E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Limp Mode for the first time today



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-15-2007, 08:53 AM   #23
Ado
King Kong
 
Ado's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto

Posts: 769
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo View Post
Correct. Mine did it twice in one day. Ended up getting 2 02 sensors replaced.
You took it into BMW? Did you take out the PROCede?
__________________
08 E92 M3 - AA ECU, AA Pulleys, AA Air Filter, AA Short Shifter - CURRENT
E92 335i - Vishnu V3, Exhaust, Intake, BOV, CDV Delete - SOLD
1991 850i Dinan Twin Turbo - SOLD

Health Forums
Ado is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 01:37 PM   #24
leftcoastman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Near some canyons

Posts: 1,710
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sflgator View Post
Same exact thing happened to me one time on 5/18/07. After shutting it off and restarting, it returned back to normal, and so far, it's never returned in the past 4 weeks...my PROcede 335i has been running perfectly since.

Who knows what exact cause was, but it didn't have anything to do with the PROcede.

Hey man, I am as much of a PROcede supporter as you, but I will have to say that it is PROcede related (and XEDE too).

It's a boost target issue. The low boost target map solves the issue.
leftcoastman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 02:03 PM   #25
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,131
iTrader: (2)

I had this the other day with the Xede, stopped the car and it cleared, coming off the motorway and it came up again, couldn't get it to go out again until I removed the Xede.

Took it into my friendly neighbourhood BMW dealer and asked them to check the codes and it came back as boost error, and on the over run. Just seemed strange that I couldn't get it to go off until I removed the unit.

May put it back in tomorrow and see how I get on.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 02:05 PM   #26
sflgator
Major General
 
sflgator's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

Posts: 5,389
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftcoastman View Post
Hey man, I am as much of a PROcede supporter as you, but I will have to say that it is PROcede related (and XEDE too).

It's a boost target issue. The low boost target map solves the issue.
No, I don't think so. I actually wasn't on boost when it happened to me 4 weeks ago. I spoke with Shiv about this the day it happened to me, and he specifically said that I do not need the 'low boost target' map. Plus, I would think that if it were PROcede related (and a boost target not being reached), then it would happen several times in a short period of time. For most ppl, this exact 'limp mode' problem seems to surface only 1 or 2 times, and typically while cruising (not under boost). I do know exactly what's causing the limp mode to occur in these cars, but I'm fairly confident it's not PROcede related.
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |
sflgator is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 02:07 PM   #27
sflgator
Major General
 
sflgator's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

Posts: 5,389
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
I had this the other day with the Xede, stopped the car and it cleared, coming off the motorway and it came up again, couldn't get it to go out again until I removed the Xede.

Took it into my friendly neighbourhood BMW dealer and asked them to check the codes and it came back as boost error, and on the over run. Just seemed strange that I couldn't get it to go off until I removed the unit.

May put it back in tomorrow and see how I get on.
What does that mean?
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |
sflgator is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 02:37 PM   #28
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,131
iTrader: (2)

It means that it was boost related and on the over run I presumed means 'off boost' ??
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 02:40 PM   #29
max boost
Lieutenant
 
max boost's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: east side

Posts: 408
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo View Post
Correct. Mine did it twice in one day. Ended up getting 2 02 sensors replaced.


really???



do u guys think that the 02 sensor is getting killed from running richer???
doesnnt make sense but.......
max boost is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 03:21 PM   #30
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by max boost View Post
really???



do u guys think that the 02 sensor is getting killed from running richer???
doesnnt make sense but.......

I don't think so, 12.5:1 or whatever is within the operation range of the sensor. I think it would need to be 10.1:1 or richer to even effect sensor life.

In my humble opinion, the limp mode is the result of various plausability tests the ECU does. It can be fixed with better piggyback programming. In the mean time just control-alt-delete when it happens.
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 03:45 PM   #31
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by max boost View Post
really???



do u guys think that the 02 sensor is getting killed from running richer???
doesnnt make sense but.......
It doesn't make sense because it isn't feasible. The more likely scenario is that the #6 and #7 wires are crossed in the circuit. This is the only way to get the o2 sensor response/failure codes that would lead a technician to replace o2 sensors. It is no coincidence that installing new o2 sensors will not fix the problem. It is virtually impossible to damage the o2 sensors with the way the PROcede is implemented. Even improper installation wont damage them.

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 03:52 PM   #32
bmwzimmer
Major
 
bmwzimmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 91 octane states

Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (0)

It has happened once in 3 months using V1.4. V1.45 step seems to work well with no problems since.

Don't use any fuel cleaners with only 3K miles on your car.
bmwzimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2007, 03:56 PM   #33
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwzimmer View Post
It has happened once in 3 months using V1.4. V1.45 step seems to work well with no problems since.

Don't use any fuel cleaners with only 3K miles on your car.
Good call on the fuel cleaners. Don't use them in a direct injection fuel system. The nozzle of the DI fuel injector is much much smaller than a traditional fuel injector. If there are any impurities or viscosity variances, it can and will clog the injector temporarily and trigger a random misfire code. These fuel systems operate at up to 3000psi, not the 50psi that these fuel system cleaners are designed for.

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2007, 02:12 AM   #34
Ado
King Kong
 
Ado's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto

Posts: 769
iTrader: (0)

Cookiemonster, how many seconds?
__________________
08 E92 M3 - AA ECU, AA Pulleys, AA Air Filter, AA Short Shifter - CURRENT
E92 335i - Vishnu V3, Exhaust, Intake, BOV, CDV Delete - SOLD
1991 850i Dinan Twin Turbo - SOLD

Health Forums
Ado is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2007, 03:20 AM   #35
cedchung
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 E92 335i, 2014 F30 320i
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montreal/Mauritius

Posts: 304
iTrader: (1)

The exact same thing happened to me on Wednesday.
Restarted the car and it ran fine again. No code stored
__________________
cedchung is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2007, 03:29 AM   #36
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

If the code is triggered under boost, use the LBT (lower boost target) version of the v1.45 map. That will fix the problem. Now that its getting hotter outside, its harder for the turbos to reach the desired boost targets.

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2007, 11:50 AM   #37
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

another one ...

Cruised on a highway today @ 80mph ( steptronic, D-mode, 6th gear ). BINNNNG! The CEL (engine half filled/half dark icon) was on, car ran fine, reduced power.

Outside temp: 77 degrees
Oil temp: 240 degrees
Car build: End of April / 07
Cruise control: on
AC: on
Gas: Shell V-Power ( 100 EU octane )
Gas additives: none
PROcede map: v1.45 steptronic
Other mod's: none
Driving time until error occured: 50 minutes
Error code reported by Creader: none

Error went away after stopping and starting the engine. Engine runs perfect.

Still breaking in the car ( 620 miles / 1000 km done so far ). I see that some of us had this problem already, regardless if they use Xede or PROcede. Nobody reported such a problem without a piggyback. Can it be related somehow to what we do with the 335i's rear boost solenoid ?

I hope a solution for this problem will be available soon.

In the meantime I will record my failures here:

2007-06-17 first time

Shiv: I don't think it has something to do with not reaching the desired boost targets.

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .

Last edited by e.n335; 06-17-2007 at 01:56 PM.
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2007, 12:05 PM   #38
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Could someone get this random code read by a dealership? It will still be in memory even after you turned the car on/off. As soon as I have this info, I can figure out the cause and solve it pretty easily. I haven't seen this problem myself. Nor has anyone who is remotely local to us reported any such issue.

-shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2007, 12:09 PM   #39
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Could someone get this random code read by a dealership? It will still be in memory even after you turned the car on/off. As soon as I have this info, I can figure out the cause and solve it pretty easily. I haven't seen this problem myself. Nor has anyone who is remotely local to us reported any such issue.

-shiv
I will do. Expect feedback until Thursday, latest.

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2007, 12:11 PM   #40
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
I will do. Expect feedback until Thursday, latest.

Cheers
Eugen
Exellent. Thanks Eugen!
shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2007, 12:16 PM   #41
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Could someone get this random code read by a dealership? It will still be in memory even after you turned the car on/off. As soon as I have this info, I can figure out the cause and solve it pretty easily. I haven't seen this problem myself. Nor has anyone who is remotely local to us reported any such issue.

-shiv
Do you believe that it affects more than just 2-3% of the cars now? On the plus side sounds like an easy fix if you can recreate it.
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2007, 12:30 PM   #42
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry335 View Post
Do you believe that it affects more than just 2-3% of the cars now? On the plus side sounds like an easy fix if you can recreate it.
My car will be perfect for analyzing the problem:

1) I cleared all errors at a dealership after my successful PROcede install ( first time I installed with ignition on due to an open door )
2) Thus I am breaking in the engine, until now I never reved it above 4.500 rpm and never floored the gas pedal.

I am really curious about the problem.

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2007, 01:11 PM   #43
Black335
Private First Class
 
Black335's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW M6 F13
Join Date: May 2007
Location: White Plains, NY

Posts: 105
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Good call on the fuel cleaners. Don't use them in a direct injection fuel system. The nozzle of the DI fuel injector is much much smaller than a traditional fuel injector. If there are any impurities or viscosity variances, it can and will clog the injector temporarily and trigger a random misfire code. These fuel systems operate at up to 3000psi, not the 50psi that these fuel system cleaners are designed for.

shiv
Shiv,
Could this explain why I got a 0304 code (bad spark plug) the first time i ran the car with PROcede ? i remember having additives in the fuel (with only about 700 miles on the car). I still use the stuff w/o any problems (2500 miles on the car). IF the injectors are so sensitive then wouldnt the additives (detergents, etc) in the "first tier" class gas hurt the injectors just the same? or is that different? sorry about these ignorant questions... Thanks.
Black335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2007, 01:36 PM   #44
sflgator
Major General
 
sflgator's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

Posts: 5,389
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
I will do. Expect feedback until Thursday, latest.

Cheers
Eugen
Shiv said the code will still be in the car's memory, but what if it isn't? How do you know it will happen again? I thought I read that some ppl said they went into limp mode and tried to read the code with a code reader and nothing came up (or something very general came up).

Also, it appears that this issue is a very random one, since most of us who experienced this limp mode did so only once. It happened to my car 4 weeks ago (after having Shiv's XEDE in for 4 months and the PROcede in for 1 month), and so far, it hasn't returned in 4 weeks. In addition, just like you, I was cruising on the hwy. @ 65mph while in M6 gear (and not on boost).

Let us know what, if anything, you find out. Thanks.
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |
sflgator is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST