E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Can't get rid of Brake Service light



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-22-2012, 01:16 PM   #1
skim7x
Use it or Lose it
 
skim7x's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Clifton, NJ

Posts: 2,461
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [5.00]
Can't get rid of Brake Service light

So about 2 weeks ago I had some AR Design Cattless DP's installed on my car along with BMS DP Fix (v3) set at 6 o'clock position. Haven't had any codes or anything until about 4 days ago when the brake service light came on. I took the car to BMW and they said the brakes were fine and the code was a faulty code. Now, this is the 3rd time I've had the brake service light come on inappropriately. However, this time BMW says that they could not clear it... they tried multiple times but were unsuccessful.

Anyone have this problem? Maybe the BMS DP Fix is set too strong (although I haven't seen any other reports of this problem on other DP Fix threads).

My other performance mods are: Dinan Stg 2, AMS FMIC, AFe drop in filter, AR Design Cattless DP's

Thanks all!
__________________
'07 Space Gray 335i coupe w/ Sports Package | Comfort Access

Cobb S1+ | PTF e30 custom tune | AMS | CP-e | BMS OCC | Quaife
[Newark Photoshoot #1]
skim7x is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:16 PM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,266
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Maybe your brake sensors needs to be replaced. I think there are two. One for the front And the other in the back.
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:23 PM   #3
skim7x
Use it or Lose it
 
skim7x's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Clifton, NJ

Posts: 2,461
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Maybe your brake sensors needs to be replaced. I think there are two. One for the front And the other in the back.
Hey, been a long time! I believe they checked the sensors at the BMW dealership... the tech told me they were fine...
__________________
'07 Space Gray 335i coupe w/ Sports Package | Comfort Access

Cobb S1+ | PTF e30 custom tune | AMS | CP-e | BMS OCC | Quaife
[Newark Photoshoot #1]
skim7x is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:29 PM   #4
bimmertt
Lieutenant Colonel
 
bimmertt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 1,671
iTrader: (7)

Since you had the dps and dp fix running fine for a little over a week, I'd be inclined to think the sensors are now bad.

I'd check the brakes myself to see if the pads are low. The sensors are one time use so if the pad wears down enough to the point the sensors are hit, that light will stay on no matter what until you get new pads/sensors.
bimmertt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:31 PM   #5
lpphreakx06
Professional Moose Racer
 
lpphreakx06's Avatar
 
Drives: SG 335i E92
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bellevue, Wa

Posts: 7,226
iTrader: (25)

I have the same problem, but my light came on after I tried rsetting the CBS viz the BT tool.
__________________

BMW Dream Team PNW Chapter, member #1
|HP Autowerks | AR DESIGN | BMW PERFORMANCE | STOP TECH | Volk Racing| AMS | ARKYM
lpphreakx06 is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:33 PM   #6
Brey335i
Brigadier General
 
Brey335i's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 ///M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 4,737
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpphreakx06 View Post
I have the same problem, but my light came on after I tried rsetting the CBS viz the BT tool.
+1. that's how it happened for me as well.
Brey335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:35 PM   #7
skim7x
Use it or Lose it
 
skim7x's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Clifton, NJ

Posts: 2,461
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpphreakx06 View Post
I have the same problem, but my light came on after I tried rsetting the CBS viz the BT tool.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brey335i View Post
+1. that's how it happened for me as well.
What's the CBS? Central Braking System? lol...

So you guys find a fix for this, or your Brake light is still on? It's not the fact that it's on that bothers me as much as now I won't know when my brakes actually need changing =P Guess I can do it old-school style and check at 6 month intervals with oil change or something...
__________________
'07 Space Gray 335i coupe w/ Sports Package | Comfort Access

Cobb S1+ | PTF e30 custom tune | AMS | CP-e | BMS OCC | Quaife
[Newark Photoshoot #1]
skim7x is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:36 PM   #8
Brey335i
Brigadier General
 
Brey335i's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 ///M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 4,737
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skim7x View Post
What's the CBS? Central Braking System? lol...

So you guys find a fix for this, or your Brake light is still on? It's not the fact that it's on that bothers me as much as now I won't know when my brakes actually need changing =P Guess I can do it old-school style and check at 6 month intervals with oil change or something...
I'm replacing the sensors with my new pads soon so we'll see then if that helps.
Brey335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:37 PM   #9
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
badass335's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

Posts: 1,800
iTrader: (10)

You'll need to get your cars flashed with the latest software to get rid of this. On the new software, they remove this monitoring. I had it on and off for a year and BMW did the brakes, and replaced sensors about 5 times within the year. I'd check with the BT tool and the sensor would read 600000km's overdue etc. It was a malfunction. Pain in the ass!
Replacing the sensor is a temporary fix. Resolves it but will come back randomly. Say you drive through a big puddle of water and it hits the sensors just right etc..
badass335 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:46 PM   #10
skim7x
Use it or Lose it
 
skim7x's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Clifton, NJ

Posts: 2,461
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by badass335 View Post
You'll need to get your cars flashed with the latest software to get rid of this. On the new software, they remove this monitoring. I had it on and off for a year and BMW did the brakes, and replaced sensors about 5 times within the year. I'd check with the BT tool and the sensor would read 600000km's overdue etc. It was a malfunction. Pain in the ass!
Replacing the sensor is a temporary fix. Resolves it but will come back randomly. Say you drive through a big puddle of water and it hits the sensors just right etc..
Yeah, the BMW Dealership actually mentioned that one of the possibilities was that the flash I had on my car was a "cheap flash." LOL... I have Dinan... not only is it the most expensive flash, but I don't think anyone would argue that the software is in any way half-assed... but anyways, yeah that's another idea... try to get the most updated version of the Dinan flash / BMW software. Maybe I'll try to get the newest flash soon...

I've been on the fence between getting the BT tool or just getting the Cobb AP so I can start reading my own codes. I'm out of warranty now, so a lot of these little warnings going off I'll need to fix myself and then i'll need to be able to clear the errors with some sort of tool... with Cobb AP I'd get a nice little boost in power too, with the Cobb Stage 2 + FMIC =P
__________________
'07 Space Gray 335i coupe w/ Sports Package | Comfort Access

Cobb S1+ | PTF e30 custom tune | AMS | CP-e | BMS OCC | Quaife
[Newark Photoshoot #1]
skim7x is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:48 PM   #11
Brey335i
Brigadier General
 
Brey335i's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 ///M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 4,737
iTrader: (11)

The COBB AP is not able to clear that type of code. That's why I still have my BT
Brey335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 02:59 PM   #12
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
badass335's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

Posts: 1,800
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brey335i View Post
The COBB AP is not able to clear that type of code. That's why I still have my BT
Keep in mind, though the BT Tool was able to read this, it could not reset the codes.
badass335 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 03:24 PM   #13
skim7x
Use it or Lose it
 
skim7x's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Clifton, NJ

Posts: 2,461
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brey335i View Post
The COBB AP is not able to clear that type of code. That's why I still have my BT
Quote:
Originally Posted by badass335 View Post
Keep in mind, though the BT Tool was able to read this, it could not reset the codes.
So neither the Cobb AP nor the BT Tool are able to clear codes? You need another device in order to clear the code?
__________________
'07 Space Gray 335i coupe w/ Sports Package | Comfort Access

Cobb S1+ | PTF e30 custom tune | AMS | CP-e | BMS OCC | Quaife
[Newark Photoshoot #1]
skim7x is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 04:03 PM   #14
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,628
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
I've used the BT tool to reset the conditioned based service warnings more than once for the brakes, and other items. Works like a charm. http://wiki.bavariantechnic.com/index.php?title=CBS

I never used the reset. I just went in to adjust values and bumped up the percentage remaining.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 04:07 PM   #15
805beemer
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lompoc, CA

Posts: 614
iTrader: (3)

you can clear and read codes with the cobb ap, doesn't even need to be married to the car. I think brey is just saying that it won't clear your particular code for some reason.
805beemer is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 06:55 PM   #16
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
badass335's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

Posts: 1,800
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottp999 View Post
I've used the BT tool to reset the conditioned based service warnings more than once for the brakes, and other items. Works like a charm. http://wiki.bavariantechnic.com/index.php?title=CBS

I never used the reset. I just went in to adjust values and bumped up the percentage remaining.
Wont work if the sensor is faulty. I tried many times. You can adjust the condition based service but in the OP's case, he's mentioning that BMW has issues resetting codes so most likely faulty sensor which can't be resolved with BT as the condition is still present.
badass335 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 07:20 PM   #17
Randomaccess335
Captain
 
Randomaccess335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07' 335I
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: boynton beach, Fl

Posts: 682
iTrader: (9)

What's on your dash? Mine was car on lift in red( saw it when started car and turning car off) and the word brake also in red on all the time.
I finally figured how tow to clear it
__________________

JB4 G5 ISO , BMS DCI's, Stock Guted DP's, DO Meth kit Trunk Mount, ETS 5" Intercooler, M6 Rims, ER Charge Pipe, Fordged DV's
Cybe 3.8" chrome Tips, Lux Angel Eyes
**********12.07 @ 116***1.99 60'**********
Randomaccess335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 08:40 PM   #18
skim7x
Use it or Lose it
 
skim7x's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Clifton, NJ

Posts: 2,461
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomaccess335 View Post
What's on your dash? Mine was car on lift in red( saw it when started car and turning car off) and the word brake also in red on all the time.
I finally figured how tow to clear it
Yeah that's exactly what I have... how did you clear it?? Any idea what it was caused by?
__________________
'07 Space Gray 335i coupe w/ Sports Package | Comfort Access

Cobb S1+ | PTF e30 custom tune | AMS | CP-e | BMS OCC | Quaife
[Newark Photoshoot #1]
skim7x is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 10:12 PM   #19
Fred_Boosted
First Lieutenant
 
Fred_Boosted's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 304
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmertt View Post
Since you had the dps and dp fix running fine for a little over a week, I'd be inclined to think the sensors are now bad.

I'd check the brakes myself to see if the pads are low. The sensors are one time use so if the pad wears down enough to the point the sensors are hit, that light will stay on no matter what until you get new pads/sensors.
Will this happen to aftermarket brakes?

Since they don't have sensors...
__________________
Fred_Boosted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 10:44 PM   #20
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,628
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_Boosted View Post
Will this happen to aftermarket brakes?

Since they don't have sensors...
You can force/wire the circuit together so the circuit will never be broken.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2012, 02:25 AM   #21
idrift4wd
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Three Hundred and Thirty Five
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yonkers NY

Posts: 3,311
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW  [3.50]
Solution(if your brakes are fine)

put your car in accessory mode and wait till the service symbol dissapears hold your odo button and a symbol should come up let go and scroll through the system and reset your brakes from there.
idrift4wd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2012, 09:54 AM   #22
vase330
Colonel
 
vase330's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i ; 14 RangeRover SSC
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arlington, Va

Posts: 2,676
iTrader: (1)

You mean the odometer reset button right? Wow that sounds easy. Actually I think his sensors are bad. I have had the issue and dealer replaced the rear brakes even though they weren't that won, and problem solved. I also had a nasty screeching issue that happened only with the car driving not on level surfaces and that went away too. They told me it was just the sensors.
__________________
E92 335 | Space Gray | Saddle Brown Dakota | Dark Burl Trim | ZPP | ZSP | AT | Idrive | 6FL | FBO | Dinan CAI | Quaife LSD | STG3 PROCede.
vase330 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST