E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > New PROcede Application



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-05-2012, 09:50 PM   #1
scottro
Private First Class
 
scottro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 197
iTrader: (0)

New PROcede Application

Hi guys,

I'm not aware if anyone else has explored this route yet, but I wanted to be able to tap into the PROcede to get access to it's data and display it on my own custom UI.

I have whipped up a quick UI in Java which currently shows engine RPM's. Obviously there is much more data to display (boost is my next effort), I just haven't enabled it yet. But, I think you can see where this is going.

The display looks a little choppy, probably because I'm running it in a virtual machine. Eventually I will move to a tablet running Windows 7 (or Windows 8) and the responsiveness of the needle should improve.



Also I've attached a screenshot of the GUI since the video is a bit blurry...

What do ya think?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by scottro; 02-05-2012 at 09:59 PM.
scottro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2012, 10:00 PM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,257
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
If you can get it working into the I drive screen it would be nice!
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2012, 10:00 PM   #3
RaihaX
Major General
 
RaihaX's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' 135i
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia, Perth

Posts: 5,029
iTrader: (2)

What is your end game, out of interest?
RaihaX is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2012, 10:01 PM   #4
scottro
Private First Class
 
scottro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 197
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
If you can get it working into the I drive screen it would be nice!
Yeah that would be pretty sweet! No plans for that at the moment though, was just planning to mount a tablet some where.
scottro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2012, 10:03 PM   #5
scottro
Private First Class
 
scottro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 197
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaihaX View Post
What is your end game, out of interest?
To have a tablet (touch screen) that I can select different data values and have them displayed on screen. I've always wanted a little more out of the UI that comes with PROcede.
scottro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2012, 10:30 PM   #6
RaihaX
Major General
 
RaihaX's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' 135i
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia, Perth

Posts: 5,029
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottro View Post
To have a tablet (touch screen) that I can select different data values and have them displayed on screen. I've always wanted a little more out of the UI that comes with PROcede.
Yeah that would be cool but having it on the idrive would be even cooler
RaihaX is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2012, 10:41 PM   #7
sear
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335xi
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Colorado Springs

Posts: 462
iTrader: (0)

Awesome initiative! If you can find a real-time VM and skinny down the windows you might have a shot at getting more out of the proceed's user interface. Alternatively, I think it would be cool to just better automate the logging controls and create a more user understandable front end for the user settings. I love the Continuous engineering of the V5, but sometimes having to research all of the logic to make a simple boost limit adjustment is much harder than it should be
sear is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2012, 10:50 PM   #8
scottro
Private First Class
 
scottro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 197
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sear View Post
Awesome initiative! If you can find a real-time VM and skinny down the windows you might have a shot at getting more out of the proceed's user interface. Alternatively, I think it would be cool to just better automate the logging controls and create a more user understandable front end for the user settings. I love the Continuous engineering of the V5, but sometimes having to research all of the logic to make a simple boost limit adjustment is much harder than it should be
I hear ya, that would be cool. But since I am not working with anyone from Vishnu and I have to figure out on my own how to get the data out of the PROcede, I am not going to attempt writing new values to the map on my own car So for the time being it will be just displaying data ...
scottro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 12:19 AM   #9
335okc
Captain
 
335okc's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: okc

Posts: 654
iTrader: (0)

i've always been curious to how procede stream the data. looks like you figured out the protocol. is it just serial data (over usb) ?
335okc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 10:31 AM   #10
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
 
pinky_and_me's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 272
iTrader: (0)

Yep, it's serial data using custom format commands.
pinky_and_me is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 04:05 PM   #11
phazen23
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: washington state

Posts: 211
iTrader: (0)

Ambitious! Best of luck to ya. Mad props if you can figure out stuff like map switching =)

I'm not sure how deep you're willing to go, but if you could separate the libraries that perform activities (reading/changing/saving data) from the UI, and open source some or all of it, I'm sure you'd get help.

I've entertained the thought of making some sort of adapter that can plug into piggies (via serial or usb) and give it wifi or bluetooth so that its controllable from your phone or tablet. I wouldn't know where to begin with cracking the protocols though..
phazen23 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 04:51 PM   #12
scottro
Private First Class
 
scottro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 197
iTrader: (0)

Yep, just a bunch of bytes being pushed back and forth over the serial channel.

phazen-- Yeah, I have had similar ideas as well regarding the bluetooth or wifi module. Currently, I'm not aware of any applications that run on your phone that allow you to tune your car Most are just diagnostic data viewing ...

However, is there really a need to tune your car on the go from your phone?? Maybe.... Maybe not... Not sure how much of a demand there would be for that.
scottro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 05:28 PM   #13
BrianMN
Colonel
 
Drives: 4 Door Family Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 2,429
iTrader: (7)

I would love to have the ability to perform a datalog from my iphone and email it to myself...that would reduce the need for an in-car computer that is always flailin around and running out of battery. Plus, you could essentially log at any time
BrianMN is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 05:33 PM   #14
MrHeavyFoot
Private
 
Drives: Stock E90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: a few hours ahead

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

I want to be able to see real boost on either the iDrive or my Android device. Bonuses would be real time graphing of other parameters, setting max boost on the fly etc.

I'm currently using the Torque Android app but some readings seem off so it's not really useful.

There was a pretty cool project described here some time ago but the OP wouldn't share any details.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=578237

I don't know where to start deciphering serial protocols so I'd love to see your project progress and wish you luck! Subscribed!
MrHeavyFoot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 05:41 PM   #15
zerep1
Lieutenant
 
zerep1's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i e90, 328i f30
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Miramar florida

Posts: 429
iTrader: (1)

"Danger to manifold"
__________________

Irub
zerep1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 05:44 PM   #16
335okc
Captain
 
335okc's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: okc

Posts: 654
iTrader: (0)

i wonder if something like usb print server can talk to procede and relay it?
if i had the board design, i could put a wifi chip or bluetooth chip to interface with the serial port a lot easier than patching and reverse engineering things.
335okc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 05:57 PM   #17
phazen23
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: washington state

Posts: 211
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottro View Post
Yep, just a bunch of bytes being pushed back and forth over the serial channel.

phazen-- Yeah, I have had similar ideas as well regarding the bluetooth or wifi module. Currently, I'm not aware of any applications that run on your phone that allow you to tune your car Most are just diagnostic data viewing ...

However, is there really a need to tune your car on the go from your phone?? Maybe.... Maybe not... Not sure how much of a demand there would be for that.
As was said by another member, the need is really going to be around the monitoring on your phone, but being able to make changes in a config menu couldn't hurt!

Might not be the same device (since the PROcede doesn't have the capability), but I've also wanted to be able to do corner deletes, or other "coding" using my phone.

Last edited by phazen23; 02-06-2012 at 07:05 PM.
phazen23 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 06:54 PM   #18
scottro
Private First Class
 
scottro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 197
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHeavyFoot View Post
I want to be able to see real boost on either the iDrive or my Android device. Bonuses would be real time graphing of other parameters, setting max boost on the fly etc.

I'm currently using the Torque Android app but some readings seem off so it's not really useful.

There was a pretty cool project described here some time ago but the OP wouldn't share any details.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=578237

I don't know where to start deciphering serial protocols so I'd love to see your project progress and wish you luck! Subscribed!

Wow, I hadn't seen that guys progress. That is impressive. He is so much further along than me that it makes me not want to continue. Why do what someone else has already done?
scottro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 07:53 PM   #19
blisstik
Major
 
blisstik's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

Posts: 1,302
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerep1 View Post
"Danger to manifold"
__________________
blisstik is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 10:14 PM   #20
Sigma 3
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: A few things
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tri cities

Posts: 341
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottro View Post
Wow, I hadn't seen that guys progress. That is impressive. He is so much further along than me that it makes me not want to continue. Why do what someone else has already done?
You sir are correct! Why did people make cars after Henry Ford?
__________________
In the land of the blind the man with one eye is King
Sigma 3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2012, 09:53 AM   #21
MrHeavyFoot
Private
 
Drives: Stock E90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: a few hours ahead

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottro View Post
Wow, I hadn't seen that guys progress. That is impressive. He is so much further along than me that it makes me not want to continue. Why do what someone else has already done?
Well, I really hope you do and share or sell the solution - it's the next mod I really want in my car. That guy is doing neither as far as I know.
MrHeavyFoot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2012, 12:29 PM   #22
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

FWIW, I had a wireless app running on WM5 for a while. Doing the serial>wifi wasn't that hard with a commercially available module. I eventually got it running on the iPhone with the Rev app by reverse engineering the PLX Kiwi iMFD protocol, but honestly the performance just plain sucked. I have no idea what I'm doing in objective C or I would have made a native iPhone app...since I don't I pretty much gave up on the idea.

Here's a vid of it working on WM5:

__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST