E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Stock Radio Install Questions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-16-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
pdylan335
New Member
0

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Santa Monica


Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Stock Radio Install Questions

According to the dealer, I need to install a stock BMW radio in order for them to perform a software update (required recall HDP/HPFP software update 10ea02 by DMV of CA). I currently have an aftermarket Kenwood nav installed in my 2007 335i.

1) I've heard that you can wire in the stock radio through the trunk for programming purposes... true or false? Sounded like a long shot to me, but wanted to clarify just in case...

2) Do I need to fetch a stock radio with the exact part number (65129189200) that matches to my car? Or can I use a compatible model that will fit?

3) If my car came with Logic 7, does the replacement stock radio need to have it? If so, what models are they?

If anyone knows of any work-arounds from having to install the stock radio please let me know.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2012, 09:02 PM   #2
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
9

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )


Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

No you have not, i already wrote that many times and wrote it once more - Dealers are idiots!! I have worked for bmw dealer in germany since then i have clients from them
You just need to find someone with cable, buy yourself newest daten files and update your car through winkfp.

How much dealer said to you for coding ?
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2012, 10:09 PM   #3
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
29


 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN


Posts: 996
iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
No you have not, i already wrote that many times and wrote it once more - Dealers are idiots!! I have worked for bmw dealer in germany since then i have clients from them
You just need to find someone with cable, buy yourself newest daten files and update your car through winkfp.

How much dealer said to you for coding ?
I think that the DMV requires paperwork from the dealership proving that the recall has been performed.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2012, 01:41 AM   #4
pdylan335
New Member
0

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Santa Monica


Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
I think that the DMV requires paperwork from the dealership proving that the recall has been performed.
Correct, I need an orange slip from the dealer saying they've performed the update, which makes it a huge pain...If I could only get my hands on that little piece of paper...
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2012, 07:29 AM   #5
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
9

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )


Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

Why you need that paper ??
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2012, 11:54 AM   #6
ctuna
Brigadier General
44

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca


Posts: 4,288
iTrader: (0)

I think he needs it done for the bureaucrats.

I think he needs it done for the bureaucrats.
Its some kind of California Emissions requirement so the whole
thing is being done to satisfy the Ca government green agaenda
which is causing gas to cost so much in California.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2012, 12:03 PM   #7
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
101

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
Why you need that paper ??
I did too. Its due to a recall involving emissions equipment.
Until you have the signed slip, no registration.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2012, 12:41 PM   #8
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
9

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )


Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

Wow that a weird bureaucracy you have there , so in oder words you guys are forced to do such things at dealership for big money ?? Oh thats freedome of choice lol
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2012, 12:43 PM   #9
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
101

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Creative people find creative solutions.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2012, 02:05 PM   #10
GenePoole
Lieutenant
19

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL


Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

I thought those aftermarket systems required that you have the original head unit installed in the trunk. At any rate, I would think that simply disconnecting the unit would cause it to not show up in the UIF (along with anything else on the MOST bus) and allow BMW dealers to run their update. You would miss any updates to any ECUs on the MOST bus, but that should get you the recall update.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2012, 09:17 PM   #11
ctuna
Brigadier General
44

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca


Posts: 4,288
iTrader: (0)

The BMW programmer looks at the VO

The BMW programmer looks at the VO
Vehicle order which is stored in two of the modules then it runs some checks
to see if everything is there and working. If is sees something is missing it
requires you to fix it before it will attempt to reprogram anything.
The programming coding software offered here doesn't require that but the
dealers don't use it.
At least from reading that's the way I understand it.
You only have to install the orginal in the trunk if you don't want to have this problem and the other little errors generated by absent units.
The Most Bus is broken when a unit is missing.
Since the Radio is essentially the most bus server its
pretty key for everything on the Most Bus.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2012, 01:49 PM   #12
pdylan335
New Member
0

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Santa Monica


Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
The BMW programmer looks at the VO
Vehicle order which is stored in two of the modules then it runs some checks
to see if everything is there and working. If is sees something is missing it
requires you to fix it before it will attempt to reprogram anything.
The programming coding software offered here doesn't require that but the
dealers don't use it.
At least from reading that's the way I understand it.
You only have to install the orginal in the trunk if you don't want to have this problem and the other little errors generated by absent units.
The Most Bus is broken when a unit is missing.
Since the Radio is essentially the most bus server its
pretty key for everything on the Most Bus.
Thanks for all the help here. Should any audio place be able to install through the trunk? Also... I'm having a tough time finding an exact part number match on the oem radio... would a radio from a different model year suffice? Or will the computer recognize that?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2012, 02:22 PM   #13
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
101

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Can't you install a fiber optic end loop/terminating loop to essentially delete it from the look and just use the aftermarket deck?

Not well versed in the stock head-units though, just thinking out loud.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2012, 02:40 PM   #14
ctuna
Brigadier General
44

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca


Posts: 4,288
iTrader: (0)

So delete the radio and most bus options from VO

So delete the radio and most bus options from VO
Then the BMW programmer stops looking for them and creating
errors. I wonder if anybody has tried this?
Someone with Progman or Ista P could try this maybe?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST