's defaults after VO coding the car.

You should also reset any modules that are associated with FLA functions including FRM, Kombi, RLS. CIC, CCC, etc.

After the reset you should code Kombi to enable the appearance of the FLA icon and behaviour on the instruments.

Have you also removed "Variable light distribution" from your VO, if you had it?
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2016, 05:40 PM   #6
jeezz
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Hey,
I installed another one and it worked immediately..

opjose i don't have variable light distribution

Last edited by jeezz; 12-31-2016 at 12:30 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2016, 06:32 PM   #7
opjose
Lieutenant
opjose's Avatar
45
Rep
443
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeezz View Post
Hey,
I installed another one and it worked immediately..

opjose i don't have variable light distribution
Re: Mirror

Excellent!

Re: Variable

That is a good thing!

Re: Reset

Do you see the "Auto" icon appear on your instrument panel when you have the automatic high beams on?

Do you see a new entry in the NBT/CIC under light settings to enable or disable the FLA?

If not you still need to reset the modules to their defaults so this appears after VO coding the car.

There is also an option for the CCC to enable FLA sensitivity via the stalk, but I had to code my car to turn that on.

Last edited by opjose; 12-02-2016 at 06:39 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2016, 08:10 PM   #8
jeezz
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for your help guys!

Last edited by jeezz; 12-31-2016 at 12:32 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2016, 11:20 PM   #9
vtl
Colonel
vtl's Avatar
Australia
531
Rep
2,595
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 135i MT
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

I retrofitted an FLA mirror from a BMW 7 series (really old one) and behaved funny until I flashed it with WinKFP. Works perfectly now

See here
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1134963
__________________
Build Thread | MHD Stage 2+ | Agency Power DPs | PE Mod Exhaust | 550i Clutch | Wagner FMIC | M3 LSD | Turbosmart Kompact DVs | M3 Control arms | M3 steering rack | KW V2 Coilovers | Dinan Camber Plates | E92 M3 Front Sway | UUC Trans mounts | Nolathane rear subframe bushings | Ferodo DS2500 pads | Yokohama AD08R | 18" BMW 313 Rims | Schroth Harness | M3 Steering Wheel | LEDs | CIC + Combox retrofit
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2016, 11:23 PM   #10
N54Twin
Major
N54Twin's Avatar
Dominican Republic
175
Rep
1,238
Posts

Drives: E60 535XI
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: ?

iTrader: (9)

Did it in my e60 without any problems.
__________________
Sweet Pie
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST