E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Rear PDC sensor PROBLEM after Alpine upgrade



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-01-2012, 08:48 PM   #45
ordobane
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Dallas

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

So, it seems they "discovered" some coding available for my car related to the Alpine retrofit. I have an appointment Monday to see what they can do.

I think this is the first Alpine retrofit they have tried and whatever instructions the installer was looking at told him there wasn't any coding required.
ordobane is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2012, 07:12 AM   #46
itolson
New Member
 
Drives: 4 wheels
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bristol

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

cant you save the original file then write a amended one with the max volumes at extreme to see if that resolves the issue.

i'm about to install the alpine upgrade kit with a boot sub and would like to hear how you get on with these.

it does look promising though...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck View Post
Taibanl... I think you're on the right track... mostly!

I'm coded Hifi -- and I've noticed while poking around in my .trc for CIC, these little gems-
VOLUME_ADJ_1
e90_hifi
VOLUME_ADJ_2
e90_hifi
VOLUME_ADJ_3
e90_hifi
VOLUME_ADJ_4
e90_hifi
VOLUME_MAXIMUM_TEL
e87_hifi
VOLUME_MINIMUM_NAVI
e90_hifi
VOLUME_MINIMUM_TM
e90_hifi
VOLUME_MINIMUM_TEL
e90_hifi
VOLUME_KLANG_1
e90_hifi
KLANG_OFFSET
standard
VOLUME_PDC
e90_hifi
VOLUME_DELTA_PDC_ENTER
e87_hifi

My theory (aided by the scotch in my hand...) is that one or more of these values controls the volume table for the gong (KLANG ?), PDC (PDC - I got that one!), Nav (NAV ?) and Bluetooth (TEL ?). By recoding one or more of these values back to e90_stereo, I might be able to get the increased volume I'm looking for.

Comments on my theory?
itolson is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2012, 08:24 AM   #47
Catalyst Group
Private
 
Drives: 2011
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Croatia

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

I have postponed my dealer/service visit. They have also opened PUMA case... but still no answer from the BMW.

Exwoodchuck, if u resolve our situation, let us know as soon as possible!
Catalyst Group is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2012, 04:03 PM   #48
scottyb335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2010 Space Gray 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida

Posts: 157
iTrader: (4)

Everybody with vol probs. you have to swap the wires coming from the tweeter and driver. In other words plug the driver into the tweeter and plug the tweeter into the driver plug on the crossover and all your nightmares will go away. The kit is mis-labeled from the manufacturer. I too chased this ghost for two yrs. and finally found a post on the forums where somebody did this and it worked. I believe it was on 1addicts.
scottyb335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2012, 04:59 PM   #49
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyb335 View Post
Everybody with vol probs. you have to swap the wires coming from the tweeter and driver. In other words plug the driver into the tweeter and plug the tweeter into the driver plug on the crossover and all your nightmares will go away. The kit is mis-labeled from the manufacturer. I too chased this ghost for two yrs. and finally found a post on the forums where somebody did this and it worked. I believe it was on 1addicts.
I remember reading that some time ago too... but I thought that was only on the cut'n'shunt kit (part# 65410445684), and NOT the PnP kit we've been talking about (part# 65412163268).

Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2012, 05:52 PM   #50
CenCal 335is
Private First Class
 
CenCal 335is's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central Cali (and Sometimes Brazil)

Posts: 121
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335is  [0.00]
Hi,

I've read that it's also with the 268. The labels on the crossover are wrong. The instruction show the correct hookups.
CenCal 335is is offline   Brazil
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2012, 07:04 PM   #51
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,128
iTrader: (7)

I recall trying adding SZMFA to the VO once, but the code was invalid for my car. Chuck, now that you've added S676A, can you also try adding SZMFA?

I also see S673A "HIFI System USA," whatever that means.
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2012, 03:00 AM   #52
scottyb335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2010 Space Gray 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida

Posts: 157
iTrader: (4)

Mine is the PNP and it solved the problem!!!!
scottyb335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2012, 11:08 AM   #53
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyb335 View Post
Mine is the PNP and it solved the problem!!!!
Interesting! Are you coded or uncoded?

If you're coded, AND that fixed the problem, I might just give it a go. If it doesn't fix it though... I'm driving to FL and finding you!!! I keed, I keeed!!!!
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2012, 11:09 AM   #54
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imperator View Post
I recall trying adding SZMFA to the VO once, but the code was invalid for my car. Chuck, now that you've added S676A, can you also try adding SZMFA?

I also see S673A "HIFI System USA," whatever that means.
If I remember, SZMFA isn't a valid code on 03/09 and beyond. My car is coded 676.
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2012, 11:13 AM   #55
scottyb335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2010 Space Gray 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida

Posts: 157
iTrader: (4)

Exwoodchuck - I'm Coded, I Remember When I Swapped The Wires, I Peeled Back The Foam Cover On The Crossover And Actually Saw That THE Colors Didnt Match Up Because They Were Mis-labled. Hope This Helps.
scottyb335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2012, 12:50 PM   #56
gtomlja
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Croatia

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Guys, maybe that could fix problem with gong, but there will be no effect on PDC volume whatever you do on front part of hifi, as PDC sound is coming only from rear speakers directly from HU.

You could try to check crossovers, because I have no problems with gong sound, it is loud enough.
gtomlja is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2012, 10:18 AM   #57
Catalyst Group
Private
 
Drives: 2011
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Croatia

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

Hmm, anyone tried this with PDC volume problems?
Catalyst Group is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 07:17 AM   #58
gtomlja
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Croatia

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck View Post
And... we have a response from BMW.

Per BMW, post-03/09 build E90's DO NOT NEED TO BE CODED.

So they want to 'uncode' my Alpine upgrade, removing the 676 from my VO. This will restore the volume of my BT/gongs/nav to their original value. It will also restore the EQ of the head unit. So it will then sound like crap again, but this time with supidly loud gongs (even when turned down all the way) Fannnnn-tastic.

I'm not bringing it back in to get this done. I'd rather find out a way to work out some combo of settings with NCS Expert on my own, or live with it the way it is.

Thanks BMW-- thank you for leaving me (and others) hanging on this one. I'll remember this when it's time to buy a new car.
Same for me. They coded my HU back to Stereo, now PDC is ok (gong also, not too loud) but EQ is back.

If I had no PDC problem it would be coded for HIFI and all fine but since I have it, I am more "happy" with STEREO.
gtomlja is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 09:03 AM   #59
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Syracuse

Posts: 3,292
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Has no one adjusted the value with NSC expert yet?
__________________
eBay - My BMW station for iPhone 4/4s (needs very minor fixes) Reserve $29, starting bid 99c.
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 09:11 AM   #60
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Syracuse

Posts: 3,292
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Sorry about the misspellings. iPad. I'll try and fix from home later.
__________________
eBay - My BMW station for iPhone 4/4s (needs very minor fixes) Reserve $29, starting bid 99c.
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 10:22 AM   #61
Catalyst Group
Private
 
Drives: 2011
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Croatia

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Has no one adjusted the value with NSC expert yet?
Waiting on that as well!

Still didn't get one thing - is wire swapping efficient for low PDC volume or not?
Catalyst Group is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 11:29 AM   #62
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Syracuse

Posts: 3,292
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catalyst Group View Post
Waiting on that as well!

Still didn't get one thing - is wire swapping efficient for low PDC volume or not?
There is NO REASON that swapping wires on the front stage would affect the PDC, short of PFM
__________________
eBay - My BMW station for iPhone 4/4s (needs very minor fixes) Reserve $29, starting bid 99c.
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2012, 04:00 PM   #63
voucher76
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: e91
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: copenhagen

Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtomlja View Post
Same for me. They coded my HU back to Stereo, now PDC is ok (gong also, not too loud) but EQ is back.

If I had no PDC problem it would be coded for HIFI and all fine but since I have it, I am more "happy" with STEREO.
Does the Alpine retrofit, with stereo "coding"(or no coding at all), still sound better than the stock option with only 6 speakers?
Or will the lack of HIFI coding make the retrofit redundant or even worse than stock?

(I know sound is very subjective)

Thanks to all you guys who are trying to resolve this and taking the time to share the info
voucher76 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2012, 04:15 PM   #64
gtomlja
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Croatia

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

I have used settings what "montr" recommended; amp switch on position 2, bass -2 and treble -5. It is upgrade from basic for sure.
If I had no PDc would be even better cause HIFI coding would work in that case.
gtomlja is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2012, 05:51 PM   #65
ordobane
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Dallas

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

I got my car back today and it looks like they fixed mine. I haven't spent that much time in the car, but he sound is normal (+1 treb, +2 base). The harsh, overly bright tone is gone. Everything sounds good. Loud and clear with no distortion when turned up a bit. The gongs are still a bit on the loud side with the volume set for as low as they can go. BT volume is fine. I haven't tried navigation yet. I don't have PDC. Overall this is a massive improvement over the base system.

I am trying to pinpoint what they did (waiting for the SA to respond).

My paperwork says "Software retrofit for Alpine HiFi" and "Install VO... Imported VO using ISSS". That doesn't look too informative.

I did notice that my phone interface looks different so they did update some software.
ordobane is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2012, 07:52 AM   #66
Catalyst Group
Private
 
Drives: 2011
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Croatia

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

Let us know when you get some further info!
Catalyst Group is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST