E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Have factory alarm but no DWAS or DWAI module??



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-07-2012, 08:48 AM   #1
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,274
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Have factory alarm but no DWAS or DWAI module??

I have an 2007 E93 with factory alarm installed. Everything is functional but I want the alarm chirp to be louder so I wanted to code it in. I used NCS to try to change the alarm level but for some reason I do not have the DWAS or DWAI modules to even code. Is there another module that is named differently for alarm coding? My car was an early build 4/2007. I do have I drive and have the acoustic menu in the navi to adjust for preferences of alarm beep on opening and closing. I am little stumped. Thanks for the help. Is there another name for the alarm modules for older models with alarms installed from factory??
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2012, 09:07 AM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,274
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
I have an 2007 E93 with factory alarm installed. Everything is functional but I want the alarm chirp to be louder so I wanted to code it in. I used NCS to try to change the alarm level but for some reason I do not have the DWAS or DWAI modules to even code. Is there another module that is named differently for alarm coding? My car was an early build 4/2007. I do have I drive and have the acoustic menu in the navi to adjust for preferences of alarm beep on opening and closing. I am little stumped. Thanks for the help. Is there another name for the alarm modules for older models with alarms installed from factory??
Can I add +K302 to the VO and have these modules available to code? I am just stumped that I have alarm working from
Factory yet don't have modules in the VO
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2012, 09:31 AM   #3
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
 
pinky_and_me's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 273
iTrader: (0)

From what I've read the VO controls what modules you can code via NCS.
I won't be surprised if the dealer just put in the alarm module in to sell you the car and never bothered to code it, or was the alarm on the factory sticker?
pinky_and_me is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2012, 09:45 AM   #4
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,274
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me View Post
From what I've read the VO controls what modules you can code via NCS.
I won't be surprised if the dealer just put in the alarm module in to sell you the car and never bothered to code it, or was the alarm on the factory sticker?
Well it came from factory order. I just checked my VO and it does indeed have +K302 in it but no signs of modules located with NCS. Very weird but in my CAS trace file I do see settings for alarm. I have buzzer_high_level and buzzer_low_level both set to wert_04. Can I change this value to wert_1 or wert_02 to make alarm louder?? What do u think. Is Wert_04 is loudest setting for alarm?
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2012, 10:16 AM   #5
Alvine90
Private First Class
 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arcadia

Posts: 166
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Well it came from factory order. I just checked my VO and it does indeed have +K302 in it but no signs of modules located with NCS. Very weird but in my CAS trace file I do see settings for alarm. I have buzzer_high_level and buzzer_low_level both set to wert_04. Can I change this value to wert_1 or wert_02 to make alarm louder?? What do u think. Is Wert_04 is loudest setting for alarm?
that's wierd because these are the numbers I changed to make it louder:

BUZZER_HIGH_LEVEL
wert_06 > wert_04
wert_07 > wert_05
wert_08

I don't know if it is recommended or not, but you could try adding wert_05 under wert_04
__________________
Alvine90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2012, 11:07 AM   #6
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,274
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
I am just puzzled by I have none of those modules
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 07:33 PM   #7
dj_b4l
Banned
 
Drives: E93 & E60
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 118
iTrader: (2)

did you find a solution to this i dont have idrive but have factory alarm but cant see dwai or dwas thanks
dj_b4l is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 07:40 PM   #8
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,274
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
For some strange reason my friend E93 that have been fitted with factory alarms, the modules do not show up on NCSexpert. To this day I have not heard of any reason as to why but others all have experienced the same thing with the E93!!
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 07:44 PM   #9
dj_b4l
Banned
 
Drives: E93 & E60
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 118
iTrader: (2)

found answer alarm sound settings are in CANS module
dj_b4l is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 08:09 PM   #10
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,274
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_b4l View Post
found answer alarm sound settings are in CANS module
CANS...I dont have that module when I look in NCSexpert??
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 08:50 PM   #11
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

I also had a customer recently come in with a 2009 I believe and found the CANS module to have alarm content and that solved it.

However I haven't seen it on most other E93's. Hit or miss
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST