E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY: Retrofitting a Professional HU with USB and Bluetooth



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-05-2013, 11:09 AM   #199
ripper0306
Private First Class
ripper0306's Avatar
France
1
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i MY08 - SGM
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: French Riviera (South of France)

iTrader: (0)

Yes I can read and write with NCS Expert (You mean like coding other functions with the PSW profile, Angel Eyes etc, etc..)
I already changed few options (Chimes/Gongs removal)

When I try to READ the RAD2, I get an error (but I have the trc anyway)
Same thing when I try to code it (Basic functions and then SG_Codieren)
(Wrong cable)

When I put $644, and read the RAD2 with READ, in the TRC file, I have 'Bluetooth' - aktiv
and RAD2_Bluetooth - aktiv
USB too.

I really don't understand...
I will re-read your posts on the topic.

Last edited by ripper0306; 04-05-2013 at 11:19 AM.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2013, 04:18 AM   #200
kris1973
Enlisted Member
Poland
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: e90 LCI, 318i N43
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

hello, if I add vo $ 663, $ 6FL, $ 6NN, I have to change even in rad2 bluetooth and ulf on activ you no longer need? How to add vin to the radio?
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2013, 04:21 AM   #201
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
47
Rep
1,847
Posts

Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kris1973 View Post
hello, if I add vo $ 663, $ 6FL, $ 6NN, I have to change even in rad2 bluetooth and ulf on activ you no longer need? How to add vin to the radio?
You shouldn't need to do any coding to the radio itself, aside from maybe an SG_RESET job, which you should probably do for the whole car anyway.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2013, 06:46 AM   #202
kris1973
Enlisted Member
Poland
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: e90 LCI, 318i N43
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

I have a E90 LCI in 2009, radio 05/2011, there is no need to encode or append it works bt vo, voice commands, aux. I do not have cable or jack aux / usb to check it out, I'm waiting on those parts of the drive to write. An error has occurred in the body MASK C56D it is bound to not add all vin to the radio?
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2013, 03:09 PM   #203
woodpecka
Major
woodpecka's Avatar
Canada
19
Rep
1,029
Posts

Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper0306 View Post
Yes I can read and write with NCS Expert (You mean like coding other functions with the PSW profile, Angel Eyes etc, etc..)
I already changed few options (Chimes/Gongs removal)

When I try to READ the RAD2, I get an error (but I have the trc anyway)
Same thing when I try to code it (Basic functions and then SG_Codieren)
(Wrong cable)

When I put $644, and read the RAD2 with READ, in the TRC file, I have 'Bluetooth' - aktiv
and RAD2_Bluetooth - aktiv
USB too.

I really don't understand...
I will re-read your posts on the topic.
Perfect, you can read / write.

Based on my knowledge, there is 2 type of situation caused by the radio or the car build....you can't read/write but just adding the option to the car and resetting the radio will give you the new functions

or

like me and you, you can't get the new functions by only adding the VO but you can do it manually.

So, there is my MAN file. Because you could have different car setup, I suggest that you compare it to your and keep only what you need. As I have a E91, you will see some specific sound parameters for my car.

Let me know how it works!
Attached Files
File Type: txt FSW_PSW_USB_BT_Voice_manual_francais.txt (3.1 KB, 218 views)
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2013, 05:07 PM   #204
ripper0306
Private First Class
ripper0306's Avatar
France
1
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i MY08 - SGM
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: French Riviera (South of France)

iTrader: (0)

Mine is really different from yours
I don't see the 'RAD2_bluetooth', 'bluetooth' nor the 'RAD2_usb' in your Man file...
I tried this morning to change settings manually, but it doesn't work either...

I'll post my MAN file tomorrow.

And another question like the one I asked to you on BMW-one, did you swap the wiring on the VW mic to make it compatible ? I have the VW mic too.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2013, 10:44 PM   #205
woodpecka
Major
woodpecka's Avatar
Canada
19
Rep
1,029
Posts

Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper0306
Mine is really different from yours
I don't see the 'RAD2_bluetooth', 'bluetooth' nor the 'RAD2_usb' in your Man file...
I tried this morning to change settings manually, but it doesn't work either...

I'll post my MAN file tomorrow.

And another question like the one I asked to you on BMW-one, did you swap the wiring on the VW mic to make it compatible ? I have the VW mic too.
My radio is a 2URAD (not 2RAD) so could be different than yours.

For the VW Mic, I just put it on the right connectors. I don't understand what you mean by swapping them?
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2013, 12:31 AM   #206
Shagx
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: E90 325
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Write the vo and then write a blank man file to your rad2 so the radio picks up the vo from your car.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2013, 11:11 AM   #207
ripper0306
Private First Class
ripper0306's Avatar
France
1
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i MY08 - SGM
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: French Riviera (South of France)

iTrader: (0)

Yes Woodpecka, I was talking about put it in the right connectors, I did it too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shagx View Post
Write the vo and then write a blank man file to your rad2 so the radio picks up the vo from your car.
I just tested that.
Here is what I did with my actual FA :
E82_#1114&GCSW%0A22*UC71$1CA$1CB$1CD$205$249$2MR$2 PA$321$337$441$468$473$481$4MG$502$522$534$540$548 $663$6FL$6NN$704$760$775$7XA$845$854$863$884-A080
(you can see $663 / $6FL / $6NN)

I injected a blank FSW PSW in the 2RAD module.
We can see 'Bluetooth' and 'RAD_Bluetooth' are disabled... I don't know why because $6NN is written in the FA...

Then I manually modified this settings to 'aktiv' and coded it to the 2RAD module.

Same result, still no Bluetooth in the menu (ignition started)...
This is really weird.

I added the FSW PSW result (after injected a blank file) and the one I modified to make BT works.
Attached Files
File Type: txt FSW_PSW .txt (230.4 KB, 457 views)
File Type: txt Manually Modified FSW_PSW .txt (230.4 KB, 388 views)
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2013, 12:49 PM   #208
woodpecka
Major
woodpecka's Avatar
Canada
19
Rep
1,029
Posts

Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper0306

I just tested that.
Here is what I did with my actual FA :
E82_#1114&GCSW%0A22*UC71$1CA$1CB$1CD$205$249$2MR$2 PA$321$337$441$468$473$481$4MG$502$522$534$540$548 $663$6FL$6NN$704$760$775$7XA$845$854$863$884-A080
(you can see $663 / $6FL / $6NN)

I injected a blank FSW PSW in the 2RAD module.
We can see 'Bluetooth' and 'RAD_Bluetooth' are disabled... I don't know why because $6NN is written in the FA...

Then I manually modified this settings to 'aktiv' and coded it to the 2RAD module.

Same result, still no Bluetooth in the menu (ignition started)...
This is really weird.

I added the FSW PSW result (after injected a blank file) and the one I modified to make BT works.
Have you changed the build date a more recent one?
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2013, 12:54 PM   #209
woodpecka
Major
woodpecka's Avatar
Canada
19
Rep
1,029
Posts

Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpecka
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripper0306

I just tested that.
Here is what I did with my actual FA :
E82_#1114&GCSW%0A22*UC71$1CA$1CB$1CD$205$249$2MR$2 PA$321$337$441$468$473$481$4MG$502$522$534$540$548 $663$6FL$6NN$704$760$775$7XA$845$854$863$884-A080
(you can see $663 / $6FL / $6NN)

I injected a blank FSW PSW in the 2RAD module.
We can see 'Bluetooth' and 'RAD_Bluetooth' are disabled... I don't know why because $6NN is written in the FA...

Then I manually modified this settings to 'aktiv' and coded it to the 2RAD module.

Same result, still no Bluetooth in the menu (ignition started)...
This is really weird.

I added the FSW PSW result (after injected a blank file) and the one I modified to make BT works.
Have you changed the build date a more recent one?
Ok, I saw you have #1114. Does it make sense to have 14?

Try somehing else like #1111 or #1010
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2013, 01:45 PM   #210
ripper0306
Private First Class
ripper0306's Avatar
France
1
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i MY08 - SGM
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: French Riviera (South of France)

iTrader: (0)

I tried with 0311 and 0911 too... before that.
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2013, 05:07 AM   #211
kris1973
Enlisted Member
Poland
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: e90 LCI, 318i N43
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

You have to change the vin on the radio, if I bought used with winkfp? If so, this must be done on the ignition with power rectifier?
Regards
Krzysztof
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2013, 08:19 AM   #212
ripper0306
Private First Class
ripper0306's Avatar
France
1
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i MY08 - SGM
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: French Riviera (South of France)

iTrader: (0)

How can I do that ?
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 04:54 AM   #213
Gav-d3
New Member
Gav-d3's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: Alpina D3
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cambridge, England

iTrader: (0)

Hi
I have a 2007 e90 pre LCI with the Professional HU
It doesn't have USB or bluetooth just the AUX input with old style gong !

Can I upgrade this without too much work ?

Any help would be great !
__________________

D3 MT - #612 in Montegoblau
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2013, 01:07 PM   #214
kris1973
Enlisted Member
Poland
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: e90 LCI, 318i N43
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotwheels View Post
Hello all !
I have just received a completely new unit (65129268810) with Bluetooth and MOST.
I have tested it and I don't know if the unit is broken or just new and need coding at dealership ?
When I turn on the unit, the screen is all orange like a display test function...
So I can't use it like that
The radio is new from BMW dealership.

- broken ?
Or
- new and need coding ?
hi, I have a similar symptom of radio, how to you handled? The radio was broken, exchanged with a new one if something was connected? Regards Christopher
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2013, 12:02 PM   #215
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
127
Rep
3,976
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

I am guessing this US head unit (with HD radio) would work?

EDIT: DO NOT use the above part numbers (there have been noise issues unrelated to this thread

US Spec! - Includes: Sirius+HD Radio+BT+USB 6FL
__________________
WTB - Used - 1x Blizzak LM-60 225/45/17

Last edited by taibanl; 09-13-2014 at 07:03 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2013, 03:02 PM   #216
lavar56
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: BMW E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Swindon

iTrader: (0)

My new head unit has DAB built in as well as USB/BT which is great. If i get a new diversity antenna to support the DAB i need to run a cable from the antenna to the new HU. Any ideas how this can be done? Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2013, 08:56 AM   #217
Frankieflow
New Member
Frankieflow's Avatar
0
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: E92 325i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cork,Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Superb thread.I have bought the HU,usb/aux and coded the car.All is well but because I originally had bluetooth (ulf) module in the boot.I know the ulf can now be removed and the optic cable capped,my question is,can I intercept the mic cable anywhere that already exists in the dome light and connect it directly to the HU?
Regards,

Frank.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2013, 11:28 PM   #218
tov.Saahov
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Russia

iTrader: (0)

Hello dear!
I have a car E90 03/2011, stood Radio BMW Professional, I decided to change a BMW Professional USB and Bluetooth (12/2010).
So, when encoding at me out this error:
"Look at CABI.ERR and ERROR.LOG
COAPI-2020: SG antwortet nicht IFH-0009: SG nicht angeschlossen oder meldet sich nicht RAD2.
COAPI-2020: SG antwortet nicht SG-codieren"

I have read the entire forum, but, unfortunately, did not understand how to fix this error ... ((
In other forums offer to exchange diagnostic cable INPA. On the ICOM or OPS. They justify this by saying that INPA do not miss the big packet data rad2 and MULF2. Help please! Thanks for earlier!
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2013, 09:02 AM   #219
Frankieflow
New Member
Frankieflow's Avatar
0
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: E92 325i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cork,Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Anybody got an answer for me?Im mid install and just missing the mic?
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2013, 06:21 AM   #220
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
25
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankieflow View Post
Anybody got an answer for me?Im mid install and just missing the mic?
Hi Frank,

If you are retrofitting a new HU with USB and Bluetooth built in, you can get rid of your old ULF (the old bluetooth ecu located at your trunk)
It does not matter what you do with the old optic lead but better if your close the MOST ring using a cap as you said.

Of course you can use your old mic. You have to identify the wires which are routed to the trunk (they go by the passenger side near the fuse box).

There is no part number for the wire, I had to make it by my own with a pair of wires as I said in my DIY. It does not matter what wire you use but better if you buy one 'shielded'

I think the best solution is cut your old mic cable near the fuse box or the 'A' pillar and solder it to another wire routed to the HU.

Your old cable has 3 conductors, you are going to use only 2. Possitive and shield.

Mic 1 - HU 1 (Inner wire)
Mic 2 - HU 6 (Shield of the wire)

Regards.
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST