E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Just updated my DME



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-03-2012, 09:51 AM   #1
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Exclamation Just updated my DME

Updated KOMBI as well. New "DSC off" warning looks stupid.


Last edited by NiVeDh; 03-03-2012 at 09:56 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
Exwoodchuck
Private
United_States
2
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

iTrader: (0)

There's snakes following your car!!! RUN!!!
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2012, 01:59 PM   #3
GB///M5
Captain
GB///M5's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
660
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i, F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M5  [5.00]
2013 M3 (Gone, neve ...  [5.00]
2008 335i  [5.00]
It's not bad lol. Is there a DIY on how to update the DME? I think it's done through winkfp right?
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2012, 02:13 PM   #4
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donnie-Bay View Post
It's not bad lol. Is there a DIY on how to update the DME? I think it's done through winkfp right?
Yes, WinKFP. Be VERY careful. I have programmed many modules in the past but this is the first time I had the courage to update the DME. Don't forget to use a battery tender.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2012, 02:16 PM   #5
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
54
Rep
2,394
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (14)

How long it took you? You used regular coding cable?
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2012, 02:28 PM   #6
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
How long it took you? You used regular coding cable?
About 45 mins to 1 hour for just DME. 10 mins for KOMBI. I used a regular coding cable. Although, in retrospect, I should've used optical.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2012, 02:34 PM   #7
GB///M5
Captain
GB///M5's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
660
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i, F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M5  [5.00]
2013 M3 (Gone, neve ...  [5.00]
2008 335i  [5.00]
Damn I wanna do this now but I'm just not sure how to use winkfp. Is it a pretty straightforward procedure or do you need instructions on setting it up in a special way like ncs. I can do ncs coding no problem but I wanna get my hands on this now and join the big leagues
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2012, 02:36 PM   #8
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donnie-Bay View Post
Damn I wanna do this now but I'm just not sure how to use winkfp. Is it a pretty straightforward procedure or do you need instructions on setting it up in a special way like ncs. I can do ncs coding no problem but I wanna get my hands on this now and join the big leagues
It's pretty straightforward but you do have to set it up a certain way. The chances of bricking modules are much higher than regular coding. Do not attempt DME update just yet. Try doing just a KOMBI update or something else.

First things first, do some reading. I highly discourage "experimentation" in this regard.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2012, 02:42 PM   #9
GB///M5
Captain
GB///M5's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
660
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i, F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M5  [5.00]
2013 M3 (Gone, neve ...  [5.00]
2008 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donnie-Bay View Post
Damn I wanna do this now but I'm just not sure how to use winkfp. Is it a pretty straightforward procedure or do you need instructions on setting it up in a special way like ncs. I can do ncs coding no problem but I wanna get my hands on this now and join the big leagues
It's pretty straightforward but you do have to set it up a certain way. The chances of bricking modules are much higher than regular coding. Do not attempt DME update just yet. Try doing just a KOMBI update or something else.

First things first, do some reading. I highly discourage "experimentation" in this regard.
Ok I'll try updating just the module first before I mess with the DME. But first things first..gotta catch up on some winkfp knowledge.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2012, 03:39 PM   #10
BMW-335i-07
Coding
1
Rep
114
Posts

 
Drives: 335i 2007 BMW
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

Can someone make DIY?
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2012, 12:47 PM   #11
Imperator
Major
Imperator's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,128
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

iTrader: (7)

Is it possible to update CIC in the same manner and if so, approximately how long might it take over OBD?
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2012, 02:00 PM   #12
wobbles1
Second Lieutenant
wobbles1's Avatar
3
Rep
249
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 AW 1M #541
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (2)

"

Last edited by wobbles1; 03-04-2012 at 02:18 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2012, 06:41 PM   #13
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck View Post
There's snakes following your car!!! RUN!!!
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2012, 10:58 AM   #14
Tuesday
Frequent Flyer
Tuesday's Avatar
9
Rep
414
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: .

iTrader: (7)

What version of daten are you using?
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2012, 04:43 PM   #15
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by itschase View Post
What version of daten are you using?
V45
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2012, 01:28 AM   #16
BMW-335i-07
Coding
1
Rep
114
Posts

 
Drives: 335i 2007 BMW
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

Can you help us with DIY???
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2012, 02:29 AM   #17
Tuesday
Frequent Flyer
Tuesday's Avatar
9
Rep
414
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: .

iTrader: (7)

To use WinKFP you'll have to first decide what ecu you want to update, then you'll have to locate the ZUSB number in INPA. You'll have to make sure you have daten files newer than the software in your car. Then you'll have to learn how to import the proper data folder into the line assembly data in WinKFP. Once you have all of that taken care of you'll have to decide if you want to update over OBD or with an optical connection using an OPS or equivalent. Then you need to make sure your vehicle is connected to a proper power supply or else the update will fail if the voltage drops out of range. Even after doing all of that you still run a chance that the update will fail, potentially rendering your ECU useless.

WinKFP isn't a toy and unless you have a real good understanding of the program and have read extensively about it's proper use, I suggest staying away. However, I know for a fact there are a lot of really intelligent people on this board so don't let my comments sway you. If you're determined, a few solid hours of reading will get you up to speed. Luckily these days there is a lot of info about thus program, and a few DIY's are floating around the web. All I can say is take your time, trust me. I nearly bricked a few expensive modules (like a CCC) when I was learning.
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2012, 07:18 AM   #18
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by itschase View Post
To use WinKFP you'll have to first decide what ecu you want to update, then you'll have to locate the ZUSB number in INPA. You'll have to make sure you have daten files newer than the software in your car. Then you'll have to learn how to import the proper data folder into the line assembly data in WinKFP. Once you have all of that taken care of you'll have to decide if you want to update over OBD or with an optical connection using an OPS or equivalent. Then you need to make sure your vehicle is connected to a proper power supply or else the update will fail if the voltage drops out of range. Even after doing all of that you still run a chance that the update will fail, potentially rendering your ECU useless.

WinKFP isn't a toy and unless you have a real good understanding of the program and have read extensively about it's proper use, I suggest staying away. However, I know for a fact there are a lot of really intelligent people on this board so don't let my comments sway you. If you're determined, a few solid hours of reading will get you up to speed. Luckily these days there is a lot of info about thus program, and a few DIY's are floating around the web. All I can say is take your time, trust me. I nearly bricked a few expensive modules (like a CCC) when I was learning.
I couldn't have said it better myself.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2012, 05:17 PM   #19
zeeman335
Lieutenant
zeeman335's Avatar
13
Rep
507
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (2)

Damn. Is there anyway i can go back to what I originally had?

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=659416
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2012, 07:37 PM   #20
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeeman335 View Post
Damn. Is there anyway i can go back to what I originally had?

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=659416
Are you using V45 daten?
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2012, 02:40 AM   #21
zeeman335
Lieutenant
zeeman335's Avatar
13
Rep
507
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (2)

I'm not sure...I'm new to all this :-/
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2012, 04:30 PM   #22
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Hey Nivedh

Did you notice any improvements when you updated your DME? I see an update available for my DME but am not sure it is necessary to update it.

Also that new Kombi logo update doesn't seem to be available for my 07 328 :-( (winkph is showing the same zb number compared to my UIF zb number)
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST