E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > How to retrofit sirius?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-12-2012, 01:32 PM   #1
JBE90335
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 647
iTrader: (0)

How to retrofit sirius?

I tried searching but couldn't find it. I'm looking to fit my car with sat radio. It has sat radio prep. I found this module for sale http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=660337 and was wondering what else I would need besides this to get sat. Not looking for a DIY as i'm too scared to mess with the car's electronics. Thanks in advance...
JBE90335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-12-2012, 01:56 PM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,099
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMAC63 View Post
I tried searching but couldn't find it. I'm looking to fit my car with sat radio. It has sat radio prep. I found this module for sale http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=660337 and was wondering what else I would need besides this to get sat. Not looking for a DIY as i'm too scared to mess with the car's electronics. Thanks in advance...
You will need the mounting bracket/screws... just tell your dealer and they will know.

Of course, it will require enabling after the install.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2012, 09:11 AM   #3
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

I just added one myself. I'm waiting on the bracket, but in the mean time, I just have it stuck to the trunk floor with double-sided tape. You'll have to plug in the MOST fiber optic connectors at the junction box behind the back seat. I had to re-code the VO (add $655 and remove $693) and add SDARS to the CAPPL to get it to come alive, but fairly straight forward if you've done any coding with a cheap USB K+CAN adapter.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2012, 08:23 AM   #4
doublins
Registered
 
Drives: 2009 335xi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Crofton, MD

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Im looking for a little help, because Im worried that the sirius receiver I picked up off of ebay might be a dud-

My 09 E92 already had sat prep, so I installed the bracketry and the reciever, added $655 to V.O. and removed $693, then I changed SDARS to activ in the 2URAD (No CAPPL in my car).

The problem is, when I route the MOST cables to the sirius tuner (doing it with ignition on so i can see the light paths at the MOST junction)- when I connect the MOST cable that feeds the optical signal TO the satellite unit, so the red light in the cable arrives at the sirius unit, once I plug the power/MOST connector into the satellite unit, it does not complete the fiber optic circuit and the light does not make the round trip back to the most block. Why?

I checked the connector and I do have a 12V signal at the power connector.

Any advice on what to try next? Because the unit wont complete the MOST circuit by sending the light back to the junction block, it renders the whole audio system inoperable unless I unplug the optical cables and re-connect the original MOST configuration. Im assuming that the unit, if operating properly, would propogate the MOST signal back out on the other fiber optic cable.

Help?

Im pretty technically savvy, so dont be afraid to be specific in your advice.

-Chris
doublins is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2012, 04:38 PM   #5
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

You are correct about the MOST loop; it should propagate as long as there is power to the unit. I think you may be correct in that you have a dud. I can't think of any good way to verify short of borrowing a known good unit.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 06:46 AM   #6
doublins
Registered
 
Drives: 2009 335xi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Crofton, MD

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
You are correct about the MOST loop; it should propagate as long as there is power to the unit. I think you may be correct in that you have a dud. I can't think of any good way to verify short of borrowing a known good unit.
So, when you were hooking yours up, when you had the unit plugged into the harness, as you connected your MOST block connections, the signal loops back from the tuner so you can see the continuation of the light path? Im going to pull the tuner and see if I cant find any broken solder joints or something like that. This is upsetting, as I paid like $370 for this thing, and it took so long to get my cable from overseas that I surpassed the return by date while waiting before i bothered to recognize the unit was bad.

Anything else you can think of?

-Chris
doublins is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 05:24 PM   #7
Kola
Vinnie
 
Kola's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 328i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MD (SEVERNA PARK)

Posts: 65
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via Yahoo to Kola
Chris,

I just bought a used Sirius tuner to install into my 09 e92 with prep, are you able to do the coding? It's not installed yet if you'd like to try it in your car first then help me install it into mine I'd appreciate the help and coding... I'm in Severna Park.

- Vinnie
Kola is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 07:58 PM   #8
doublins
Registered
 
Drives: 2009 335xi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Crofton, MD

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kola View Post
Chris,

I just bought a used Sirius tuner to install into my 09 e92 with prep, are you able to do the coding? It's not installed yet if you'd like to try it in your car first then help me install it into mine I'd appreciate the help and coding... I'm in Severna Park.

- Vinnie
Yeah Vinnie we could do that- Ill be around all day tomorrow but obviously from 1pm on ill be occupied with football and won't want to stray from the house. I'm about to return the old unit so if you want to try tomorrow early we could do that elsewise sometime this week

-Chris
doublins is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2012, 02:55 PM   #9
Kola
Vinnie
 
Kola's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 328i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MD (SEVERNA PARK)

Posts: 65
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via Yahoo to Kola
I read this too late to make it today, this week sometime works for me.
Kola is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST