E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > What I was testing today...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-27-2012, 07:04 AM   #45
kaigoss69
Colonel
 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

Posts: 2,982
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMR
Ive been testing a few Da2's. Working great. It converts from factory amp to 8 sets of full range RCA's. Sounds great. None of the EQ functions working yet, but it'll get you RCA's to your amps.



Excuse the amp mess. Ive literally gone through over 10 sets of amps in the past few months. Trying to find the perfect amp for my setup.
Don't forget about the DA2 madness!
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > JL Audio HD600/4 > (3) Hybrid Audio L3SE & (2) Rainbow Cal25; JL Audio HD900/5 > (2) Morel HCW-10 & (1) IDMax 15
kaigoss69 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2012, 09:52 AM   #46
upstatedoc
Drone Expert
 
upstatedoc's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 BMW 328ix
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NY

Posts: 1,501
iTrader: (1)

I just read all 3 pages of this thread and I think you guys are talking about your sound systems, right?
__________________
2014 Dodge Durango R/T //Diablosports Tuning
2009 E90 N51 /Active Autowerke Stage 2 tune/BMW Performance Exhaust/
1993 Honda Nighthawk 750
Countermeasure enthusiast.
upstatedoc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2012, 03:34 PM   #47
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
 
superjay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
Well, the DA1 did not support the 7, but I don't know about this one.
the only difference between the DA1 and DA2 is analog output on the DA2. I've installed countless DA1 (only 2 of the DA2 so far) and there is, literally, zero difference between the model DA1 shipping now, and the new DA2. Programming is the same (do it in the car with the wizard...it's more reliable), installation is the same, functionality is the same.
__________________
Jay Kent
Sales and Tech at Nav-TV
954-323-1010x103
jay@navtv.com
superjay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2012, 03:36 PM   #48
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
 
superjay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by heartpumper77 View Post
VP.. Will we leave our Logic7 head units coded as logic 7 as the DA2 needs a fiberoptic input or do we need to code it to HIFI?

Thanks
the DA2 will program to any system in our cars. it will require different firmware, that is downloaded to the DA2 at, either, the dealer/distributor, or in the car through the MoBridge wizard.
__________________
Jay Kent
Sales and Tech at Nav-TV
954-323-1010x103
jay@navtv.com
superjay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2012, 03:40 PM   #49
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
 
superjay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMR View Post
As stated before ( must have slipped your mind ) im using the Rane 26z and its working great. I just dont like the size of it which is why i will be switching over to the PS8 when it becomes available. Not to mention all my amps and subs are Arc anyways. Lets hope you get this new firmware unit soon to see what this DA2 really has to offer.
according to Arc they will be shipping next month. If you dont' want to wait try the Mosconi 6to8...not quite the same as PS8, but, if you're not competing in IASCA or MECA you won't notice the difference.
__________________
Jay Kent
Sales and Tech at Nav-TV
954-323-1010x103
jay@navtv.com
superjay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-28-2012, 02:42 AM   #50
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,769
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay View Post
according to Arc they will be shipping next month. If you dont' want to wait try the Mosconi 6to8...not quite the same as PS8, but, if you're not competing in IASCA or MECA you won't notice the difference.
Im using a Rane 26z in my car and the PS8 better be damn good for me to switch from the rane.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-28-2012, 11:23 AM   #51
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
 
superjay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

I've played with the PS-8. The only things you won't get are compression and expansion, like you do with the Rane. Other than that it's about the same, but SO much smaller. Get one, play with it...you'll be impressed.

Did Matt Borgart mod your Rane for you? He does a lot of them in SoCal.
__________________
Jay Kent
Sales and Tech at Nav-TV
954-323-1010x103
jay@navtv.com
superjay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-28-2012, 12:41 PM   #52
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,769
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay
I've played with the PS-8. The only things you won't get are compression and expansion, like you do with the Rane. Other than that it's about the same, but SO much smaller. Get one, play with it...you'll be impressed.

Did Matt Borgart mod your Rane for you? He does a lot of them in SoCal.
Yea, Matt's the one who is doing all my work. We just ported my door pods. Throwing 300 watts per ch at the 5x7 midbass and playing them down to 50hz. Now he has me testing different amps.

My rane has a bunch of mods done to it.

What are your thought and have you listened to the new ZED amps?
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-28-2012, 04:42 PM   #53
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
 
superjay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

new ZED amps have ground plane issues. They sound AMAZING with the car off....turn it on, and it creates its own horrible music.

I worked with Matt when I was with Powerbass. Anything he says can be taken as Gospel.

I'd love to hear what he's done with your car. Even though he's been in product development for a lot of years he's still one of the best installers I know.
__________________
Jay Kent
Sales and Tech at Nav-TV
954-323-1010x103
jay@navtv.com
superjay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-28-2012, 07:59 PM   #54
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,769
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay View Post
new ZED amps have ground plane issues. They sound AMAZING with the car off....turn it on, and it creates its own horrible music.

I worked with Matt when I was with Powerbass. Anything he says can be taken as Gospel.

I'd love to hear what he's done with your car. Even though he's been in product development for a lot of years he's still one of the best installers I know.

http://www.tmrmzine.com/m3/audio/ Here is a link of the trunk baffle and door pods. Im sure you can see the horns mounted. We had sealed door pods and recently ported them.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-28-2012, 10:44 PM   #55
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
 
superjay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

that doesn't look like a Rane...looks more like a BitOne (also had ground plane issues when they first came out....They were fixed in the second gen)

Matt has so much skill and talent. He did a great job on those doors.
__________________
Jay Kent
Sales and Tech at Nav-TV
954-323-1010x103
jay@navtv.com
superjay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-29-2012, 12:47 AM   #56
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,769
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay View Post
that doesn't look like a Rane...looks more like a BitOne (also had ground plane issues when they first came out....They were fixed in the second gen)

Matt has so much skill and talent. He did a great job on those doors.
These are older pics. Ive been changing so many amps lately its embarrassing. But i can say ive tried many different amps. Rockford, Arc Audio, Cadence, Phoenix Gold, PPI art series... to name a few. Im at the, lets put it back to stock phase every other week, but i stay with it and slowly finding what i like and dislike and addressing the issues.

Matt, did the baffle and doors and its all 100% reversible back to stock. It does a solid 140db full range at the drivers seat and yet has soundstage and imaging like you cant imagine. Its a ton of fun.

Where did you work with him? The Ontario building? What is your name? Im going to see him this weekend. Trying yet, another set of amps. LOL.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-29-2012, 11:40 AM   #57
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
 
superjay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

ID was owned by Powerbass. I worked in the PB building. Tell him Jay Kent said hello. Also, see if he can call me to tell me what happened to Andrea, I need to talk to her, also.
__________________
Jay Kent
Sales and Tech at Nav-TV
954-323-1010x103
jay@navtv.com
superjay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-29-2012, 12:51 PM   #58
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,769
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay
ID was owned by Powerbass. I worked in the PB building. Tell him Jay Kent said hello. Also, see if he can call me to tell me what happened to Andrea, I need to talk to her, also.
Andrea disappeared. She has one of my Rockford amps too.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-29-2012, 12:54 PM   #59
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
 
superjay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

she owes money to a few companies. If she pops up can you let me know?
__________________
Jay Kent
Sales and Tech at Nav-TV
954-323-1010x103
jay@navtv.com
superjay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2012, 03:17 PM   #60
That201boy
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Posts: 253
iTrader: (3)

Hey guys so if I have an l7 then I can use the da2 to add amps for all of my speakers instead of coding it down and only using the front set? I'm upgrading the front speakers and wanted to do the rears but was told it didn't really make sense to
__________________
~E9X Picture Game Stats~
Your E9X: beside a clown, parked in your neighbors driveway Points: 2
Got: PROcede V2, DCI, LED Interior, CYBA Scoops, LED AEs, BO Kidneys, Bimmian Smoked Sides, PIAA DRL & Fogs, 12W6v2 in Custom side mount box, Zapco DC501 set to arrive Tuesday
That201boy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2012, 03:18 PM   #61
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
 
superjay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

yes. you can use the DA2 to have analog output direct to amplifiers
__________________
Jay Kent
Sales and Tech at Nav-TV
954-323-1010x103
jay@navtv.com
superjay is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2012, 03:21 PM   #62
That201boy
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Posts: 253
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay View Post
yes. you can use the DA2 to have analog output direct to amplifiers
Which means I would not have to run new speaker wire? Or do I have that incorrect?
__________________
~E9X Picture Game Stats~
Your E9X: beside a clown, parked in your neighbors driveway Points: 2
Got: PROcede V2, DCI, LED Interior, CYBA Scoops, LED AEs, BO Kidneys, Bimmian Smoked Sides, PIAA DRL & Fogs, 12W6v2 in Custom side mount box, Zapco DC501 set to arrive Tuesday
That201boy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2012, 04:46 AM   #63
gaudscho
Registered
 
Drives: E87 130i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Dear guys,

since i heared about th new DA2 i'm very interestet, but there is so low information or experience with that. This is the most interesting Thread about it, and this is why i registered me here too.
Just for very short, i'm a Owner of a Model One (E87) 130i of Germany with Professional Navigation (CCC Modelyear 2006) and HiFi Professional which is near similar to the E90. (Just missing the reardoor- and the center-loudspeaker)

Up to now i changed my Underseatwoofers and added a amp to that, to get more basslevel, used a High-Lowconverter after the OEM Amp.
But i wish to change the OEM against a mobridge unit, which is also available in Europe via Ausion. (Named DA1 BIT One)
But i don't like to use Toslink, i just wanna go via RCA to my AMPs. Planned is to use an 4-Channel Amp for Front and rear additional, when it's possible to use the DA2.
But in fact, it's only interesting if the Equalizing would run as found in the guideline (31 Band and using the 3 Presets via Headunit)
So this is my question now, if it is possible and testet with that by anybody ?

regards

Gerd
gaudscho is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2012, 05:10 AM   #64
matdotcom2000
New Member
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Interesting thread.. Any one played with the h800 and have any comparison to the new 360.3???
matdotcom2000 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2012, 05:57 PM   #65
Cioringa
Registered
 
Drives: 2006 E90 320D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Romania

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

i have a Alpine Pxa-h800 and i think it is great loking forword to this mobridge for the toslink but seems a little expensive though ...

Cioringa is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2012, 07:14 PM   #66
kaigoss69
Colonel
 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

Posts: 2,982
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaudscho View Post
Dear guys,

since i heared about th new DA2 i'm very interestet, but there is so low information or experience with that. This is the most interesting Thread about it, and this is why i registered me here too.
Just for very short, i'm a Owner of a Model One (E87) 130i of Germany with Professional Navigation (CCC Modelyear 2006) and HiFi Professional which is near similar to the E90. (Just missing the reardoor- and the center-loudspeaker)

Up to now i changed my Underseatwoofers and added a amp to that, to get more basslevel, used a High-Lowconverter after the OEM Amp.
But i wish to change the OEM against a mobridge unit, which is also available in Europe via Ausion. (Named DA1 BIT One)
But i don't like to use Toslink, i just wanna go via RCA to my AMPs. Planned is to use an 4-Channel Amp for Front and rear additional, when it's possible to use the DA2.
But in fact, it's only interesting if the Equalizing would run as found in the guideline (31 Band and using the 3 Presets via Headunit)
So this is my question now, if it is possible and testet with that by anybody ?

regards

Gerd
I have the DA2 and the 31-band EQ is definitely not working, or at least I don't know how to get it to work. After I hooked it up (I have Logic 7) the "old" 7-band EQ was still available, but nothing else.
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > JL Audio HD600/4 > (3) Hybrid Audio L3SE & (2) Rainbow Cal25; JL Audio HD900/5 > (2) Morel HCW-10 & (1) IDMax 15
kaigoss69 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST