E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > The 64 bit ncsexpert question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-23-2012, 12:41 AM   #1
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,221
iTrader: (0)

The 64 bit ncsexpert question

If you upgrade from windows 7 64 bit home to Pro which has xp mode
will ncsexpert run without the program compatibility problem?
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2012, 12:07 PM   #2
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
 
Peertwelve's Avatar
 
Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

Posts: 335
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E90 335i  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna
If you upgrade from windows 7 64 bit home to Pro which has xp mode
will ncsexpert run without the program compatibility problem?
Yup
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Peertwelve is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2012, 07:41 AM   #3
Meshyo
Banned
 
Drives: E92 335I
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London

Posts: 117
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peertwelve View Post
Yup
+1
Meshyo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2012, 10:57 AM   #4
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Oh, I did not know this. I already installed VMware and everything. How do you use XP mode?
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2012, 11:01 AM   #5
plarkin
Private
 
plarkin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northeast, USA

Posts: 97
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335 XI  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
Oh, I did not know this. I already installed VMware and everything. How do you use XP mode?
Go here to get started:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx

This will take care of EVERYTHING for you.

You will not need an XP disk or anything else to get yourself running. Install XP mode, Virtual PC, and then boot one up. It will automatically download the XP image for you. This was my solution for running ncsexpert too, Win7 x64 laptop with XP mode for programming.
plarkin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2012, 11:21 AM   #6
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Quote:
Originally Posted by plarkin View Post
Go here to get started:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx

This will take care of EVERYTHING for you.

You will not need an XP disk or anything else to get yourself running. Install XP mode, Virtual PC, and then boot one up. It will automatically download the XP image for you. This was my solution for running ncsexpert too, Win7 x64 laptop with XP mode for programming.
Wait, so XP mode requires Virtual PC? If you have to run a virtual machine anyway, then it's not any more convenient than VMware or any other virtualization program.
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2012, 11:43 AM   #7
plarkin
Private
 
plarkin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northeast, USA

Posts: 97
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335 XI  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
Wait, so XP mode requires Virtual PC? If you have to run a virtual machine anyway, then it's not any more convenient than VMware or any other virtualization program.
Yes, XP mode runs inside VirtualPC. It IS more convenient than setting up VMware as the biggest advantage you have is with a licensed copy of Windows 7, you get a whole Windows XP image running for free with no CD key/media needed. For those that don't have an old XP CD laying around, XP mode comes in quite handy.

It also has less overhead in terms of persistant services than VMware does, if that is of any concern.

I wouldn't bother with XP mode if you're already running another VM environment on your laptop. If you don't have anything running already and your only purpose of creating a VM would be to perform coding on your vehicle, setting up XP mode is an easier proposition for most users.
plarkin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 12:01 AM   #8
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
 
Peertwelve's Avatar
 
Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

Posts: 335
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E90 335i  [3.50]
For those with a Mac, you can run windows7 64bit enterprise in Parallels, which results in a virtual xp mode on a MacBook. This is how I do all of my coding. Works great as long as you remember to connect the cable device to the right VM
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Peertwelve is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2012, 10:49 AM   #9
GB///M5
Captain
 
GB///M5's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i, F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chitown

Posts: 614
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M5  [0.00]
2013 M3 (Gone, neve ...  [5.00]
2008 335i  [5.00]
Does ncsexpert run fine on win7 32 bit?
GB///M5 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST