E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > How do you update the ECU/Module software??



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-10-2012, 06:17 AM   #45
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,066
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
I would not suggest updating the car without an ICOM or OPPS head. It's not worth the risk and unless there is a preexisting problem, there is no reason for the update.

CAS, DME, and EGS are the three modules that will prevent the car from starting if programming fails.
Thanks Mike for your input.
Actually we have added cruise control to the car and since then it is asking to update DSC module and hence I asked this question.
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-02-2014, 02:56 PM   #46
Najt
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: e92 325D 2008
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Czech Republic

Posts: 220
iTrader: (0)

how can i get list of zb numbers in inpa?

I will pres shift+ f8 to get e89 chasis..and there is no option like all ecus...
Najt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-02-2014, 06:42 PM   #47
Sensible_
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 439
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Najt
how can i get list of zb numbers in inpa?

I will pres shift+ f8 to get e89 chasis..and there is no option like all ecus...
For my INPA setup it's:

1. Shift + F8 (for e90)
2. Select 'Functional Jobs' from popup.
3. F3 (User Identification Field - UIF)

There you will see a list of modules with zb number.
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2014, 10:54 AM   #48
dbworld4k
Gearhead
 
Drives: E92 335i + E39 M5
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: [X] Chicago [ ] Toronto

Posts: 490
iTrader: (0)

I obtained my ZB number for my ECU but when I go into WinkFP to select it, it's not there under MSD80. I'm using the lates SPDaten 50.2 files.

Any help?
dbworld4k is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2014, 04:03 PM   #49
cryptomit
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: owned 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Rotterdam

Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)

use comfort mode, it will propse proper version.
cryptomit is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2014, 12:47 AM   #50
dbworld4k
Gearhead
 
Drives: E92 335i + E39 M5
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: [X] Chicago [ ] Toronto

Posts: 490
iTrader: (0)

I am in Comfort Mode.
__________________

'09 335i Alpine White + Coral Red || '02 ///M5 Imola Red + Imola Red
dbworld4k is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2014, 03:27 AM   #51
cryptomit
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: owned 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Rotterdam

Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)

Don't try to find your ZB, just click comfort, select MSD group and click done, enter VIN and program.
cryptomit is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-22-2014, 03:58 PM   #52
larry_bml
Private
 
larry_bml's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320d Steptronic 2007
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

Hello, I have another problem when trying to update DDE and EGS on mu E90 :
I retrofited CIC on my car, and I can not make update with ISTA/P, but it shows me I have update files for my DDE and EGS, but ISTA/P won't let me update even in EXPERT MODE, I try to disable BO, CIC, ... REPLACE functions, but when I hit Determinate mesures plan, it will place the red dots on these modules again.
So, I try to upgrade via WINKFP, but even I chose ZB, or directly UPDATE ZB, it always shoes me the same number as my DDE ZB already has.

I use ISTA/P 2.52.3 and find update, and WINKFP with 2.53.3 files and shoes me the same ZB, is this correct? Please help!!!
larry_bml is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-22-2014, 04:29 PM   #53
Sensible_
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 439
iTrader: (0)

Just choose winkfp comfort mode. Exact same instructions as cryptomit wrote above.

Maybe your ISTA is broken? Are you using an ICOM?

Also, when updating DDE don't forget to also update EKP.
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-22-2014, 05:22 PM   #54
larry_bml
Private
 
larry_bml's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320d Steptronic 2007
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

Thank you for your fast answer.
Yes I have an ICOM too, witch I use with ISTA/P, but I used D-CAN interface for updating DDE and EGS with WINKFP. I didn't know that I have to update EKP too. But I will do it tomorrow.

ISTA/P that I use worked for other cars (without CIC retrofit) but on my car ....

I tried exactly as you said : CONFORT Mode, Update ZSub, DDE604, Enter VIN, Done, Upgrade, and always return the same ZB number witch I already have installed on my DDE, EGS.
But when I go to Chose Z-Sub, in DDE604 (for example) I find another bigger number that are over my ZB number. It's that OK?
larry_bml is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2014, 02:21 AM   #55
Sensible_
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 439
iTrader: (0)

ISTA P has some problems with retrofit.

If winkfp is telling you the same zb number for update then the module is already latest for your sp-daten.

You cannot just choose a different file as it will be for a different variant. BMW has different power firmware for each DDE etc.

Why do you want to update it anyway?
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2014, 03:36 AM   #56
larry_bml
Private
 
larry_bml's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320d Steptronic 2007
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

I had a chiptuning file on my DDE and the car was makeing to much smoke ans was taking to much fuel and I wanted it back to factory
larry_bml is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2014, 12:44 PM   #57
Sensible_
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 439
iTrader: (0)

I see. Then just flash with winkfp to zb number is suggests in comfort mode. Your map will be ovetwritten and stock settings replaced...

Who did your map?
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2014, 01:31 PM   #58
larry_bml
Private
 
larry_bml's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320d Steptronic 2007
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

My map was made by some guy here in Romania, I don't know exactly what he did, but the car was moving good. Now after writing stock file is a big difference. But I prefer little power then to much smoke. And I think that the fuel consumption was very high.
larry_bml is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST