E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > 335I OBD II Port/ something missing?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-05-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
drwharton85
New Member
drwharton85's Avatar
1
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stuttgart Germany

iTrader: (0)

335I OBD II CAN pins help w/ pivot gauges

I have been searching everywhere and apparently the 335I are supposed to have a 16 pin OBD port. Mine only has six wires going to it, (2) vendor options, (1) power, (1) chasis grounds (1) signal ground, and (1) ISO 9141-2K-line. I am trying to hook up gauges that run off the CAN high and low, but I dont have them. Am I missing something here?

Last edited by drwharton85; 04-22-2012 at 09:11 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2012, 09:24 PM   #2
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
pinky_and_me's Avatar
5
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

iTrader: (0)

The CAN high/low wires are orange/green and green twisted pair respectively and you can find them in the driver side kick panel. There might be several pairs and they should all work.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 12:09 AM   #3
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,481
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

When I installed my aftermarket alarm I couldn't find the can wires anywhere in the kickpanel I ended up tapping them at the headunit.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 08:56 AM   #4
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
pinky_and_me's Avatar
5
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

iTrader: (0)

I found several pairs under the glove box as well but maybe 2006 models are different.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 03:18 PM   #5
drwharton85
New Member
drwharton85's Avatar
1
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stuttgart Germany

iTrader: (0)

Can I add additional pins? Can I just tap into the CAN high and low then add pins to the correct location on the OBD port? If so where can I but them? There is a computer or something behind the OBD with the CAN wires going into it, does it matter where I tap into the wires? If I can any ways.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 03:25 PM   #6
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
pinky_and_me's Avatar
5
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

iTrader: (0)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=580057 seems to have the same discussion.
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 09:23 PM   #7
drwharton85
New Member
drwharton85's Avatar
1
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stuttgart Germany

iTrader: (0)

I looked over that thread and still havent come up with a definite answer, i dont want to start tapping into wires unless it is going to work. Does anyone know for certain if i can just tap into the CAN wires and add the pins to my OBD port?
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2012, 09:09 PM   #8
drwharton85
New Member
drwharton85's Avatar
1
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stuttgart Germany

iTrader: (0)

I recently connected everything, added the pins, and I am recieving some voltage, so I know I am tapped in. My gauges still did not work, but I have not tested to see if I am getting info from the CAN BUS wires. Not sure if my gauges are screwed up or if I tapped into the wires in the wrong spot, I will be working on it next weekend to see if I can figure it out.
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2012, 09:10 PM   #9
drwharton85
New Member
drwharton85's Avatar
1
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stuttgart Germany

iTrader: (0)

Is there anybody out there close by, or heck any where that can get these gauges to work for me. I could give you a few bucks, PM me if you think you could help out, thanks.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2012, 08:49 PM   #10
drwharton85
New Member
drwharton85's Avatar
1
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stuttgart Germany

iTrader: (0)

Hey, so I tapped into the CAN lines just above the OBD II port, and I immediately got a SOS malfunction warning then got a service vehicle warning saying there was an electrical short. I switched the wires around and the short went away, but the SOS malfunction is still lighting up.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2012, 09:44 PM   #11
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
pinky_and_me's Avatar
5
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

iTrader: (0)

Well, worst case scenario the voltage difference burned out your SOS module along with your gauges.
Let the car sit for a bit then drive around and see if the SOS malfunction goes away as well.
I'm not sure what you can do to test your gauges. Also keep in mind that some of the CAN bus IDs the gauges use might not be available or the same as the ones in your car. Have you checked with the manufacturer if they support your model BMW?

The only experience I have is messing around with a remote start module that hooks up to the CAN bus for the various input/output.
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2012, 08:28 PM   #12
drwharton85
New Member
drwharton85's Avatar
1
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stuttgart Germany

iTrader: (0)

After sitting all night, when I drove to work this morning the SOS malfunction was no longer showing. I know the gauge pod was specifically made for the 135/335 BMWs but the website does say for versions with the CAN wires in the OBD port, it says the gauges will not work with the K-Line models. Just dont understand why they wouldnt work with the tapped in wires, unless I burned them up. I know they are still getting power, when I hook power up to them they sweep the gauge then return to resting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me View Post
Well, worst case scenario the voltage difference burned out your SOS module along with your gauges.
Let the car sit for a bit then drive around and see if the SOS malfunction goes away as well.
I'm not sure what you can do to test your gauges. Also keep in mind that some of the CAN bus IDs the gauges use might not be available or the same as the ones in your car. Have you checked with the manufacturer if they support your model BMW?

The only experience I have is messing around with a remote start module that hooks up to the CAN bus for the various input/output.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST