E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Clown nose blink without alarm installed?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-10-2012, 07:20 AM   #1
aresh
First Lieutenant
21

 
Drives: 2006 550i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY


Posts: 370
iTrader: (1)

Clown nose blink without alarm installed?

wondering if it possible to have your clown nose blink without having to install the actual alarm, doing so through coding?
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 08:13 AM   #2
GB///M5
Captain
United_States
17

 
GB///M5's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i, F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago


Posts: 645
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M5  [5.00]
2013 M3 (Gone, neve ...  [5.00]
2008 335i  [5.00]
I was wondering the same I heard it can be done but couldn't find the answer of how to do it
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 08:55 AM   #3
anerbe
Major
16

 
Drives: 2013 S4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: BH, MI


Posts: 1,246
iTrader: (1)

I believe you need the alarm modules physically installed for the blink. It does not need to be coded, however.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 09:52 AM   #4
icuc
Banned
2

 
Drives: 2012 X5 35i Premium
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wisconsin


Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donnie-Bay
I was wondering the same I heard it can be done but couldn't find the answer of how to do it
Set DWA to aktiv
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 11:31 AM   #5
aresh
First Lieutenant
21

 
Drives: 2006 550i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY


Posts: 370
iTrader: (1)

Thanks in which module?
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 11:41 AM   #6
aresh
First Lieutenant
21

 
Drives: 2006 550i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY


Posts: 370
iTrader: (1)

My guess is your referring to the dwai module? Which settings should I make activ
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 12:25 PM   #7
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
314


 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York


Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
If you don't have alarm most definitely you won't have dwas and
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 12:25 PM   #8
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
314


 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York


Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
If you don't have alarm most definitely you won't have dwas and Dwai in the VO
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 12:52 PM   #9
aresh
First Lieutenant
21

 
Drives: 2006 550i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY


Posts: 370
iTrader: (1)

yea dont have those modules :./
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 01:17 PM   #10
icuc
Banned
2

 
Drives: 2012 X5 35i Premium
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wisconsin


Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

DWA_VERBAUT to aktiv in KOMBI / SPEG module
or
DWA to aktiv in GM5/CIC

I have tested this on e46 and works.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 02:57 PM   #11
aresh
First Lieutenant
21

 
Drives: 2006 550i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY


Posts: 370
iTrader: (1)

Thanks. Tried it out didn't work on the e92
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 03:07 PM   #12
aresh
First Lieutenant
21

 
Drives: 2006 550i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY


Posts: 370
iTrader: (1)

I think it's safe to say you need the actual device.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 03:10 PM   #13
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
101

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Yes it's possible on E46. Not on E9x. Someone made a jumper wire and circuit set and DIY to make it light up but may as well get the alarm.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 03:44 PM   #14
icuc
Banned
2

 
Drives: 2012 X5 35i Premium
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wisconsin


Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict
Yes it's possible on E46. Not on E9x. Someone made a jumper wire and circuit set and DIY to make it light up but may as well get the alarm.
I though it would work for E9x since it worked for E46 but turns out to be a bummer.

I was told this works for 2010 mini cooper.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 04:01 PM   #15
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
9

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )


Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

If you dont have oem alarm system you shouldnt have blinker under rear mirror, if you didnt have blinker you cant get it blink ;D
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 04:54 PM   #16
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
101

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
If you dont have oem alarm system you shouldnt have blinker under rear mirror, if you didnt have blinker you cant get it blink ;D
Wrong.
Up until just after 2009 MY, they are prewired and therefore have the clown nose blinker under the rear view, which is why people wonder if they can be turned on to blink.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 04:56 PM   #17
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
9

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )


Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

I dont know exact US spec, but in EU if you dont have oem alarm system you dont have blinker
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 05:06 PM   #18
techwhiz
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
21

 
techwhiz's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i Sedan - Arctic
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca


Posts: 1,655
iTrader: (3)

In U.S. cars pre 2009 (forget which date) the wiring is all there.
When you retrofit the alarm -> the siren goes in the shell well, the interior motion goes in the dome lights, and a switch under the hood.

After that, you still need coding but some basic things function.
Most notably, the clown nose starts to blink when the doors are locked.

I just did the install and had my car coded.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 05:23 PM   #19
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
101

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
I dont know exact US spec, but in EU if you dont have oem alarm system you dont have blinker
Member's UK FS ad. 3rd pic down. Alarm clown nose on 2008 with no alarm system installed.
They're there. Just not active without interior system install and coding.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=595318
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 06:24 PM   #20
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
9

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )


Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

Where you can see clown nose ?? Its fakr piece of black plactic, i already have it and using it to adjust mirror by rotating this knob

here is my actuall interior pic :

Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 06:39 PM   #21
TroyDeJ
Banned
32

 
Drives: around aimlessly
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island


Posts: 984
iTrader: (1)

that piece is supose to be red, i have no idea why yours is black
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2012, 07:25 PM   #22
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
101

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Strange how it seems everything differs by specific regions on these. I forgot about those. TroyDeJ its the mirror dimming knob for non-auto-dimming rear-view mirrors
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST