E90Post
 


Supreme Power Parts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > Update DME without go through dealer?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-21-2014, 04:06 PM   #1
Everfly
Colonel
Everfly's Avatar
38
Rep
2,350
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i M sport.
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis

iTrader: (36)

Update DME without go through dealer?

Hi
I need to update my DME on 2012 135i in order to run COBB. Dealer wont do it cause i dont have stock seats with me. Is there any other way to have DME update?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 04:16 PM   #2
TeinBMW
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,815
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Msport, Conv, Tech
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
so they are refusing to update your DME because of upgraded seats....

i would find another dealer and tell them that your experiencing rough idles and such forth. There is a service bulletin out that I showed my dealer saying that if this sort of rough idle is experienced, then the DME needs to be upgraded...i suggest you google and find that TSB and show that to the dealer. if your still under warranty, they should be doing it.

also use the search function and look at what other similar people have done. I had the exact same thing happen to me and I printed out the TSB and told them my car has rough cold starts and idles hard and boom thats all she wrote..

hope that helps man!
__________________
2011 Le Mans Blue N55 335xi Msport, BMS intake, COBB AP, VRSF Downpipe, VRSF FMIC, ER CP, PE
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 04:26 PM   #3
Andrewe92
enthusiast
Andrewe92's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
942
Posts

Drives: 2011 e92 lci 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
lol did I miss something.. what does your seats have to do with your dme.. as long as you are under warranty I say you find another dealer that's really weird
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 05:00 PM   #4
RaceTruk
Captain
9
Rep
716
Posts

Drives: X5 35xdrive
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (1)

i needed to do this on my x5, and i have a very good relationship with my dealer (on my E93 got new turbos while FBO)
he said no way to push it through warranty if no code for "rough idle" was there.
so i ended up having to pay 250 for updating the DME.
the seat thing is ridiculous
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 05:15 PM   #5
Everfly
Colonel
Everfly's Avatar
38
Rep
2,350
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i M sport.
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis

iTrader: (36)

They were telling me the seats module missing cant do it. The SA is my friend so not about this dealer or different one. They just can not do it
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 05:25 PM   #6
TeinBMW
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,815
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Msport, Conv, Tech
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
why not just reinstall the stock seats and do the update??
__________________
2011 Le Mans Blue N55 335xi Msport, BMS intake, COBB AP, VRSF Downpipe, VRSF FMIC, ER CP, PE
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 05:59 PM   #7
Everfly
Colonel
Everfly's Avatar
38
Rep
2,350
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i M sport.
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis

iTrader: (36)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeinBMW View Post
why not just reinstall the stock seats and do the update??
I left my stock seats in CA and i am in IN now
The worst case i will have to ship my seats to IN
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 06:20 PM   #8
vivanapoli806
Lieutenant
5
Rep
480
Posts

Drives: 2009 135i (auto)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago Burbs

iTrader: (1)

Find another dealer and they will do it. I can't believe some of the stuff I have read on here that dealers won't do because of certain things. Search for a mod friendly dealer especially if ur still under warranty. Where in IN are u located. There is a mod friendly dealer here in Chicago burbs that I went to that were really good and replaced things under warranty when I had a tune
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 06:49 PM   #9
DesertBMW
Banned
United_States
3
Rep
77
Posts

Drives: 1996 328i with N55 engine
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Phoenix AZ USA

iTrader: (0)

Removing stock seats would register with SRS ecu then SRS ecu sends the data to engine ecu. Engine ecu trows fault code about crash fuel pump cut off. New cars bro, you have to keep all of the stock electronics
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 07:11 PM   #10
Welcome to NBA Jam
Is it the shoes!?
Welcome to NBA Jam's Avatar
125
Rep
970
Posts

Drives: 2011 E92 335i ZMP 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Columbus, OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Everfly View Post
They were telling me the seats module missing cant do it. The SA is my friend so not about this dealer or different one. They just can not do it
Ah, I guess the dealer can't directly update the DME only? I've updated just my DME before. I would recommend finding a local person with WinKFP, and they can update your DME. I would do it for you, but I don't live near you, and I need a new cable.

Ask them if they can just update the DME, and not any other module. Other modules do not need to be updated during the DME update process.

If you want to take on coding endeavors by yourself, be sure to very thoroughly spend time learning. WinKFP is nothing to play around with. You've got one shot to do it correctly, and if you do it wrong, you risk bricking your DME, and that's no fun. There are DIYs out there that explain it. Read through how to do it on the E46 and E90 - there are a lot more DIYs for the E46 out there, and the steps are essentially the same. But, for your own piece of mind, read through an E90 one. Then start getting the required files, and you've opened up a door of new awesome possibilities with your car!

Last edited by Welcome to NBA Jam; 05-21-2014 at 07:17 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2014, 07:30 PM   #11
Everfly
Colonel
Everfly's Avatar
38
Rep
2,350
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i M sport.
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis

iTrader: (36)

My SA is super friendly with mods but dealer wont able to update DME only. I am trying to find someone close enough for me to drive to or i will have my stock seats ship
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2014, 04:00 AM   #12
335iFFM
Second Lieutenant
13
Rep
212
Posts

Drives: 335i Performance
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Everfly View Post
My SA is super friendly with mods but dealer wont able to update DME only. I am trying to find someone close enough for me to drive to or i will have my stock seats ship
Your dealer is right.
I'm not from the US but I can update your car remotely if you want to. You just need a BMW DCAN Cable.

Why do you want to update your DME btw?
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2014, 07:42 AM   #13
Everfly
Colonel
Everfly's Avatar
38
Rep
2,350
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i M sport.
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis

iTrader: (36)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335iFFM View Post
Your dealer is right.
I'm not from the US but I can update your car remotely if you want to. You just need a BMW DCAN Cable.

Why do you want to update your DME btw?
I want to run Cobb
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2014, 12:07 PM   #14
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
471
Rep
21,965
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (33)

Get a JB4. This DME bologna is one reason why we stopped pushing the Cobb for N55. It's not worth the hassle.
__________________
|Facebook Coupons||Evolution Racewerks| |Active Autowerke| |ETS| |Burger Tuning| |AR Design| |Mishimoto||VRSF| |AWE| |Wagner|

|HPB LED / HID| |VTT| |KW| |Spec| |ST Coilovers| |Koni| |Bilstein| |Borla| |Magnaflow| |AFE| |Shifteck| |Injen|
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2014, 01:04 PM   #15
Everfly
Colonel
Everfly's Avatar
38
Rep
2,350
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i M sport.
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis

iTrader: (36)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TopGearSolutions View Post
Get a JB4. This DME bologna is one reason why we stopped pushing the Cobb for N55. It's not worth the hassle.
I am already running JB4 was gonna do stack tune then protune
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2014, 02:07 PM   #16
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
471
Rep
21,965
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Everfly View Post
I am already running JB4 was gonna do stack tune then protune
Ah ok
__________________
|Facebook Coupons||Evolution Racewerks| |Active Autowerke| |ETS| |Burger Tuning| |AR Design| |Mishimoto||VRSF| |AWE| |Wagner|

|HPB LED / HID| |VTT| |KW| |Spec| |ST Coilovers| |Koni| |Bilstein| |Borla| |Magnaflow| |AFE| |Shifteck| |Injen|
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST