E90Post
 


Bimmertech
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Disabling aftermarket halogen DRL on FRM1



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-17-2012, 11:28 AM   #1
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Disabling aftermarket halogen DRL on FRM1

Nettodat to the rescue yet again...

So basically I helped someone code for fishcake Depos. After coding, both angel eyes and high beam halogens were permanently on as DRL. He wanted just angels.

Now for 04/2007 and later this is simple to change using the lines TAGFAHRLICHT_ECE_1 and VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL which are in the spreadsheet. However this was an 06 car with FRM1 which does not have welcome lighting nor DRL from the factory; it did not have those 2 lines.

What I ended up doing was searching the FRM with NCS Dummy to find any lines that would refer to the DRL. There were 2 lines with "drl" in them and one of them had 2 possibilities, wert_01 and wert_02 (I forget which line right now I will add this detail later). I changed it from wert_01 to wert_02 (or maybe the other way around, I forget) and sure enough the halogen DRL was now brighter. I pinpointed which bits were changed in the nettodat and sure enough they reflected voltage (see here). So all I did was change the bits to 00,10 which equals 0 voltage and code it back, and voila, no more halogen DRL. Using the stalk, high beam function was not affected and worked just fine. So there you have it, how to disable halogen DRL on aftermarket headlights in an FRM1.
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 01:27 PM   #2
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Interesting.
So you are saying DRLs are possible on FRM1.
I have FRM and I have done LCI front conversion.
I hope you sort out your halogen problem.
Once you have done it, can you kindly post how to activate DRLS on FRM1?

Many thanks.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 01:57 PM   #3
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Interesting.
So you are saying DRLs are possible on FRM1.
I have FRM and I have done LCI front conversion.
I hope you sort out your halogen problem.
Once you have done it, can you kindly post how to activate DRLS on FRM1?

Many thanks.
I did the standard way of coding for xenons which is adding $522 to the VO and recoding the modules. I'm guessing that adds the drl lines to the FRM. Besides that I didn't really "do" anything to enable DRL, they were on by default and I had to work to turn them off.
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 03:47 PM   #4
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
I did the standard way of coding for xenons which is adding $522 to the VO and recoding the modules. I'm guessing that adds the drl lines to the FRM. Besides that I didn't really "do" anything to enable DRL, they were on by default and I had to work to turn them off.
So if I add $522 to my VO with LCI headlights, it will make halo rings as DRLs and halogens will be on all the time.
Then I will have to find a way to turn off halogens. (what the heck is Nettodat and where can I get ABC of it?)

Do you mind sharing what those two values are in FRM1 which are linked to DRLs? And will I need to change them to wert1 or wert 2?


Many thanks.
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 05-17-2012 at 03:52 PM.
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 03:55 PM   #5
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Looking at my FRM1 file, I found two DRL values.
1- DRL_WERT_DIMMUNG (wert_01 by default, and according to google translator, it means DRL Value Dimming)
2- DRL_V_GEDIMMT (nicht_active by default, and according to google translator, it means DRL V dimmed and from V it may be volt ).


Should I play with 1 value to wert2? Will it dim halo rings when lights are on?
and should I change 2nd value to active?
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 05-17-2012 at 04:00 PM.
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 04:18 PM   #6
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
 
VTECaddict's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Posts: 4,618
iTrader: (4)

Depending on your production date, you should be able to disable DRL through BC or iDrive even with FRM.
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
VTECaddict is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 04:21 PM   #7
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Yes it is the first line you posted

Nettodat coding I learned from http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...s+vendors+hate, go to the optional step where he talks about disabling PWM. Instead of that angel eyes line do the drl one you have. Use a program called Beyond Compare to compare text files and find the right bits.
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 04:51 PM   #8
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post
Depending on your production date, you should be able to disable DRL through BC or iDrive even with FRM.
Thanks buddy but my car is not blessed with idrive.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 07:06 PM   #9
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
 
VTECaddict's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Posts: 4,618
iTrader: (4)

You can do it through the BC too (turn signal stalk).
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
VTECaddict is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 12:04 AM   #10
NiVeDh
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 7,987
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post
Depending on your production date, you should be able to disable DRL through BC or iDrive even with FRM.
This would be the preferred way to do it. No need to complicate things.
NiVeDh is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 02:34 AM   #11
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict
You can do it through the BC too (turn signal stalk).
I do not have any option of drl on obc either.
Am I missing something?
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 03:59 AM   #12
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

In kombi code;

Taglicht_an and taglicht_aus to aktive
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 05:22 AM   #13
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_
In kombi code;

Taglicht_an and taglicht_aus to aktive
What is that for mate?
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 07:25 AM   #14
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

When you do this you will be able to turn on and off drl from bc, there should be new icn with sun as an icon
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 11:32 AM   #15
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Couple of findings here:

I do not have
Taglicht_an and taglicht_aus
in my kombi.

Also I have read at different forum (see post 17) that if I make
DRL_V_GEDIMMT (in FRM) as
Aktiv

then it will turn on my halo ring on LCI halogen headlights (Car is pre-LCI) on.
However I have done that on my car and no positive results.


P.S: My car is having FRM module and on my headlight switch there no Auto position.

Can anybody suggest what else I can do to make my halo rings (OEM LCI headlights) to work as DRLS?
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 05-18-2012 at 12:46 PM.
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 01:06 PM   #16
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

The consensus seems to be that this is not possible with the FRM module. Some people have replaced their FRM with a FRM2 or FRM3 just to get the halo DRLs.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 02:44 PM   #17
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

FRM came in Pre-LCI model. That model came with xenon lights aswell.
If I add $522 making my FRM to think that I have xenon, would it allow me to activate DRLS on it?
OR is it out of question?
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 04:28 PM   #18
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
FRM came in Pre-LCI model. That model came with xenon lights aswell.
If I add $522 making my FRM to think that I have xenon, would it allow me to activate DRLS on it?
OR is it out of question?
Just try it and see, it's easy to undo.
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2012, 03:50 AM   #19
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
FRM came in Pre-LCI model. That model came with xenon lights aswell.
If I add $522 making my FRM to think that I have xenon, would it allow me to activate DRLS on it?
OR is it out of question?
Just try it and see, it's easy to undo.
Should I write it to VO or VO and FRM?
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2012, 11:01 AM   #20
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Should I write it to VO or VO and FRM?
VO is a standalone thing from FRM, CAS etc. modules. Basically those modules look at the VO to determine what lines to include and what to set them to. For example if your car comes from the factory with halogens $522 is not in the VO so the FRM will not include lines pertaining to adaptive feature, bixenon and the like. By editing the VO to include this code and resetting the FRM it will update with new lines. It is customary after editing VO to write it to CAS as well as FRM because those modules do communicate with each other to some degree.
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2012, 11:09 AM   #21
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
VO is a standalone thing from FRM, CAS etc. modules. Basically those modules look at the VO to determine what lines to include and what to set them to. For example if your car comes from the factory with halogens $522 is not in the VO so the FRM will not include lines pertaining to adaptive feature, bixenon and the like. By editing the VO to include this code and resetting the FRM it will update with new lines. It is customary after editing VO to write it to CAS as well as FRM because those modules do communicate with each other to some degree.

Many thanks.
Now I can understand where you are coming from.
Practically, what should I do?
Add $522 to my VO.
Then shall I reset my FRM values so it can communicate with VO and automatically add values related to $522 to my FRM.

OR shall I add $522 to my FRM And CAS (after adding it to VO) even before coding FRM module to reset it values?

(P.S: My FRM is already coded to have LCI rear lights)

Thanks.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2012, 11:34 AM   #22
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Many thanks.
Now I can understand where you are coming from.
Practically, what should I do?
Add $522 to my VO.
Then shall I reset my FRM values so it can communicate with VO and automatically add values related to $522 to my FRM.

OR shall I add $522 to my FRM And CAS (after adding it to VO) even before coding FRM module to reset it values?

(P.S: My FRM is already coded to have LCI rear lights)

Thanks.
I have attached the tutorial that I learned it from. As an additional step at the end also change the job to SG_CODEREIN whatever and execute for each module.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf USING NCS TO CHANGE VO.pdf (1,022.4 KB, 72 views)
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST