E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Took my AA Xede'd 335 in for service



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-28-2007, 11:06 PM   #23
Sleepr335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 07' 335i Sedan; 04' VW Gli
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 159
iTrader: (4)

I will answer these 3 questions. To the rest of you guys......I dont have a clue what you are talking about

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikes12985 View Post
What Florida dealer/service place did u take your car in to for the oil? Mike.
Vista, Coconut Creek

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrinceSmooth View Post
so sleeper how are you liking your chip? Do you have the exhaust as well? Please give us some details!
Love the chip. It gave me 48whp on a dyno jet, no torque reading that day. No exhaust yet. Hopefully soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hl0m4n View Post
was the aa switch hard to install? did you have to drill a hole in the glove box? any idea if the wireless solution would work on the aa xede as like the procede?
AA did the install for me. It was $150 to install the switch and Xede unit. They do drill a small hole and put it on the back side of the glove box but I guess you could put it anywhere you want.........That sounded dirty.:rocks: I dont know about the wireless.
Sleepr335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2007, 11:22 PM   #24
G35revup
V3 Power
 
G35revup's Avatar
 
Drives: Space gray 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tampa, Fl.

Posts: 363
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to G35revup Send a message via MSN to G35revup
I dont think any modification voids your warranty unless there is a problem and they can prove the particular mod was the cause of it?
G35revup is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2007, 08:50 AM   #25
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,847
iTrader: (42)

if not the aa switch, does the aa xede unit itself have the map switching switch?
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2007, 11:20 AM   #26
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,612
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by G35revup View Post
I dont think any modification voids your warranty unless there is a problem and they can prove the particular mod was the cause of it?
If a turbo fails for any reason, for example, wouldn't the fact that one is routinely running on the order of 60-70% more boost than stock spec. be sufficient rationale to void a warranty coverage? (That is, regardless of the actual cause of failure, such as a defect in the turbo.)
zenmaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2007, 12:06 PM   #27
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,710
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenmaster View Post
If a turbo fails for any reason, for example, wouldn't the fact that one is routinely running on the order of 60-70% more boost than stock spec. be sufficient rationale to void a warranty coverage? (That is, regardless of the actual cause of failure, such as a defect in the turbo.)
Agreed, and ethics need to be taken into account as well.

I can see where one would want to remove any device during service work just to limit any potential hassle. But if a charge air component, such as a turbo, fails; I would hope the individual would own up and take responsibility if they had been running higher than stock boost. But sadly, I suspect will happen in only a minority of the cases.
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2007, 01:42 PM   #28
Mikes12985
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Black on Black 335i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: S. FL

Posts: 509
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepr335 View Post
AA did the install for me. It was $150 to install the switch and Xede unit. They do drill a small hole and put it on the back side of the glove box but I guess you could put it anywhere you want.........That sounded dirty.:rocks: I dont know about the wireless.
Im sure that u meant to say 1500 instead of 150....So how long did it take AA to do the installation? How long have u had their Xede, hows it holding up, any different gas milage or overheating problems yet? Thanks Mike.
Mikes12985 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2007, 02:46 PM   #29
Sleepr335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 07' 335i Sedan; 04' VW Gli
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 159
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikes12985 View Post
Im sure that u meant to say 1500 instead of 150....So how long did it take AA to do the installation? How long have u had their Xede, hows it holding up, any different gas milage or overheating problems yet? Thanks Mike.
$1080 for the Xede and $150 for the install with the switch in the glove box. I've had it for about 6 weeks. Its holding up good. No problems yet. Oil temp has never been higher than 240. I haven't recorded gas milage yet but it seems to be about the same.
Sleepr335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2007, 02:52 PM   #30
bimmerlex
Captain
 
bimmerlex's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 LCI / E70 X5 xDr35d
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SoCal.

Posts: 841
iTrader: (24)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepr335 View Post
...Oil temp has never been higher than 240. I haven't recorded gas milage yet but it seems to be about the same.
I've also observed that my oil temp doesn't go over 240 with Xede, sometimes 250 when I press it hard. But stock my temp usually went up to 270-280. Gas mileage went a bit down though, 'cause with Xede you can't help it but you always feel the need to push harder, at least first couple of weeks after the install
bimmerlex is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2007, 03:40 PM   #31
imua
Private
 
imua's Avatar
 
Drives: Dodge Ram, 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hawaii

Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepr335 View Post
Took it in for its first service. Oil change and whatever else they do. I shut off the Xede via the switch in the glove box. I don't know what kind of diagnostics they run but nobody said anything to me. No problems at all.
Nice, saved you the pain of taking it out. You are more gutsy then I am, I would have removed it.
imua is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2007, 07:27 PM   #32
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,847
iTrader: (42)

do you have a 6mt or auto? hows traction? how many miles you drive with the aa chip? did you experience a procede as well?
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-01-2007, 03:23 PM   #33
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,847
iTrader: (42)

bump
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-01-2007, 03:59 PM   #34
Sleepr335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 07' 335i Sedan; 04' VW Gli
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 159
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hl0m4n View Post
do you have a 6mt or auto? hows traction? how many miles you drive with the aa chip? did you experience a procede as well?
6mt. No traction problems. Tires spin if you launch hard at a red light but its really not that bad. I've haven't taken it on a 1/4 track yet so I don't really know how good the traction would be off the line. I've driven about 3k miles with the AA Xede. I have never been in a PROcede'd car.
Sleepr335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-01-2007, 04:16 PM   #35
G35revup
V3 Power
 
G35revup's Avatar
 
Drives: Space gray 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tampa, Fl.

Posts: 363
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to G35revup Send a message via MSN to G35revup
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenmaster View Post
If a turbo fails for any reason, for example, wouldn't the fact that one is routinely running on the order of 60-70% more boost than stock spec. be sufficient rationale to void a warranty coverage? (That is, regardless of the actual cause of failure, such as a defect in the turbo.)
What I meant was , your warranty is not voided unless something goes wrong and they can prove the aftermarket mod was the cause of the problem. Obviously a turbo failing would be reason enough for them to say the piggyback caused it, but if your steering column malfunctions thats not the piggyback's problem.

I think the question by most people on this forum is : Will the procede/aa xede void the entire warranty on any problems that may occur with the vehicle. There is a law somewhere that states if the problem was not caused by the aftermarket mod then your warranty is not voided.

US Code - Title 15, Chapter 50, Sections 2301-2312

Legally, a vehicle manufacturer cannot void the warranty on a vehicle due to an aftermarket part unless they can prove that the aftermarket part caused or contributed to the failure in the vehicle (per the Magnuson Moss Warranty Act (15 U.S.C. 2302(C)) . For best results, consider working with performance-oriented dealerships with a proven history of working with customers. If your vehicle manufacturer fails to honor emission/warranty claims, contact EPA at (202) 260-2080
G35revup is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-01-2007, 04:58 PM   #36
G35revup
V3 Power
 
G35revup's Avatar
 
Drives: Space gray 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tampa, Fl.

Posts: 363
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to G35revup Send a message via MSN to G35revup
Quote:
AA did the install for me. It was $150 to install the switch and Xede unit. They do drill a small hole and put it on the back side of the glove box but I guess you could put it anywhere you want.........That sounded dirty.:rocks: I dont know about the wireless.
Did you have them do a tune as well while you were there?
G35revup is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-01-2007, 09:05 PM   #37
Sleepr335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 07' 335i Sedan; 04' VW Gli
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 159
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by G35revup View Post
Did you have them do a tune as well while you were there?
No, They were working on that 1000hp m3 at the time so the dyno wasn't available.
Sleepr335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-01-2007, 09:42 PM   #38
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,612
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by G35revup View Post
What I meant was , your warranty is not voided unless something goes wrong and they can prove the aftermarket mod was the cause of the problem. Obviously a turbo failing would be reason enough for them to say the piggyback caused it, but if your steering column malfunctions thats not the piggyback's problem.
Absolutely understood. I wouldn't doubt that BMW would cover all but the most blatent component failures due to aftermarket mods. That is, perhaps until repair statistics are collected that suggest stronger correlations to particular types of failure.
zenmaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2007, 12:28 AM   #39
myfirstbmw335i
myfirstbmw335i
 
myfirstbmw335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 6-Speed, NAV, Sport
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nashville, Tennessee

Posts: 349
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to myfirstbmw335i
Was at my dealer yesterday...they will actually order and install the vishnu for customers. they attempted to detect an activated vishnu via diagnostics and could not detect it at all.....

all the service guys were excited about driving cars that had it installed...could not believe how much faster the car responds....
myfirstbmw335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2007, 09:40 AM   #40
Mikes12985
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Black on Black 335i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: S. FL

Posts: 509
iTrader: (10)

Sleeper335i...So how long did it take for them to do the installation down at AA from start to finish? Thanks Mike.

EDIT: Do they except cash .
Mikes12985 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2007, 09:48 AM   #41
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,612
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by myfirstbmw335i View Post
Was at my dealer yesterday...they will actually order and install the vishnu for customers.
Who is your dealer? I would like to give them a call.
zenmaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2007, 12:45 PM   #42
Sleepr335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 07' 335i Sedan; 04' VW Gli
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 159
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikes12985 View Post
Sleeper335i...So how long did it take for them to do the installation down at AA from start to finish? Thanks Mike.

EDIT: Do they except cash .
My car was there for like 4 hours but they were doing other things to other cars. I cant see it taking more than an hour, probably less, if they just focused on that one car. They should accept cash.
Sleepr335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2007, 01:06 PM   #43
Fabster
New Member
 
Fabster's Avatar
 
Drives: JB 335i e90
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southern Cal

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikes12985 View Post
Sleeper335i...So how long did it take for them to do the installation down at AA from start to finish? Thanks Mike.

EDIT: Do they except cash .
The folks from AA did an install on a 335i at Lucent (West Los Angeles) in less than one hour including the switch in the glovebox.
Fabster is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2007, 08:25 PM   #44
G35revup
V3 Power
 
G35revup's Avatar
 
Drives: Space gray 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tampa, Fl.

Posts: 363
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to G35revup Send a message via MSN to G35revup
Cash is King I'm a fan of Vishnu's product but have been thinking of going to AA so I can get a tune with the product while im there, they are also 4 hours away from me. The only thing that stops me is his internet updates and the product being tested in a 12hr race as well as many people here using his product. Also, even though he hasnt been tuning BMW's exclusively, he was the first guy out there being responsive on this forum and putting alot of work into giving us updates daily. I think that alone is worth ordering his product. I wonder what the AA guys would say if I wanted them to tune my car with a procede on it, haha.
G35revup is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST