E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > *Official* Active Autowerke Flash Thread



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-14-2012, 05:02 PM   #661
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
166
Rep
3,871
Posts


Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ENIGMA33 View Post
Can you provide some additional details as to how low grade fuel will impact the engine. Is there a chance that 87 oct would cause damage? I am assuming that this tune is optimized for 91/93 fuel to provide performance gains. Thanks
I haven't tried it to be honest I would only use 91/93 only.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 05:03 PM   #662
RupertPupkin
Lieutenant Colonel
RupertPupkin's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
1,533
Posts

Drives: Freak Beast
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: East

iTrader: (5)

Nothing.

You flash your car with the tune, then you have the ability to flash back to stock. After that there is no use for it. People act like theyre buying a Cobb ACCESSPORT and will be able to flash different tunes, maps etc.

in reality this is it for the N52. There wont be further updates or various tunes etc. Its a way for AA to make more money for a minimal tune.



Quote:
Originally Posted by dre_2ooo View Post
What else can a Simon tool be used for?
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 05:03 PM   #663
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
166
Rep
3,871
Posts


Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dre_2ooo View Post
What else can a Simon tool be used for?
Uploading and downloading maps only at this time.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 05:06 PM   #664
Brian_VACsales
Captain
Brian_VACsales's Avatar
74
Rep
951
Posts

Drives: E92 M3 VF Supercharged, 135i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmydever View Post
in reality this is it for the N52. There wont be further updates or various tunes etc. Its a way for AA to make more money for a minimal tune.
I think it's a way for AA to get software to consumers who are not near Active Flash centers (like VAC and many others) Also, some people like to do everything themselves, so the Simon tool allows this.
__________________
Brian Casella
Sales Representative, VAC Motorsports
Office: 215.462.4666 | Fax: 215.462.4667 | Email: brian@vacmotorsports.com
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 05:07 PM   #665
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
166
Rep
3,871
Posts


Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmydever View Post
Nothing.

You flash your car with the tune, then you have the ability to flash back to stock. After that there is no use for it. People act like theyre buying a Cobb ACCESSPORT and will be able to flash different tunes, maps etc.

in reality this is it for the N52. There wont be further updates or various tunes etc. Its a way for AA to make more money for a minimal tune.
Not true at all.. The sole reason we adopted the Simon tool is to make it easier for consumers to flash their vehicles especially for customers that are not near any of our flash stations.

Edit. You are quick Mike
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 05:25 PM   #666
Bimmer-Bob
!
Bimmer-Bob's Avatar
United_States
43
Rep
2,291
Posts

Drives: 2010 128i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Camp Lejeune, NC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Will the Simon tool store the tune indefinitely and allow you to reflash as many times as you want? For example, if a dealer update overwrites the tune?

Also, is there a Stage 2 for the 128/328? What is it?

Thanks.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 05:31 PM   #667
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
166
Rep
3,871
Posts


Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer-Bob View Post
Will the Simon tool store the tune indefinitely and allow you to reflash as many times as you want? For example, if a dealer update overwrites the tune?

Also, is there a Stage 2 for the 128/328? What is it?

Thanks.
Yes the Simon will hold around 10-15 tunes including your stock file for you to use when ever you wish to do so.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 05:37 PM   #668
cultr3
Private
0
Rep
93
Posts

Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NYC/CA

iTrader: (0)

.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 05:38 PM   #669
PMCU
Private
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: ABM E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmydever View Post
Nothing.

You flash your car with the tune, then you have the ability to flash back to stock. After that there is no use for it. People act like theyre buying a Cobb ACCESSPORT and will be able to flash different tunes, maps etc.

in reality this is it for the N52. There wont be further updates or various tunes etc. Its a way for AA to make more money for a minimal tune.
I disagree with the money-only idea as well. For people who doesn't live near a flash dealer, the EFFORT and COST of pulling out the ECU, shipping it in and then putting it back in is not trivial, and you'd be without a car for a few days.

Another reason being the dealer updating your software can easily erase your flashed tune, in which case you'll have to pay to have it done again. At least active has said with the purchase of the tool, they will cover future updates.

There is another thing for people who are still under warranty, if you sent out your ECU to get it tuned, and need to return the software to stock to do a related warranty claim, then you'd have to do it all over again, a lot of pain.

As for me though, I'm in Sacramento, which technically isn't FAR from the active authorized dealer in the bay area (about 70 miles). But flash dealers will charge a 70 dollar fee to do the flash, as well as 40 in taxes for buying the tune. which means the tune costs is actually 499 + 110 + 50 odd dollars for gas to go there and wait = 660. For another 100 dollars, you can do the flash in your own home and still restore the software to stock and reflash anytime it's overwritten is not too bad of a deal.

Just personal opinion of course.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 05:51 PM   #670
CobraMarty
Lieutenant
CobraMarty's Avatar
14
Rep
511
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA

iTrader: (5)

So I already have the AA ? stage one tune installed last summer by VAC, when I load the simon that tune will load and ? is that the tune AA will manipulate and email back to me to reflash? So my simon would have stage 1 and stage 2 on it but no 'stock' tune on the simon?
__________________
2007 328xi E92 Coupe // 6 MT-Crimson Red, Black Interior, Brushed Silver Trim//Sport Seats//BMW Perf. SW Alcantara//CF Roof, Front Lip, Trunk Lip Spoilers//18" 197, F-5mm, R-15mm Spacers//Akebono Euro Ceramic Pads//MGP Red Caliper Covers//BMW Alarm System//BMW CF Perf. Strut Brace//LUX H8 v3.0 AE//6k HID Fogs//BMW PE//Macht Schnell Intake Scoops//BMW EURO Intake//AA Tune//188AWHP-->196AWHP-->216AWHP//SOON- 3 Stage Intake Manifold!
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 06:27 PM   #671
Bimmer-Bob
!
Bimmer-Bob's Avatar
United_States
43
Rep
2,291
Posts

Drives: 2010 128i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Camp Lejeune, NC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
One more time, lol:

Also, is there a Stage 2 for the 128/328? What is it?

People keep mentioning it...

EDIT:

Okay, just saw this: *Stage 2 now includes improved Valve Lift Control for more HP and TQ!*

Does that mean that the original tune has just been replaced by Stage 2? In other words, "Stage 1" is no longer available and "Stage 2" is the same price ($499)? Did you guys figure out how to tweak Valvetronic?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 07:20 PM   #672
Wrngway
Lieutenant
Wrngway's Avatar
8
Rep
412
Posts

Drives: '11 328i Sedan A6
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: D.C. Metro

iTrader: (0)

AA recently said that the stage 2 isn't yet available for 128/328 cars. I think it's being worked on, but I'm not sure what priority it's being given. I know a lot of folks are interested.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 07:21 PM   #673
Bimmer-Bob
!
Bimmer-Bob's Avatar
United_States
43
Rep
2,291
Posts

Drives: 2010 128i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Camp Lejeune, NC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
^ Thanks.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 07:39 PM   #674
PMCU
Private
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: ABM E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrngway View Post
AA recently said that the stage 2 isn't yet available for 128/328 cars. I think it's being worked on, but I'm not sure what priority it's being given. I know a lot of folks are interested.
Actually, they've finished stage 2 for the N52 128/328's and those are already being delivered. I know this because I received this confirmation (and the actual product) both from their sales guy Andrew as well as their software engineer Zak.

PM
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 09:32 PM   #675
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
166
Rep
3,871
Posts


Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

iTrader: (5)

Stage 2 is not only released but its on about 50 cars in the U.S and counting
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 10:07 PM   #676
Bimmer-Bob
!
Bimmer-Bob's Avatar
United_States
43
Rep
2,291
Posts

Drives: 2010 128i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Camp Lejeune, NC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew@ActiveAutowerke View Post
Stage 2 is not only released but its on about 50 cars in the U.S and counting
So what's different from Stage 1?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2012, 11:25 PM   #677
mapleridge
Banned
48
Rep
2,681
Posts

Drives: E90 N52 AT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer-Bob View Post
So what's different from Stage 1?

It was stated above that increase valve lift control adds HP and TQ.

Also, I agree that the tool is better than a station. Few extra bucks and you can flash as you like.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2012, 12:24 AM   #678
RazRokz.!
Captain
RazRokz.!'s Avatar
9
Rep
602
Posts

Drives: 07 JET BLACK BMW 328i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BELGIUM

iTrader: (0)

Is it possible to "accurately" dyno an automatic car? I know a lot of people want to see what the gains on a completely stock 328i are using a non-low reading dyno. The place where I'm getting ready to do my tune at has a dynojet, I would be totally up for doing a couple before and after pulls. Just dont want to waste money.
__________________
l-2007 Jet Black E90-l-Heated Seats-l-Injen Short Ram Intake-l-Kicker Audio-l-Tablet Pc Integration-l-19" Avant Garde M310-l-Falken 452-l-Depo Projectors-l-Depo Blacklines-l-M3 Replica Front Bumper-l-Canbus HID Headlights & Foglights-l-20% Tint All Around-l
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2012, 02:02 AM   #679
Johnny D
Major
Johnny D's Avatar
21
Rep
1,124
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hot Springs, AR

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 BMW 325i  [4.58]
Quote:
Originally Posted by RazRokz.! View Post
Is it possible to "accurately" dyno an automatic car? I know a lot of people want to see what the gains on a completely stock 328i are using a non-low reading dyno. The place where I'm getting ready to do my tune at has a dynojet, I would be totally up for doing a couple before and after pulls. Just dont want to waste money.
It is possible, but you will need to either tell the dyno guy about your cars quirks or have someone who has dyno'd a bmw with steptronic before.

Make sure they do the pull in 3rd or 4th and dont drop the rpm below 1500 before starting or it will drop down a gear. Also make the dyno guy press the gas a few times so he can press it without clicking the kick down. You should be able to get a fairly accurate reading. The biggest issue with my dyno was the shop not listening to what I had to say. Highly frustrating...
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2012, 07:13 AM   #680
CombatNinja
Banned
CombatNinja's Avatar
19
Rep
1,587
Posts

Drives: e91 328i, e90 328i, e90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Can you not just pop the trans over into 'manual' mode and get more control over the gear? The display right there in the cluster would let the operator know exactly what gear he is in.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2012, 08:38 AM   #681
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
49
Rep
3,365
Posts

Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Dyno in Auto is not a problem at all.

Pop it into Manual mode and go through the gears manually. The operator just need to know where the kickdown is on the pedal and not go past that point. I have had over 10 dynos on my car with no issues.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2012, 11:56 AM   #682
bdl328xit
Private
United_States
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: '08 E91
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 E91 328xi  [5.00]
Is anyone else with the 3-stage mani or the AA tune experiencing some odd speaker 'white noise' in the cabin after a few miles, even when all accessories are turned off?
__________________
'08 E91 328xi N52 6MT / 3-stage mani / Euro intake / Magnaflow cat-back / AA tune / BMS clutch stop / mCDV / Plasti-dip kidneys ///Goes like it did at sea level
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST