E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Xenon retrofit issue



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-23-2017, 02:57 PM   #1
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Xenon retrofit issue

Trying to help out a car club buddy with retrofitting factory Xenons to his 2007 E90 328i. He has already swapped in a FRM2 which reads as a FRM2_E89.C09. It's from a E92. I've added $522 to the VO as you can see (attached) and also attached a copy of the TRC after coding. Still not working. He works at a Indy and assured me it's wired up correctly. Can someone give it a quick look and tell me if I missed something or whatnot? Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: txt FSW_PSW_TRC_FRM2_E89.txt (34.7 KB, 27 views)
File Type: txt fa.txt (165 Bytes, 15 views)
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2017, 03:44 PM   #2
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
152
Rep
1,618
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
Trying to help out a car club buddy with retrofitting factory Xenons to his 2007 E90 328i. He has already swapped in a FRM2 which reads as a FRM2_E89.C09. It's from a E92. I've added $522 to the VO as you can see (attached) and also attached a copy of the TRC after coding. Still not working. He works at a Indy and assured me it's wired up correctly. Can someone give it a quick look and tell me if I missed something or whatnot? Thanks.
Can't see the trc file as I'm using the mobile app.

Couple of questions:

1. Was the NFRM coded to default with NCSEXPERT??

2. Is the FRM2 at least an 'XE'?

3. Was the replacement FRM2 compatible with his E90. Checked part numbers???

4. What exactly isn't working?

5. Any fault codes?
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2017, 04:08 PM   #3
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Can't see the trc file as I'm using the mobile app.

Couple of questions:

1. Was the NFRM coded to default with NCSEXPERT??

2. Is the FRM2 at least an 'XE'?

3. Was the replacement FRM2 compatible with his E90. Checked part numbers???

4. What exactly isn't working?

5. Any fault codes?
1. Yes

2. I don't know what he used

3. Again, not sure what he used

4. No low beams or AE's as DRLs

5. No codes

I'll get back with him about the FRM #'s. He's going to send me a pic to the FRM label so we'll know what I'm dealing with tomorrow.
Thanks
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning

Last edited by LMB335IS; 04-23-2017 at 04:35 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 09:28 AM   #4
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Can't see the trc file as I'm using the mobile app.

Couple of questions:

1. Was the NFRM coded to default with NCSEXPERT??

2. Is the FRM2 at least an 'XE'?

3. Was the replacement FRM2 compatible with his E90. Checked part numbers???

4. What exactly isn't working?

5. Any fault codes?
Here's a couple pictures of the module. The first is the one that he had installed. The second one is another one that he has available to use if needed.
Attached Images
  
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 09:46 AM   #5
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
152
Rep
1,618
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

The FRM seems correct.

What if any fault codes are being displayed?

Do the angel eyes come on at all? Are you just saying they are are not working as DRL when the light switch it set to auto?

I take it you've checked bulbs and ballasts?
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 10:27 AM   #6
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
The FRM seems correct.

What if any fault codes are being displayed?

Do the angel eyes come on at all? Are you just saying they are are not working as DRL when the light switch it set to auto?

I take it you've checked bulbs and ballasts?
No codes. No ae or low beams at all whether the switch is on auto or turned to parking lights and on. High beams work. Like I said, I just volunteered to do the coding, it's very straightforward with the correct frm and wiring from what I could tell.

My only concern really is that I had the coding correct. It was missing the parameter pwm_anst_***_xenon (or whatever it) which concerned me. All the other coding seemed to be correct according to the guides I've seen. The FRM, wiring, etc is on him.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 10:32 AM   #7
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
62
Rep
522
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
No codes. No ae or low beams at all whether the switch is on auto or turned to parking lights and on. High beams work. Like I said, I just volunteered to do the coding, it's very straightforward with the correct frm and wiring from what I could tell.

My only concern really is that I had the coding correct. It was missing the parameter pwm_anst_***_xenon (or whatever it) which concerned me. All the other coding seemed to be correct according to the guides I've seen. The FRM, wiring, etc is on him.
Just a shot in the dark, but have you looked at the short circuit counter to make sure that the replacement FRM doesn't need to be reset?
__________________
Joseph Jones | coding@topgearsolutions.com | http://www.topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE or HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 11:15 AM   #8
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe@TopGearSolutions View Post
Just a shot in the dark, but have you looked at the short circuit counter to make sure that the replacement FRM doesn't need to be reset?
Nope, but a good idea. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 12:39 PM   #9
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
152
Rep
1,618
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

The sort circuit is what I was getting at when I said have you checked the bulbs and ballasts?

Check if a voltage is going to the bulbs.

I don't see how this is a coding error? As long as you added 522 to the VO and coded the new FRM to the new VO then the coding will be correct.

Are you also 100% sure the wiring is correct?
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 03:53 PM   #10
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
The sort circuit is what I was getting at when I said have you checked the bulbs and ballasts?

Check if a voltage is going to the bulbs.

I don't see how this is a coding error? As long as you added 522 to the VO and coded the new FRM to the new VO then the coding will be correct.

Are you also 100% sure the wiring is correct?
Like I said, he just needed someone to write the VO to the car and make the adjustments for AE as DRLs and replacing the halogens with xenons in NCS Expert. I have no hand in any of the wiring or parts or how anything was installed. I just want to be sure that the coding as shown in the TRC file I posted was correctly done. If it is then I know the problem lies in his wiring, bulbs, ballasts, etc. I will check the short circuit counter though.
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 04:08 PM   #11
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
152
Rep
1,618
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Ok, just got your TRC up.

What headlights have been retrofitted?

PRELCI - BI Xenon / AHL ?
LCI???

We're head light level sensor fitted as well? I see AUTO_LWR_ENABLE is set to nicht_aktiv
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 04:58 PM   #12
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Ok, just got your TRC up.

What headlights have been retrofitted?

PRELCI - BI Xenon / AHL ?
LCI???

We're head light level sensor fitted as well? I see AUTO_LWR_ENABLE is set to nicht_aktiv
Pre LCI Bi Xenon, no AHL, no level sensors, hence the nicht aktiv.
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 05:26 PM   #13
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
152
Rep
1,618
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

To me the trc file looks fine. It's clear the FRM has recognised the VO addition of 522.

I know you say you are only the coder and the hardware is up to him, but the way you code it depends on what he's done?

You have coded the car for the proper OEM factory retrofit. However, I suspect he hasn't wired the new headlights in the factory retrofit way. If he'd used the retrofit harness this has pins for the auto levellers which are very easy to install. This suggests he's not used the OEM retrofit harness and done some wiring modification of his own.

Although I wouldn't rule out the short circuit counters needing so be reset I fell it unlikely given the same lights on each side are out.

Just guessing though, tough without seeing the car. Maybe ask him for photos of the FRM connectors and the connector at the headlights...
Appreciate 1
      04-24-2017, 05:37 PM   #14
siphor1989
First Lieutenant
50
Rep
362
Posts

Drives: bmw 335i
Join Date: May 2015
Location: .

iTrader: (2)

Pretty sure the FRM2 NSW does not support bi-xenons. The FRM2 AHL definitely will though. Other than that, coding looks right.
Appreciate 1
      04-24-2017, 06:26 PM   #15
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
To me the trc file looks fine. It's clear the FRM has recognised the VO addition of 522.

I know you say you are only the coder and the hardware is up to him, but the way you code it depends on what he's done?

You have coded the car for the proper OEM factory retrofit. However, I suspect he hasn't wired the new headlights in the factory retrofit way. If he'd used the retrofit harness this has pins for the auto levellers which are very easy to install. This suggests he's not used the OEM retrofit harness and done some wiring modification of his own.

Although I wouldn't rule out the short circuit counters needing so be reset I fell it unlikely given the same lights on each side are out.

Just guessing though, tough without seeing the car. Maybe ask him for photos of the FRM connectors and the connector at the headlights...

Thanks so much for your help. I'm going to get with him in the next day or two and find out exactly what he did for wiring. I know they're OEM Xenons with the factory bulbs and ballasts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by siphor1989 View Post
Pretty sure the FRM2 NSW does not support bi-xenons. The FRM2 AHL definitely will though. Other than that, coding looks right.
Thanks. I pretty sure he put that one in today to try and fix this. I'll have to recode and see what happens.
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2017, 05:02 PM   #16
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
To me the trc file looks fine. It's clear the FRM has recognised the VO addition of 522.

I know you say you are only the coder and the hardware is up to him, but the way you code it depends on what he's done?

You have coded the car for the proper OEM factory retrofit. However, I suspect he hasn't wired the new headlights in the factory retrofit way. If he'd used the retrofit harness this has pins for the auto levellers which are very easy to install. This suggests he's not used the OEM retrofit harness and done some wiring modification of his own.

Although I wouldn't rule out the short circuit counters needing so be reset I fell it unlikely given the same lights on each side are out.

Just guessing though, tough without seeing the car. Maybe ask him for photos of the FRM connectors and the connector at the headlights...
Ok, so he put in the FRM2 AHL. I checked his UIF, he thought he had programmed it to his car (VIN, updates) but it still showed the donor VIN and a 2010 programming date, so it didn't take. The pic shows the error codes before I tried to code again, hoping the damn thing would just work, Lol. Coded it, everything worked but low beams. I had to leave, he used some shop diagnostic tool to try a reflash and sent me a pic of the error codes he got. 932E - AHL system: low beam, left, switched off. Reset in order?
Attached Images
  
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2017, 05:39 PM   #17
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
152
Rep
1,618
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
To me the trc file looks fine. It's clear the FRM has recognised the VO addition of 522.

I know you say you are only the coder and the hardware is up to him, but the way you code it depends on what he's done?

You have coded the car for the proper OEM factory retrofit. However, I suspect he hasn't wired the new headlights in the factory retrofit way. If he'd used the retrofit harness this has pins for the auto levellers which are very easy to install. This suggests he's not used the OEM retrofit harness and done some wiring modification of his own.

Although I wouldn't rule out the short circuit counters needing so be reset I fell it unlikely given the same lights on each side are out.

Just guessing though, tough without seeing the car. Maybe ask him for photos of the FRM connectors and the connector at the headlights...
Ok, so he put in the FRM2 AHL. I checked his UIF, he thought he had programmed it to his car (VIN, updates) but it still showed the donor VIN and a 2010 programming date, so it didn't take. The pic shows the error codes before I tried to code again, hoping the damn thing would just work, Lol. Coded it, everything worked but low beams. I had to leave, he used some shop diagnostic tool to try a reflash and sent me a pic of the error codes he got. 932E - AHL system: low beam, left, switched off. Reset in order?
Yeah, sound like the short circuit counter needs resetting. Use tool32, but obviously it's shut off the circuit for a reason. Maybe a bulb / ballast is faulty?
Appreciate 1
      04-26-2017, 05:54 PM   #18
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
340
Rep
1,641
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
To me the trc file looks fine. It's clear the FRM has recognised the VO addition of 522.

I know you say you are only the coder and the hardware is up to him, but the way you code it depends on what he's done?

You have coded the car for the proper OEM factory retrofit. However, I suspect he hasn't wired the new headlights in the factory retrofit way. If he'd used the retrofit harness this has pins for the auto levellers which are very easy to install. This suggests he's not used the OEM retrofit harness and done some wiring modification of his own.

Although I wouldn't rule out the short circuit counters needing so be reset I fell it unlikely given the same lights on each side are out.

Just guessing though, tough without seeing the car. Maybe ask him for photos of the FRM connectors and the connector at the headlights...
Ok, so he put in the FRM2 AHL. I checked his UIF, he thought he had programmed it to his car (VIN, updates) but it still showed the donor VIN and a 2010 programming date, so it didn't take. The pic shows the error codes before I tried to code again, hoping the damn thing would just work, Lol. Coded it, everything worked but low beams. I had to leave, he used some shop diagnostic tool to try a reflash and sent me a pic of the error codes he got. 932E - AHL system: low beam, left, switched off. Reset in order?
Yeah, sound like the short circuit counter needs resetting. Use tool32, but obviously it's shut off the circuit for a reason. Maybe a bulb / ballast is faulty?
Maybe, but he keeps switching back and forth with some cheap Chinese reps so he can have working lights until these are sorted so who knows
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST