E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY: Procede USB Cable Through Firewall into Glove box



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-04-2007, 03:40 AM   #1
lkraven
Lieutenant
6
Rep
429
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (1)

DIY: Procede USB Cable Through Firewall into Glove box

DIY Procede USB-Serial Cable Through Firewall

This is a DIY that builds on previous DIYs-- I take no credit for this except that I have taken some pictures for something others have already done. There's a DIY for routing a USB-Serial cable adapter around the A pillar. I don't like this for a couple of reasons-- 1, it exposes the wire to pinching, the elements and can look a little unpleasant. Second, it suggests the cutting of a rubber grommet in an area that would be exposed to water-- all the water running off the glass runs right down by this grommet-- if water gets inside the ECU box, to my knowledge, there is no drain, and exciting things could occur. More than likely, this will never happen, but I don't like taking chances.

I will gloss over how to get INTO the ECU box. If you have installed your own Procede, you already know how to do that. If you didn't, then the excellent video on Vishnu Tuning's website will get you up to speed.

This was done an E92. It should be the same for an E90, but I make no guarantees.

In addition to the tools you used to get into the ECU box, you will need a T8 Torx screwdriver or bit.

Step 1 - The ECU Box

The plastic ECU box that holds the ECU (and the Procede) has an opening in its rear that goes directly into the space behind the glove box. The only tricky part is getting to it-- but it's not all that tricky.

Once you have the ECU Box open, remove both of the ECU connectors so that the ECU is no longer connected to any cabling.

Then, gently press the tabs holding the ECU in place and slide the ECU right out. Put it somewhere safe and don't do something silly like starting your car. Once you have done that, the opening through the firewall is easily exposed.

The ECU box itself has a box inside it with a series of dividers that are held in place with tabs like the ECU. You will probably NOT need to remove the dividers and the inner box, but if you do, you will have a little more room to work.

Step 2 - Running the Cable

Once you have access to the opening, stick the cable through the hole and push it gently into place. Feed as much as you can. You should encounter very little resistance. Once you have fed a couple of inches, go into the passenger side seat.

Step 3 - Removing the Panel Underneath the Glovebox

There are two screws holding the panel underneath the glove box in place. These are T8 Torx screws. Remove them and gently remove the panel, it should come away with very little force. If you have run the cable correctly, you will see the USB cable poking out from above. Grab hold of it.

Step 4 - Into the Glove box

Remove the fusebox by turning the two black knobs in the back 90 degrees. Now, run the cable from underneath up into the glove box, then replace the fusebox cover.

Step 5 - Put Everything Back Together

That's it! You now have a cable directly plugged into the Procede for live data logging, or updating from the comfort of your glove box.

Note to Shiv: Please give us a map toggle switch! It would be easy to run it the same way and maybe even mount it in the glove box.

Enjoy!
Attached Images
     
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2007, 04:04 AM   #2
D-Rock
Lieutenant Colonel
106
Rep
1,854
Posts

Drives: 325i
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: miami

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to D-Rock
Great stuff man !!!!!
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2007, 07:49 AM   #3
BoostedBMW
Moderator
BoostedBMW's Avatar
United_States
90
Rep
6,779
Posts

Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Very nice write-up. Thanks for taking the time to post this. Would you like to do a write up of getting wires/vac lines through the hole in the firewall on the other side of the engine bay now? J/K, but i'm getting my boost gauge in the mail today so I have this on my mind and I haven't taken a look at where to run the vac line through, if I figure it out i'll post up a DIY I guess.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2007, 09:05 PM   #4
Shinchan
LED Rules
Shinchan's Avatar
32
Rep
789
Posts

Drives: Sold: 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know how long the USB cable need to be?

I am going o purchase one soon, but need to know the length of the cable.

THanks
__________________
LED Pimp...
13 Audi S4...
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2007, 09:14 PM   #5
lkraven
Lieutenant
6
Rep
429
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (1)

Don't remember how long it was... my guess is 6ft would work, but for reference, this is the EXACT unit I purchased:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812149115

Good luck.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2007, 07:52 AM   #6
Shinchan
LED Rules
Shinchan's Avatar
32
Rep
789
Posts

Drives: Sold: 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

thanks.. I luv Newegg. But I am going to Microcenter and take a look first.. since I want it tonight to finish this thing.. and also add a boost gauge.
__________________
LED Pimp...
13 Audi S4...
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2007, 06:48 PM   #7
6Zylinder
appreciate your car
6Zylinder's Avatar
3
Rep
351
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i built 07/06
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: back in Europe

iTrader: (0)

Very nice write up! Haven't done it yet, but will do it after V2 arrives.
__________________
My 335i



The Ultimate Driving Machine...
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2007, 06:51 PM   #8
Shinchan
LED Rules
Shinchan's Avatar
32
Rep
789
Posts

Drives: Sold: 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)



Got the USB cable installed.... alone with my AA switch..

Thanks for the solution...
__________________
LED Pimp...
13 Audi S4...
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2007, 11:35 PM   #9
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
326
Rep
18,340
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (6)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
well a member here is selling a bluetooth feature that is for the Procede V2...For $350...I guess if you want to be always connected to the Procede there is a more expensive solution!!!!!
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2007, 10:42 AM   #10
scottp999
Brigadier General
scottp999's Avatar
78
Rep
4,755
Posts

Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinchan View Post


Got the USB cable installed.... alone with my AA switch..

Thanks for the solution...
The hole you put the wire through is big enough for the connector to fit through? No wire splicing involved?

Thanks!
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, RB PCV Valve, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2007, 11:25 AM   #11
Shinchan
LED Rules
Shinchan's Avatar
32
Rep
789
Posts

Drives: Sold: 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

the hole is big enough.. to fit though the USB jack... and have enough room to fit the switch cables into the ECU box.
__________________
LED Pimp...
13 Audi S4...
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2007, 04:13 PM   #12
Panoz
Lieutenant Colonel
Panoz's Avatar
28
Rep
1,575
Posts

Drives: E92 Space Grey 335i ,Aero Kit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

This is what I was looking for!!!
__________________

Procede V4 , Catless DPs, Forge FMIC, Injen Intake, VK Oilcooler, Hartge Quads Exhaust, Modded CDV, Synapse BOV Kit, BMW Performance 335i SSK Kit, P3 vent boost gauge

Space Grey 335i -> See more pics HERE
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2007, 04:37 PM   #13
335iheLLraiseR
اوليسيس
335iheLLraiseR's Avatar
United_States
93
Rep
4,666
Posts

Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: sfl

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 e92 335  [5.00]
i told you so.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Anyone who can transition seamlessly from defending one vendor and bashing another vendor to bashing the one he formally defended and defending the one he formally bashed has a instant credibility problem.
<---Sign up Now for Bonus Storage! Up to 10gb!
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2007, 05:45 PM   #14
Tuned335i
Major
14
Rep
1,310
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: World of Torque

iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Is there a fan in the hole between the ECU box and the interior?

It was just posted by Eugen that there is a ECU cooling fan in the hole where the USB cable is going through. The cable is going to stop the fan from turning.

Are you guys sure there is no fan inside that hole?
__________________
Torque - The One You Love...
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2007, 03:09 AM   #15
Tuned335i
Major
14
Rep
1,310
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: World of Torque

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuned335i View Post
It was just posted by Eugen that there is a ECU cooling fan in the hole where the USB cable is going through. The cable is going to stop the fan from turning.

Are you guys sure there is no fan inside that hole?
UPDATE:

There are two holes. One at the bottom with no fan and one above that which is behind the curved plastic. The USB cable is simple to push through. Once you get the ECU out of the way (be SUPER careful with your taped splices to the ECU if you have a piggyback ECU tune) just push the USB end of the cable through as far as you can, then go look underneath where the carpet ends. The tip will be right there...
__________________
Torque - The One You Love...
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2007, 01:36 PM   #16
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
326
Rep
18,340
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (6)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
bump
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2007, 11:41 PM   #17
yahtzee
El Capitan
yahtzee's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
663
Posts

Drives: fast
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (1)

anyone know if it is the same for a 2008 535i?
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2007, 05:52 PM   #18
jahwerx
Certified Purveyor of the High Life
jahwerx's Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
260
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to jahwerx
this was great - used it to route a boost gauge!
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2008, 03:46 AM   #19
uuni
Second Lieutenant
Finland
8
Rep
249
Posts

Drives: 335i Cabrio
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland

iTrader: (0)

Anybody tried this with E93?
__________________
AW, Coral red, Piano Black,Aero lip, M-sport (except front), M6 reps, M3 lip, interior "xenon" kit, Aluminium Pedals,H&R swaybars, KW V2, Quiafe LSD, OEM Strut Brace, BMS DCI, DIY Air Scoops i-tech BT handsfree,Braille battery (-20kg), Supersprint/Borla exhaust
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2008, 08:36 PM   #20
cwn23
Major
16
Rep
1,159
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by uuni View Post
Anybody tried this with E93?
Its the same thing as the E92, no difference whatsover!! To answer your question I have, and it works perfect!!! No worries
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2008, 09:44 AM   #21
uuni
Second Lieutenant
Finland
8
Rep
249
Posts

Drives: 335i Cabrio
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwn23 View Post
Its the same thing as the E92, no difference whatsover!! To answer your question I have, and it works perfect!!! No worries
Ok thank you for your reply, ill do it also.
__________________
AW, Coral red, Piano Black,Aero lip, M-sport (except front), M6 reps, M3 lip, interior "xenon" kit, Aluminium Pedals,H&R swaybars, KW V2, Quiafe LSD, OEM Strut Brace, BMS DCI, DIY Air Scoops i-tech BT handsfree,Braille battery (-20kg), Supersprint/Borla exhaust
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2008, 04:33 AM   #22
loonyzou
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 320D
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Hello,

I would like to be sure of the use of this DIY, after putting the USB cable, will I be able to plug an USB Key with MP3 and listen to them? Because I don't have USB plug stock, it would be great for me. Do I need to make it work by BMW (with an update of the CIP?)?
Will I be able able to explore the folders of the usb key?
I don't see where the USB must be plug in the ECU, can someone tell me?

Thanx
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:28 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST