E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Local Traffic RTTI



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-22-2007, 02:08 PM   #1
killer_bee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
258
Posts

 
Drives: '07 328i, '15 435i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Local Traffic RTTI

Does anyone have inside info on when we are getting this? I've seen the article indicating this would be available after the first quarter(I think) but haven't heard anything about it since. This could really come in handy.......
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2007, 09:29 PM   #2
msimon18
Retired
msimon18's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
868
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 s30i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Villages, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
You may already have it and not know it !!

I had an alarm put in yesterday - long story, but today they reloaded the SAME version of SW I had prior (25.02) and lo and behold suddenly RTTI information began to appear.


Prior to the update when I tried to access it it told me that there was no RTTI in my area.

Good luck !!
__________________

M3 GTR - 1/5 scale - 4.2 HP w/ Collari hydraulic brakes - would you believe ~80 MPH on straightaway !!
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2007, 11:53 PM   #3
killer_bee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
258
Posts

 
Drives: '07 328i, '15 435i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by msimon18 View Post
You may already have it and not know it !!

I had an alarm put in yesterday - long story, but today they reloaded the SAME version of SW I had prior (25.02) and lo and behold suddenly RTTI information began to appear.


Prior to the update when I tried to access it it told me that there was no RTTI in my area.

Good luck !!
Were you getting local street traffic info or just the highways???
I have RTTI showing for highways but was wondering when I would be able to get the feed for local surface street traffic info.

The other day I did see something weird though. The highway was backed up and Nav routed me through a 10 minute local street detour...which was also somewhat backed up(but not as bad as highway). Then I noticed on the map that the street was highlighted in red...kind of like google map traffic info. I wonder if it's gonna be color coded like that-
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2007, 12:45 AM   #4
poiney
Captain
15
Rep
798
Posts

 
Drives: 328i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SJ

iTrader: (0)

So far, I've only gotten high RTTI on highway, which causes the obvious problem that during stop and go rush hour traffic it always reroutes to the side streets that are equally jammed up. Fortunately, one can guess whether it's due to accident or not.
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2007, 02:28 AM   #5
purplewidow
Lieutenant Colonel
purplewidow's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,928
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (2)

i get that now to a degree...it works for sure not always a highway
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2007, 07:47 AM   #6
Cabby
Private First Class
1
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: JAX

iTrader: (0)

Is it pulling information based on what radio stations you have preset? If I change my presets the RT choices change. How is it getting this information?
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2007, 08:16 AM   #7
n5160u
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
158
Posts

 
Drives: E93
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 E93  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabby View Post
Is it pulling information based on what radio stations you have preset? If I change my presets the RT choices change. How is it getting this information?
Although RTTI may be on several commercial stations depending on your area, the stations you have preset will not affect how RTTI works because the RTTI has its own dedicated tuner. Out here in Northern California the RTTI info is provided by CALTRANS and as near as I can tell there are no local entities like cities providing traffic information at this time. The traffic information they provide is sent out by a third party supplier and they charge monthly access fees to use their data to most users like owners of Magellan or Garmin nav systems by using an addressable lock-out system similer to the one Serius or XM use. I believe the BMW RTTI is non addressable so it can't be told to stop receiving traffic info.
__________________
If It Says Pratt And Whitney On The Outside
It Better Say Martin Baker On The Inside
I saw a book titled "Sex for Dummies" and wondered why anyone would teach dumb people how to reproduce?
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2007, 08:37 AM   #8
Cabby
Private First Class
1
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: JAX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n5160u View Post
Although RTTI may be on several commercial stations depending on your area, the stations you have preset will not affect how RTTI works because the RTTI has its own dedicated tuner. Out here in Northern California the RTTI info is provided by CALTRANS and as near as I can tell there are no local entities like cities providing traffic information at this time. The traffic information they provide is sent out by a third party supplier and they charge monthly access fees to use their data to most users like owners of Magellan or Garmin nav systems by using an addressable lock-out system similer to the one Serius or XM use. I believe the BMW RTTI is non addressable so it can't be told to stop receiving traffic info.
I have several in my list to choose from, does it make a difference which ones I choose? Often they are labelled as a local radio station which usually is preset #1
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 01:30 AM   #9
killer_bee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
258
Posts

 
Drives: '07 328i, '15 435i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)



When the hell are we getting the local traffic feed?
BMW & Clear Channel, hook us up!
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 04:20 AM   #10
n5160u
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
158
Posts

 
Drives: E93
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 E93  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by killer_bee View Post


When the hell are we getting the local traffic feed?
BMW & Clear Channel, hook us up!
When you see the TV cameras on light poles watching local roads and you also see the inductive loops buried in the road surface to monitor the traffic flow, you may start getting traffic info on that monitored section of road.
Until you see those signs of traffic monitoring going in at the roads in question give it up. Most communities are too broke to spare the money to do it. The Feds will cough up the funding if the commute traffic in the area is congested enough to warrant the creation and implementation a regional transportation corridor.
Clear Channel only rebroadcasts traffic information they get from external sources. They do not generate the traffic flow information internally. In Calif they get most of their traffic data from the California Dept of Transportation (CALTRANS)
The CHP Traffic Incident Reporting System at:
http://cad.chp.ca.gov/
And turn it into something like this:
http://www.dot.ca.gov/traffic/
Notice that only congested areas of the state are monitored.
Or this:
http://video.dot.ca.gov/
__________________
If It Says Pratt And Whitney On The Outside
It Better Say Martin Baker On The Inside
I saw a book titled "Sex for Dummies" and wondered why anyone would teach dumb people how to reproduce?
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 09:51 AM   #11
droptop335
Captain
United_States
9
Rep
707
Posts

 
Drives: '06 330i (E90), '07 335i (E93)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Back in SF Bay Area (Tri-Valley), WooHoo!

iTrader: (1)

So, will RTTI reroute you only if you are using the NAV system to get to a destination? I know I get RTTI info on the freeways here in Cali, as I can see the little black triangles show up on the map during slow traffic, but I have yet to have the system re-route me onto side streets. On second thought, I guess it can't reroute if it doesn't know where I'm headed! Guess I just answered my own question...
__________________
Alpine White/Coral Red/Gray Poplar Convertible Sport/Prem/Step/Comfort/Nav/Sirius

By the way people: USE YOUR F&*#ING TURN SIGNALS! Pass the word.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 11:27 AM   #12
bavarian19
General
bavarian19's Avatar
United_States
235
Rep
18,815
Posts

 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: VA

iTrader: (23)

RTTI only lists major highways for me. It can reroute around the traffic, but it always looks like the other route will take me even longer...

If it gets a local feed, and that feed is updated QUICKLY, then I think it would be a fantastic idea...
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 11:38 AM   #13
killer_bee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
258
Posts

 
Drives: '07 328i, '15 435i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n5160u View Post
When you see the TV cameras on light poles watching local roads and you also see the inductive loops buried in the road surface to monitor the traffic flow, you may start getting traffic info on that monitored section of road.
Until you see those signs of traffic monitoring going in at the roads in question give it up. Most communities are too broke to spare the money to do it. The Feds will cough up the funding if the commute traffic in the area is congested enough to warrant the creation and implementation a regional transportation corridor.
Clear Channel only rebroadcasts traffic information they get from external sources. They do not generate the traffic flow information internally. In Calif they get most of their traffic data from the California Dept of Transportation (CALTRANS)
The CHP Traffic Incident Reporting System at:
http://cad.chp.ca.gov/
And turn it into something like this:
http://www.dot.ca.gov/traffic/
Notice that only congested areas of the state are monitored.
Or this:
http://video.dot.ca.gov/


I was refering to this:

http://www.bmwcca.org/node/6842

I thought this "Smart Dust Network" was supposed to be turned on soon. It would cover surface streets and help make the existing traffic coverage more accurate, without the need of a navi update.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 11:48 AM   #14
killer_bee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
258
Posts

 
Drives: '07 328i, '15 435i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hm then again maybe that's where I'm wrong. I was assuming that Smart Dust would cover surface streets.
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2007, 01:08 PM   #15
chicagosteve
New Member
chicagosteve's Avatar
1
Rep
29
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 e92 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: chicago

iTrader: (0)

According to this link, Inrix is only making version 3.0 of its system in August, which includes the Smart Dust Network information.



http://lbs.gpsworld.com/gpslbs/artic....jsp?id=447417
__________________
Retired: 2007 e92 328xi
Dec 4 ED: 2008 e92 328xi Sparkling Graphite, Saddle, Premium, Sport, Step, paddles, Nav, Heated Seats, PDC, I-pod/USB.
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2007, 03:04 AM   #16
mactigger
New Member
0
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F30 328i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

Inrix works with certain radio stations as far as I can tell on their website. So many people are reporting great traffic info in the Southern California area but mine unfortunately sucks. When there is major traffic my navigation shows nothing. Should I be tuning it to a certain channel or just letting it pick on its own?

Really hope this works better than it has been.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2007, 08:24 PM   #17
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
rtti sucks balls and the HD radio also sucks balls. plus i don't even use it because i have the Ipod adapter..why listen to HD fm if you have over 2gb worth of songs@@!!!!
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2007, 10:47 AM   #18
Rugs
Lieutenant
Rugs's Avatar
12
Rep
501
Posts

 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southeast U.S.

iTrader: (2)

It depends on the sation that's broadcasting the HD signal. I'm in the Atlanta area and not all the HD stations have the same quality sound. A few are about the same as regular FM Stereo, but many of the others are a night & day difference. I'm really impressed with the HD Radio & I also have the my ipod going through the Logic-7...
__________________
"WorldsQuickest 335i E93"
SMART-Top /One-Off Opaque Vinyl EYELIDS / 30% TINT / A.C.SCHNITZER Pedals / "M" Tri-Color Wheel w/Paddles / EIBACH Pro-Kit / AKEBONA F. & EBC RED-STUFF R.Dustless Pads / Drilled & Slotted ROTORS / MIRO M6 Reps / MICHELIN PS2's / U.R.Coated DP's / CYBA-QUAD Exhaust Tips / BMS-TUNED...
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2007, 11:23 AM   #19
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
18
Rep
1,617
Posts

 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicagosteve View Post
According to this link, Inrix is only making version 3.0 of its system in August, which includes the Smart Dust Network information.



http://lbs.gpsworld.com/gpslbs/artic....jsp?id=447417
This was the original plan (07-SEP-2006):

"Clear Channel's delivery of Inrix-based data will come in three phases and blend with Clear Channel's existing traffic reporting.

"The first phase, now available on most 2007 BMWs, uses Inrix technology to clean up data coming in through other sources, such as roadway sensors (which can fail, then start working again), police reports, and traffic helicopters.

The second phase will integrate the 625,000-plus Dust Network vehicle reports. BMW and Clear Channel say they want to be sure it works before making the Dust Network part of the real-time traffic feed. Cars that get the Clear Channel traffic feed now, such as BMWs and dashtop portable navigation devices, will be able to receive that information with existing products.

The third phase, predicting traffic flow along your route, will likely require new hardware, and is a year or two away."

Phase II - "Smart Dust" was supposed to be available at the end of 1st quarter this year. It doesn't appear to be available yet in Atlanta. (I do get construction reports from city streets however.)

Phase III (v3.0), presumably, will not be available in iDrive since it requires new hardware.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST