E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > Cant back up new phizzle



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-01-2012, 05:41 AM   #23
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
132
Rep
7,679
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxb335d View Post
I think the back up thing is a laptop issue. FFS FFS FFS....

I'm not any good at computers so screwed
Carl,
find your download folder (of firefox) and there should be itune.exe file (for update).
double click on it and it should update your itune.

If you cannot find your download folder, install Opera browser (google it) and download itunes through it as by default it will ask you where to save, and you can save it on your desktop.

You can also change settings of Firfox to ask you each time where to save, but I guess that would make things complicated for you.

Hope you sort it out.

About bluetooth, it can be new IOS 5.0.1. I have not checked mine yet, so cannot comment on that.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 05:50 AM   #24
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Carl,
find your download folder (of firefox) and there should be itune.exe file (for update).
double click on it and it should update your itune.

If you cannot find your download folder, install Opera browser (google it) and download itunes through it as by default it will ask you where to save, and you can save it on your desktop.

You can also change settings of Firfox to ask you each time where to save, but I guess that would make things complicated for you.

Hope you sort it out.

About bluetooth, it can be new IOS 5.0.1. I have not checked mine yet, so cannot comment on that.
Hi Makkan, thanks for your patience. I have found that folder (mission) and click on it and it says it wont load for a reason I stated a few posts ago.
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 05:53 AM   #25
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
error message *** entry point not found***
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 07:13 AM   #26
BGM
Colonel
United Kingdom
26
Rep
2,367
Posts

 
Drives: F21 118d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Farnborough, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxb335d View Post
I think the back up thing is a laptop issue. FFS FFS FFS....

I'm not any good at computers so screwed
Tbh, it's quite difficult to diagnose over the net..

I really would suggest you go to the apple shop, or collar some youthful member of the family to sort you if poss.. ?

Good luck!
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 07:31 AM   #27
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Totally hate apple & iTunes at the moment.
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 09:44 AM   #28
dopper99
Brigadier General
dopper99's Avatar
England
61
Rep
4,275
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

Chill man, chill. Its only a few hundred quid phone.
Anyone would think your M3 has blown up.
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 09:47 AM   #29
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Mate, I've lost all my contacts all pics & vids and all my apps.....

3 years worth.
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 09:50 AM   #30
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
And it's the hassle of the first one breaking. Then to top it off the new one is crap.
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 09:50 AM   #31
Hotcoupe
Major General
Hotcoupe's Avatar
United Kingdom
70
Rep
6,105
Posts

 
Drives: Don't know yet!
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dxb335d View Post
Totally hate apple & iTunes at the moment.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 09:51 AM   #32
BGM
Colonel
United Kingdom
26
Rep
2,367
Posts

 
Drives: F21 118d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Farnborough, UK

iTrader: (0)

it's ok, you made a backup, you just can't restore it.

Get down to the apple store, even if it is a trek, and they will sort it out for you no bothers

Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 09:55 AM   #33
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Bgm buddy, they ain't laptop geniuses also are they? I believe it's a problem with the laptop not wanting to download the latest software.

It is an issue, big issue.
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 10:00 AM   #34
BGM
Colonel
United Kingdom
26
Rep
2,367
Posts

 
Drives: F21 118d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Farnborough, UK

iTrader: (0)

I don't promise to them being able to definitely fix your laptop, but they should be able to atleast rule out an iTunes issue.. get it up to the latest version and more than likely save your backup / sync history.

It really is worth a shot, it's free after all!

Failing that, get the yellow pages open and get the number of a of an independent pc repair place.. They will be able to save your stuff for a lot less than your data is worth i should imagine
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 10:19 AM   #35
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
132
Rep
7,679
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxb335d View Post
error message *** entry point not found***

You can get that error if the file is not completely downloaded.

As I mentioned earlier, try opera, as for downloading that is best.

Install opera, restart your computer and then start with downloading (save it on your desktop).

Once new itnue.exe is downloaed, double click and install it and it should do.

Also why is it not letting you to restore your phone with earlier version of itunes.
Surely, if you made backup with it, then it should allow you to restore as well.


Have you tried to restore without updating?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 02:29 PM   #36
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
You can get that error if the file is not completely downloaded.

As I mentioned earlier, try opera, as for downloading that is best.

Install opera, restart your computer and then start with downloading (save it on your desktop).

Once new itnue.exe is downloaed, double click and install it and it should do.

Also why is it not letting you to restore your phone with earlier version of itunes.
Surely, if you made backup with it, then it should allow you to restore as well.


Have you tried to restore without updating?
Hi mate, whats the down side to downloading opera?


I think the phone is a newer software but my laptop isnt? I aint 100% on that though.
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 02:29 PM   #37
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
HOW TO restore without updating?
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 02:44 PM   #38
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Cant even download opera either.
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 03:21 PM   #39
rich1068
has left the building
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,363
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

OMG! Is this still going on? Though I'm guessing watching Carlos flounder about with tech must be a sport on here...

Mate, can we re-cap? Tell me if I'm getting this right.

Your phone was faulty and you backed up?
You got a new phone?
You need to restore?
You need a newer version of iTunes first?
Whatever browser you're using (for some reason) won't let you install the new iTunes?
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 04:15 PM   #40
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Got it in one mate!
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 04:35 PM   #41
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
132
Rep
7,679
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Any luck Carl?
If you cannot download opera, then there is issue with your computer and not iphone.

Let forget everything and start from scratch.
If you connect your new iphone to your itune, what does it say?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 04:47 PM   #42
dopper99
Brigadier General
dopper99's Avatar
England
61
Rep
4,275
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

So you've been to here mate and tried to downloaded this?

http://www.apple.com/uk/itunes/

I clicked on the download link and its prompting to download a 73MB file: iTunes64Setup.exe

If you cant download this, cant you get a mate to download it (make sure they have the same operating system as you), then put it on a memory stick and copy it to your laptop, then install it?
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 02:37 AM   #43
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Any luck Carl?
If you cannot download opera, then there is issue with your computer and not iphone.

Let forget everything and start from scratch.
If you connect your new iphone to your itune, what does it say?
It says cannot use iPhone "iPhone" as I need iTunes something or other (newer version)
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 02:40 AM   #44
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopper99 View Post
So you've been to here mate and tried to downloaded this?

http://www.apple.com/uk/itunes/

I clicked on the download link and its prompting to download a 73MB file: iTunes64Setup.exe

If you cant download this, cant you get a mate to download it (make sure they have the same operating system as you), then put it on a memory stick and copy it to your laptop, then install it?


That is a different link to what I've tried before. I'll give that a go once laptop is on cheers
__________________
997.2 GT3
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST