E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Activating 6NR/BMW Apps/Connected Drive after Combox retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-12-2015, 12:37 AM   #1
dbworld4k
Banned
Canada
386
Rep
2,260
Posts

Drives: '12 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: YYZ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2002 BMW M5  [5.00]
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Exclamation Activating 6NR/BMW Apps/Connected Drive after Combox retrofit

Okay guys, I need some help please. I bought a new Sirius XM module and a Combox-Telematik off a wrecked 2013 E70 X5.

This is where I am at right now:

Canadian 2009 E92, retrofitted Sirius XM and Combox-Telematik hardware.
New build date used: 0910
Current VO: 609, 614, 615, 616, 644, 65 (Sirius XM) 6AA, 6AB, 6AL, 6FL, 6NF, 6NR, 6VC, 7SP
CIC software = C13

STEPS TAKEN:
1) Removed 612, 639, 693 and added 614, 615, 616, 655, 6AL, 6NF, 6NR, 6VC, 7SP using new build of 0910
2) FAWrite with the above to CAS and NFRM
3) SG_CODIEREN using blank .MAN file to CAS, KOMBI, CIC, MEDIA
4) Change Combox VIN to a European 614/615 enabled one using Tool32 via C_FG_SCHREIBE and C_FG_AUFTRAG
5) SG_CODIEREN MEDIA again, then change TELEMATIK-VIN to coding_vin via FSW_PSW.TRC
6) Changed Build Date back to the original 0609 of my car.

RESULTS:
  • Sirius XM successfully works when build changed back to 0609, but not if I leave it at 0610. I'm assuming this is because a 0610 CIC would have a built-in Sirius Tuner and therefore won't work with my external Sirius tuner in my trunk (if I leave it at 0610: under Radio -> Satellite Radio, all the Sirius Categories and Stations are blank, and all my Presets are blank and new ones cannot be saved). Or is there something else I am missing?
  • Combox successfully coded and BT audio works, as well as text message notifications under Office->Messages
  • CIC still shows BMW Assist under the main menu instead of Connected Drive. Why is that? How can I change this?
  • CIC's FSW_PSW.TRC does NOT show CONNECTED_DRIVE, ONLINE_BROWSER_C0D, ONLINE_BROWSER_LIVE parameters. They just don't exist in the TRC file. How do I get these to show up?

At tis stage, what am I doing wrong for Connected Drive to not show up?

Any information is VERY much appreciated!
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 02:35 AM   #2
Sensible_
Major
85
Rep
1,160
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Try coding to default using expert mode not blank MAN. And I believe date should be changed to 0311 as this is when 6NR became available for EXX chassis. (1114 has also been reported to have worked.)

Also, what is your current I-level? If it's updated with greater than v48 (I think) datens this feature may be protected with FSC lock.

If connected drive not appearing at all you need FCS code from dealer.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 03:29 AM   #3
Sensible_
Major
85
Rep
1,160
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Also, 633 may be suitable for your setup rather than 644. With 633 connected drive should show up in trc.

For VIN change the process is simple:

1. Create an SSD file for your car with your VIN in it.. (Make sure all the options are included so that NCS can load CMEDIA ECU.)
2. Open NCS in EXPERTENMOD ->VIN/FA from file.-><your SSD file>-> back.
3. Code CMEDIA

Some people also have to disconnect pin 2 with (644 option) of Combox with telematics re built in TCU.

To be honest makkan00 is best to assist. Hopefully he'll see this thread.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 11:26 AM   #4
dbworld4k
Banned
Canada
386
Rep
2,260
Posts

Drives: '12 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: YYZ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2002 BMW M5  [5.00]
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Also, 633 may be suitable for your setup rather than 644. With 633 connected drive should show up in trc.

For VIN change the process is simple:

1. Create an SSD file for your car with your VIN in it.. (Make sure all the options are included so that NCS can load CMEDIA ECU.)
2. Open NCS in EXPERTENMOD ->VIN/FA from file.-><your SSD file>-> back.
3. Code CMEDIA

Some people also have to disconnect pin 2 with (644 option) of Combox with telematics re built in TCU.

To be honest makkan00 is best to assist. Hopefully he'll see this thread.
I have already changed the VIN in CMEDIA using Tool32.

For whatever reason, I cannot write a FA with 633 no matter what build date I use. It gives me an error COAPI-FEHLER 1000 when I hit F6. I can use 644 without any issues.

I do not know how to work with SSDs.

0311 doesn't show Connected Drive under CIC either.

Last edited by dbworld4k; 10-12-2015 at 12:59 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 01:39 PM   #5
Sensible_
Major
85
Rep
1,160
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Did you try 1114 and then adding 633 option. Maybe PM makkan00...
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 01:45 PM   #6
dbworld4k
Banned
Canada
386
Rep
2,260
Posts

Drives: '12 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: YYZ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2002 BMW M5  [5.00]
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_
Did you try 1114 and then adding 633 option. Maybe PM makkan00...
Yup. No dice.

I will contact him. Thanks for your input thus far!
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 01:58 PM   #7
Sensible_
Major
85
Rep
1,160
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

No worries, I've only just started Combox / CIC / NBT stuff recently so will be interested to see how this stands out.

I think 633 refers to the TCU function of your telematic Combox which receives power from pin 2 I believe (ECALL). Maybe this is not connected? So 633 cannot be added?

I'm sure 633 give you connected drive option when CIC is codes back to VO.

Also to add 633 you must remove 644 first I guess...
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 03:55 PM   #8
dbworld4k
Banned
Canada
386
Rep
2,260
Posts

Drives: '12 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: YYZ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2002 BMW M5  [5.00]
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Yeah, I know you can only have one of 633 or 644. I have a Combox-Telematik not Combox-Media. I have PIN 2 connected.

In fact, PIN 1 and 2 are critical for power supply. PIN 2 is used for CMB-TELE and PIN 1 is for CMB-MEDIA if I recall. I couldn't get it to power up via PIN 1.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 04:02 PM   #9
Sensible_
Major
85
Rep
1,160
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Ah, I've just re read your first post. I think your CIC needs updating.

C13 is minimum but C16 is required for BMW Apps etc etc.

I suggested update CIC the. Code to default, maybe then the options appear in the trc file??
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 04:03 PM   #10
dbworld4k
Banned
Canada
386
Rep
2,260
Posts

Drives: '12 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: YYZ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2002 BMW M5  [5.00]
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Hmm... That would make sense as Connected Drive is based on CIC coding and I don't even see such a parameter in the TRC regardless of what build date I use.

I have no idea how to update the CIC. All I have is K+DCAN and ENet.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 04:16 PM   #11
wildcatcrazy
Lieutenant Colonel
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
210
Rep
1,530
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbworld4k
Hmm... That would make sense as Connected Drive is based on CIC coding and I don't even see such a parameter in the TRC regardless of what build date I use.

I have no idea how to update the CIC. All I have is K+DCAN and ENet.
You need a battery tender with constant voltage and preferably with an ICOM. Anything other than those two, you greatly risk bricking it, thus a painful/expensive headache afterwards.
__________________
JJ
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 04:30 PM   #12
Sensible_
Major
85
Rep
1,160
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbworld4k
Hmm... That would make sense as Connected Drive is based on CIC coding and I don't even see such a parameter in the TRC regardless of what build date I use.

I have no idea how to update the CIC. All I have is K+DCAN and ENet.
You are in a bit of a catch 22. Because of your Combox retrofit I don't think dealer level ISTA /P will be able to update your car.

I would head to a good Indy or get an ICOM A2 (and B) clone and update it as wildcatcrazy says, use a battery power supply.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2015, 04:43 PM   #13
dbworld4k
Banned
Canada
386
Rep
2,260
Posts

Drives: '12 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: YYZ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2002 BMW M5  [5.00]
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbworld4k
Hmm... That would make sense as Connected Drive is based on CIC coding and I don't even see such a parameter in the TRC regardless of what build date I use.

I have no idea how to update the CIC. All I have is K+DCAN and ENet.
You need a battery tender with constant voltage and preferably with an ICOM. Anything other than those two, you greatly risk bricking it, thus a painful/expensive headache afterwards.
Yup that's what I've heard in the past. I've reached out to someone local who I believe has an ICOM and we'll see how it goes. Hopefully this is all I need and the some more coding.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2015, 11:50 PM   #14
Jgcdude1
the bees knees!
United_States
4
Rep
280
Posts

Drives: 335i E93
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2003 E46 325Ci  [0.00]
2008 E92 328i  [0.00]
2011 E93 335i  [0.00]
Good luck, I will be interested in how yours turns out.

I have E93 11/10 production and have been trying to get connected drive on my vehicle as well. Icom MOST interface is the only way, I already bricked my cic one already, but was able to restore it.

From what I have learned,

- need cic16 flashed to your module
- production date change to 3/11
- write to VO , CAS and FRM the correct codes i.e. $6NR
__________________
335i E93 Le Mans Blue/BMW Performance Shifter
328i E92 Space Gray/BMW Performance Shifter/M-tech Lip/LED Halos
325Ci E46 Titanium Silver
Appreciate 1
      10-29-2015, 10:41 PM   #15
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
57
Rep
1,580
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Curious, I don't see 620/ Speech as added VO though it may not be an issue. What the other fellas are saying is true as well.

Trying 639 or 640 you may try instead of 644, 633. To date I haven't seen a US/CA Build with 633. Hmmm
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2016, 07:34 PM   #16
creamridgebimmer
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: bmw328xi
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: creamridge

iTrader: (0)

E90 does not accept $633 or $644

was able to change date to #1114 but still CAS does not accept 644 or 633,
already had 639 in my FA will remove it and add 644.Combox is a Telematics if that matters.

cic software is at C08.not sure if I will get BMW apps with older software.
Thanks

Last edited by creamridgebimmer; 02-28-2016 at 10:04 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-29-2016, 01:49 PM   #17
deepsrd
First Lieutenant
deepsrd's Avatar
7
Rep
324
Posts

Drives: 325i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin, IE

iTrader: (0)

You need higher than C08 to get BMW Apps..

Recommended version is C16 which corresponds to V42 I-level.
644 will work after that as well

Production dates depend on the daten files you use..
Open E89AT file which will list all the valid production dates..
For connected drives, 03/14 , 09/14 and 11/14 are all known to work..
__________________
Retrofits: CIC , 6FL , 6NR, 6NF , Combox ,L7 retrofit
Customisations:
GP thunder AL, Vinyl wrapped M-Sport Steering trim, Pliastidipped kidney grills
In Progress:
Eject box
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2016, 01:01 PM   #18
M3nity
Lieutenant
10
Rep
571
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: LIMBO

iTrader: (5)

I did a combox retrofit in a 2011 e70 and lost Pdc and camera functions anyone knows the coding procedure for this ?
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2016, 09:46 AM   #19
mxchris727
Second Lieutenant
mxchris727's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
279
Posts

Drives: E93 335i, E39 (Both 6-speed)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wilton, CT/Boston, MA

iTrader: (0)

The C16 software version is necessary for the applications to work without a $250 FSC code. Any version after requires the code.
__________________

BMW GT1 (INPA, DIS, WinKFP, ect..), ISTA/P & /D is up and running! PM me if you want to stop by and code your car.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST