E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Help (cant Communicate With Dme) Car Wont Start, Just Cranks



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-11-2014, 07:30 PM   #1
davidb95
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Help (cant Communicate With Dme) Car Wont Start, Just Cranks

HI GUYS,

i searched everywhere for a few months now and just can not find out what is going on.

i have a 2007 bmw 335i e92.

to start off, my ecu box under the hood got rain into it, and the DME went bad so the car would not start. i took it to the dealership and they put a brand new DME into the car with a brand new engine harness. they say that the car can not read or communicate with the new DME ? What can the problem be! arghhhhhh.

after this, just to see if maybe SOMETHING ELSE WILL WORK, i even went ahead and bought a used DME with CAS module and key FOB. i put it in and the car cranks but doesn't start. we tried to program the car but it WOULD NOT COMMUNICATE WITH DME. ERROR in INPA

we can code everything else in the car. everything works while using INPA. but when you try to code the DME itself an ERROR pops up.
davidb95 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2014, 07:37 PM   #2
davidb95
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Also after this happened my ABS, DSC, and Fuel pump light went on, and maybe some other lights not sure. I was thinking it may be the BLUE RELAY right next to the DME, i bought it and will try in a few days.
davidb95 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2014, 08:04 PM   #3
js335in54
N54FTW
 
Drives: BMw e92
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Norwalk

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

check the fuses.. fuses for obd port... etc.
js335in54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2014, 08:05 PM   #4
davidb95
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by js335in54 View Post
check the fuses.. fuses for obd port... etc.
all the fuses were checked and they are good.
davidb95 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2014, 08:16 PM   #5
js335in54
N54FTW
 
Drives: BMw e92
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Norwalk

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb95 View Post
all the fuses were checked and they are good.
connect to another battery make sure you got enough pwr when trying to read the ecu module
sometimes when the battery has low volatge some modules cant be read...
js335in54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2014, 08:21 PM   #6
davidb95
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by js335in54 View Post
connect to another battery make sure you got enough pwr when trying to read the ecu module
sometimes when the battery has low volatge some modules cant be read...
when the dealership programs, they plug up an additional source of power to the cars terminals. and it still did not work. i can try with more power but that may not be until saturday
davidb95 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2014, 09:48 AM   #7
Dtype
Private
 
Drives: BMW E90 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)

Check DME relay...
Dtype is offline   Portugal
0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2014, 08:32 PM   #8
davidb95
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Check DME relay...
just bought a DME relay, hopefully that works. ill install it the beginning of next week.
davidb95 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-13-2014, 06:26 AM   #9
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,050
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Check DME relay...
just bought a DME relay, hopefully that works. ill install it the beginning of next week.
Have you checked
- if you have any aftermarket module fitted. On e93 roof modules break the communication b/w dme and obd.
- ews manipulation / sync error
- battery safety terminal (rule out that as well)
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      09-13-2014, 03:34 PM   #10
davidb95
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Have you checked
- if you have any aftermarket module fitted. On e93 roof modules break the communication b/w dme and obd.
- ews manipulation / sync error
- battery safety terminal (rule out that as well)

i do not have any aftermarket modules.

what is this, i heard of it but don't know enough about it--ews manipulation / sync error?

when we plugged up the code reader(BMWHAT) computer to the obi, we got a code for battery safety terminal. we tried to clear it but it would not clear. the bst cable did not explode, i checked its in great condition.
davidb95 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-13-2014, 03:48 PM   #11
Sensible_
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 439
iTrader: (0)

When you put in a used CAS / DME pair did you reprogram? Do you get any dash warnings when trying to start the vehicle?

How do you know the used modules you bought are not fried? Were they tested? Can you communicate with DME at all with any diagnostic tool? What is the exact error INPA gives you.

A user called ramspeed had a similar problem a couple of weeks ago. It turned out to be a severed ground from the engine block. He diagnosed this with a simple multimeter and some time
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-13-2014, 04:01 PM   #12
davidb95
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
When you put in a used CAS / DME pair did you reprogram? Do you get any dash warnings when trying to start the vehicle?

How do you know the used modules you bought are not fried? Were they tested? Can you communicate with DME at all with any diagnostic tool? What is the exact error INPA gives you.

A user called ramspeed had a similar problem a couple of weeks ago. It turned out to be a severed ground from the engine block. He diagnosed this with a simple multimeter and some time




i cannot communicate with the dme at all because every time i try to get around it, it always pops out the the DME cannot respond or communicate.

i do not have any dash warning lights except like the abs,dsc, but never even a CEL.
the used DME and used CAS are both in working order. came off a vehicle that ran. also i know the CAS works because the car cranks when i push the button.

i can't tell you the exact code because i don't remember, i should've wrote it down, but ill see if i can get them next week.
how do i check if a ground is missing?? i want to try it
davidb95 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-13-2014, 04:10 PM   #13
Sensible_
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 439
iTrader: (0)

I'm on a mobile device so can't copy and past link. The thread is a couple of pages down in this forum. It's titled something like, "Help. Car won't start". Go straight to the end.
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
coding, communicate, dme, ecu, respond

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST