E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > OBD2 K+DCAN



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-25-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
ca2del
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 330D, 1978 1275GT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

OBD2 K+DCAN

Car: 2007 E90, 330D
Problem: DPF warning

I think I've fixed the cause of the DPF failing to regenerate (faulty EGR thermostat causing the engine to run too cool), but now I'm struggling to get the car to regenerate itself.

I got a garage to clear the fault codes (2 for DPF, 1 for exhaust backpressure), but this cost 36. They said they could force a regeneration, but it would cost 250, plus a load of fuel.

Ideally, I'd like to get hold of a cable so I can force a regeneration myself, and it would be a bonus to be able to read the fault codes without a 36 charge each time.

Amazon do a K+DCAN cable, but does anyone in the Cambridge / South area have a cable I could borrow / rent ?

The Amazon unit won't ship for another week or so, and that's a long time to run the car - I imagine the DPF will just keep filling up?

Otherwise, can I buy this cable over the counter somewhere ? or could i modify a more readily available cable to work with this port?


Any help appreciated,
Dean
ca2del is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2012, 05:19 PM   #2
Danny.B.
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Danny.B.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England - Lincolnshire

Posts: 1,565
iTrader: (1)

Take a quick look at my lastest thread mate. Ive just bumped it to the top with an update.
__________________
Danny.B. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2012, 05:28 PM   #3
ca2del
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 330D, 1978 1275GT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

I just noticed - I'd been hoping for an update like that! Thanks

So hopefully, if I was to buy some cleaner *and* clear the code, it might work.

Now... where can I buy a device / cable to clear the code?
ca2del is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2012, 06:11 PM   #4
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,981
iTrader: (7)

If you was near west mids and you could install, get the software to work on my laptop you could have borrowed the cable to do what you require
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 03:28 AM   #5
Danny.B.
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Danny.B.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England - Lincolnshire

Posts: 1,565
iTrader: (1)

How close to peterborough are you? Thats my nearest cambridgeshire location, could meet there and i could clear the code for you
__________________
Danny.B. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 04:41 AM   #6
ca2del
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 330D, 1978 1275GT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

I'm about 40mi from Peterborough, so close enough. It'd give the engine time to heat through too...

I'm going to order a cable from ebay, but it'll take a few weeks to get here

I'll need to get hold of a can of dpf-cleaner before the attempt, I think, but it would be awesome if you could clear the code for me!

Dean
ca2del is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 04:57 AM   #7
Danny.B.
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Danny.B.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England - Lincolnshire

Posts: 1,565
iTrader: (1)

I did about 40miles with the additive before resetting the code, then did a fair few miles down the a1m aswell seemed to do the trick!

Ill be free this saturday for a short while if your free. I purchased the dpf cleaner off ebay. Took 2days to get here.

This has worked for me (so far! Monday will be a good test) so hopefully it will work for you.
__________________
Danny.B. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 05:12 AM   #8
ca2del
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 330D, 1978 1275GT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

In that case, I'll buy the additive today.

Saturday sounds good - I'll make free. PM me with a time / place, and I'll give you my number incase there's any problems.

Thanks again,
ca2del is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 08:23 AM   #9
TMP
Colonel
 
TMP's Avatar
 
Drives: M135i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cheshire

Posts: 2,873
iTrader: (0)

Out of interest, does that cale also come with the software ?
__________________
M-Lite v2 & Family 5er v2
TMP is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 09:57 AM   #10
ca2del
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 330D, 1978 1275GT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Yes.

It's on ebay, and the seller even suggests he sends the software first to check compatibility.
ca2del is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 11:46 AM   #11
buckethead
Lieutenant Colonel
 
buckethead's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 320d msport
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: jungle

Posts: 1,843
iTrader: (0)

one of the 1st things to try is to go for a clear motorway drive

to make the 3.0d work hard enough its got be over 80+mph for 40 miles plus

the idrive will ping, if the dpf clears
buckethead is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 11:47 AM   #12
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,981
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ca2del View Post
Yes.

It's on ebay, and the seller even suggests he sends the software first to check compatibility.
Thats the very same seller I have bought my cable from and having issues installing the software
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 01:09 PM   #13
Danny.B.
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Danny.B.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England - Lincolnshire

Posts: 1,565
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckethead View Post
one of the 1st things to try is to go for a clear motorway drive

to make the 3.0d work hard enough its got be over 80+mph for 40 miles plus

the idrive will ping, if the dpf clears


Dean try this first, i had originally done a 70mph cruise for near on 100miles. I only went to 80 in 6th once i had the dpf cleaner in the system, so its hard to say which of the two did indeed work.
__________________
Danny.B. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 04:29 PM   #14
TMP
Colonel
 
TMP's Avatar
 
Drives: M135i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cheshire

Posts: 2,873
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistryn View Post
Thats the very same seller I have bought my cable from and having issues installing the software
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca2del View Post
Yes.

It's on ebay, and the seller even suggests he sends the software first to check compatibility.
Cool, and daft question No.2 - apart from clearing fault codes, what else can this do - look at live stats, or just set coding up?
__________________
M-Lite v2 & Family 5er v2
TMP is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 05:07 PM   #15
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMP View Post
Cool, and daft question No.2 - apart from clearing fault codes, what else can this do - look at live stats, or just set coding up?
It can read and delete the code.
It can also read live data.
If it is only inpa, it cannot set codings on your car. However you can search some softwares online, and use the same cable to do coding. However you should know what you are doing with coding, and its geek thing, not very user friendly.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2012, 05:21 PM   #16
ca2del
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 330D, 1978 1275GT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny.B. View Post
Dean try this first, i had originally done a 70mph cruise for near on 100miles. I only went to 80 in 6th once i had the dpf cleaner in the system, so its hard to say which of the two did indeed work.
I'm tempted to wait for the DPF cleaner to arrive before going for another run, especially if it's 40+ miles at 80+ mph... I really don't know how many of these runs I'll be able to do before the DPF is completely full.


Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
It can read and delete the code.
It can also read live data.
If it is only inpa, it cannot set codings on your car. However you can search some softwares online, and use the same cable to do coding. However you should know what you are doing with coding, and its geek thing, not very user friendly.

Which cable / software combination do I need to be able to force a regeneration?

Is that BMW DIS? Would the cable I posted above work for this software?


Thanks for the comments,
Dean
ca2del is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2012, 02:04 AM   #17
AlwynMike
Captain
 
Drives: E91 335d.
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shropshire, UK

Posts: 933
iTrader: (1)

The software can be a real camel to get set up, and it's a long-winded process. A decent eBay seller should provide a good walk-through.

I did a clean XP install on a new hard drive for my laptop, so the risk of any conflicts was at a minimum.

INPA is easy to use, if clunky and basic looking.

DIS is the one, but running Virtual Machine (VM) makes my laptop perform like it came out of the Ark, and not at all user friendly. DIS itself is very comprehensive. I've not tried any coding - and don't intend to, but it was good at faultfinding on my 530d. INPA read codes and frightened me because there was so many, but after reading them, they were all relatively minor (glowplugs weak etc).

Mike
AlwynMike is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2012, 03:21 AM   #18
ca2del
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 330D, 1978 1275GT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlwynMike View Post
DIS is the one, but running Virtual Machine (VM) makes my laptop perform like it came out of the Ark, and not at all user friendly. DIS itself is very comprehensive.
Is DIS free?

I'm installing a VM now, so I'll try running the INPA software I got from the seller.

Cheers Mike,
Dean
ca2del is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2012, 11:59 AM   #19
ca2del
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 330D, 1978 1275GT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistryn
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca2del View Post
Yes.

It's on ebay, and the seller even suggests he sends the software first to check compatibility.
Thats the very same seller I have bought my cable from and having issues installing the software
Mistryn, did you manage to install the software yet?

His guide skips a couple of important steps - if I wasn't a systems administrator, I doubt it would be fun to install :-/
ca2del is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2012, 12:06 PM   #20
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,981
iTrader: (7)

I am trying attempt (enter rude word) however number of time (lost count). I have tried to install but when it gets up to where you have to change value in notepad I am lost. I have tried to carry on and plug it into my car and not much happens.

So I emailed the seller and he sent me out a 3 DVD software which takes about 35GB hard drive sapce. I have tried to install that but again I got halfway thorugh the instructions (55 page pdf file) and says to try it in the car which I did but nothing happens - I am at this stage of giving up and trying another day.

I may buy a cheapo laptop to run this from because at the moment I am installing this on my main laptop and need the disk space and cant afford for it to mess up

If anyone has installed this and fancy installing it on my laptop for some beer tokens please contact me
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2012, 01:17 PM   #21
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,787
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistryn View Post
I am trying attempt (enter rude word) however number of time (lost count). I have tried to install but when it gets up to where you have to change value in notepad I am lost. I have tried to carry on and plug it into my car and not much happens.

So I emailed the seller and he sent me out a 3 DVD software which takes about 35GB hard drive sapce. I have tried to install that but again I got halfway thorugh the instructions (55 page pdf file) and says to try it in the car which I did but nothing happens - I am at this stage of giving up and trying another day.

I may buy a cheapo laptop to run this from because at the moment I am installing this on my main laptop and need the disk space and cant afford for it to mess up

If anyone has installed this and fancy installing it on my laptop for some beer tokens please contact me

I have installed inpa and DIS on i7 and DIS (due to virtual machine) messed up my laptop.
It made booting very slow. And one day, it lost the win 8.
So back to win 7 on i7.

Just bought old laptop with XP and installing all those on that.
It is a lot better to play with old laptop (though very slow).
I think you start with inpa first and once you get that working move on to next one.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2012, 01:23 PM   #22
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,981
iTrader: (7)

I am having trouble installing inpa, I will definatly get anothet laptop.what does it mean by virtual machine?
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
code, dpf, k+dcan, obd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST