E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Hard starting after JDB install



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-16-2012, 12:05 AM   #1
Col Mustard
Pushing Rope in the Cellar
United_States
3

 
Drives: 335d Montego
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sacramento Suburbia, CA


Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 335D  [0.00]
Unhappy Hard starting after JDB install

Just installed the JDB tuner, and put everything back in place. Hit the start button, and the engine had a hard time turning over. It took 3 tries to get it to start.

The tuner was left at factory settings ~60%. I tuned it down to the min, but it still had a hard time. I had to hold the start button in.

I've taken it out, put everything back to spec, and there still seems to be a hesitation to turn over.

Any ideas what would cause this?
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 02:19 AM   #2
Beemw335
Colonel
30

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: My car is my home


Posts: 2,016
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Col Mustard
Just installed the JDB tuner, and put everything back in place. Hit the start button, and the engine had a hard time turning over. It took 3 tries to get it to start.

The tuner was left at factory settings ~60%. I tuned it down to the min, but it still had a hard time. I had to hold the start button in.

I've taken it out, put everything back to spec, and there still seems to be a hesitation to turn over.

Any ideas what would cause this?
Make sure the clips are in properly.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 04:30 AM   #3
Ron1n
Speed Demon
United_States
73

 
Ron1n's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 335d E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The 858


Posts: 3,248
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2010 335d  [5.00]
What he said. Check the connection into the ECU plug and make sure it's connected properly. On the flip side, when my car started doing this, it turned out to be my glow plugs and glow plug control unit, both of which got replaced.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 09:59 AM   #4
SomeRandomer123
Colonel
England
169

 
SomeRandomer123's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Luxury - Sport Auto
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lancashire, North West England, UK


Posts: 2,562
iTrader: (0)

I had a new glow plug control unit when mine was rough starting.
__________________

Gone: 2006 BMW E60 520d SE 6MT
Gone: 2009 BMW E90-LCI 330d SE 6MT
Current: 2012 F30 328i Luxury 8AT
My 328i initial thoughts + media!http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712673
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 10:28 AM   #5
Col Mustard
Pushing Rope in the Cellar
United_States
3

 
Drives: 335d Montego
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sacramento Suburbia, CA


Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 335D  [0.00]
I tried a re-install of the unit this morning. Made sure the connections were seated properly and that I had them oriented correctly.

Not as much hesitation, but still some. I never had any issues with starting the car prior to this.

Does the chip do anything at idle? I thought it was all at the higher end.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 10:32 AM   #6
cssnms
Brigadier General
United_States
145

 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland


Posts: 3,180
iTrader: (4)

Contact Terry at BMS, he is very quick to respond, great customer service.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 11:10 AM   #7
crazyinp
Lieutenant
26

 
Drives: BMW 335d
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay Area


Posts: 550
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335d  [0.00]
Do you have the same issue without the JBD? if you do than the problem is not your JBD. It might just been coincident that happened now
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 09:31 PM   #8
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
825


 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth


Posts: 14,846
iTrader: (88)

The JBD is off at idle so it should not be related, but you can always remove it to see if the symptom goes away, etc. If it does contact BMS for technical support as a next step. If the problem is still there without the JBD check for any codes with the CAN Tool and then dealer it.

Mike
__________________
LOWEST PRICE GURANTEE ON ALL PRODUCTS - www.n54tuning.com - Email; Mike@n54tuning.com
NEW PERFORMANCE LINE N54 DOWNPIPES & M3/M4 & F30 ER DOWNPIPES NOW IN STOCK - ER N54 CHARPE PIPE SPECIALS - NEW JB4 G5 ISO for N54 and F30 N55 ON SALE - NEW S55 M3/M4 JB4 NOW SHIPPING
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2012, 11:45 AM   #9
Col Mustard
Pushing Rope in the Cellar
United_States
3

 
Drives: 335d Montego
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sacramento Suburbia, CA


Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 335D  [0.00]
I removed the JBD, and took it to the dealer. They found fault DDE FC-3F30. They're going to replace the rail pressure sensor, under warranty. I'm going to be sending the JDB back.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2012, 01:55 PM   #10
EYE4SPEED
Ex-Quattro Driver
United_States
60

 
EYE4SPEED's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335d M-Sport LCI
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Coast... of Michigan


Posts: 1,987
iTrader: (22)

If the sensor is faulty, why send back the JBD?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2012, 09:23 PM   #11
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
825


 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth


Posts: 14,846
iTrader: (88)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Col Mustard View Post
I removed the JBD, and took it to the dealer. They found fault DDE FC-3F30. They're going to replace the rail pressure sensor, under warranty. I'm going to be sending the JDB back.
Makes sense. The dealer doesn't need to replace that sensor the code is from starting the car without the connector being on tight the first time. You really should have used the CT tool to read/delete any codes and engaged BMS for support prior to rushing in to the dealer. It would have saved you a lot of time. By going in with codes stored like that you really rolled the dice on your warranty. Sounds like you lucked out this time. Next time for for anyone else read codes first, ask for support if needed, then go to dealer.

Mike
__________________
LOWEST PRICE GURANTEE ON ALL PRODUCTS - www.n54tuning.com - Email; Mike@n54tuning.com
NEW PERFORMANCE LINE N54 DOWNPIPES & M3/M4 & F30 ER DOWNPIPES NOW IN STOCK - ER N54 CHARPE PIPE SPECIALS - NEW JB4 G5 ISO for N54 and F30 N55 ON SALE - NEW S55 M3/M4 JB4 NOW SHIPPING
Appreciate 0
      03-19-2012, 07:17 AM   #12
cssnms
Brigadier General
United_States
145

 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland


Posts: 3,180
iTrader: (4)

Yup lucky fella...
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 10:58 PM   #13
sohcpunk
Second Lieutenant
United_States
15

 
sohcpunk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Socal


Posts: 288
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Just experienced this after getting my JBD. One of the repliers was correct, the connection is loose. I re-clipped it and used a zip tie to tighten it up. Works great! No hesitation on start at all!
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2012, 04:07 PM   #14
Kaylin032
Private First Class
United_States
1

 
Kaylin032's Avatar
 
Drives: E93 M3 and 335d
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas TX


Posts: 100
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Idk. My JBD broke after 12,000 miles of use and now it's only good as a necklace.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2012, 07:34 PM   #15
cssnms
Brigadier General
United_States
145

 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland


Posts: 3,180
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaylin032 View Post
Idk. My JBD broke after 12,000 miles of use and now it's only good as a necklace.
Broke? How so?
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2012, 12:46 PM   #16
coolchu001
Lieutenant
34

 
coolchu001's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 BMW 335d - AW
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OH


Posts: 537
iTrader: (26)

Send a message via AIM to coolchu001
Quote:
Originally Posted by cssnms View Post
Broke? How so?
I had a JBD beta unit that fired up (needed to pull over and remove it in order to start the car again). But BMS replaced it with a new unit; so far so good with the new one (knock on wood).
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2014, 04:46 PM   #17
Jefarne
Registered
0

 
Drives: E39/E90x2
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Baltimore


Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

So, I had a similar issue when I installed the JBD on my 2010. I actually did clear the codes and still had the half yellow engine..... Limped it into the dealer. My fuel pressure sensor had gone bad. They replaced it, but failed to tighten it completely...my fuel rail vented diesel at 1000 psi into my engine bay. I was NOT thrilled. Today I put in a new JBD thanks to Terry, I don't know wth happened, or why the sensor failed. This was the only post that I could find of issues with the box. I can say that Terry stood behind the product, hard to find nowadays. Seems great so far!
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2014, 11:28 AM   #18
daveN007
Private First Class
2

 
daveN007's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern California


Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)

I had similar issue.

Rough idle. Immediately shut down. Put back to stock.

Threw a code and went into limp mode. Codes not clearable with CAN tool.

Limped to dealer and they replaced "faulty fuel rail pressure sensor".

If I failed to install the JBD correctly, then it IS NOT A SIMPLE INSTALL. It is possible that it was my fault, but

There just isn't much that can go wrong as far as I can tell.

I would really like to install the unit, but I am spooked.
__________________
Alpine White 2011 335d M Sport * Premium * Cold Weather * Harmon-Kardon
Carrara White 2012 Porsche Cayman R
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2014, 11:33 AM   #19
daveN007
Private First Class
2

 
daveN007's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern California


Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jefarne View Post
So, I had a similar issue when I installed the JBD on my 2010. I actually did clear the codes and still had the half yellow engine..... Limped it into the dealer. My fuel pressure sensor had gone bad. They replaced it, but failed to tighten it completely...my fuel rail vented diesel at 1000 psi into my engine bay. I was NOT thrilled. Today I put in a new JBD thanks to Terry, I don't know wth happened, or why the sensor failed. This was the only post that I could find of issues with the box. I can say that Terry stood behind the product, hard to find nowadays. Seems great so far!
Same here. Limp mode could not be "reset".

I am not sure about your comment about the sensor actually being "bad". I was able to hover over the guys in the garage while they looked at my car and they seemed to be practicing "swap-tronics" repaid.

Code says A and you replace part B. Period.

There was no real examination of anything aside from what the computer told them.
__________________
Alpine White 2011 335d M Sport * Premium * Cold Weather * Harmon-Kardon
Carrara White 2012 Porsche Cayman R
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2014, 01:39 PM   #20
AzureHaze
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
16

 
AzureHaze's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d Sport
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SoCal


Posts: 1,580
iTrader: (0)

There was only one time when I got a limp mode from a hard start that couldn't be cleared with a shut down/restart and my buddy's gf was driving it for the first time. Couldn't clear it from a shut down/restart after trying it a few times but luckily my buddy had a bluetooth ODBII tool handy and cleared it. Forgot what the codes were though. Very strange.
__________________
Mods: JBD @ 100% | Weisslicht LED side lenses | CF pillar trim | Cyba 4" dry carbon tips | CF trunk spoiler | LUX H8 V3 | 193M w/ Michelin PSS | BMS 12/15mm spacers | LTMW CF interior wrap | BSW Stage 1 | CF shifter trim | CF steering wheel trim | m-sport steering wheel | CF pedal set | CF license plate frames | Ziza LED interior kit | Euro side mirrors | M3 rep front bumper | Coded
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2014, 02:17 PM   #21
daveN007
Private First Class
2

 
daveN007's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern California


Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AzureHaze View Post
There was only one time when I got a limp mode from a hard start that couldn't be cleared with a shut down/restart and my buddy's gf was driving it for the first time. Couldn't clear it from a shut down/restart after trying it a few times but luckily my buddy had a bluetooth ODBII tool handy and cleared it. Forgot what the codes were though. Very strange.
Just to be clear...

The limp mode was not something that the dealer could fix without replacing a part.

That probably means that the code thrown is deemed by BMW to be something that can't be the result of a fault that can simply be reset. So they don't let the dealer have the capability to do such a reset.

Whether the JBD actually caused a part to fail (the fuel rail pressure sensor) I do not know. If not installed correctly (which is like saying that someone didn't install the iPhone charger cable into their iPhone correctly) I would think that the car would sense a disconnected sensor...and interpret that as a failure since it can't just "disconnect" on it's own. That doesn't mean the sensor failed.

It would be like assuming that a light bulb is burned out because the light doesn't work...not knowing that someone unscrewed the perfectly good bulb.

The other possibility is some "partial disconnect" and "getting zapped" by the JBD...but as ignorant as I am to the inner workings of the device, I don't think it is capable of "zapping anything" unless you include zapping in extra torque.

People who talk about "resetting and moving on" are not talking about the same thing.
__________________
Alpine White 2011 335d M Sport * Premium * Cold Weather * Harmon-Kardon
Carrara White 2012 Porsche Cayman R
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2014, 02:38 PM   #22
Hoooper
Captain
11

 
Drives: 335D
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hayward, CA


Posts: 988
iTrader: (0)

limp mode probably could have been reset/removed if the car had been left turned off for a bit or battery removed and allowed to reset. However, the dealership doesnt work that way, they get paid to replace parts under warranty, not to let cars sit around under warranty. Unless the JBD has an internal hardware issues and destroys the sensor, seems unlikely since sensors are usually fairly resistant to wiring mistakes, but definitely possible.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
335d, jbd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST