E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > this navigation system is a joke......



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-24-2007, 04:50 PM   #1
tomdlgns
Private First Class
1
Rep
137
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (0)

this navigation system is a joke......

I swear to god, i have had it the BMWs shitty ass navigation system. the controls are great, but the saved data or stored data on the disc is just garbage/horse shit.

out of my last 5 destinations, 4 of them have NOT been in the system. and all these places that i have been to were easily found on my old pioneer unit that is sitting inside my closet right now.

there is no way i just pick all the destinations that are not stored on the disk. these places have been around forever...

and all this talk of having to pay for the upgrade at the BMW dealer AND keeping your car overnight....this is just wrong and unfair.

vent=done.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2007, 05:18 PM   #2
Two Sheds
First Lieutenant
Canada
6
Rep
358
Posts

 
Drives: Mini Cooper JCW
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

I too am dissapointed with the nav system. In this age not being able to search by name is just nuts. If it were a stand alone unit it wouldn't sell a single unit.

It's good if you know the address, but if you are trying to search for a nearby store it's useless, even if it's a major chain.

The map disks do not seem to be that up to date either. I have just moved into a house that is about 18 months old and the street is not on the 2007 nav disk.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2007, 07:20 PM   #3
poiney
Captain
15
Rep
798
Posts

 
Drives: 328i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Two Sheds View Post
I too am dissapointed with the nav system. In this age not being able to search by name is just nuts. If it were a stand alone unit it wouldn't sell a single unit.
yup. pretty much sums it up.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2007, 07:24 PM   #4
tomdlgns
Private First Class
1
Rep
137
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (0)

The funny part is, I had the address for all of the places that I was going to. This is just crap.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2007, 07:27 PM   #5
uhaulball
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,164
Posts

 
Drives: e90 330xi
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (11)

Send a message via AIM to uhaulball
Quote:
Originally Posted by Two Sheds View Post
I too am dissapointed with the nav system. In this age not being able to search by name is just nuts. If it were a stand alone unit it wouldn't sell a single unit.

It's good if you know the address, but if you are trying to search for a nearby store it's useless, even if it's a major chain.

The map disks do not seem to be that up to date either. I have just moved into a house that is about 18 months old and the street is not on the 2007 nav disk.
his system is vastly different than yours. you can search by name with the new programs. i know the difference first hand, i recently updated.
__________________
'06 bsm e90 330xi : 18" VMR CSL : KW V3 : GruppeM Rep Intake : UUC/Corsa Catback : Hartge Lip : ACS Roof Spoiler
OEM CF Trunk Spoiler : CF Emblems. Pillars. Mirror. Grille : LUXER12 led plate : V1 Hardwired : OG.longtran e90post sticker! circa 2005
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2007, 07:30 PM   #6
tomdlgns
Private First Class
1
Rep
137
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (0)

I'd like to update as well but I heard if they don't think you need the upgrade you need to pay for it. So I guess if I bitch about the navi then that should get the upgrade for free. I would need a loaner though, since they need the car overnight.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2007, 07:36 PM   #7
Railgun
Major
Railgun's Avatar
United Kingdom
16
Rep
1,373
Posts

 
Drives: FD, CBR600RR, R56 JCW
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via ICQ to Railgun Send a message via AIM to Railgun Send a message via MSN to Railgun Send a message via Yahoo to Railgun Send a message via Skype™ to Railgun
What town?

And I have to play Devil's advocate here...if you know where these places are, why are you trying to set them up in nav anyway?
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2007, 07:40 PM   #8
tomdlgns
Private First Class
1
Rep
137
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (0)

I like to put them into the navi to see if it finds the location. If my 3 year old pioneer unit can find these and the BMWs can't, then something isn't right in my eyes.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2007, 07:56 PM   #9
picus
Brigadier General
picus's Avatar
Canada
55
Rep
4,176
Posts

 
Drives: e92 SG 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Weird. I am not a huge fan of not being able to search by name (srsly lame), but I've yet to have it not find a location and I use it 2-3 times a day for work. I've probably input 1,000 locations already.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2007, 09:54 PM   #10
urnone
Major
urnone's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,015
Posts

 
Drives: Black Sapphire 335i E92
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Miami, Floriduhhh

iTrader: (2)

oh great... im used to my acura navi which kicks ass....
__________________
Mods: Painted Reflectors, GP Thunder Angels, Rear Fogs, 20% Tints, Front Aero Lip, Alarm, Black Layovers, Pearlescent Brake Handle, Debadge, ACS Roofspoiler, LED license plate, 6000k HID & HID Fogs, LED footwell mod
Click to see my BMW plate collection

Appreciate 0
      06-25-2007, 08:57 AM   #11
tomdlgns
Private First Class
1
Rep
137
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhaulball View Post
his system is vastly different than yours. you can search by name with the new programs. i know the difference first hand, i recently updated.
how did you upgrade it? i mean, i know the dealer does it, but did you have to pay for it?
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2007, 11:17 AM   #12
SteveMD
Colonel
SteveMD's Avatar
United_States
48
Rep
2,428
Posts

 
Drives: '12 X5 50i, '11 GTI DSG
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Raventown!

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2012 X5 50i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomdlgns View Post

and all this talk of having to pay for the upgrade at the BMW dealer AND keeping your car overnight....this is just wrong and unfair.

vent=done.

The Progman upgrade has absolutely NOTHING to do with the data that is on the nav DVD. That is researched and compled by Navteq who do it for many many GPS manufacturers and other companies like Google who use it in their maps.

Do the places you cannot find appear on Google Maps?

Sounds like you need a newer map DVD not a software upgrade.
__________________
2006 E90 330i (retired)
2009 E90 335i (retired)
2012 E70 X5 50i M Sport, JB Stage 1, 4.6 secs 0-60.
2011 VW GTI/DSG
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2007, 11:45 AM   #13
tomdlgns
Private First Class
1
Rep
137
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMD View Post
The Progman upgrade has absolutely NOTHING to do with the data that is on the nav DVD. That is researched and compled by Navteq who do it for many many GPS manufacturers and other companies like Google who use it in their maps.

Do the places you cannot find appear on Google Maps?

Sounds like you need a newer map DVD not a software upgrade.
yes, i was able to find my location on google maps when the bmw didnt find it.

i realize the info is on a disc, but i read that with the upgrade you can search by names and not have to go through the categories. also, i read that the menus were a bit quicker. sometimes mine pauses for 5-10 seconds, after i press a button or select a new menu, while it thinks.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2007, 12:21 PM   #14
stingq
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: GS350
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
with the upgrade you can search by names and not have to go through the categories
I thought with the new upgrade, you still have to go through categories to search by names. I'm I wrong?
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2007, 12:37 PM   #15
tomdlgns
Private First Class
1
Rep
137
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stingq View Post
I thought with the new upgrade, you still have to go through categories to search by names. I'm I wrong?
that would suck
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2007, 11:37 PM   #16
poiney
Captain
15
Rep
798
Posts

 
Drives: 328i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stingq View Post
I thought with the new upgrade, you still have to go through categories to search by names. I'm I wrong?
yup, so its a minor improvement. I did the upgrade because I had some legitimate problems. Whether the upgrade feels like one depends on how old your last unit was.

Even if we can't agree on whether the Navi unit is good, we should be able to agree it could never compete with the commercial brands.
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2007, 08:16 AM   #17
tomdlgns
Private First Class
1
Rep
137
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by poiney View Post
yup, so its a minor improvement. I did the upgrade because I had some legitimate problems. Whether the upgrade feels like one depends on how old your last unit was.

Even if we can't agree on whether the Navi unit is good, we should be able to agree it could never compete with the commercial brands.

what were some of your legitimate problems?

sometimes my menu freezes for longer than i would like.

thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2007, 09:00 AM   #18
poiney
Captain
15
Rep
798
Posts

 
Drives: 328i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SJ

iTrader: (0)

My Navi would freeze sporadically -- forever. Even if I turned off the car momentarily. It would only reset if I turned off the car for several minutes.

THe other thing I noticed was that my sat radio and/or nav went totally dead -- no sound and none of the buttons worked, etc. Again, not until I turned off car and restarted. In the latter case, they thought it may have been a lose wire. Dunno.
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2007, 09:20 AM   #19
japac1
Major
japac1's Avatar
12
Rep
1,100
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335 xi
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Longview, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335xi  [0.00]
I have used the navi for guidance only twice. Once to find a liquor store, then to see if my favorite sushi place was listed. It did find both locations, but it did take me a while to figure out which sub-menu to search under. It would be nice to just input the name regardless of catagory. But, my last navi was in a lexus. An awesome user friendly device, but one that cannot be utilized while driving. So, I am happier now.
__________________
[font="Garamond"]2007 E90 335 xi, Monaco Blue, Beige, Prem, Cold, Step, Navi, Sat, iPod
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2007, 09:48 AM   #20
007e92
First Lieutenant
007e92's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
372
Posts

 
Drives: 645Ci
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2004 BMW 645  [0.00]
. theres a shtload of this info in this forum about the things to say to get the dealer to upgrade idrive for free.
__________________
Current Ride: 04' 645Ci

Retired Rides:
07' e92
04' e46
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2007, 11:28 AM   #21
Bimmer335i07
BK Employee of the month! / Moderator
Bimmer335i07's Avatar
United_States
231
Rep
15,801
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ...

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
BMW NAV = POS.



On the other hand I love the I-drive.

__________________

Sponsored by: Pics of the ---> Barbera Beast <---
Martino Auto Concepts (Like them on Facebook MAC) Factory Trained & Authorized by BMW of North America

Matt@Camber-Toe (Like them on Facebook Camber-Toe)
LuxAngelEyes (Like them on Facebook LuxAngelEyes)
LTBMW (Like them on Facebook LTBMW)
OEMconcepts (Like them on Facebook OEMconcepts)
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2007, 05:53 PM   #22
Jimbert
Jim
United_States
0
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 BMW 335xi, M Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Eagan, Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to Jimbert Send a message via Yahoo to Jimbert
The search by name is broken. My car was built in May, so it should have the latest Progman, and it does have the search by name. But it can't find places. You can find them by going through the category menus, but will not find them by name. I ran into the problem trying to find a WalMart.

On a rather funny note, if I tell it to find my BMW dealership, it directs me to their old location - they moved about a year ago.
__________________
Jim
2012 335xi, Mineral White, Coral Red Leather, auto, M sport pkg, nav
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST