E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > Problem reseting CBS (condition based service)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-09-2012, 07:02 AM   #1
AlpineE90335i
Lieutenant
AlpineE90335i's Avatar
8
Rep
418
Posts

 
Drives: Tiag E90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Problem reseting CBS (condition based service)

Hello all, I recently purchased a Bav. Tech tool from a member on this forum, the reason for buying it was because, I wanted to reset this annoying service light on my i drive, also I have a feeling my battery is getting weak so i will need that to register my battery. Well when I go to reset the CBS it wont let me reset my brake fluid, actually it won't let me reset any of them, except i kept clicking the inspections and some how it reset. It keeps giving me a message telling me that my vehicle will not take the reset and that maybe my values are set wrong on my idrive. I called Bav tech they told me that something was wrong with my i drive system, then I figured maybe it is because I have a Cobb AP installed in the vehicle. So I unmarried the Cobb and still the same error message. Has anyone ever ran into this problem, i'm finding it hard to believe that something is wrong with the CBS, or even my i drive. Somebody please help, i just did a brake flush so this light should not be on. I did use the button, came up with zero.
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2012, 07:03 AM   #2
AlpineE90335i
Lieutenant
AlpineE90335i's Avatar
8
Rep
418
Posts

 
Drives: Tiag E90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Thank you all in advance.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2012, 11:04 PM   #3
bas2000
AMG LOL
bas2000's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
121
Posts

 
Drives: 6MT like you stole it!!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: INDY

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to bas2000
same thing happens to me when i try to reset the CBS. I don't have idrive on my 335

the error message is as follows

The command was not accepted by the control module. This can also happen when a value is not currently configured for the vehicle. Please check that the value is displayed in the cars instrument cluster or i-drive, if this value is not listed in the car, then no reset or adjustment is needed
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2012, 03:28 PM   #4
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

If you guys have JB installed make sure to set it to map0 and try again.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 09:56 AM   #5
bas2000
AMG LOL
bas2000's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
121
Posts

 
Drives: 6MT like you stole it!!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: INDY

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to bas2000
thanks, i have JB4 installed and yes it's set to map 0

that's when i get the error message. i'm able to clear the fault codes and shadow fault codes just fine.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 10:33 AM   #6
obert
Lieutenant Colonel
obert's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
1,597
Posts

 
Drives: 08 E90 N54 335xi
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle Wa

iTrader: (18)

FYI for the OP

Unless you have the Professional tool you will not be able to code your battery when you replace it.

I did hear they are working on getting the Enthusiast Kits tool to be able to code the battery but not sure how true or even when that would be.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 05:36 PM   #7
bas2000
AMG LOL
bas2000's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
121
Posts

 
Drives: 6MT like you stole it!!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: INDY

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to bas2000
I haven't tried it yet but here it says

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=473109


Those with a BT tool:

Reset Battery Adaptation and Battery Registration are redundant entries and send the same command. You can only use this option if you are replacing the battery with the SAME spec. Same Ah (capacity) and type (AGM vs non-AGM).

If you decide to install a battery with a different type or capacity you need to have the car programmed so it knows its capacity and type.
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2012, 07:52 PM   #8
335iSSA
Captain
Poland
8
Rep
603
Posts

 
Drives: 07' E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Frederick, MD

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpineE90335i View Post
Hello all, I recently purchased a Bav. Tech tool from a member on this forum, the reason for buying it was because, I wanted to reset this annoying service light on my i drive, also I have a feeling my battery is getting weak so i will need that to register my battery. Well when I go to reset the CBS it wont let me reset my brake fluid, actually it won't let me reset any of them, except i kept clicking the inspections and some how it reset. It keeps giving me a message telling me that my vehicle will not take the reset and that maybe my values are set wrong on my idrive. I called Bav tech they told me that something was wrong with my i drive system, then I figured maybe it is because I have a Cobb AP installed in the vehicle. So I unmarried the Cobb and still the same error message. Has anyone ever ran into this problem, i'm finding it hard to believe that something is wrong with the CBS, or even my i drive. Somebody please help, i just did a brake flush so this light should not be on. I did use the button, came up with zero.
I too am currently having this problem. I've been able to reset CBS on previous iterations of the BT software. Dunno? very frustrating.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2012, 10:13 PM   #9
blaknite7
NewB
United_States
3
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335I
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

I'm also having this issue. I have the BT pro version with the latest software. I am getting the same error when trying to rest the brake fluid indicator light, but EVERYTHING else seems to work (including CBS on other indicators). Did anyone get an answer for this? The only thing i havent tried is an older version...
__________________
335I - 2007 - JB4
X5 - 2009
1.8T - 2003 - APR Stage 3+
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2012, 02:01 PM   #10
blaknite7
NewB
United_States
3
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335I
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

I also tried resetting the CBS on my 3 and the same issues come up. I had a basic version of the cable which i KNOW i rest stuff on the 3 all of the time which worked. So at this point ever since i upgraded the software i cant access either of my cars CBS... just paid a lot of money for a useless tool at this point... not to happy...
__________________
335I - 2007 - JB4
X5 - 2009
1.8T - 2003 - APR Stage 3+
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2012, 07:12 AM   #11
AlpineE90335i
Lieutenant
AlpineE90335i's Avatar
8
Rep
418
Posts

 
Drives: Tiag E90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Sorry for the late update, I was able to reset all CBS's .They sent me an earlier version of the Bav tech Software.
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2012, 08:01 AM   #12
blaknite7
NewB
United_States
3
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335I
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpineE90335i
Sorry for the late update, I was able to reset all CBS's .They sent me an earlier version of the Bav tech Software.
Yep... I contacted BT about the issue and they said it was a software issue they are working on fixing. They too sent me a previous version of the software. (ver 1.8.6.0 I think) which worked with both of my cars. So when in doubt... Downgrade!
__________________
335I - 2007 - JB4
X5 - 2009
1.8T - 2003 - APR Stage 3+
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2012, 08:04 AM   #13
AlpineE90335i
Lieutenant
AlpineE90335i's Avatar
8
Rep
418
Posts

 
Drives: Tiag E90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaknite7 View Post
Yep... I contacted BT about the issue and they said it was a software issue they are working on fixing. They too sent me a previous version of the software. (ver 1.8.6.0 I think) which worked with both of my cars. So when in doubt... Downgrade!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST