E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Pro nav screen day/night view



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-21-2011, 04:36 AM   #1
scotgc
First Lieutenant
scotgc's Avatar
Scotland
7
Rep
326
Posts

Drives: 335d X drive
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Falkirk

iTrader: (0)

Pro nav screen day/night view

A quick question about the pro nav display. I know how to change it to night view in the settings but when I do this it doesn\'t automatically change to day light screen when required. Does anyone know if you can set the system it to change display settings?
__________________
Previous - 2011 E92 330d LCI M Sport - 2008 E92 325d M Sport - E87 120d M Sport - Mk5 Golf GTI - Ep3 Civic Type R
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 04:43 AM   #2
#Tee
Chronic trollololer level 60
#Tee's Avatar
125
Rep
4,919
Posts

Drives: yes
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Socal

iTrader: (1)

no auto function, youll have to do it manually. i use one of the 6 preset button as a shortcut.
__________________

You can follow my builds on IG: Tee212
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 04:44 AM   #3
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
101
Rep
8,190
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotgc View Post
A quick question about the pro nav display. I know how to change it to night view in the settings but when I do this it doesn\'t automatically change to day light screen when required. Does anyone know if you can set the system it to change display settings?
The system doesn't allow auto change, you have to select it everytime. you can programme a short cut button to switch between the two.

Cross thread.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 05:12 AM   #4
edowen
Major
11
Rep
1,018
Posts

Drives: E90 320d Ed, 640d M, 5.0 TVR
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

I think in LCi it can be linked to the lights (lights on, night mode). Doesnt work for me though as I have lights on all the time. As creepy, I have a shortcut button for it.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 06:31 AM   #5
m1bjr
LSD - No, you're not seeing things
m1bjr's Avatar
United Kingdom
37
Rep
3,313
Posts

Drives: RS250 CUP
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Somerset UK

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via MSN to m1bjr
My 80 TomTom does auto dim
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 06:39 AM   #6
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
101
Rep
8,190
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1bjr View Post
My 80 TomTom does auto dim
My 350 TomTom doesn't auto dim
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 06:40 AM   #7
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
84
Rep
5,198
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 320d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

My 40000 F10 does auto-dim

__________________
Ian
Current: 2014 F31 320d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2

Last edited by xenon; 12-21-2011 at 07:09 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 06:43 AM   #8
Sir_Pigley
Captain
Sir_Pigley's Avatar
United Kingdom
12
Rep
843
Posts

Drives: 525d M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Banbury

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Send a message via Skype™ to Sir_Pigley
Is there a night function on the old pro nav?

Is it just a dimming or a colour scheme change?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 07:10 AM   #9
AdrianSi
Second Lieutenant
AdrianSi's Avatar
United Kingdom
4
Rep
228
Posts

Drives: E90 330d LCi MSport
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Midlands, UK

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1bjr View Post
My 80 TomTom does auto dim
Your motor doesn't have prof satnav from the factory then? On LCi's its so much more than just about the satnav. Downfall is the 5 digit post code entry however get the full address and it works easily as good as a standalone system. You don't look like a taxi with the satnav stuck to your windscreen either

Will look for this lights on option tho...
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 07:10 AM   #10
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
101
Rep
8,190
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdcampbell View Post
Is there a night function on the old pro nav?

Is it just a dimming or a colour scheme change?
No night function, you can dim the screen via the instrument dimming adjustment.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 07:12 AM   #11
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
84
Rep
5,198
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 320d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianSi View Post
Your motor doesn't have prof satnav from the factory then? On LCi's its so much more than just about the satnav. Downfall is the 5 digit post code entry however get the full address and it works easily as good as a standalone system. You don't look like a taxi with the satnav stuck to your windscreen either

Will look for this lights on option tho...
Full 7 digit post-code nowadays, and not before time.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2014 F31 320d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 07:12 AM   #12
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
101
Rep
8,190
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon View Post
My 40000 F10 does auto-dim

I see the 5 series still has the fob location in one place and the starter button in another.

Start/Stop button's in a good place.

Last edited by creepy coupe; 12-21-2011 at 07:27 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 07:23 AM   #13
AdrianSi
Second Lieutenant
AdrianSi's Avatar
United Kingdom
4
Rep
228
Posts

Drives: E90 330d LCi MSport
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Midlands, UK

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon View Post
Full 7 digit post-code nowadays, and not before time.
Mines very early Idrive Mk2 on a 2008 so is still 5 digit... Until I decide it worth while paying the stealers the rediculas update costs! As I say with 5 digit it still works well if you have the full address.

Last edited by AdrianSi; 12-21-2011 at 07:27 AM. Reason: oooops
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 07:52 AM   #14
edowen
Major
11
Rep
1,018
Posts

Drives: E90 320d Ed, 640d M, 5.0 TVR
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by creepy coupe View Post
I see the 5 series still has the fob location in one place and the starter button in another.

Start/Stop button's in a good place.
Nope. there is no slot on the f10.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 08:03 AM   #15
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
84
Rep
5,198
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 320d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

^ What Ed said. In the F10 the key stays in my pocket.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2014 F31 320d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 09:37 AM   #16
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
101
Rep
8,190
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Is comfort access standard then?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 10:10 AM   #17
E902717
Colonel
E902717's Avatar
England
27
Rep
2,402
Posts

Drives: E91 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by creepy coupe View Post
Is comfort access standard then?
No you just dont need to put it in the dash, still have to lock/unlock like normal.
__________________
Car: 2011 BMW E91 335D M-Sport
Previous: 2010 BMW E70 X5 3.0D M-Sport - last seen going backwards in a hedge

Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 10:16 AM   #18
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
101
Rep
8,190
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by E902717 View Post
No you just dont need to put it in the dash, still have to lock/unlock like normal.
Sounds ideal
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 10:26 AM   #19
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
84
Rep
5,198
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 320d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

Yes it's not full comfort-access, you can click it in your pocket and then just get in and drive off. I don't think it's intended to be any more functional than the normal system in the e9x (because "full" comfort access is still an option after all on the F1x) but it's just to tidy the dashboard and not have the fob (and sometimes a jailer's bunch of keys) getting in the way and making the uncluttered dash all messy
__________________
Ian
Current: 2014 F31 320d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 10:32 AM   #20
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
101
Rep
8,190
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon View Post
Yes it's not full comfort-access, you can click it in your pocket and then just get in and drive off. I don't think it's intended to be any more functional than the normal system in the e9x (because "full" comfort access is still an option after all on the F1x) but it's just to tidy the dashboard and not have the fob (and sometimes a jailer's bunch of keys) getting in the way and making the uncluttered dash all messy
It sounds better than CA to me, no worry of accidental opening + I wouldn't have to watch my Bread Knife try to force the fob in the wide end first, while moaning about "what's wrong with a good old fashioned key" as we drive to A&E
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 06:15 PM   #21
rich1068
has left the building
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,363
Posts

Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon View Post
(and sometimes a jailer's bunch of keys)
God I hate that.
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2011, 06:08 AM   #22
no golf clubs
Private First Class
4
Rep
144
Posts

Drives: F25 2.0d SE Titanium Silver
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

I have to manually set the night mode, It brings up a starry night sky. Seems half baked to have no automatic function. Does anyone know, if I was mad enough to pay BM for a map update if this would update the firmware/software on the pro nav? and would this bring in additional functions such as this?

I have a 2009 e92 330D, although I have a USB in the glove box BT, there is also no way of streaming my iphone music to radio (it has no External Devices tab). Think I have a rather old and out dated piece of hardware.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:55 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST