E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Error trying to code module KOMBI (IFH-0003: Datatransmission to interface disturbed)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-13-2011, 09:09 PM   #1
shag
The Black Wagon Man
shag's Avatar
Canada
10
Rep
460
Posts

 
Drives: '14 328xdT M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Error trying to code module KOMBI (IFH-0003: Datatransmission to interface disturbed)

Hello,

I have a 2009 328i xDrive and have been trying to code BC_DIGITAL_V and some other features in module KOMBI. I can read the KOMBI module without issue, but anytime I try to do "Basic Functions->coapiReadSgGetFswPsw" it gives me the following error after the dialog box:

COAPI-2000: EDIABAS or SGBD error
IFH-0003: DATATRANSMISSION TO INTERFACE DISTURBED

Any ideas? This is my first time coding this car.
__________________

'14 328d xDrive Touring M Sport, BSM/CR.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2011, 12:58 PM   #2
HomeBrew
Private First Class
7
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZSP 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Maryland, USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
similiar issue

I get this when walking through the DIY and attempting to read from the airbag module:

From the INPA FAQ (the code and message do not line up, but the doc is attached - page 4,5):

1.4 IFH-0003: Data transmission HOST/Interface failed
  • Reason 1: In the Ediabas.ini file, the interface is set to STD:OBD. However, you have connected an ADS connector.
  • Solution 1: Modify the interface setting.
  • Reason 2: The data transmission failed when sending (e.g. short circuit in the line).
  • Solution 2: Get rid of the short circuit, for example.
  • Reason 3: Connector not connected or no power supplied.
  • Solution 3: Check whether the connector is connected and is supplied with power.
  • Reason 4: The device manager has been used to disable the FIFO buffer for COM1.
  • Solution 4: In the device manager (Windows XP: Enter “Start” ␣ “Control Panel” ␣ “System” ␣ “Hardware” ␣ “Device Manager” ␣ Ports (COM & LPT)), and then select COM1 from the ports. Then under the “Port Settings” tab, select “Advanced”. There must be a check-mark by “Use FIFO buffers” and “8” must be selected for the receive buffer and transmit puffer.

1.5 IFH-0010: Data transmission to control unit disturbed
  • Reason: With Windows XP, it is not possible to automatically set the receive and transmit buffers using OBDSetup.exe, like in Windows NT.
  • Solution: Set the receive and transmit buffers to 8 as shown in the following: Use Start ␣ My Computer ␣ Control Panel␣ System ␣ Hardware ␣ Device Manager ␣ Ports (COM & LPT) and then click with the right mouse button to call up the properties of the COM port that is being used. Under the Port Settings tab, set the Data bits of the receive and transmit buffers to 8.

Of course with Windows 7 (vista, etc) will need the serial registry values updated to match these.

I was about to post my own topic on my issue (reading and getting the same error). I haven't been able to figure it out, hope this helps.


EDIT:: After that post, I found the resolution to my issue, drivers. I uninstalled the devices and drivers under the windows device manager and rather than installing the drivers which came with the software (cause of the my problem). I configured windows to search windows update for appropriate drivers and now everything works.

Good luck.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf INPA_FAQ.pdf (621.2 KB, 1479 views)
__________________
BMW Performance: Steering Wheel | Strut Brace | Exhaust | Intake
Mods: CDV Delete | Lumbar Support 'Retrofit' | Power Folding Mirrors 'Retrofit' | 45% Huper Optik Ceramic Tint | Blacklines | BMW Short Shift Kit | BMW Aluminum Pedals
Coding: Digital Speed (Correction Off) | Door Gong Off | Corner Delete | Enable Electrochromatic Mirrors | Close Windows w Fob | Eject Key Fob

Last edited by HomeBrew; 04-15-2011 at 01:29 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2011, 04:23 PM   #3
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
54
Rep
2,394
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (14)

Ignition on?
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2011, 10:24 AM   #4
shag
The Black Wagon Man
shag's Avatar
Canada
10
Rep
460
Posts

 
Drives: '14 328xdT M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Well, I have a USB cable so those FIFO parameters are non-existent. I've determined that I can read/code the car but I need to try it 15-20 times before it goes. I think I might have a COM port conflict
__________________

'14 328d xDrive Touring M Sport, BSM/CR.
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2011, 10:55 AM   #5
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
101
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Try keeping your hazards on

It prevents the module from going to sleep.

Last edited by fdriller9; 04-17-2011 at 11:18 AM.
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2011, 12:04 PM   #6
HomeBrew
Private First Class
7
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZSP 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Maryland, USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shag View Post
Well, I have a USB cable so those FIFO parameters are non-existent. I've determined that I can read/code the car but I need to try it 15-20 times before it goes. I think I might have a COM port conflict
The FIFO params do exist, but only in the registry:

HEKY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\servic es\Serial

RxFIFO
TxFIFO

Both should be a DWORD, 32-bit, hexadecimal, and set to 8: 0x00000008
__________________
BMW Performance: Steering Wheel | Strut Brace | Exhaust | Intake
Mods: CDV Delete | Lumbar Support 'Retrofit' | Power Folding Mirrors 'Retrofit' | 45% Huper Optik Ceramic Tint | Blacklines | BMW Short Shift Kit | BMW Aluminum Pedals
Coding: Digital Speed (Correction Off) | Door Gong Off | Corner Delete | Enable Electrochromatic Mirrors | Close Windows w Fob | Eject Key Fob

Last edited by HomeBrew; 04-17-2011 at 12:12 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2011, 07:56 PM   #7
E90aL
Banned
United_States
5
Rep
324
Posts

 
Drives: n52
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arcadia

iTrader: (4)

did anyone find a solution to this problem? I used to be able to code, but I have been getting this error every time. I also get FA-Fehler sometimes.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2011, 09:58 AM   #8
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
397
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Not sure if this will work for you, but I got that error when I was running just off the battery. Hooked up a battery tender and all was good. So, maybe that will work for you? If not, I don't know what else to try.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2011, 12:15 AM   #9
E90aL
Banned
United_States
5
Rep
324
Posts

 
Drives: n52
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arcadia

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
Not sure if this will work for you, but I got that error when I was running just off the battery. Hooked up a battery tender and all was good. So, maybe that will work for you? If not, I don't know what else to try.
didn't work. what message do you get when you run ncs with the cable plugged into the computer only?
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2011, 10:20 AM   #10
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
397
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

I get the same message you get with cable plugged into computer, using fsw psw profile, do the f1, f3 thing, then get the exact error message comes up that you have. So, it's not reading your car somehow.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2011, 12:08 PM   #11
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Double check your latency is set to 1 and not 16 in the com port advanced options.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2011, 01:27 PM   #12
E90aL
Banned
United_States
5
Rep
324
Posts

 
Drives: n52
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arcadia

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
Double check your latency is set to 1 and not 16 in the com port advanced options.
My latency is set to 1, the two things above it are set to 4096. FIFO values are set according to the NCS DIY. It's set to COM1.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2011, 01:03 PM   #13
BMW4Life2112
Private
BMW4Life2112's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego, California

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
If your latency settings are set to 1 then maybe you can try this...

Make sure that after you read the KOMBI that you go to the "work" folder and open the FSW_PSW (TRC File). Then, as DIY say's click File > "save as" FSW_PSW.MAN and set to read "all files" instead of "text". Then open your FSW_PSW (MAN file) and make your changes to the KOMBI. Then try doing the "Basic Functions > coapiReadSgGetFswPsw" and see what happens.

Sometimes when I go too quickly and forget this step, I get the same error message you get.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2011, 01:17 PM   #14
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW4Life2112 View Post
If your latency settings are set to 1 then maybe you can try this...

Make sure that after you read the KOMBI that you go to the "work" folder and open the FSW_PSW (TRC File). Then, as DIY say's click File > "save as" FSW_PSW.MAN and set to read "all files" instead of "text". Then open your FSW_PSW (MAN file) and make your changes to the KOMBI. Then try doing the "Basic Functions > coapiReadSgGetFswPsw" and see what happens.

Sometimes when I go too quickly and forget this step, I get the same error message you get.
LOL yea like when you never save the TRC to a MAN and then code
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2011, 03:17 PM   #15
BMW4Life2112
Private
BMW4Life2112's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego, California

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Haha Grant, I know what you mean! Sometimes I open the .trc file and make my coding changes there! Although, I usually catch my mistake before I go to save it as a .man file.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 12:11 AM   #16
E90aL
Banned
United_States
5
Rep
324
Posts

 
Drives: n52
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arcadia

iTrader: (4)

the problem is I can't get the computer to read the FA anymore. i get the error after these steps: connect car>turn ignition on/engine off>load FSW PSW MAN>F1>F3>E89
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 11:47 PM   #17
BMW4Life2112
Private
BMW4Life2112's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego, California

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Hey E90al,

A few things you can try:

1.) Plug cable into car, turn ignition on, and run INPA. Make sure both dots are black. If you do not have both black dots then close INPA and try running program again. If you do have both dots black, close INPA (but leave Ediabas server on). Don't proceed with the next step until functionality between your computer, cable, and car are established.

2.) Make sure you are running NCSEXPERTool as an administrator on Windows. To do this you can right click on the NCSEXPER icon on desktop and click "run as administrator".

3.) Update your daten files. You can do this a couple of ways, the easiest is to go to NCSEXPER folder (should be located in c > Daten > E89 > Double click and run "LADEN" file, this should update yor daten files automatically. Another way to do this is to copy and paste new daten files that you can get off the internet. Tr searching for them, or I can help point you in the right direction.

3.) Make sure you are using the correct drivers for your OBD ebay cable. The drivers for the ebay cable are located here (http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/D2XX.htm)
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2011, 06:53 PM   #18
E90aL
Banned
United_States
5
Rep
324
Posts

 
Drives: n52
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arcadia

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW4Life2112 View Post
Hey E90al,

A few things you can try:

1.) Plug cable into car, turn ignition on, and run INPA. Make sure both dots are black. If you do not have both black dots then close INPA and try running program again. If you do have both dots black, close INPA (but leave Ediabas server on). Don't proceed with the next step until functionality between your computer, cable, and car are established.

2.) Make sure you are running NCSEXPERTool as an administrator on Windows. To do this you can right click on the NCSEXPER icon on desktop and click "run as administrator".

3.) Update your daten files. You can do this a couple of ways, the easiest is to go to NCSEXPER folder (should be located in c > Daten > E89 > Double click and run "LADEN" file, this should update yor daten files automatically. Another way to do this is to copy and paste new daten files that you can get off the internet. Tr searching for them, or I can help point you in the right direction.

4.) Make sure you are using the correct drivers for your OBD ebay cable. The drivers for the ebay cable are located here (http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/D2XX.htm)
1. The dots are black but when i try to read something it has the data transmission error. This didn't happen 3 months ago.

3. When you update where do you put the downloaded files?

4. When I use the drivers from the website, I get a BSOD that has something to do with ftdi.sys(something like that). The only way to avoid bsod is using the drivers in the Ediabas\hardware\obd\winxp\usb2.0 folder.

If it is a faulty cable, i would like to return it asap because warranty for it is almost over.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2011, 02:31 PM   #19
cedchung
First Lieutenant
Canada
5
Rep
306
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 E92 335i, 2014 F30 320i
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montreal/Mauritius

iTrader: (1)

Hi,

I'm getting the same error with a 2008 E92 M3. Does anybody know what might be causing this?

I know for sure that it's not the cable since it works perfectly with my 2006 E92 335i.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2011, 03:59 PM   #20
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
101
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by cedchung View Post
Hi,

I'm getting the same error with a 2008 E92 M3. Does anybody know what might be causing this?

I know for sure that it's not the cable since it works perfectly with my 2006 E92 335i.
2006 and 2008 use different interfaces....one is K can the other D can.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2011, 05:31 PM   #21
cedchung
First Lieutenant
Canada
5
Rep
306
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 E92 335i, 2014 F30 320i
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montreal/Mauritius

iTrader: (1)

After some research, I found out that I have to remove Pin 8 for it to work on 2008+ cars
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2011, 09:28 AM   #22
cedchung
First Lieutenant
Canada
5
Rep
306
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 E92 335i, 2014 F30 320i
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montreal/Mauritius

iTrader: (1)

Update: It worked with Pin 8 removed
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST