E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > COBB Stage 1+FMIC 401 Log help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-16-2012, 06:52 PM   #1
artsoasis
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, TX

iTrader: (2)

COBB Stage 1+FMIC 401 Log help

Hi,
I need some help analyzing my log I just made. I did a pull from 3rd to forth as instructed in the how to log diy. I just want to know if the tune is good for me.

Attached Files
File Type: zip stage 1+FMIC ST 401.zip (22.9 KB, 20 views)
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 07:19 PM   #2
AU335i
Captain
AU335i's Avatar
17
Rep
886
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, AL

iTrader: (3)

opened your .csv to try and regraph your run but honestly it looks like you aren't running stage 1 at all... your boost was peaking at 8lbs. make sure you are on Stage 1 on your Cobb AP
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 07:22 PM   #3
artsoasis
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, TX

iTrader: (2)

I'm not sure how to do that. I am certain I'm running stage 1+
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 07:24 PM   #4
rader1
Banned
34
Rep
2,197
Posts

 
Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

It looks like you barely climbed in the revs at all before shifting

I downloaded your attachment and this is how it looked on VD.
On VD it actually looks like your car really likes it and is running good(boost seems low.) There's no timing corrections and timing seems strong. Unfortunately, the log ony goes to 5Krpm so IDK how it looks near redline.

EDIT: now that AU335i mentions it, that does look like a stock tune datalog. I was wondering why the AFR was closer to 13 than the usual 12.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by rader1; 04-16-2012 at 07:33 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 07:26 PM   #5
AU335i
Captain
AU335i's Avatar
17
Rep
886
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, AL

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by artsoasis View Post
I'm not sure how to do that. I am certain I'm running stage 1+
should something like "Change Maps" > "Current Map"

and it should say Stage 1+ ... but like i said, it looks like you're on Stage 0 (stock map)
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 07:31 PM   #6
artsoasis
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, TX

iTrader: (2)

wow!, I'll check this out now.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 07:41 PM   #7
AU335i
Captain
AU335i's Avatar
17
Rep
886
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, AL

iTrader: (3)

this is what i saw when I graphed it... this is where it looks like you went WOT in 3rd from 3kish-6800 redline...


your boost curve resembles Stg. 0 (stock map) exactly... if you were running Stg. 1+ your boost should be pushing 15+ psi.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 07:50 PM   #8
rader1
Banned
34
Rep
2,197
Posts

 
Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

Hmm, i wonder why our graphs are so different? It must have something to do with the way VD auto edits the before/after out of the logs. Thats the first time i've seen it cut off a log mid pull
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 08:29 PM   #9
artsoasis
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, TX

iTrader: (2)

Update: I ran 2 more times today and will post those logs.
Attached Files
File Type: zip datalog17.zip (32.6 KB, 20 views)
File Type: zip datalog15.zip (18.8 KB, 18 views)

Last edited by artsoasis; 04-16-2012 at 09:16 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 09:40 PM   #10
artsoasis
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, TX

iTrader: (2)

Would there be a reason I would be hitting 10.5 psi on stage 1+ aggressive?
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 10:02 PM   #11
skatenc123
Captain
skatenc123's Avatar
6
Rep
648
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NC

iTrader: (1)

hmm idk why you would be boosting so low on stg1+ but if you could stop recording after you do the pull that would be much simpler to graph and look at.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 10:03 PM   #12
artsoasis
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, TX

iTrader: (2)

I'll do that for my runs tomorrow. I somehow think my ER charge pipe is causing a boost leak. I'll look into it tomorrow.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 10:04 PM   #13
rader1
Banned
34
Rep
2,197
Posts

 
Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

For some reason, your actual load is WAY below requested load and i'm sure that's a big part of why(or a result of) you're not hitting boost target. You should definitely email cobb.

Are you getting any codes or check engine lights? I find it hard to believe you're not triggering an underboost code...
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 10:18 PM   #14
artsoasis
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, TX

iTrader: (2)

I tried to do another run a few seconds ago and I got a boost leak code shown. I cleared the code and it went away. I tried another run and it came back. I'm definitely going to see wtf is going on with this charge pipe.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 10:22 PM   #15
rader1
Banned
34
Rep
2,197
Posts

 
Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by artsoasis View Post
I tried to do another run a few seconds ago and I got a boost leak code shown. I cleared the code and it went away. I tried another run and it came back. I'm definitely going to see wtf is going on with this charge pipe.
OK, now it makes sense. Double check all the connections and fittings. Make sure the o-ring in the throttle body isn't severed or something like that. FMIC connections can easily be a source of boost leaks aswell.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 10:27 PM   #16
artsoasis
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, TX

iTrader: (2)

I'll be sure to look at everything again tomorrow.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 10:32 PM   #17
artsoasis
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, TX

iTrader: (2)

Would Oil on my MAF have anything to do with this as well? I noticed that when I was installing my AR charge pipe.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2012, 10:38 PM   #18
rader1
Banned
34
Rep
2,197
Posts

 
Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

That's actually your TMAP sensor but that wouldn't cause it. It's normal for an oily film to develop inside the charge pipe and i'm sure the BMW engineers took this into account.
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2012, 05:09 AM   #19
woptang22
Major
woptang22's Avatar
23
Rep
1,092
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 BMW M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bristol Pa

iTrader: (1)

I see everyone talking about the boot being around 15psi or a bit higher when running the COBB stage 1+FMIC. Ive been using it now for a while, and I seem to get a lot higher boost. Yesterday I was monitoring my boost on the AP and it was hitting 18, and over 20 psi. Is this normal?
__________________
2009 E92 BMW M3.
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2012, 05:48 AM   #20
Simon76
Private
Simon76's Avatar
Sweden
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (1)

It's normal. Happens when shifting gear, not when pulling..
__________________

COBB Stg 2+, ETS FMIC, BMS DCI, VRSF DPs, FORGE DVs, BMS OCC, ER CP
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2012, 08:33 AM   #21
rader1
Banned
34
Rep
2,197
Posts

 
Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon76 View Post
It's normal. Happens when shifting gear, not when pulling..
+1
but you should email Cobb letting them know, they have that fixed for most ROM revisions.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST