E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > 335is guys w/ JB4 and DCI question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-08-2012, 09:12 PM   #1
parkave335is
Private
0
Rep
81
Posts

 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

iTrader: (1)

335is guys w/ JB4 and DCI question

Just got the JB4 and DCI installed today. Love how the intake sounds now in the lower rpms and i can hear the turbo spooling now. I had it installed today and they set me up for map 2. Do you guys with the IS notice any power difference in the lower rpms? I didnt seem to notice any power difference til about 4000-6000 rpms where it pulled very nice. Would you consider running on any other maps? I heard 6 is good for the 335is/1m just want to check here and ive read too much the past few days that to be honest im confused with all this lol. any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2012, 11:01 PM   #2
alnk1015
Private
0
Rep
61
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i German Import
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Huntsville, AL

iTrader: (0)

Use map 1. You have no mods
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2012, 11:57 PM   #3
Beemw335
Colonel
29
Rep
2,016
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: My car is my home

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alnk1015
Use map 1. You have no mods
+1
Run map 6, not map2!
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 12:44 AM   #4
Fzara2000
Lieutenant
10
Rep
480
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335is
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Driver's Seat

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemw335
Quote:
Originally Posted by alnk1015
Use map 1. You have no mods
+1
Run map 6, not map2!
Incorrect - map 1 or map 5 (auto tuning) would be best for a car like yours without any mods.
__________________
'13 E92 335is
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 05:42 AM   #5
imageautodetail
Captain
imageautodetail's Avatar
10
Rep
800
Posts

 
Drives: 08 335 silverback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: lou EVIL kentucky

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2008 335 e90  [0.00]
2007 e90 335  [2.50]
correct map 5 or 1...deff not 6
__________________
FBO...METH...BIG TWINS
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 07:32 AM   #6
parkave335is
Private
0
Rep
81
Posts

 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

iTrader: (1)

This is the problem lol. Every person is something different. Terry sent me an email last night saying to change settings to 1m/335is and run either map 2 or map 6 and attached instructions, my problem is im a visual learner, i need to be hands on. I have no idea how check all that stuff on the laptop in the car and i dont wanna download or mess up anything.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 07:51 AM   #7
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
22
Rep
2,270
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

iTrader: (0)

Map 6 on the new 335IS drop down menu only if you have 93 octane available, NO mods required. Its the Map I run.

Otherwise for 91 octane run Map 1/5.

Most of the posters here are not aware of the new IS specific maps. Key is available octane. On the old maps prior to the 335is maps 91 octane got map 1/5. With 93 you could run Map2 with NO mods as per Terry. Reason being the 335IS has a different ignition curve then the stock 335i which required downpipes for Map 2.

I had been running Map2 on the old system since the car had 1500 miles, 9000+ now, dynoed 365whp with no mods other then the JB4 @ 2400 miles on 93.

Power is up with the new IS maps but has not yet been dynoed.

If the IS software is loaded, you can tell if it has the IS menu selected just use the steering wheel buttons to load the map. Both buttons in to set the menu. Click left button to 0 on the speedo & right button to 6 on the tach. Map 6 is set.

If you have the old software, no IS drop down menu, left button to 0 & right to 2 if you have 93 octane or 1/5 instead of 2 for 91 octane, I would choose Map 5 for 91 octane till you get the new IS software installed.
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
Cobra Coyote First Start.

Last edited by BEAR-AvHistory; 05-09-2012 at 08:10 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 08:19 AM   #8
parkave335is
Private
0
Rep
81
Posts

 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

iTrader: (1)

I use 93 octane all the time. The problem is i do not know if i have the latest IS software. Im trying to see if any local guys could help me out with that. Im running on map 2 for now but would love to go to map 6 w the new IS software. All stock besides a DCI and obviously the jb4.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 09:01 AM   #9
BuraQ
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
BuraQ's Avatar
United_States
63
Rep
3,201
Posts


 
Drives: 11" E92 335is
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335is  [3.03]
+1 on BEAR-AvHistory advise who has a 335iS w/ the JB4 tune....use the settings exclusive for the 335iS.
__________________
BQ Tuning by WedgePerformance - Torque Junkies
400+ launches, 3 Driveshafts, No DCT Slippage, Flash Only
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 09:11 AM   #10
lutfi001
Private
lutfi001's Avatar
0
Rep
91
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Washington DC

iTrader: (0)

Yes, I concur. Get the new 335is specific settings and use map 6.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 10:50 AM   #11
parkave335is
Private
0
Rep
81
Posts

 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

iTrader: (1)

perfect!! Now all i need to figure out is how to do it lol. The instructions for a guy who needs computer 101 is too complicated. I tried plugging it in this morning and got program failed, so i disconnected the usb and stopped lol. i wish you IS guys lived in NJ.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 12:42 PM   #12
easy2speed
Second Lieutenant
easy2speed's Avatar
11
Rep
212
Posts

 
Drives: 14 GT-R and 997 Turbo
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montgomery, AL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by parkave335is View Post
This is the problem lol. Every person is something different. Terry sent me an email last night saying to change settings to 1m/335is and run either map 2 or map 6 and attached instructions, my problem is im a visual learner, i need to be hands on. I have no idea how check all that stuff on the laptop in the car and i dont wanna download or mess up anything.
This is what you should do. I seem to have better results with map 2.
__________________
'14 GT-R
'07 997 Turbo 6mt - 688whp and 761wtq
'01 996 Turbo 6mt
'14 CTS-V Sedan
'13 X6 3.5i
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 01:13 PM   #13
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
22
Rep
2,270
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by parkave335is View Post
perfect!! Now all i need to figure out is how to do it lol. The instructions for a guy who needs computer 101 is too complicated. I tried plugging it in this morning and got program failed, so i disconnected the usb and stopped lol. i wish you IS guys lived in NJ.
If you are having problems try listing exactly what you did to hook up the laptop. BTW just sent you a PM about this.
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
Cobra Coyote First Start.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 02:58 PM   #14
parkave335is
Private
0
Rep
81
Posts

 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

iTrader: (1)

i downloaded the latest update (its the only one for me since i just got it) and also downloaded the hex. went into the car, plugged the usb into the port. checked to see what port/com, it was 3. opened up the jb interface thing and changed the port to 3 in the settings tab. turned the power on (not the car, just so the radio would come on) and thats where i get stuck. i went to "logging" and his file and connect and thats where it says com3 failed.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 03:03 PM   #15
Alessandro
Major
Alessandro's Avatar
Serbia
29
Rep
1,010
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i 08 ret, 335is 11 ret.
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2011 335is  [4.75]
Send a message via Skype™ to Alessandro
did you also uploaded the newest firmware as well on your Laptop?
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 03:24 PM   #16
parkave335is
Private
0
Rep
81
Posts

 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alessandro View Post
did you also uploaded the newest firmware as well on your Laptop?
Yes i did. the "hex" firmware you are talking about? if so then yes i downloaded that and the jb4 interface on the laptop before i went outside to the car.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 03:38 PM   #17
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
22
Rep
2,270
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

iTrader: (0)

The hex & the interface software are two different downloads. When you hit the start button without the brake pedel is your whole warning light system turning on?

If not you will not connect to the JB4. If the whole set of lights does not come on hit the start button again it can take a few shots on occasion.
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
Cobra Coyote First Start.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 03:41 PM   #18
parkave335is
Private
0
Rep
81
Posts

 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAR-AvHistory View Post
The hex & the interface software are two different downloads. When you hit the start button without the brake pedel is your whole warning light system turning on?

If not you will not connect to the JB4. If the whole set of lights does not come on hit the start button again it can take a few shots on occasion.
Yes i downloaded both seperatly. they are both on my desktop. Ok i will try that again, i believe i only hit it once. So i need to see all the lights, check engine, seatbelt light etc??
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 03:46 PM   #19
Alessandro
Major
Alessandro's Avatar
Serbia
29
Rep
1,010
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i 08 ret, 335is 11 ret.
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2011 335is  [4.75]
Send a message via Skype™ to Alessandro
also make sure that you remove the old interface prior installing the new one.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 03:49 PM   #20
parkave335is
Private
0
Rep
81
Posts

 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alessandro View Post
also make sure that you remove the old interface prior installing the new one.
I never had the old interface. that was my first download. I just got the jb4 last week and had it installed yesterday.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 03:53 PM   #21
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
22
Rep
2,270
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

iTrader: (0)

Yes you need to see all the lights
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
Cobra Coyote First Start.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2012, 04:35 PM   #22
parkave335is
Private
0
Rep
81
Posts

 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAR-AvHistory View Post
Yes you need to see all the lights
Ok i will try that. then i hit connect and then try to download the firmware?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST