E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Generic Ebay Scan Tool? To good to be true?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-02-2012, 01:48 PM   #1
rallyegolf
Private First Class
 
rallyegolf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325XI Wagon
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: BMW

Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325xit  [0.00]
Generic Ebay Scan Tool? To good to be true?

So looking at the BT tool and seeing the price, I decided to search around before dropping in on one. I came up on something like this and I have a couple questions.

Ebay Tool

Would this do the same functions as the BT tool? Clear codes, register battery, ect. ect?

Also are all these cables the same configuration? If you get this cable but use a different software, would it work?

I'm afraid the answer to these questions will have me buying a BT tool, but I want to be sure and see if anyone has used these with success.


thanks
__________________
rallyegolf is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2012, 03:02 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,981
iTrader: (0)

I got one and they work (sorta)

I could get DIS57 working but not Progman it says I don't
have the right Diag Head even though I have the Diag head simultor working on DIS57. Also be aware that if you have a car
built after 3/07 you will need a Dcan or Dcan plus Kcan cable.
You need a 32 bit operating system or a virtual xp mode for
windows 7 which means you need the pro or ultimate version of Win 7. DIS57 will run on Win 7 64 bit home with vmware.
This takes lots of disk space you need a spare 50 to 60 gigs to be safe.
Yes the cable works with all versions of inpa edibas and ncsexpert.
I have run DIS57 and got diag readouts and recoded some things in my 06 with this setup.(using ncsexpert)
Setting up the software is a little time consuming.(for DIS57)
The one I got, did not have and up to date version of inpa edibas and ncsexpert but the guy I got it from provided a download link
with updated software. I got the 6.4.7 and 5.02 version on the
download . The downloads from coding board are also good.
'This thread needs to be in the coding subforum'.
I got mine from one of the English vendors if you notice on there
picture of the inpa screen e90 is not displayed.
So I would ask for an 6.4.7 and 5.02 inpa edbiabas disk with your order.

Last edited by ctuna; 02-02-2012 at 07:20 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2012, 03:12 PM   #3
rallyegolf
Private First Class
 
rallyegolf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325XI Wagon
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: BMW

Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325xit  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
I could get DIS57 working but not Progman it says I don't
have the right Diag Head. Also be aware that if you have a car
built after 3/07 you will need a dcan or dcan plus Kcan cable.
Also you need a 32 bit operating system or a virtual xp mode for
windows 7 which means you need the pro or ultimate version.
This takes lots of disk space you need a spare 50 to 60 gigs to be safe.
50 to 60 gigs? Holy Crap. I have an old laptop I can dedicate to this, but that is just retarded. I do have a 06 325Xi so I should be okay on the model.
__________________
rallyegolf is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2012, 03:30 PM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,981
iTrader: (0)

I have it working on two machines(sorta)

I had to buy a new hard disk for my old computer as it only had 80 gigs
and was half full already when I put everthing but TIS on it there was only 7 gigs left . I got a 160gb for about 60 bucks on ebay.
I have plenty of room on my new machine but it won't run ncsexpert
except on the virtual xp machine. And the software has to be installed on
that virtual machine.
mine car is a 325xi wagon so far I have coded the windows up on lock and the no air conditioner on with the auto mode.
I strongly recommended you go to the coding subforum here
and read the big thread so you can avoid any mistakes.
The one to look out for is the recoding of the Kombi module
for digital speed readout or anything in the kombi module.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=368

Last edited by ctuna; 02-02-2012 at 07:22 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST