E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Combox Retrofit coding



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-20-2016, 10:29 AM   #1
E60525d
Captain
E60525d's Avatar
United Kingdom
67
Rep
969
Posts

Drives: E90 BMW 330d M Sport LCI
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Combox Retrofit coding

I am about to retrofit a combox media to a 2009 LCI E90 with factory fitted CIC. Can I double check this is the correct coding procedure?

- I need to change VO in CAS and FRM.

Delete $633, $612, $616, and add the following instead: $614, $615, $644; $6AL; $6FL; $6NF; $6VC. Also add new age of #0410?

- Code CIC to;

CONNECTED_DRIVE to activ
ONLINE_BROWSER_C0D to beide_activ
ONLINE_BROWSER_LIVE to activ

-Code Media to;

TELEMATIK_VIN to coding_vin


The final stage i believe i need to code the combox to a russian VIN? What can I use and what is the process?

Thank you
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2016, 06:18 AM   #2
E60525d
Captain
E60525d's Avatar
United Kingdom
67
Rep
969
Posts

Drives: E90 BMW 330d M Sport LCI
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Anyone able to help?
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2016, 08:01 AM   #3
deepsrd
First Lieutenant
deepsrd's Avatar
United Kingdom
9
Rep
328
Posts

Drives: 325i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cambridge

iTrader: (0)

After changing the VO, you have to code the CIC with that VO..

I think coding to the russian VIN is to get the BMW online ..

If you are not concerned with telematics and BMW online, just code your own VIN to it..

I am not sure 0410 date will work.. try 0311.. (you can check what is valid by opening your E89.AT file in you daten folder)

Also, my recommendation is not to put your VO in both CAS and FRM.. Just FA_WRITE to CAS.. In that way you will have a backup of your original VIN in the FRM if you ever need it..

Coding the combox with your new VO will write your VIN to it.. so that will be covered.
__________________
Retrofits: CIC , 6FL , 6NR, 6NF , Combox ,L7 retrofit
Customisations:
GP thunder AL, Vinyl wrapped M-Sport Steering trim, Pliastidipped kidney grills
In Progress:
Eject box
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2016, 08:30 AM   #4
E60525d
Captain
E60525d's Avatar
United Kingdom
67
Rep
969
Posts

Drives: E90 BMW 330d M Sport LCI
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Thank you, any more views on this?
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2016, 11:37 PM   #5
jon-vt
The One
United_States
4
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern VA

iTrader: (0)

How did this go for you? Did you need to install an FSC code? I am getting ready to install combox on my 2009 LCI with factory CIC and while the coding of the combox looks straight forward I am not sure where in the process the FSC comes into play.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2016, 04:01 AM   #6
E60525d
Captain
E60525d's Avatar
United Kingdom
67
Rep
969
Posts

Drives: E90 BMW 330d M Sport LCI
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

It worked perfectly, no FSC was needed.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2016, 04:39 AM   #7
Josh_G
Second Lieutenant
Josh_G's Avatar
United Kingdom
22
Rep
226
Posts

Drives: BMW e92 335i M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon-vt View Post
How did this go for you? Did you need to install an FSC code? I am getting ready to install combox on my 2009 LCI with factory CIC and while the coding of the combox looks straight forward I am not sure where in the process the FSC comes into play.
i have a really good PDF guide on how to code a combox if you want it, shoot me a PM of your email and i will send it over ;
Appreciate 2
      07-22-2016, 04:42 PM   #8
kaputme
Private First Class
Germany
7
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: E90 2009
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Germany Aachen

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh_G View Post
i have a really good PDF guide on how to code a combox if you want it, shoot me a PM of your email and i will send it over ;
Just sent a PM----

Thanks

Last edited by kaputme; 07-22-2016 at 05:54 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2016, 01:31 PM   #9
jon-vt
The One
United_States
4
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern VA

iTrader: (0)

Having problems changing my VO :/. At the point where I change the codes (Mine did not have $633 $612 $616 so nothing to remove, $615 $6FL $6NF were already there, added $614 $644 $6AL $6VC, changed build date to #0311) I click ok then F6 (back). At this point I get COAPI-1000: error. Any ideas?

I have been successfully able to use this setup to code modules but just not working to change the VO. I have tried completely re-setting up my coding PC (running it in a VM). Right now I am using a setup from following this guide. Any help appreciated. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2016, 09:03 PM   #10
jon-vt
The One
United_States
4
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern VA

iTrader: (0)

Success! From what I read in this post, trying to add $644 is what was causing the problem. This time I tried changing the build date to #0311 and just added $614 $6VC and $6NR (already had $6NF and $6FL) and it accepted the new VO without error. I now have working bluetooth audio streaming .

The last part of this is that I'd like to get text messages on the nav. I've read it should work with Android. I think to get this I need BMW apps and for that I do need fsc right? I have don't a lot of searching and I can't seem to find info on a.) generating a 9c fsc for an e90 and b.) importing a 9c fsc for an e90. Are the tools out there to generate a 9c fsc or is the best plan still to buy one from somebody? Any pointers?
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2016, 07:02 PM   #11
jon-vt
The One
United_States
4
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern VA

iTrader: (0)

I posted about my combox retrofit experience here for those interested:
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1287195
Appreciate 1
      07-26-2016, 03:23 PM   #12
DRock3d
Kraut Driver
DRock3d's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
533
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is DCT
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335is  [0.50]
2007 328i  [1.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon-vt View Post
The last part of this is that I'd like to get text messages on the nav. I've read it should work with Android. I think to get this I need BMW apps and for that I do need fsc right? I have don't a lot of searching and I can't seem to find info on a.) generating a 9c fsc for an e90 and b.) importing a 9c fsc for an e90. Are the tools out there to generate a 9c fsc or is the best plan still to buy one from somebody? Any pointers?
I would like to know this as well.
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2016, 08:40 PM   #13
Gray335i
Private
10
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

it dos w0rk wth android but you have to enable that feature in android. When you connect you phone with your car phone will ask you for permission to alow bmw to access you massages /email.
As far as 9C for FSC, dont think that there is a "free" generator to make a certs
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2016, 12:21 PM   #14
ramez75
First Lieutenant
ramez75's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
342
Posts

Drives: 2015 640i xDrive GC (F06)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh_G View Post
i have a really good PDF guide on how to code a combox if you want it, shoot me a PM of your email and i will send it over ;
Sent a PM
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2016, 06:12 AM   #15
Josh_G
Second Lieutenant
Josh_G's Avatar
United Kingdom
22
Rep
226
Posts

Drives: BMW e92 335i M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramez75 View Post
Sent a PM
sent
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2016, 09:52 PM   #16
ssshake
Second Lieutenant
Canada
5
Rep
229
Posts

Drives: 328i coupe 2009
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Waterloo

iTrader: (0)

I just did this retrofit. Can you help my understand a couple of things?

What does this mean?

"-Code Media to;

TELEMATIK_VIN to coding_vin"

Also how did you get connected drive without fsc?

What does this mean?

"After changing the VO, you have to code the CIC with that VO..

I think coding to the russian VIN is to get the BMW online .."

Where do you get this vin? I want bmw online but am completely baffled by what I need to do.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2016, 03:53 PM   #17
opjose
Lieutenant
opjose's Avatar
45
Rep
458
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

PM sent
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2016, 01:16 AM   #18
tvalentine4223
Enlisted Member
United_States
0
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: Space gray 328i e90 sedan
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV

iTrader: (0)

I hope someone can assist me here. I have a Combox installed that I got from bimmerretrofit. It works fine. I disconnected by battery to install some audio equipment and now my light module is not working. My car is at the dealership and the tech is having trouble communicating with my car. My question is there any way of coding the combox to help the situation or should I just put the tcu back in to see if that helps. Any help would be appreciated. Hopefully I put this in the right thread.
Tom
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2016, 04:51 AM   #19
kaputme
Private First Class
Germany
7
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: E90 2009
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Germany Aachen

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvalentine4223 View Post
I hope someone can assist me here. I have a Combox installed that I got from bimmerretrofit. It works fine. I disconnected by battery to install some audio equipment and now my light module is not working. My car is at the dealership and the tech is having trouble communicating with my car. My question is there any way of coding the combox to help the situation or should I just put the tcu back in to see if that helps. Any help would be appreciated. Hopefully I put this in the right thread.
Tom
Sorry man, I've not heard of this before, may be someone else has.

I would first connect the TCU and check if that helps.
What audio equipment did you put in? Audio equipment can be as simple as using a Bluetooth aux receiver to replacing speakers and installing amp. If you give more details then may be someone has an idea of what it is.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2016, 12:58 PM   #20
tvalentine4223
Enlisted Member
United_States
0
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: Space gray 328i e90 sedan
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaputme View Post
Sorry man, I've not heard of this before, may be someone else has.

I would first connect the TCU and check if that helps.
What audio equipment did you put in? Audio equipment can be as simple as using a Bluetooth aux receiver to replacing speakers and installing amp. If you give more details then may be someone has an idea of what it is.
I just installed a Gladen amp, dsp and speakers. Its not the audio equipment that is causing the problem. The trouble happened after I disconnected the battery and connected again. No exterior or interior lights. windows and locks don't work. Getting a lighting system error. Thanks for your reply.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2016, 04:29 PM   #21
kaputme
Private First Class
Germany
7
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: E90 2009
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Germany Aachen

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvalentine4223 View Post
I just installed a Gladen amp, dsp and speakers. Its not the audio equipment that is causing the problem. The trouble happened after I disconnected the battery and connected again. No exterior or interior lights. windows and locks don't work. Getting a lighting system error. Thanks for your reply.
My battery died, meaning completely dead and i was able to jack it back up. So disconnecting the battery might not be the problem IMHO.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2016, 09:19 AM   #22
tvalentine4223
Enlisted Member
United_States
0
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: Space gray 328i e90 sedan
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the reply. They found i had a bad frm module and replace under warranty. Everything is good again.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST