E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Limp Mode for the first time today



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-19-2007, 12:43 PM   #89
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
No, you were wrong.
Do tell!! Is the ECU measuring map sensor current to seek out attenuators?
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 12:45 PM   #90
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Thumbs up new PROcede map

Guy's,

Testing of the new v1.4n map will start tomorrow. I'll keep you informed.

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 12:52 PM   #91
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
Guy's,

Testing of the new v1.4n map will start tomorrow. I'll keep you informed.

Cheers
Eugen
Netherlands version?
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:01 PM   #92
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry335 View Post
Netherlands version?
A software guy should know - n = number, not defined yet
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:05 PM   #93
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Terry, when will you buy YOUR PROcede ?
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:07 PM   #94
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: www.p3cars.com
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,459
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
Guy's,

Testing of the new v1.4n map will start tomorrow. I'll keep you informed.

Cheers
Eugen
Does the new MAP address these issues? If so.. how so?
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:12 PM   #95
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Does the new MAP address these issues? If so.. how so?
Yes, this map addresses exactly the issue, assuming code is only triggered during cruise conditions and not under boost.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:12 PM   #96
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
Terry, when will you buy YOUR PROcede ?
When I can use the Haltech software to modify my own maps.
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:14 PM   #97
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry335 View Post
When I can use the Haltech software to modify my own maps.
So buy the Haltech geneneric version and develop your own 335i tune
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:22 PM   #98
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
So buy the Haltech geneneric version and develop your own 335i tune
That's an option also. Developing my little ****** has proved to be a lot more fun. Assuming I get the desired result, I'll stick with that.
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:27 PM   #99
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry335 View Post
That's an option also. Developing my little ****** has proved to be a lot more fun. Assuming I get the desired result, I'll stick with that.
It looks quite good for your efforts spent already. However, a out-of-the-box, underlaying and already developed hardware would be a big step on your way and enable you in what you like to do ...
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:28 PM   #100
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
It looks quite good for your efforts spent already. However, a out-of-the-box, underlaying and already developed hardware would be a big step on your way and enable you in what you like to do ...
Sure, but then I'd just be another Shiv...
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 01:30 PM   #101
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry335 View Post
Sure, but then I'd just be another Shiv...
Agree, but this is not the worst you could be

__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 02:09 PM   #102
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: www.p3cars.com
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,459
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
Yes, this map addresses exactly the issue, assuming code is only triggered during cruise conditions and not under boost.
whats your plan for the other issues? I was building your little relay based procede bypass, but then now you say that it isnt needed... so I guess I wasted my time... so how are all the power/standby issues going to be addressed? (pm is fine, I can keep a secret)

$error locationNr: 11757
$error locationtext: 2DED power management, standby current control
Error: 1(1) No.: 11757 2DED power management, standby current control frequency: 2
error type: 8 (4286 ) standby current violation
readines Flag: (16 ) Test conditions fulfilled
error status: (32 ) failure presently not available, OBDon-board diagnosis not debounced
MIL - Status: (48) failure does not cause warning lamp show light (MIL)
P-Code: P160F Powermanagement No-Load Current Error F_LZ: 40
ambient text / entry at 84xx km(2.) 84xx km(1.)
time with idle current 80 - 200 mA 0.00 min 3091.20 min
time with idle current 200 - 1000 mA 0.00 min 74.67 min
time with idle current larger than 1000 mA 0.00 min 0.00 min
voltage Kl. 87 0.00 V 11.98 V
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 02:12 PM   #103
Terry335
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
whats your plan for the other issues? PM is fine, I was building your little relay based procede bypass, but then now you say that it isnt needed... so I guess I wasted my time... so how are all the power/standby issues going to be addressed? (pm is fine, I can keep a secret)

$error locationNr: 11757
$error locationtext: 2DED power management, standby current control
Error: 1(1) No.: 11757 2DED power management, standby current control frequency: 2
error type: 8 (4286 ) standby current violation
readines Flag: (16 ) Test conditions fulfilled
error status: (32 ) failure presently not available, OBDon-board diagnosis not debounced
MIL - Status: (48) failure does not cause warning lamp show light (MIL)
P-Code: P160F Powermanagement No-Load Current Error F_LZ: 40
ambient text / entry at 84xx km(2.) 84xx km(1.)
time with idle current 80 - 200 mA 0.00 min 3091.20 min
time with idle current 200 - 1000 mA 0.00 min 74.67 min
time with idle current larger than 1000 mA 0.00 min 0.00 min
voltage Kl. 87 0.00 V 11.98 V

That is an interesting error. Was that pulled using BMW specific software or generic ODBII software?

If I had to guess I'd say the ECU monitors current when in standby, and with the procede the sensors that are attenuated (o2 sensors & map sensor) are "leaking" at zero RPM. Relays (or transistor base adjustments) on the hardware would solve this problem. On the software side they might be able to add current in to those sensors @ 0rpm to cancel the bleed.
Terry335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 02:20 PM   #104
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: www.p3cars.com
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,459
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry335 View Post
That is an interesting error. Was that pulled using BMW specific software or generic ODBII software?

If I had to guess I'd say the ECU monitors current when in standby, and with the procede the sensors that are attenuated (o2 sensors & map sensor) are "leaking" at zero RPM. Relays (or transistor base adjustments) on the hardware would solve this problem. On the software side they might be able to add current in to those sensors @ 0rpm to cancel the bleed.
That was pulled from a stock car with nothing but procede, with the bmw computer... I stole it from another thread
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 02:55 PM   #105
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
That was pulled from a stock car with nothing but procede, with the bmw computer... I stole it from another thread
The error says that the car is consuming more power while shut off as it should. Nothing more. Now you can think about why ...

Plug out your cell-phones !
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 03:09 PM   #106
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Back to topic.

I have 1024 man-years experience in saving BMW electrical power and I developed a solution how you can hook up the PROcede to switched power and wake it up when the ECU wakes up to check the sensors, usually every 14 minutes.

As everytime, I invested a lot of time and efforts. It's not my fault when it's the same solution as AA does it with the Xede, it's just what I found working best.

Sounds familiar, huh ?



I will come up with this next weekend.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2007, 03:23 PM   #107
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: www.p3cars.com
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,459
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
The error says that the car is consuming more power while shut off as it should. Nothing more. Now you can think about why ...

Plug out your cell-phones !
actually, interior power socket is disabled when the car is off... no cell phone charging allowed
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2007, 06:37 PM   #108
Nexus-6
Private First Class
 
Drives: '07 BMW 335i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wherever there is hockey

Posts: 170
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
I just read about 1.47 coming out this week to address the limp mode. Kudos to Shiv and crew for responding to this quickly!
Nexus-6 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2012, 12:36 PM   #109
michael_ro
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 325i E90
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bucharest

Posts: 32
iTrader: (0)

I just got the same error code from my car. P160F. 177 times.
The only symptom/problem on my car is that my RPM slightly fluctuates after the car warms up.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?p=11805795
Any ideas?

michael_ro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2012, 12:37 PM   #110
michael_ro
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 325i E90
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bucharest

Posts: 32
iTrader: (0)

I got 3 codes:
P0102
P14C3
P160F
Does any one have a list of all the trouble codes explicanations?
michael_ro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST