E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Limp Mode!? Please Help!!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-24-2012, 04:51 PM   #1
venom3469
First Lieutenant
 
venom3469's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 AW/R 6MT 335i, YZF-R6.
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florence, Alabama

Posts: 326
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Limp Mode!? Please Help!!

Ok so last night 2 of my friends came over and they wanted to go for a ride in my car. So I go on this road with zero cars around that I always do pulls on. On this road I usually start from dig and get up to about 140-150...This time however I get to about 130-135 and I just feel all the power go away.. So I brake down to the side of the road and every time I would give it any throttle it had this terrible deep like rumble and vibration its kinda hard to describe this sound...Then I turned off the car and turned it back on and it was perfectly fine.

What could this be!? It has me really worried that something is about to go really bad. Has anyone ever experienced something like this before!?

Comments will be very much appreciated!

Thanks,
Josh
__________________
08 335i Alpine White/Coral Red Interior With A PROcede Tune!! 09 Yamaha R6!!
venom3469 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 04:54 PM   #2
E90SoFlo
Banned
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Naples, FL

Posts: 2,675
iTrader: (9)

You have a misfire, very common.

Sounds like coil packs. Read your codes to figure out which one.
E90SoFlo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 08:50 PM   #3
barton2002
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: E92 ZCP M3 Frozen Grey
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bath & Hong Kong

Posts: 253
iTrader: (0)

How do you normally find out what the codes are? JB4 allows u to do that right? But what if you dont have ur laptop with you? Are the codes going to be there until you remove it manually?

Cus i was just thinking if you restart your car and it works fine again, isnt the code going to go away? so that you cant find out what the codes were?

Barton
barton2002 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 10:20 PM   #4
type rrr
Second Lieutenant
 
type rrr's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: montreal canada

Posts: 232
iTrader: (0)

change your spark plugs
__________________
2007 335i coupe AT-- I80AS--FBO -stock turbos--COBB v402 beta stage 2 + ATR-- NITTO'S 275-40-17 NT05R --- 12.025 @ 120 mph -- full weight
type rrr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 11:02 PM   #5
rader1
Banned
 
Drives: Cobb Stage 2+ 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA

Posts: 2,197
iTrader: (0)

Read codes then read the misfire sticky at the top of the first page.
rader1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 11:22 PM   #6
335twins
Lieutenant
 
335twins's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i, 2012 x3 35i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: AZ

Posts: 472
iTrader: (1)

Had this happen to me, it was bad injector, BMW replaced them all and it's fine now.
__________________
Cobb tuned, custom intakes
335twins is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 11:32 PM   #7
benzy89
Banned
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Like every1s said it's probably a misfire -- Try reading your codes to confirm which cylinder you're specifically misfiring on. From there try switching around your ignition coils. If the misfire stays on the same cylinder, then you need to replace your spark plugs. If the misfire follows the coils, then the coils need to be replaced. It's common when running a tune that people burn through plugs/coils in 20k-25k miles.

I'd recommend going with NGK spark plugs (or Bosch; they're the same as the OEM BMW spark plugs except they cost less & because they don't say "BMW" on them), you can stick with the OEM ignition coils.
benzy89 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 11:32 PM   #8
BMWsky
Major
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster NY

Posts: 1,244
iTrader: (1)

Jesus, stop all this guessing and find out for sure...read your codes and go from there.
BMWsky is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2012, 02:32 PM   #9
venom3469
First Lieutenant
 
venom3469's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 AW/R 6MT 335i, YZF-R6.
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florence, Alabama

Posts: 326
iTrader: (0)

I have been working so much, I have had no time to be at home and take my laptop outside to check the codes...Will be doing very soon though.
__________________
08 335i Alpine White/Coral Red Interior With A PROcede Tune!! 09 Yamaha R6!!
venom3469 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2012, 02:42 PM   #10
venom3469
First Lieutenant
 
venom3469's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 AW/R 6MT 335i, YZF-R6.
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florence, Alabama

Posts: 326
iTrader: (0)

One thing though I bought this car with the tune already on it. (PROcede) How exactly do you check your codes? Still very new to dealing with PROcede.

Also the car is creeping up on 25k so spark plugs make since...Just need to figure out how to check PROcede codes...I have hooked up my laptop before but it says insert a disk for something....Is there a disk or something I have to download before I can pull up anything on my laptop?
__________________
08 335i Alpine White/Coral Red Interior With A PROcede Tune!! 09 Yamaha R6!!

Last edited by venom3469; 05-25-2012 at 02:53 PM.
venom3469 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2012, 03:49 PM   #11
sickem
Freude am fahren
 
sickem's Avatar
 
Drives: in the fast lane
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: People's Republic of New Jersey

Posts: 1,943
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by venom3469 View Post
One thing though I bought this car with the tune already on it. (PROcede) How exactly do you check your codes? Still very new to dealing with PROcede.

Also the car is creeping up on 25k so spark plugs make since...Just need to figure out how to check PROcede codes...I have hooked up my laptop before but it says insert a disk for something....Is there a disk or something I have to download before I can pull up anything on my laptop?
Go to vishnutuning.com and read the user guide on downloads.
__________________
Cobb E40 PROtune by Jake@PTF/RR catless DPs/aFe DCI/ETS 5" FMIC/ER CP/Forge DVs/Alpina B3 TCU flash/BMW Perf. Exhaust./BMW Performance Style 313s/M-Tech Rear
sickem is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2012, 04:18 PM   #12
gzim335
Lieutenant
 
gzim335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 e90n54-08 zx10r-lci328ix
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: staten island ny

Posts: 572
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [1.00]
change plugs,it cured my misfire
__________________
2007/1 e90 335i jet black

jb4 g5 iso/race flash--stet cai/scoops--cpe dp's corsa race--cpe ic--aa cp/bov--meth--kw v2/stoptech bbk--m3 bits,m3 fsb,wavetrack lsd--lci conversion
gzim335 is offline   Montenegro
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST