E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > INPA Logging



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-16-2015, 01:06 AM   #1
iaknown
Lieutenant
iaknown's Avatar
80
Rep
548
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

INPA Logging

Starting a new thread on this guys. So the thread Mik325tds referenced for INPA was:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=564570

You can try the above link or this one too:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=561237

There is a lot of info in this link but just focus on the INPA section.

I actually got stuck getting INPA working for our cars because it turns out the only Daten that contains the correct files for our cars (really D73N57C0 instead of D62M57) is in German. So if anyone gets stuck I have a guy that can get you set up with the correct files. I throw him a few bucks when I get in trouble

As Mik325tds said EDIABAS is BMWs propriatary protocol and INPA works through this so the data you get is the real deal. Tdi, there is so much data this will be your head:

As was also mentioned "the awesome Finish guy" has developed some incredible software to take advantage of all of this data and log it through his program: http://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/sh...ime-graph-view

And it even gets better....I have been working with him to get more parameters in his software for our cars and he has done an incredible job at it. It is not in his latest release but I think it will be in the next one. I can probably pass the files on here or get him to update his release. But there is now pretty much any boost/turbo related parameter added and working, as well as many others. It has been a lifesaver diagnosing my car, even helped my tuner out a little too It's a little work to get all of this going but well worth it for real data and diagnosis (just the price of a D-can cable). If you use it and like it throw him a few bucks so he can continue updating it!

Last edited by iaknown; 01-17-2015 at 12:38 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2015, 08:23 AM   #2
9mmkungfu
Second Lieutenant
9
Rep
215
Posts

Drives: BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

iaknown, the first and last links are not working. Looks like some of the full URL was truncated in the middle.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2015, 10:02 AM   #3
TDIwyse
Major
122
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

Cool! Thanks for working this.

Cable ordered...
__________________
2011 335d 11.8 sec 120 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2015, 11:02 AM   #4
CO335D
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: '11 335D
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9mmkungfu View Post
iaknown, the first and last links are not working. Looks like some of the full URL was truncated in the middle.
Where it's truncated in the url with "...", just type in "showthread" and the links should work
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2015, 11:08 AM   #5
CO335D
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: '11 335D
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIwyse View Post
Cool! Thanks for working this.

Cable ordered...
TDI, which cable did you end up ordering if you don't mind me asking?
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2015, 11:28 AM   #6
TDIwyse
Major
122
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CO335D View Post
TDI, which cable did you end up ordering if you don't mind me asking?
Well, I almost ordered one from Amazon, but read this in the review section

I read in the forums that there seem to be three versions of these cheaper cables floating around out there. One with a blue circuit board that never works, one with a white circuit board that rarely works and one with a green circuit board that usually works. Well, mine had the white board and it certainly didnít work for me. A friend of mine ordered this same cable off Amazon a week before I ordered mine. He got the green circuit board. Last night I got a chance to borrow it and Ö.it worked flawlessly and instantly on both my computers using the e90post DIY. No issues at all with Windows XP or Win 7 32. So I confirmed that my first cable was DOA and wasted a lot of my time.
You might get lucky, get a green board and live happily ever after or you might not. Seems all the vendors have stacks of random cables, some work and some donít. Luckily I was able to return this one for a full refund. I would have liked to have done an exchange to try my luck at the next one. Unfortunately they only refund.


So I tried to find a "green" circuit board one. Ended up ordering one from eBay that the image shows a green card, and it's from a "top rated" vendor with good reviews who has sold a lot of them ... something like this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/For-BMW-INPA...item2339531ce8
__________________
2011 335d 11.8 sec 120 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2015, 07:30 PM   #7
Mik325tds
Second Lieutenant
Mik325tds's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
222
Posts

Drives: 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greater Detroit

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iaknown View Post
I actually got stuck getting INPA working for our cars because it turns out the only Daten that contains the correct files for our cars (really D73N57C0 instead of D62M57) is in German.
I stand corrected, iaknown is right, we have the DDE7.3 from BOSCH, also called EDC17CP09. I wonder why Test-o displays the DDE6.2 for the M57TU2TOP though? Are those the European cars without SCR?

Luckily, German is not a problem for me .

I even have the D73N57D0.prg, but it seems to have the same date as the C0, do you know the difference?
Edit: I found out that the D73N57D0.prg is for the DDE7.31 which is for the E7x. The correct one for the 335d is D73N57C0.

Last edited by Mik325tds; 01-22-2015 at 09:36 PM. Reason: Answer my own question
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2015, 12:41 AM   #8
iaknown
Lieutenant
iaknown's Avatar
80
Rep
548
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mik325tds View Post
I stand corrected, iaknown is right, we have the DDE7.3 from BOSCH, also called EDC17CP09. I wonder why Test-o displays the DDE6.2 for the M57TU2TOP though? Are those the European cars without SCR?

Luckily, German is not a problem for me .

I even have the D73N57D0.prg, but it seems to have the same date as the C0, do you know the difference?
Yes, the Euro cars are different.

Not sure about the D0 vs C0 question but I do know in Test-O some other configuration files will work with the wrong cars because it's basically just reading the PID's specified out, if that makes sense.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2015, 09:13 PM   #9
TDIwyse
Major
122
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iaknown View Post
...As was also mentioned "the awesome Finish guy" has developed some incredible software to take advantage of all of this data and log it through his program: http://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/sh...ime-graph-view

And it even gets better....I have been working with him to get more parameters in his software for our cars and he has done an incredible job at it. It is not in his latest release but I think it will be in the next one. I can probably pass the files on here or get him to update his release. But there is now pretty much any boost/turbo related parameter added and working, as well as many others. It has been a lifesaver diagnosing my car, even helped my tuner out a little too It's a little work to get all of this going but well worth it for real data and diagnosis (just the price of a D-can cable). If you use it and like it throw him a few bucks so he can continue updating it!
Any updated info on this version of the software? My cable should be here later this week.

Question, I have an old Windows 7 laptop. It appears people have been able to get INPA working on this platform. But it appears no matter what platform one uses there's lots of fussing around and potential issues that have to be worked through to get the software/cable setup and working properly... Are you running XP or some other operating system with the diesel compatible version of the software?
__________________
2011 335d 11.8 sec 120 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2015, 11:39 AM   #10
iaknown
Lieutenant
iaknown's Avatar
80
Rep
548
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Just heard back from him, the software should be updated for our cars any day now.

I am actually running INPA and Test-o on my Windows 8.1 laptop with no issues, in compatibility mode if I remember correctly. So Windows 7 should be fine.
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2015, 01:39 PM   #11
stevers314
packet jockey
stevers314's Avatar
4
Rep
284
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lex

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIwyse View Post
Any updated info on this version of the software? My cable should be here later this week.

Question, I have an old Windows 7 laptop. It appears people have been able to get INPA working on this platform. But it appears no matter what platform one uses there's lots of fussing around and potential issues that have to be worked through to get the software/cable setup and working properly... Are you running XP or some other operating system with the diesel compatible version of the software?
My coding setup with edibas 7.3 is running just fine on Win7x64. You should be okay.
__________________
2011 335d
With great torque comes great responsibility
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2015, 06:43 PM   #12
TDIwyse
Major
122
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iaknown View Post
Just heard back from him, the software should be updated for our cars any day now.

I am actually running INPA and Test-o on my Windows 8.1 laptop with no issues, in compatibility mode if I remember correctly. So Windows 7 should be fine.
stevers314, iaknown, thanks for the feedback.

iaknown, I'm glad to hear you have it working on Windows 8. I have a small notepad that's a Windows 8 machine that I was using the Bav Tech tool on... It would be my preferred instrument due to its size/weight/battery life. I may wrestle with that first to see if I can get it to work before trying the larger Windows 7 laptop.
__________________
2011 335d 11.8 sec 120 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 10:23 AM   #13
iaknown
Lieutenant
iaknown's Avatar
80
Rep
548
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Test-O has been updated for our cars guys ☺
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 10:42 AM   #14
TDIwyse
Major
122
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

Great!

So .... how do I get it? Link?
__________________
2011 335d 11.8 sec 120 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 10:54 AM   #15
iaknown
Lieutenant
iaknown's Avatar
80
Rep
548
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

3rd link in the 1st post here. Then look for the download on the thread.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 07:18 PM   #16
TDIwyse
Major
122
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iaknown View Post
3rd link in the 1st post here. Then look for the download on the thread.
Thanks. Upon downloading and trying to run the .exe I'm getting an error saying I don't have ap32.dll

Or do I need to wait until I get my cable and get INPA up and running first?
__________________
2011 335d 11.8 sec 120 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 08:31 PM   #17
DWR
Second Lieutenant
40
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

[quote=iaknown;17234337]Starting a new thread on this guys. So the thread Mik325tds referenced for INPA was:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=564570

You can try the above link or this one too:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=561237

iaknown, the links for downloading INPA, etc. are dead. Suggests on obtaining the proper version?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 09:56 PM   #18
TDIwyse
Major
122
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIwyse View Post
Thanks. Upon downloading and trying to run the .exe I'm getting an error saying I don't have ap32.dll

Or do I need to wait until I get my cable and get INPA up and running first?
Ugh, my laptop is a Windows 7 64 bit home premium operating system. This seems to be a problem...

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=613312

If I had Windows 7 Professional, Enterprise, or Ultimate operating system I could download and install Windows XP Mode. But it looks like with the Home Premium system it's not supported...

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...e-in-windows-7

Anyone have Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium running INPA? If so, how'd you do it?
__________________
2011 335d 11.8 sec 120 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2015, 12:52 AM   #19
iaknown
Lieutenant
iaknown's Avatar
80
Rep
548
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

[quote=DWR;17259863]
Quote:
Originally Posted by iaknown View Post
Starting a new thread on this guys. So the thread Mik325tds referenced for INPA was:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=564570

You can try the above link or this one too:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=561237

iaknown, the links for downloading INPA, etc. are dead. Suggests on obtaining the proper version?

Thanks
They are working ok for me. Are you making sure the link includes "showthread" where it has been abbreviated?
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2015, 12:54 AM   #20
iaknown
Lieutenant
iaknown's Avatar
80
Rep
548
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIwyse View Post
Ugh, my laptop is a Windows 7 64 bit home premium operating system. This seems to be a problem...

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=613312

If I had Windows 7 Professional, Enterprise, or Ultimate operating system I could download and install Windows XP Mode. But it looks like with the Home Premium system it's not supported...

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...e-in-windows-7

Anyone have Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium running INPA? If so, how'd you do it?
I may be wrong on this but if you have INPA loaded, you may be able to run Test-O without actually running INPA. INPA is a separate interface from Test-O. As far as I know Test-O just uses the files and that's what you want for logging. Worth a try....
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2015, 07:55 AM   #21
Mik325tds
Second Lieutenant
Mik325tds's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
222
Posts

Drives: 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greater Detroit

iTrader: (0)

That is correct, you need EDIABAS not INPA to run Test-o. EDIABAS provides the API for all tools (INPA, WinKFP, NCSexpert, etc.).
Version 7.3 of EDIABAS should support WIN7 and provide the api32.dll. I have Win7 64bit professional (not home) and it works on my machine. Here are the release notes of EDIABAS 7.3.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf Release.pdf (33.0 KB, 53 views)
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2015, 10:53 AM   #22
TDIwyse
Major
122
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mik325tds View Post
That is correct, you need EDIABAS not INPA to run Test-o. EDIABAS provides the API for all tools (INPA, WinKFP, NCSexpert, etc.).
Version 7.3 of EDIABAS should support WIN7 and provide the api32.dll. I have Win7 64bit professional (not home) and it works on my machine. Here are the release notes of EDIABAS 7.3.
Thanks. I'll try going down that path for awhile.
__________________
2011 335d 11.8 sec 120 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST