E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > *Official* Active Autowerke Flash Thread



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-13-2012, 05:01 PM   #45
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew@ActiveAutowerke View Post
Its not as easy as it seems and takes a good amount time for our tuners to personalize each tune for each customer. We do not just send everyone the same exact file which is why we need your stock file.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew@ActiveAutowerke View Post
You are correct in this sense but not exactly. Not every car as the same software versions so we cant just send out for example a 328 tune or a 330 tune. When Bmw puts out different software versions they move files all around so we need to find each of of them and match them to the tuned file we have.

Hope this helps.
I got this statement when I asked Eurocharged why wasn't my stock ECU read during the tune.

Quote:
Unlike Lamborghini or Ferrari, BMW uses only a handful of software calibrations for each model car. This means that your "stock" software is identical to 1 out of 6 BMW's with the same model. Since this version was already on file and matched your software 100%, there was no need to waste 45 minutes reading it out.
Is it correct that 328i only has a handful of stock software versions? Is it critical to read the initial stock file in order to restore my car to the exact factory condition? From reading your posts, it seems every car's ECU is different?
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 05:04 PM   #46
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

Posts: 3,427
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by soursamo View Post
Is the Simon tool engine agnostic? Or is this tied to N52?
Works on all engines.
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 05:07 PM   #47
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

Posts: 3,427
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutrino45 View Post
I got this statement when I asked Eurocharged why wasn't my stock ECU read during the tune.



Is it correct that 328i only has a handful of stock software versions? Is it critical to read the initial stock file in order to restore my car to the exact factory condition? From reading your posts, it seems every car's ECU is different?
Not sure how many updates they put out but I would say a handful +or -.

It is still very important you read the stock file and input the changes into the right files or the car would not run at all.
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 05:10 PM   #48
RupertPupkin
Lieutenant Colonel
 
RupertPupkin's Avatar
 
Drives: Freak Beast
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: East

Posts: 1,534
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew@ActiveAutowerke View Post
..
Thank you for the info! Been wondering those things for some time. Looks like I will head to dealer to make sure I have all the newest updates then get AA.
RupertPupkin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 05:17 PM   #49
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

Posts: 3,427
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmydever View Post
Thank you for the info! Been wondering those things for some time. Looks like I will head to dealer to make sure I have all the newest updates then get AA.

Sounds like a plan
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 05:29 PM   #50
epiphone3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2013 BMW X3 35i
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary

Posts: 1,647
iTrader: (0)

I really hope this works on the Canadian 2.5 liter 323i because it has all the same hardware as the full-tuned Euro 325i 2.5 liter but doesn't have the same muscle.

It is confirmed to have the 3-stage intake manifold. Any thoughts?
epiphone3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 05:33 PM   #51
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew@ActiveAutowerke View Post
Not sure how many updates they put out but I would say a handful +or -.

It is still very important you read the stock file and input the changes into the right files or the car would not run at all.
Thanks for the reply. I was worried that I must have the original stock file off of my car in order to restore my car properly when I take it to the dealer.

My car is running fine with their tune so I guess what they did and said is accurate. Thanks again.
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 05:37 PM   #52
redline2001
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 328i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: LI, NY

Posts: 362
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew@ActiveAutowerke View Post
Not sure how many updates they put out but I would say a handful +or -.

It is still very important you read the stock file and input the changes into the right files or the car would not run at all.
How do we read the stock file on the ECU if we don't send it to you?
redline2001 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 05:43 PM   #53
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

Posts: 3,427
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by redline2001 View Post
How do we read the stock file on the ECU if we don't send it to you?
You would have to choose one of the 3 steps in my first post.
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 06:26 PM   #54
onephattai
Private First Class
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 176
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrom View Post
Hopefully, but I just want them to clarify on the details and limitations. It works with ONE car and that is fine, but can I unlock it and sell it later once flashing back to stock (works on other similar devices in the industry) or is it something that is locked to my VIN forever?

Are there limits to how many times I can flash it (beyond the life of the chip which is a non-issue). Basically more details on how I'll be getting new basemaps and what format the tunes are in.


My last car was a Honda and I had Hondata which had LOTS of features like data logging etc. I don't need all of that, but is there anything we can use to make modifications to the basemap tunes you provide?

Will you release multiple base map tunes for common products? Such as stock, bmw performance intake+exhaust, catless w/ headers intake exhaust...etc. Basically multiple simple maps or will there just be one universal tune?
When you connect the device to your car, your VIN# will be locked onto the device. Can you reset the device? YES! It takes a person with some reverse engineering background to do the trick. AA has tools to reset the device but they are not going to do it for you. This is how they make $$$$ on the device and their tunings. My guess is AA's tuned file can only be read and flashed with this device and you cannot use a 3rd party device to do the flashing. So when you sell your car you can either give the device to the new owner or hang it up on your wall as a conversation piece.
onephattai is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 06:52 PM   #55
arctic330i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
arctic330i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335is
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gainesville, Fl

Posts: 1,923
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
If we already have the AA tune, what happens when you release an update for us 330i guys? are they discounted upgrades? I hope!
__________________
See my full mod list in my garage
arctic330i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 09:48 PM   #56
e90pilot
Freight Dawg
 
e90pilot's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 2,105
iTrader: (3)

For us 3-stage manifold guys, would this new 330i tune be adaptable for use with our cars?
__________________
--Marcelo
'06 Arctic Metallic 325i | Sport Package | 6MT | Dinan Stage III suspension | Dinan exhaust | 330i manifold swap! Click here! | Active Autowerke tune | 135i Brake Calipers | Deiselboost caliper brackets | E46 M3 front rotors
e90pilot is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 10:16 PM   #57
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

Posts: 3,427
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onephattai View Post
When you connect the device to your car, your VIN# will be locked onto the device. Can you reset the device? YES! It takes a person with some reverse engineering background to do the trick. AA has tools to reset the device but they are not going to do it for you. This is how they make $$$$ on the device and their tunings. My guess is AA's tuned file can only be read and flashed with this device and you cannot use a 3rd party device to do the flashing. So when you sell your car you can either give the device to the new owner or hang it up on your wall as a conversation piece.
Actually we do not have a reset code for them.

And to clear that confusion up the vin does not lock until a file is actually uploaded not just read.
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2012, 10:21 PM   #58
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

Posts: 3,427
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e90pilot View Post
For us 3-stage manifold guys, would this new 330i tune be adaptable for use with our cars?
If everything goes as planned it should.
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2012, 02:11 AM   #59
mapleridge
Banned
 
Drives: E90 N52 AT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 2,681
iTrader: (4)

About loading dif tunes like reg and off road. How many tunes can it hold and do you have to pay full price for each tune?
mapleridge is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2012, 03:48 AM   #60
onephattai
Private First Class
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 176
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew@ActiveAutowerke View Post
Actually we do not have a reset code for them.

And to clear that confusion up the vin does not lock until a file is actually uploaded not just read.
I dont buy that Andrew! About the vin lock, eventually it will get locked. Either way it doesnt matter because im not going to buy the device.
onephattai is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2012, 09:50 AM   #61
darkrom
Lieutenant Colonel
 
darkrom's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 1,587
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onephattai View Post
I dont buy that Andrew! About the vin lock, eventually it will get locked. Either way it doesnt matter because im not going to buy the device.
Why are you even in this thread then if you aren't even interested?

And I buy that...

Once the device is sold they make the money they want for it. Why would they need or want to be able to unlock them? It would encourage the sales of less units directly from them if they were unlockable.

That being said there is ALWAYS a way to unlock these things, but most respecting hackers will not do it, plus for $700 each they are not even worth the time to figure it out. They are a pretty fair deal IMO.
darkrom is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2012, 10:08 AM   #62
beneliezer
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate NY

Posts: 637
iTrader: (0)

I can flash the AA tune on my car with this for $350? send PM.
__________________
['06 325i TiAg] [19" VMR VB3 HYPERBLACK] [Blacklines] [OEM Xenon Conversion] [35% Tint] [M-Tech Rear] [M-Tech Front] [Black Vinyl Roof] [Slotted/Drilled Rotors, Cool Carbon Pads] [PBX]
beneliezer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2012, 10:25 AM   #63
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

Posts: 3,427
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onephattai View Post
I dont buy that Andrew! About the vin lock, eventually it will get locked. Either way it doesnt matter because im not going to buy the device.

Your more than welcome to give me a call and we can discuss 305-233-9300
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2012, 10:29 AM   #64
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

Posts: 3,427
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by beneliezer View Post
I can flash the AA tune on my car with this for $350? send PM.
Nope the tool is 350 you would also need to purchase the tune. The combo price of 799 is what you need if your interested in having the ability of flashing it yourself.

For $499 you can either go to one of our dealers and have it flashed (see 1st post) or you can send us the Ecu.
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2012, 10:30 AM   #65
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

Posts: 3,427
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mapleridge View Post
About loading dif tunes like reg and off road. How many tunes can it hold and do you have to pay full price for each tune?

You will receive a stock map, 91 or 93 map(tuned), and a 100oct race map if requested included with the simon combo Price.

The simon tool can hold 10-15 maps depending on the file size.
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2012, 11:05 PM   #66
adamsclubs
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 328i sedan
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CA

Posts: 236
iTrader: (0)

What is the difference in power gains among the 91, 93 and 100 octane maps?
adamsclubs is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST