E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > The 64 bit ncsexpert question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-23-2012, 01:41 AM   #1
ctuna
Brigadier General
66
Rep
4,849
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

The 64 bit ncsexpert question

If you upgrade from windows 7 64 bit home to Pro which has xp mode
will ncsexpert run without the program compatibility problem?
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2012, 01:07 PM   #2
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
Peertwelve's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
372
Posts

Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna
If you upgrade from windows 7 64 bit home to Pro which has xp mode
will ncsexpert run without the program compatibility problem?
Yup
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3 | BPMSport tune | CIC Upgrade
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2012, 08:41 AM   #3
Meshyo
Banned
3
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: E92 335I
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peertwelve View Post
Yup
+1
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2012, 11:57 AM   #4
Bendercle
Banned
United_States
4
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Oh, I did not know this. I already installed VMware and everything. How do you use XP mode?
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2012, 12:01 PM   #5
plarkin
Private First Class
plarkin's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
100
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northeast, USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335 XI  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
Oh, I did not know this. I already installed VMware and everything. How do you use XP mode?
Go here to get started:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx

This will take care of EVERYTHING for you.

You will not need an XP disk or anything else to get yourself running. Install XP mode, Virtual PC, and then boot one up. It will automatically download the XP image for you. This was my solution for running ncsexpert too, Win7 x64 laptop with XP mode for programming.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2012, 12:21 PM   #6
Bendercle
Banned
United_States
4
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Quote:
Originally Posted by plarkin View Post
Go here to get started:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx

This will take care of EVERYTHING for you.

You will not need an XP disk or anything else to get yourself running. Install XP mode, Virtual PC, and then boot one up. It will automatically download the XP image for you. This was my solution for running ncsexpert too, Win7 x64 laptop with XP mode for programming.
Wait, so XP mode requires Virtual PC? If you have to run a virtual machine anyway, then it's not any more convenient than VMware or any other virtualization program.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2012, 12:43 PM   #7
plarkin
Private First Class
plarkin's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
100
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northeast, USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335 XI  [4.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
Wait, so XP mode requires Virtual PC? If you have to run a virtual machine anyway, then it's not any more convenient than VMware or any other virtualization program.
Yes, XP mode runs inside VirtualPC. It IS more convenient than setting up VMware as the biggest advantage you have is with a licensed copy of Windows 7, you get a whole Windows XP image running for free with no CD key/media needed. For those that don't have an old XP CD laying around, XP mode comes in quite handy.

It also has less overhead in terms of persistant services than VMware does, if that is of any concern.

I wouldn't bother with XP mode if you're already running another VM environment on your laptop. If you don't have anything running already and your only purpose of creating a VM would be to perform coding on your vehicle, setting up XP mode is an easier proposition for most users.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2012, 01:01 AM   #8
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
Peertwelve's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
372
Posts

Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [0.00]
For those with a Mac, you can run windows7 64bit enterprise in Parallels, which results in a virtual xp mode on a MacBook. This is how I do all of my coding. Works great as long as you remember to connect the cable device to the right VM
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3 | BPMSport tune | CIC Upgrade
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2012, 11:49 AM   #9
GB///M5
Captain
GB///M5's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
716
Posts

Drives: E90 335i, F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M5  [5.00]
2008 335i  [5.00]
Does ncsexpert run fine on win7 32 bit?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST