E90Post
 


E92 Lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > 335d gearbox....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-28-2012, 04:51 AM   #1
NotNormal
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Audi A6 Avant 3.0TDi Quattro
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lincolnshire

Posts: 569
iTrader: (3)

335d gearbox....

....well, annoyling my gearbox requires replacing as it occasionally slips in 4th, throws a fault code up
Having spoken to a couple of places it's cheaper to replace then rebuild.

My new box arrived today, booked in at my mates to swap it hopefully next week....but, I have a few questions :

Once swapped, will it need coding ?
Will it need calibrating ?
Is the gearbox ECU inside the box or mounted on my car somewhere ? (I ask as I have the latest software currently)


In an ideal world where something could actually go easily for me I'd like to be told its a straight out and in swap......but I have a sneaky suspicion that this won't be the case here haha


Thanks in advance

Tom
__________________
Always a pallbearer never a corpse....
NotNormal is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNormal View Post
....well, annoyling my gearbox requires replacing as it occasionally slips in 4th, throws a fault code up
Having spoken to a couple of places it's cheaper to replace then rebuild.

My new box arrived today, booked in at my mates to swap it hopefully next week....but, I have a few questions :

Once swapped, will it need coding ?
Will it need calibrating ?
Is the gearbox ECU inside the box or mounted on my car somewhere ? (I ask as I have the latest software currently)


In an ideal world where something could actually go easily for me I'd like to be told its a straight out and in swap......but I have a sneaky suspicion that this won't be the case here haha


Thanks in advance

Tom
I've got a good few questions for you ! As this is a very relevant topic to me!

Where did you get your box from ?

Did you manage to get it in ok ? Reason I ask is there are 5 different boxes for the 35d . I see that there maybe some major issues with some types especially the early cars as they had a different management system protocol to later cars. K-Line vs CANBUS

What year is your car ?
What's the part number of the box that came out ?
What's the part number of the box going in?

All this info will help to paint a picture .. cheers
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST