E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > DIY: N54 Injector Coding Via INPA



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-12-2012, 04:25 AM   #309
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

any idea which test checks for coil voltage?
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2012, 12:26 PM   #310
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
 
vasillalov's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,133
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
any idea which test checks for coil voltage?
I've seen the tests, but for the life of me, I do not remember how to access them off the top of my head. I'll have to look it up on my laptop when I get home.
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine
vasillalov is offline   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2012, 08:54 PM   #311
nukezero
Major
 
Drives: '09 335I Cpe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunny Socal

Posts: 1,191
iTrader: (4)

I just got my cable today, it has the green board. Use FDTI to install drivers. Got everything set up. Put the car into ignition (dash board lights up with fuel gauge moving). When I ran INPA, everything detected fine. Battery and ignition all black. The INPA USB cable even lights up orange when I plugged it in.

Right when I get into the injector menu, I get some kind of API error like it can't talk to it. Immediately, the orange LED light on the INPA USB cable shuts off. Must be some link/transmission issue ?

I have to unplug the cable from the OBD2 port and replug it in to get the light to come back on.

Any idea? I double checked COM port settings, baud rate, parity, etc. they are correct.

I'm using the entire package from you Vasillov.

Windows XP 32-bit, COM3, INPA USB cable green board.

I get a similar error to the one below:


Is there anything that I can run with your package Vasillov? Like is there a menu that shows me some basic info about the car to extract some data in order to test whether the cable is working properly?
Attached Images
 
__________________
2009 335i 6MT - M-Sport - All stock

Last edited by nukezero; 10-12-2012 at 10:40 PM.
nukezero is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-13-2012, 06:19 PM   #312
Chrisred
Captain
 
Chrisred's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi coupe
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada

Posts: 738
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukezero
I just got my cable today, it has the green board. Use FDTI to install drivers. Got everything set up. Put the car into ignition (dash board lights up with fuel gauge moving). When I ran INPA, everything detected fine. Battery and ignition all black. The INPA USB cable even lights up orange when I plugged it in.

Right when I get into the injector menu, I get some kind of API error like it can't talk to it. Immediately, the orange LED light on the INPA USB cable shuts off. Must be some link/transmission issue ?

I have to unplug the cable from the OBD2 port and replug it in to get the light to come back on.

Any idea? I double checked COM port settings, baud rate, parity, etc. they are correct.

I'm using the entire package from you Vasillov.

Windows XP 32-bit, COM3, INPA USB cable green board.

I get a similar error to the one below:


Is there anything that I can run with your package Vasillov? Like is there a menu that shows me some basic info about the car to extract some data in order to test whether the cable is working properly?
I get exactly same errors as u. I'm running win 7 ultimate. 32bit. Green board INPA cable. Still looking for an answer.
__________________
JB4 cp-e IC AMS exhaust BMS DCI AR DP's METH
19" VMR VB3 Stoptech BBK TC KLINE VORSHLAG
Chrisred is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2012, 10:31 PM   #313
nukezero
Major
 
Drives: '09 335I Cpe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunny Socal

Posts: 1,191
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisred View Post
I get exactly same errors as u. I'm running win 7 ultimate. 32bit. Green board INPA cable. Still looking for an answer.
it seems like those who have 2007-2008 have much better luck. Those with 2009+ do not. I also noticed the eBay listings specifically say this cable and related INPA/EDIABAS software only works up to 2007 or something.

I am assuming you have a 2010 model car? It also does not help that I have the MSD81 computer and not the MSD80.
__________________
2009 335i 6MT - M-Sport - All stock
nukezero is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2012, 10:16 PM   #314
Chrisred
Captain
 
Chrisred's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi coupe
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada

Posts: 738
iTrader: (0)

No I'm a 2009
__________________
JB4 cp-e IC AMS exhaust BMS DCI AR DP's METH
19" VMR VB3 Stoptech BBK TC KLINE VORSHLAG
Chrisred is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2012, 02:06 AM   #315
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

i get those errors to sometimes , just keep on clicking yes and it works normally for me.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2012, 12:37 PM   #316
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
 
vasillalov's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,133
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
i get those errors to sometimes , just keep on clicking yes and it works normally for me.
Boom! That's the answer. Sometimes Windows attempts to communicate over the USB port too quickly and it confuses INPA. Usually, this happens when you plug things for the first time into a new USB port on your computer.

Just click OK repeatedly and try again.
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine
vasillalov is offline   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2012, 12:55 PM   #317
nukezero
Major
 
Drives: '09 335I Cpe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunny Socal

Posts: 1,191
iTrader: (4)

I finally got it to work. Somehow, the light is supposed to go off and then if I retry again, it would read and get the injector values.

Next question. Why is it that when I change the flow rate say to 2.18 , it shows me 2.16. Then when I put 2.19 it becomes 2.17. I have to put some offset to get the value to appear correct. What the heck is going on?
I played around with the values and when I rewrote the same values, that's when I noticed it applied the offset. I had to apply my own offset to offset that offset if that makes any sense.
__________________
2009 335i 6MT - M-Sport - All stock
nukezero is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2012, 06:29 PM   #318
Chrisred
Captain
 
Chrisred's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi coupe
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada

Posts: 738
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita
i get those errors to sometimes , just keep on clicking yes and it works normally for me.
I've kept on clicking "yes" 3 times. Nothing yet. Ill keep trying.
__________________
JB4 cp-e IC AMS exhaust BMS DCI AR DP's METH
19" VMR VB3 Stoptech BBK TC KLINE VORSHLAG
Chrisred is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2012, 07:56 PM   #319
blaknite7
NewB
 
Drives: 07 335I
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arizona

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukezero View Post
I finally got it to work. Somehow, the light is supposed to go off and then if I retry again, it would read and get the injector values.

Next question. Why is it that when I change the flow rate say to 2.18 , it shows me 2.16. Then when I put 2.19 it becomes 2.17. I have to put some offset to get the value to appear correct. What the heck is going on?
I played around with the values and when I rewrote the same values, that's when I noticed it applied the offset. I had to apply my own offset to offset that offset if that makes any sense.
I get this exact same thing. Its not on all of the injectors its only on some of them. the other weird thing is that there are some values i cant get.... For example my value is 2.36 and it will only let me get 2.35 or 2.37 nomatter what offset i enter... Has anyone seen this before?!?
__________________
335I - 2007 - JB4
X5 - 2009
1.8T - 2003 - APR Stage 3+
blaknite7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2012, 09:09 PM   #320
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
 
vasillalov's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,133
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukezero View Post
I finally got it to work. Somehow, the light is supposed to go off and then if I retry again, it would read and get the injector values.

Next question. Why is it that when I change the flow rate say to 2.18 , it shows me 2.16. Then when I put 2.19 it becomes 2.17. I have to put some offset to get the value to appear correct. What the heck is going on?
I played around with the values and when I rewrote the same values, that's when I noticed it applied the offset. I had to apply my own offset to offset that offset if that makes any sense.
NO! Do not mess with the values. The DME will automatically recalculate those values once you enter them. Sometimes it will round the numbers up, sometimes it will round them down. Don't try to fool the DME into accepting exactly what's written on the injector.
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine
vasillalov is offline   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2012, 09:10 PM   #321
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
 
vasillalov's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,133
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaknite7 View Post
I get this exact same thing. Its not on all of the injectors its only on some of them. the other weird thing is that there are some values i cant get.... For example my value is 2.36 and it will only let me get 2.35 or 2.37 nomatter what offset i enter... Has anyone seen this before?!?

Yes! This is perfectly normal. See my other post.
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine
vasillalov is offline   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 03:01 AM   #322
nukezero
Major
 
Drives: '09 335I Cpe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunny Socal

Posts: 1,191
iTrader: (4)

I forgot to mention, for those of you having problems with the software, it's not the software. It's the cable. Open it up and disconnect pin 8 from pin 7. They soldered pin 8 and 7 together to be backwards compatible with K-line cars. I think old E46 or E36. But it was still okay with 2007/2008 3 series because when they switched to DCAN signal, they weren't used.

However, starting in 2009 or so, they introduced the CIC which allows ethernet communication. They put this ethernet signal on pin 8. So when soldered it to pin 7, that threw off the microcontroller in the cable, is what I guess happened. So we keep getting this communication fault right when we tried to read injector.

So once you unsolder it, it will work just fine. This is for the ATMEL ATMega162, green board, white/silver cable, K+DCAN USB cable from china.
__________________
2009 335i 6MT - M-Sport - All stock
nukezero is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 08:54 AM   #323
rismo
Captain
 
Drives: BMW E92 335
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Europe

Posts: 840
iTrader: (0)

Not completly right:

If your both black dots are not black:

- Either your OBD config has not been done right
- Your cable is not right
- Your cable has indeed 7 & 8 connected

Errors within the application:

- Your daten files are not correct (incomplete etc, incorrect mix of directories (people try to confuse other by uploading incorrect daten files! Be aware of this)

- Your daten files are english and your inpa is german

This does not cover all issues, but more or less....
__________________
BMW 335 E92 08 - Full options - RIP
BMW 335 E92 09 - Full options - DKG - Procede Rev 3 - Vishnu Meth and Chargepipe - Forge Diverter Valves - Vishnu Flex Fuel Kit- AR Catless DP - Afe Intake - Helix IC - Ar Oil Cooler - PPK Water Cooler - M3 Suspension - JRZ RS1 Shocks - Eibach Pro Springs - Drexler LSD - BMW IS Exhaust - EBC Yellow Brake Pads - Stainless Steel Brake Lines - M101 Wheels - Michelin PSS - M-Tech Body - M-Strutbar
rismo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 11:54 AM   #324
nukezero
Major
 
Drives: '09 335I Cpe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunny Socal

Posts: 1,191
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rismo
Not completly right:

If your both black dots are not black:

- Either your OBD config has not been done right
- Your cable is not right
- Your cable has indeed 7 & 8 connected

Errors within the application:

- Your daten files are not correct (incomplete etc, incorrect mix of directories (people try to confuse other by uploading incorrect daten files! Be aware of this)

- Your daten files are english and your inpa is german

This does not cover all issues, but more or less....
I have both black dots black. Another thing is when you first run the program without connected to the car, but the cable is connected to the laptop, you will get a black dot for battery. If you didn't set the com port right, the black dot on the battery will be white. I've confirmed this, atleast for my china cable. If I disconnect cable from laptop or change com port, then run the software, the battery light turns white.

Secondly, once I connect to the car, the ignition goes black. But afterwards if I pull the cable off the obd, the battery and ignition both go white again.

For me, disconnecting pin 7/8 from each other worked. We have 2009 car with CIC navigation and computer. It uses Ethernet and so pin 8 was hooked up with Ethernet and it bombed out when I attempted to read injectors.
__________________
2009 335i 6MT - M-Sport - All stock
nukezero is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 12:47 PM   #325
pimple
Private
 
Drives: 335i N54
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: .

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukezero View Post
Does this work on 2009 335i which uses MSD81? Can anyone confirm they used it on a 2009 n54 yet??
Quote:
Originally Posted by vasillalov View Post
Yes it works.
Vasil, more info please. How do you know it works on a 2009 w/MSD81?

I have a 2007 with the PPK (MSD81). The version of INPA in your zip did not work for me (injector values all show zero). Nor have I been able to find a version that does. All searches seem to lead to a dead end.

----------------------

Edit: Never mind. I can confirm it works with the PPK, too. Apparently, the dealer neglected to program the injector calibration and it showed all zeros. I decided to take a risk and coded them anyway, and it worked! I shut down INPA, relaunched it, and my values were retrieved. Hopefully, my cold start stumble will now disappear. I also hope that 10 months of driving without coded injectors had not damaged them!

So, thanks, Vasil, for putting this info together and making the INPA installation and instructions pretty straightforward!

Last edited by pimple; 10-20-2012 at 04:31 PM.
pimple is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 04:19 PM   #326
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
 
vasillalov's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,133
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimple View Post
Vasil, more info please. How do you know it works on a 2009 w/MSD81?
Because I helped a local guy with a 2009 coupe and he had MSD81. I don't know how it works, but I just plugged my laptop in and it worked...:
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine
vasillalov is offline   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 06:39 AM   #327
Fed P
Private First Class
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Russia

Posts: 110
iTrader: (0)

vasillalov, hi. I came across this by first finding your youtube video. Thanks a lot for your hard work!

I just wanted to ask you a quick question: it's visible on your desktop that you also have Bavarian Technic. Is that correct? BT claims their cable is not a standard ODB - USB cable and that you can't use their software with standard cables. Does this also mean that their cable will not work with INPA? Have you ever tried? It would save me a few weeks if I could use my BT cable rather than order another online.
Fed P is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 07:39 AM   #328
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
 
vasillalov's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,133
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fed P View Post
vasillalov, hi. I came across this by first finding your youtube video. Thanks a lot for your hard work!

I just wanted to ask you a quick question: it's visible on your desktop that you also have Bavarian Technic. Is that correct? BT claims their cable is not a standard ODB - USB cable and that you can't use their software with standard cables. Does this also mean that their cable will not work with INPA? Have you ever tried? It would save me a few weeks if I could use my BT cable rather than order another online.
The BT cable DOES NOT work. Yes, I've tried it.
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine
vasillalov is offline   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 07:57 AM   #329
Fed P
Private First Class
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Russia

Posts: 110
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the quick answer. Just took a look at my injectors, all 1353 7565 138 index 06, and noted down all the other numbers. Pretty sure my injectors would fall under the recall if I were in the USA (matches the numbers that were recalled) but here I'm out of luck.

After switching all my plugs and coils, I've started having misfires, and when I was replacing my valve cover gasket, which required removing everything, at least two of the injectors were covered in some white crap :/ After searching for an injector replacement DIY I found your youtube video. Thanks again for all your help, I guess I will be ordering 6 new injectors and I'll need your DIY and software to reprogram the DME in accordance with the new injectors.

Any idea how to clean the bore the injector goes into? The final narrow part of the bore can supposedly be cleaned by moving an old injector up and down but I have that white stuff I mentioned all over the place higher up as well. I'm guessing I can't let any dirt etc fall in right?
Fed P is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 02:56 PM   #330
psmitty95
Brigadier General
 
psmitty95's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greenwich, CT/ Dallas, TX

Posts: 3,592
iTrader: (8)

Anyone close to me (15-30 min) that can code injectors? I had a new injector installed but couldn't get it coded in so i'm trying to find someone who can do it.
__________________
< Click picture for photoshoot
E90 335i xDrive 6spd, Nav, Prem, Cold Weather, & Sports package - Msport Conversion
Mods: FBO + Meth JB4 ISO, BB flash, VRSF DP/FMIC, ER CP, Stett, SteveAZ LPFP & more
More Pictures: Build Thread /// Shop I use: Aci Dynamix 408AWHP/ 483AWTQ Uncorrected Mustang Dyno
psmitty95 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST