E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > 335is guys w/ JB4 and DCI question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-08-2012, 09:12 PM   #1
parkave335is
Private
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)

335is guys w/ JB4 and DCI question

Just got the JB4 and DCI installed today. Love how the intake sounds now in the lower rpms and i can hear the turbo spooling now. I had it installed today and they set me up for map 2. Do you guys with the IS notice any power difference in the lower rpms? I didnt seem to notice any power difference til about 4000-6000 rpms where it pulled very nice. Would you consider running on any other maps? I heard 6 is good for the 335is/1m just want to check here and ive read too much the past few days that to be honest im confused with all this lol. any help would be appreciated, thanks.
parkave335is is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2012, 11:01 PM   #2
alnk1015
Private
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i German Import
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Huntsville, AL

Posts: 61
iTrader: (0)

Use map 1. You have no mods
alnk1015 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2012, 11:57 PM   #3
Beemw335
Colonel
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: My car is my home

Posts: 2,016
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alnk1015
Use map 1. You have no mods
+1
Run map 6, not map2!
Beemw335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 12:44 AM   #4
Fzara2000
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E92 335is
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Driver's Seat

Posts: 480
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemw335
Quote:
Originally Posted by alnk1015
Use map 1. You have no mods
+1
Run map 6, not map2!
Incorrect - map 1 or map 5 (auto tuning) would be best for a car like yours without any mods.
__________________
'13 E92 335is
Fzara2000 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 05:42 AM   #5
imageautodetail
Captain
 
imageautodetail's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 335 silverback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: lou EVIL kentucky

Posts: 800
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2008 335 e90  [0.00]
2007 e90 335  [2.50]
correct map 5 or 1...deff not 6
__________________
FBO...METH...BIG TWINS
imageautodetail is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 07:32 AM   #6
parkave335is
Private
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)

This is the problem lol. Every person is something different. Terry sent me an email last night saying to change settings to 1m/335is and run either map 2 or map 6 and attached instructions, my problem is im a visual learner, i need to be hands on. I have no idea how check all that stuff on the laptop in the car and i dont wanna download or mess up anything.
parkave335is is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 07:51 AM   #7
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

Posts: 2,189
iTrader: (0)

Map 6 on the new 335IS drop down menu only if you have 93 octane available, NO mods required. Its the Map I run.

Otherwise for 91 octane run Map 1/5.

Most of the posters here are not aware of the new IS specific maps. Key is available octane. On the old maps prior to the 335is maps 91 octane got map 1/5. With 93 you could run Map2 with NO mods as per Terry. Reason being the 335IS has a different ignition curve then the stock 335i which required downpipes for Map 2.

I had been running Map2 on the old system since the car had 1500 miles, 9000+ now, dynoed 365whp with no mods other then the JB4 @ 2400 miles on 93.

Power is up with the new IS maps but has not yet been dynoed.

If the IS software is loaded, you can tell if it has the IS menu selected just use the steering wheel buttons to load the map. Both buttons in to set the menu. Click left button to 0 on the speedo & right button to 6 on the tach. Map 6 is set.

If you have the old software, no IS drop down menu, left button to 0 & right to 2 if you have 93 octane or 1/5 instead of 2 for 91 octane, I would choose Map 5 for 91 octane till you get the new IS software installed.
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star - 2009 Ford Expedition EL 4X4 - 2003 Xterra 4X4 - 1998 Ranger 4X4 - FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress

Last edited by BEAR-AvHistory; 05-09-2012 at 08:10 AM.
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 08:19 AM   #8
parkave335is
Private
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)

I use 93 octane all the time. The problem is i do not know if i have the latest IS software. Im trying to see if any local guys could help me out with that. Im running on map 2 for now but would love to go to map 6 w the new IS software. All stock besides a DCI and obviously the jb4.
parkave335is is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 09:01 AM   #9
BuraQ
Colonel
 
BuraQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 11" E92 335is
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida

Posts: 2,918
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335is  [3.03]
+1 on BEAR-AvHistory advise who has a 335iS w/ the JB4 tune....use the settings exclusive for the 335iS.
__________________
AP-V3 & Cobb Protuned by PTF: (New Times Coming Soon)
RENNtech Tuning: 11.78 ET @ 116 Mph in 1/4 mile YouTube
Dinan Stage 3: 12.5 ET (Best) 111 Mph (Best) in 1/4 mile
400+ launches, 3 Driveshafts, No DCT Slippage, Flash Only
"BMW DCT 335is" on Facebook
BuraQ is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 09:11 AM   #10
lutfi001
Private
 
lutfi001's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Washington DC

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

Yes, I concur. Get the new 335is specific settings and use map 6.
lutfi001 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 10:50 AM   #11
parkave335is
Private
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)

perfect!! Now all i need to figure out is how to do it lol. The instructions for a guy who needs computer 101 is too complicated. I tried plugging it in this morning and got program failed, so i disconnected the usb and stopped lol. i wish you IS guys lived in NJ.
parkave335is is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 12:42 PM   #12
easy2speed
Second Lieutenant
 
easy2speed's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 GT-R and 997 Turbo
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montgomery, AL

Posts: 212
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by parkave335is View Post
This is the problem lol. Every person is something different. Terry sent me an email last night saying to change settings to 1m/335is and run either map 2 or map 6 and attached instructions, my problem is im a visual learner, i need to be hands on. I have no idea how check all that stuff on the laptop in the car and i dont wanna download or mess up anything.
This is what you should do. I seem to have better results with map 2.
__________________
'14 GT-R
'07 997 Turbo 6mt - 688whp and 761wtq
'01 996 Turbo 6mt
'14 CTS-V Sedan
'13 X6 3.5i
easy2speed is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 01:13 PM   #13
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

Posts: 2,189
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by parkave335is View Post
perfect!! Now all i need to figure out is how to do it lol. The instructions for a guy who needs computer 101 is too complicated. I tried plugging it in this morning and got program failed, so i disconnected the usb and stopped lol. i wish you IS guys lived in NJ.
If you are having problems try listing exactly what you did to hook up the laptop. BTW just sent you a PM about this.
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star - 2009 Ford Expedition EL 4X4 - 2003 Xterra 4X4 - 1998 Ranger 4X4 - FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 02:58 PM   #14
parkave335is
Private
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)

i downloaded the latest update (its the only one for me since i just got it) and also downloaded the hex. went into the car, plugged the usb into the port. checked to see what port/com, it was 3. opened up the jb interface thing and changed the port to 3 in the settings tab. turned the power on (not the car, just so the radio would come on) and thats where i get stuck. i went to "logging" and his file and connect and thats where it says com3 failed.
parkave335is is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 03:03 PM   #15
Alessandro
Major
 
Alessandro's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i 08 ret, 335is 11 ret.
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada

Posts: 1,010
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2011 335is  [4.75]
Send a message via Skype™ to Alessandro
did you also uploaded the newest firmware as well on your Laptop?
Alessandro is offline   Serbia
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 03:24 PM   #16
parkave335is
Private
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alessandro View Post
did you also uploaded the newest firmware as well on your Laptop?
Yes i did. the "hex" firmware you are talking about? if so then yes i downloaded that and the jb4 interface on the laptop before i went outside to the car.
parkave335is is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 03:38 PM   #17
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

Posts: 2,189
iTrader: (0)

The hex & the interface software are two different downloads. When you hit the start button without the brake pedel is your whole warning light system turning on?

If not you will not connect to the JB4. If the whole set of lights does not come on hit the start button again it can take a few shots on occasion.
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star - 2009 Ford Expedition EL 4X4 - 2003 Xterra 4X4 - 1998 Ranger 4X4 - FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 03:41 PM   #18
parkave335is
Private
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAR-AvHistory View Post
The hex & the interface software are two different downloads. When you hit the start button without the brake pedel is your whole warning light system turning on?

If not you will not connect to the JB4. If the whole set of lights does not come on hit the start button again it can take a few shots on occasion.
Yes i downloaded both seperatly. they are both on my desktop. Ok i will try that again, i believe i only hit it once. So i need to see all the lights, check engine, seatbelt light etc??
parkave335is is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 03:46 PM   #19
Alessandro
Major
 
Alessandro's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i 08 ret, 335is 11 ret.
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada

Posts: 1,010
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2011 335is  [4.75]
Send a message via Skype™ to Alessandro
also make sure that you remove the old interface prior installing the new one.
Alessandro is offline   Serbia
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 03:49 PM   #20
parkave335is
Private
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alessandro View Post
also make sure that you remove the old interface prior installing the new one.
I never had the old interface. that was my first download. I just got the jb4 last week and had it installed yesterday.
parkave335is is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 03:53 PM   #21
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

Posts: 2,189
iTrader: (0)

Yes you need to see all the lights
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star - 2009 Ford Expedition EL 4X4 - 2003 Xterra 4X4 - 1998 Ranger 4X4 - FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 04:35 PM   #22
parkave335is
Private
 
Drives: 335is coupe
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: bergen county, NJ

Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAR-AvHistory View Post
Yes you need to see all the lights
Ok i will try that. then i hit connect and then try to download the firmware?
parkave335is is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST