E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding Help: Won't talk to car



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-02-2014, 07:16 PM   #1
WRichieX
Captain
 
WRichieX's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i e93 6MT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

Posts: 926
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Coding Help: Won't talk to car

Hey guys so I'm trying to learn to code but I can't seem to get it to talk to the car. I installed setup tool 2.12, did the DIY for Inpa and everything seemed fine but when I plug the cable into OBD and computer, it looks like nothing is happening.

I've been using BMW Logger to pull codes so I'm assuming that the drivers are fine. Any ideas?
__________________

07 BMW 335i E93 6MT (Praying neighborhood doesn't get flooded...again)
04 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (Flooded)
08 Audi TT 2.0T DSG (Flooded)
03 Subaru WRX 5MT (Flooded)
WRichieX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2014, 08:17 PM   #2
tavio1227
New Member
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Orlando FL

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRichieX View Post
Hey guys so I'm trying to learn to code but I can't seem to get it to talk to the car. I installed setup tool 2.12, did the DIY for Inpa and everything seemed fine but when I plug the cable into OBD and computer, it looks like nothing is happening.

I've been using BMW Logger to pull codes so I'm assuming that the drivers are fine. Any ideas?
You have to setup the cable!! latency to 1 and COM!
start on computer right click on properties, device manager,port, port settings, advance and then set it to COM1 and latency to 1 I should be on 16
tavio1227 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2014, 10:28 PM   #3
WRichieX
Captain
 
WRichieX's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i e93 6MT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

Posts: 926
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by tavio1227 View Post
You have to setup the cable!! latency to 1 and COM!
start on computer right click on properties, device manager,port, port settings, advance and then set it to COM1 and latency to 1 I should be on 16
Yea I did all that already. I'm lost now.

Edit: Actually how do you set latency to 1. I don't see any option for that. I'm on Windows 8 btw.
__________________

07 BMW 335i E93 6MT (Praying neighborhood doesn't get flooded...again)
04 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (Flooded)
08 Audi TT 2.0T DSG (Flooded)
03 Subaru WRX 5MT (Flooded)
WRichieX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-03-2014, 12:05 AM   #4
tavio1227
New Member
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Orlando FL

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRichieX View Post
Yea I did all that already. I'm lost now.

Edit: Actually how do you set latency to 1. I don't see any option for that. I'm on Windows 8 btw.
It should be under advance tap!
tavio1227 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-03-2014, 12:30 AM   #5
wildcatcrazy
First Lieutenant
 
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Honolulu, HI

Posts: 321
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRichieX
Quote:
Originally Posted by tavio1227 View Post
You have to setup the cable!! latency to 1 and COM!
start on computer right click on properties, device manager,port, port settings, advance and then set it to COM1 and latency to 1 I should be on 16
Yea I did all that already. I'm lost now.

Edit: Actually how do you set latency to 1. I don't see any option for that. I'm on Windows 8 btw.
Are you running the apps from a VM? If not, that's your problem.
__________________
Joseph Jones (JJ)
'09 Alpine White 335i, M Sport Package
Mods: Vishnu Stage 0 DME Flash, AA charge pipe w/ BOV, Alpina B3 Flash, retrofit M3 cluster, smoke LED side markers, painted front reflectors, black kidney grills, LED AEs and all LED interior/rear lights, fully coded.
wildcatcrazy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-03-2014, 04:11 AM   #6
cryptomit
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: owned 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Rotterdam

Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

It also works in Windows 8 so no VM is needed.

What cable do you have?
cryptomit is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-03-2014, 07:39 AM   #7
WRichieX
Captain
 
WRichieX's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i e93 6MT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

Posts: 926
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
Are you running the apps from a VM? If not, that's your problem.
I'm on a mac running VMWare Fusion 6.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by tavio1227 View Post
It should be under advance tap!
Doesn't look like I have a latency option. Under advanced tab, I have "use fifo buffer" checked, Receiver buffer set to 8 and transmit buffer set to 8. That's it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptomit View Post
It also works in Windows 8 so no VM is needed.

What cable do you have?
I'm not sure. I bought it off another member here. I've been using it to pull codes and what not using bmw logger.
__________________

07 BMW 335i E93 6MT (Praying neighborhood doesn't get flooded...again)
04 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (Flooded)
08 Audi TT 2.0T DSG (Flooded)
03 Subaru WRX 5MT (Flooded)
WRichieX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2014, 01:15 PM   #8
bimmerdavid335
First Lieutenant
 
bimmerdavid335's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sherwood, OR

Posts: 313
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRichieX View Post
Doesn't look like I have a latency option. Under advanced tab, I have "use fifo buffer" checked, Receiver buffer set to 8 and transmit buffer set to 8. That's it.
I don't have my coding computer in front of me, but remember the latency option also being my problem. It was set to 16 by default, but changing it to 1 solved it for me. I thought I remember it being behind a button under the advanced tab? It was called the latency timer and needs to be changed to 1.

I did find a link here that explains it for another product:
http://www.digi.com/support/kbase/kb...ltdetl?id=3418
__________________
07 335i - BMS DCI, JB4 G5, ER CP
bimmerdavid335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2014, 04:37 PM   #9
WRichieX
Captain
 
WRichieX's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i e93 6MT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

Posts: 926
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerdavid335 View Post
I don't have my coding computer in front of me, but remember the latency option also being my problem. It was set to 16 by default, but changing it to 1 solved it for me. I thought I remember it being behind a button under the advanced tab? It was called the latency timer and needs to be changed to 1.

I did find a link here that explains it for another product:
http://www.digi.com/support/kbase/kb...ltdetl?id=3418
For some reason the Device manager in windows 8 doesn't have that latency option.
__________________

07 BMW 335i E93 6MT (Praying neighborhood doesn't get flooded...again)
04 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (Flooded)
08 Audi TT 2.0T DSG (Flooded)
03 Subaru WRX 5MT (Flooded)
WRichieX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2014, 04:43 PM   #10
GreaseJunkie
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2006 e90 330i Black Sapphire
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Virginia

Posts: 175
iTrader: (0)

From my experience, when I forgot to set the Latency to 1, I still got an error message trying to read the car. Is your USB port that you have the cable plugged into set to COM1?
GreaseJunkie is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2014, 04:45 PM   #11
WRichieX
Captain
 
WRichieX's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i e93 6MT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

Posts: 926
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseJunkie View Post
From my experience, when I forgot to set the Latency to 1, I still got an error message trying to read the car. Is your USB port that you have the cable plugged into set to COM1?
Yes.
__________________

07 BMW 335i E93 6MT (Praying neighborhood doesn't get flooded...again)
04 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (Flooded)
08 Audi TT 2.0T DSG (Flooded)
03 Subaru WRX 5MT (Flooded)
WRichieX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2014, 04:52 PM   #12
GreaseJunkie
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2006 e90 330i Black Sapphire
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Virginia

Posts: 175
iTrader: (0)

So if you open up INPA, with the cable plugged in and ignition on, do you get 2 black dots?
GreaseJunkie is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2014, 05:33 PM   #13
WRichieX
Captain
 
WRichieX's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i e93 6MT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

Posts: 926
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseJunkie View Post
So if you open up INPA, with the cable plugged in and ignition on, do you get 2 black dots?
I get 2 black dots regardless if I plug in or not. Which is weird.
__________________

07 BMW 335i E93 6MT (Praying neighborhood doesn't get flooded...again)
04 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (Flooded)
08 Audi TT 2.0T DSG (Flooded)
03 Subaru WRX 5MT (Flooded)
WRichieX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2014, 05:45 PM   #14
GreaseJunkie
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2006 e90 330i Black Sapphire
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Virginia

Posts: 175
iTrader: (0)

Did you download the e9xx file that fixes INPA? If not, definitely do that so INPA works. But thats probably not your problem. Honestly, easiest solution would be to start a clean install on an x86 machine. I know NCS doesn't work on 64 bit OS without a VM, but I have no clue about making it work. A Pawn shop laptop for less than $100 is the best option, especially if you start really messing with stuff
GreaseJunkie is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2014, 10:22 AM   #15
WRichieX
Captain
 
WRichieX's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i e93 6MT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

Posts: 926
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseJunkie View Post
Did you download the e9xx file that fixes INPA? If not, definitely do that so INPA works. But thats probably not your problem. Honestly, easiest solution would be to start a clean install on an x86 machine. I know NCS doesn't work on 64 bit OS without a VM, but I have no clue about making it work. A Pawn shop laptop for less than $100 is the best option, especially if you start really messing with stuff
Do you have a link with the downloads? I actually got it working for a little bit but now still get Vin faulty error. I was able to do the coding to do a retrofit and now it won't talk to the car again. lol.
__________________

07 BMW 335i E93 6MT (Praying neighborhood doesn't get flooded...again)
04 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (Flooded)
08 Audi TT 2.0T DSG (Flooded)
03 Subaru WRX 5MT (Flooded)
WRichieX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2014, 09:00 PM   #16
GreaseJunkie
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2006 e90 330i Black Sapphire
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Virginia

Posts: 175
iTrader: (0)

Inpa fix:
https://mega.co.nz/#!Pp5CyKYA!WToqYW...WPfpLSNGfE8ZjU

Just copy and replace the inpa folder in your C drive
GreaseJunkie is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2014, 10:57 PM   #17
WRichieX
Captain
 
WRichieX's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i e93 6MT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

Posts: 926
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseJunkie View Post
Inpa fix:
https://mega.co.nz/#!Pp5CyKYA!WToqYW...WPfpLSNGfE8ZjU

Just copy and replace the inpa folder in your C drive
Just tried and still doesn't work. I try to do the airbag test and I get error. Missing some ipo file.
__________________

07 BMW 335i E93 6MT (Praying neighborhood doesn't get flooded...again)
04 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (Flooded)
08 Audi TT 2.0T DSG (Flooded)
03 Subaru WRX 5MT (Flooded)
WRichieX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST