E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > I_STUFE_HO doesn't show the latest version updated today...pls assist...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-24-2015, 08:43 PM   #1
hackR
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 m3, 2008 328xi wagon
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central NY, USA

iTrader: (0)

I_STUFE_HO doesn't show the latest version updated today...pls assist...

so today i went to a local autologic shop and asked them to update my 2009 e92 m3 DCT to the latest software...they told me they updated the DME, EGS, DSC, CAS, KOMBI, and PDC modules...going into inpa - all these modules show a date of 24.11.2015...so that looks good to me...they changed from 12.10.2010...the original versions were from 2008...the car was born 01/2009...

here's my question:

going into tool32 to check the i-levels, the following is reported:

JOB_STATUS = OKAY
I_STUFE_WERK = E89X-08-09-530
I_STUFE_HO = E89X-10-09-511
I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP = E89X-15-03-501

previous to today's update, the i-levels showed as:

JOB_STATUS = OKAY
I_STUFE_WERK = E89X-08-09-530
I_STUFE_HO = E89X-10-09-511
I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP = E89X-10-09-511

sooooo - my question is: shouldn't the I_STUFE_HO value equal the current software version?...mine shows the previous version...why does the 2015 software installed today show in the I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP field and my I_STUFE_HO value show the previous version?

Last edited by hackR; 11-24-2015 at 09:05 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 04:11 AM   #2
Sensible_
Major
76
Rep
1,012
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

I was told I-LEVEL is stored in CAS and FRM similar to VO. Maybe it's because your FRM was not updated?
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 08:40 AM   #3
thakid22
Second Lieutenant
United_States
48
Rep
253
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW E60 535i Sport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Little Rock

iTrader: (0)

This is just a hunch, but I think...

When the dealership updates your car, their computer updates all old modules AND rewrites/revises the iLevel based upon
what combination of new software is loaded on your particular car.

However, if an independent shop (or you with WinKfp) update your car, they simply update the individual old modules with new software.
They probably don't poll all of the software and then correlate that with an iLevel, then write it to the car too.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 10:02 AM   #4
Sensible_
Major
76
Rep
1,012
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

I think you should flash FRM to same daten (I-level) as CAS was flashed with winkfp then manually write correct I-LEVEL with tool32 for i_stufe_ho. Use function i_stufe_schrieben.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 02:39 PM   #5
hackR
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 m3, 2008 328xi wagon
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central NY, USA

iTrader: (0)

the autologic dealer is well-respected and told me they could only flash the modules i mentioned...they said that the other modules on the car were on the MOST bus and that they couldn't update them the same way - the MOST bus needs a different cable/process...does this make sense?

@Sensible - i recently received v57 daten...the release flashed was v56...can/should i use this to update FRM?...what's the risk?...can i do this work on the FRM module with my K+DCAN cable?...

thx to everyone...

Last edited by hackR; 11-25-2015 at 03:47 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 04:04 PM   #6
hackR
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 m3, 2008 328xi wagon
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central NY, USA

iTrader: (0)

in regards to the CAS and FRM being the same...i just looked at my previous UIF report and my CAS was 12.10.2010 and my FRM was 29.11.2008...so prior to this work, they were not the same...yet both I_STUFE_HO and I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP show E89X-10-09-511...
so wondering if i do need to flash the CAS or not...or rather, all i am lacking is the writing of the latest update, E89X-15-03-501, to I_STUFE_HO...of which i could do with tool32 using i_stufe_schrieben....

thoughts/advice?
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 04:06 PM   #7
Sensible_
Major
76
Rep
1,012
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hackR
the autologic dealer is well-respected and told me they could only flash the modules i mentioned...they said that the other modules on the car were on the MOST bus and that they couldn't update them the same way - the MOST bus needs a different cable/process...does this make sense?

@Sensible - i recently received v57 daten...the release flashed was v56...can/should i use this to update FRM?...what's the risk?...can i do this work on the FRM module with my K+DCAN cable?...

thx to everyone...
I'm sorry to inform you but your man is misinformed. I don't know autologic very well. I do know it's excellent for a garage where many different vehicles come in and out. BMW is very specialist however. Dealer / Factory tools are really the only way to go in my opinion. Your cheap K+DCAN and Free BMW Standard Tools software is faaaaaar more powerful that the very expensive autologic. Just less user friendly.

You list 5 modules in your first post. There are many many more. Even an e90 with no extra toys still has more modules than 5 plus those on the MOST ring.

FRM is a major module. It's not on MOST ring. I have no idea why he didn't update this? Anyway, it's simple to do with winkfp and K+DCAN. If you have FRM3 then be sure to use a stable 70a + power supply at ~13.8v for peace of mind.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 04:08 PM   #8
Sensible_
Major
76
Rep
1,012
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hackR
in regards to the CAS and FRM being the same...i just looked at my previous UIF report and my CAS was 12.10.2010 and my FRM was 29.11.2008...so prior to this work, they were not the same...yet both I_STUFE_HO and I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP show E89X-10-09-511...
so wondering if i do need to flash the CAS or not...or rather, all i am lacking is the writing of the latest update, E89X-15-03-501, to I_STUFE_HO...of which i could do with tool32 using i_stufe_schrieben....

thoughts/advice?
Hmm, you could be correct. Perhaps autologic doesn't right I-LEVEL to both like ISTA /P. In which case just correct with tool32.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 04:40 PM   #9
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
237
Rep
2,048
Posts


Drives: 2013 F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Autologic usually doesn't change the I-LEVEL, although I wouldn't change the I-Level on the vehicle unless you've had the MOST bus modules updated as well.

Basically, Autologic at it's core it really nothing more than INPA/WinKFP/NCSExpert interfaces wrapped in a touch screen UI and really not worth the $10,000 price tag.

Autologic can reflash MOST bus modules, but the shop has to have purchased the optical module for their Autologic unit. They probably didn't want to spend the extra $1,500 to purchase that module.

You're better off finding a shop that carries an ISTA+ICOM setup to handle flash programming on your vehicle to do it properly.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 04:49 PM   #10
hackR
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 m3, 2008 328xi wagon
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central NY, USA

iTrader: (0)

@Sensible - thank you...for clarity, i asked the autologic dealer to update my car to the latest software as i heard of performance enhancements to engine and transmission...when i asked them to do this, they said the computer would tell them which modules needed to be updated...those mentioned in my original post were updated...i can only assume that there was not a FRM update - as it makes no sense to not update this along with the others...my car has 27 modules...yet only the DME, EGS, DSC, CAS, KOMBI, and PDC modules were updated...so i have to assume that some of the modules did not require an update or were on the MOST bus...they could have just decided to not do some of the modules, like the FRM, but how am i to know...i went to the autologic shop as they are respected and i didn't think my BMW dealer would update the car without some problem...all said and done, the module updates have improved the performance - as i hoped for...better response, smoother transmission, and a slight feel of power...

question: what are the steps to update the value in tool32...i have not written anything to the car - having just learned to run the i_stufe_lesen to determine the value...if you could outline the steps, i would greatly appreciate that...

thank you!
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 04:53 PM   #11
matteblue3er
Lieutenant
31
Rep
458
Posts

Drives: Racecar
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

All i-level (integration level) does is let dealers know this set of software versions for this set of modules is KNOWN to work together without issues.

When you update modules individually, the software you update to may not be compatible with other software versions in other modules or the combo has not been documented and reviewed yet.

There are no pros or cons to having the proper i-level in your car. I don't mean there are no pros to having a proper i-level integration in your car, I mean there are no issues with having an i-level in your car that does not match the other software versions.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 05:53 PM   #12
Sensible_
Major
76
Rep
1,012
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hackR
@Sensible - thank you...for clarity, i asked the autologic dealer to update my car to the latest software as i heard of performance enhancements to engine and transmission...when i asked them to do this, they said the computer would tell them which modules needed to be updated...those mentioned in my original post were updated...i can only assume that there was not a FRM update - as it makes no sense to not update this along with the others...my car has 27 modules...yet only the DME, EGS, DSC, CAS, KOMBI, and PDC modules were updated...so i have to assume that some of the modules did not require an update or were on the MOST bus...they could have just decided to not do some of the modules, like the FRM, but how am i to know...i went to the autologic shop as they are respected and i didn't think my BMW dealer would update the car without some problem...all said and done, the module updates have improved the performance - as i hoped for...better response, smoother transmission, and a slight feel of power...

question: what are the steps to update the value in tool32...i have not written anything to the car - having just learned to run the i_stufe_lesen to determine the value...if you could outline the steps, i would greatly appreciate that...

thank you!
It's 2 second job with tool32.

Instead of i_stufe_lesen choose i_stufe_schrieben and in the argument field it's:

WERK;HO;HO BACKUP

e.g.

E089-06-03-501;E89X-15-07-501;E89X-15-07-501

But with your I-levels obviously...
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 05:54 PM   #13
Sensible_
Major
76
Rep
1,012
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matteblue3er
All i-level (integration level) does is let dealers know this set of software versions for this set of modules is KNOWN to work together without issues.

When you update modules individually, the software you update to may not be compatible with other software versions in other modules or the combo has not been documented and reviewed yet.

There are no pros or cons to having the proper i-level in your car. I don't mean there are no pros to having a proper i-level integration in your car, I mean there are no issues with having an i-level in your car that does not match the other software versions.
True. It makes little difference in reality. However, I've seen ISTA/P throw errors with integration level mismatch. So if you ever want the dealer to do anything with it they may charge you more...
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 06:10 PM   #14
hackR
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 m3, 2008 328xi wagon
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central NY, USA

iTrader: (0)

thank you, guys...to be honest, when i dropped my M off, i asked them to update everything to the latest version...in order to keep all the modules in sync - so to speak...just as the dealer would do was what i asked...i was a bit surprised when they said they only did some of the modules and not all...this was the first time i heard about the MOST modules and the difference in cables/etc and that the others were not done...however, i knew that i needed these modules updated and they did that work for me...i'll just let the version stuff stay as - and in the future should i need dealer service, i'll ask them to do it...

@Dracon - how does one find a ISTA+ICOM setup shop?
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 07:05 PM   #15
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
237
Rep
2,048
Posts


Drives: 2013 F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackR View Post
thank you, guys...to be honest, when i dropped my M off, i asked them to update everything to the latest version...in order to keep all the modules in sync - so to speak...just as the dealer would do was what i asked...i was a bit surprised when they said they only did some of the modules and not all...this was the first time i heard about the MOST modules and the difference in cables/etc and that the others were not done...however, i knew that i needed these modules updated and they did that work for me...i'll just let the version stuff stay as - and in the future should i need dealer service, i'll ask them to do it...

@Dracon - how does one find a ISTA+ICOM setup shop?
Just have to find shops in your area that specialize in BMW's and check with them. Or you can try to locate a coder. If you were in the Nashville area, I'd do it myself or send you to my friends shop in which has several setups for properly reflashing an entire vehicle (you need ISTA/P for the software, ICOM for the interface and a stable power supply).
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2015, 03:27 PM   #16
808AWD325xi
Ballin' out of control.
808AWD325xi's Avatar
United_States
142
Rep
981
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hackR View Post
so today i went to a local autologic shop and asked them to update my 2009 e92 m3 DCT to the latest software...they told me they updated the DME, EGS, DSC, CAS, KOMBI, and PDC modules...going into inpa - all these modules show a date of 24.11.2015...so that looks good to me...they changed from 12.10.2010...the original versions were from 2008...the car was born 01/2009...

here's my question:

going into tool32 to check the i-levels, the following is reported:

JOB_STATUS = OKAY
I_STUFE_WERK = E89X-08-09-530
I_STUFE_HO = E89X-10-09-511
I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP = E89X-15-03-501

previous to today's update, the i-levels showed as:

JOB_STATUS = OKAY
I_STUFE_WERK = E89X-08-09-530
I_STUFE_HO = E89X-10-09-511
I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP = E89X-10-09-511

sooooo - my question is: shouldn't the I_STUFE_HO value equal the current software version?...mine shows the previous version...why does the 2015 software installed today show in the I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP field and my I_STUFE_HO value show the previous version?
Your current backup integration level (E89X-15-03-501) aligns with ISTA/P versions P3.55.3-3.56.1. It's not the latest, but fairly recent.

My guess is that the Autologic incorrectly updated your backup integration level (I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP) instead of your dealer integration level (I_STUFE_HO.)

They should have been programmed as follows:
I_STUFE_WERK = E89X-08-09-530
I_STUFE_HO = E89X-15-03-501
I_STUFE_HO_BACKUP = E89X-10-09-511

Your can also display your display your plant, dealer and backup integration levels with INPA:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
True. It makes little difference in reality. However, I've seen ISTA/P throw errors with integration level mismatch. So if you ever want the dealer to do anything with it they may charge you more...
Exactly, or the dealer may even refuse to program the vehicle...
__________________
Alpina B3 Flash/BMS OCC/ER CP/ETS 5/HKS BOV/M3 Control Arms/OFT
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST